Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 are cancelled pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 23, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/637,138 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims provide for the same game skill analysis and replay coaching.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception. The claims will be analyzed with respect to the Subject Matter Eligibility Test at MPEP§2106.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 1 (see MPEP§2106.03)
The claims recite one of the four statutory categories of subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 1 (see MPEP§2106.04(a-c))
The claims recite abstract ideas in the following categories;
Methods of organizing human activity such as “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)” (MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)II).
Mental processes (MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)III).
The abstract ideas have been noted in the claims below.
Regarding claim 8, analyzing gameplay data corresponding to a gameplay skill (teaching regarding evaluation of what someone is doing regarding the skill to be learned; mental process of assessing game data), the gameplay skill being associated with a player profile (teaching/mental process regarding the identification/evaluation/history of a player); receiving a selection of a skill node, wherein the skill node is associated with the gameplay skill (teaching/mental process regarding evaluating which skill to look at/improve); and based on the selection and the analyzed gameplay data, providing for display a content recommendation associated with the gameplay skill (teaching/mental process regarding providing help or suggestions regarding a certain skill).
Regarding claims 9-27, these claims provide for additional teaching and mental process steps regarding the human activity of teaching or evaluation of a player.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2A Prong 2 (see MPEP§2106.04(d))
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are generic computer hardware; insignificant extra solution activity such as collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data; and the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer. These additional elements individually and in combination provide for limitations that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These additional elements (1) add “insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g)” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) and (2) generally link “the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I).
These additional elements individually and in combination are not limitations that provide for “improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) apply or use the “judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) implement the “judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) effect “a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c);” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I) or apply or use “the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).” (MPEP§2106.04(d)I). As such the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility – Step 2B (see MPEP§2106.05)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are well-understood, routine and conventional generic computer hardware and insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP§2106.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2020/0269136 by Gurumurthy.
Regarding claim 8, Gurumurthy discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: analyzing gameplay data corresponding to a gameplay skill, the gameplay skill being associated with a player profile (para. 18-20 – see the player, player’s set avatar etc. and the analyzed gameplay); receiving a selection of a skill node, wherein the skill node is associated with the gameplay skill (para. 18-20 – see the analyzed actions that the player takes); and based on the selection and the analyzed gameplay data, providing for display a content recommendation associated with the gameplay skill (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24 – see the provided offline replays and suggestions).
Regarding claim 9, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, the content recommendation comprising a recommendation to complete a gameplay exercise related to the gameplay skill (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24 – see the provided strategic advice, e.g. switching weapons).
Regarding claim 10, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, the content recommendation comprising a recommendation to complete a training match against a computerized opponent, the training match being related to the gameplay skill (para. 31 – see tutorial training via replay).
Regarding claim 11, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, the content recommendation comprising textual advice related to the gameplay skill (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24 – see the textual advice).
Regarding claim 12, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, the content recommendation being provided for display at a post-match user interface, and the analyzed gameplay data comprising gameplay data for a match corresponding to the post-match user interface (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24, 31 – see offline replay).
Regarding claim 13, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the gameplay data comprises player-versus-player (PvP) gameplay data (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24 – see the deathmatch style game).
Regarding claim 14, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the PvP gameplay data comprises data derived from a fighting game played over the internet (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24, 34 – see the deathmatch game and internet implementation).
Regarding claim 25, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a success rate for the gameplay skill based on the gameplay data; and providing the success rate for display at a post-match user interface (fig. 2A-2C; para. 20 – see the probabilistic assessment).
Regarding claim 27, Gurumurthy discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the content recommendation comprises a link to a tutorial related to the gameplay skill (fig. 2A-2C; para. 21-24, 31 – see the provided offline replay and suggestion).
Regarding claims 15-24 and 26, Gurumurthy discloses these claims as noted above regarding claims 8-14, 25 and 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715