This is an Non-Final office action for serial number 18/637131.
Double Patenting
Claims 14, 17, 20, 22, 24, 26, 27, and 28 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11959264 in view of Whitted 2,995,328. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the 11959264 and the application disclose:
(Claim 14) suction cup unit, comprising: a base; a suction cup extending from the base; a neck extending from the base in an opposite direction; and a head extending from the neck away from the base, the head having a conic shape tapering to a point distal from the neck, wherein the head includes a plurality of channels formed along an exterior surface of the head from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic shape of the head.
(Claim 17) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect.
(Claim 22) A head for a suction cup unit, the suction cup unit including a suction cup extending from a base, and a neck extending from the base opposite direction, the head comprising: a conic body extending from the neck away from the base, tapering to a point distal from the neck; a plurality of channels formed along an exterior surface of the conic body from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point; and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening.
(Claim 26) A suction cup assembly, comprising: a planar member having an opening defined by surrounding material; and a suction cup unit including: a base;a suction cup extending from the base in a first direction ;a neck extending from the base in a second direction opposite the first direction; and a head extending from the neck through the opening in the planar member, the head having a conic shape tapering to a point distal from the neck, wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein.
(Claim 27) The suction cup assembly of claim 26, includes protrusions and the channels.
(Claim 28) The suction cup assembly of claim 26, wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return.
11959264 disclose all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for:
the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface of the head from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic shape of the head; wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels when the head is inserted through an opening having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion; and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein; wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein; wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material as taught by Whitted for the purpose of providing these particular fillets and grooves configuration that proved very successful in giving the head considerable holding power when forced into an aperture smaller than the inscribing figure about the fillets therefore the fillets do not shear in use, but bend as shown because of their particular shape for locking the head in the aperture.
Whitted teaches it is known to have
(Claim 17) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein the fins (22, 23, 25, 28, 29) are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels (24, 26) when the head (11) is inserted through an opening (30) having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head.
(Claim 20) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein the channels are configured to align with and accommodate protrusions extending from material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted through the opening, without substantially deflecting the protrusions.
(Claim 22) and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion
(Claim 24) wherein the maximum diameter of the bottom portion is greater than a diameter of the neck, and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein.
(Claim 26) a planar member (6) having an opening (30) defined by surrounding material, wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein.
(Claim 28) The suction cup assembly of claim 26, wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fins (23, 22, 28, 29) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Channels (26, 24))][AltContent: textbox (Opening (30)
Planar member (6)
Fins
channels)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Ruan to have wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface of the head from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic shape of the head; wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels when the head is inserted through an opening having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion; and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein; wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein; wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material as taught by Whitted for the purpose of providing these particular fillets and grooves configuration that proved very successful in giving the head considerable holding power when forced into an aperture smaller than the inscribing figure about the fillets therefore the fillets do not shear in use, but bend as shown because of their particular shape for locking the head in the aperture.
Claims 15, 19, and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11959264 in view of Whitted 2,995,328 in further view of White 1,071,123. Patent No. 11959264 in view of Whitted discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile in cross-section perpendicular to a length of the channel; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile, and the channels are positioned to correspond with protrusions around the opening to minimize deflection of the protrusions.
White teaches it is known to have:
(Claim 15) wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile in cross-section perpendicular to a length of the channel.
(Claim 19) wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough.
(Claim 23) wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile, and the channels are positioned to correspond with protrusions around the opening to minimize deflection of the protrusions.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (channels)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fins )][AltContent: textbox (Protrusions (28) )][AltContent: textbox (Channels with Semi-circular profile
(35))][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Patent No.11959264 in view of Whitted to have included wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile in cross-section perpendicular to a length of the channel; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; wherein each channel has a semi-circular profile, and the channels are positioned to correspond with protrusions around the opening to minimize deflection of the protrusions as taught by White since White teaches it is well known to change the shape of the channel profile since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and motivated by White see figures 3, 11, and 7 which suggest different shape profiles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 17, 18, 22, 24, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN CN2814719Y in view of Whitted 2,995,328. The applicant is reminded that in regards to claim 19, 20, 22, 24 the material, opening, and accommodate protrusion are not positively claimed therefore the prior art only need to be capable of performing the functions related to material, opening, and accommodate protrusion.
Ruan discloses:
(Claim 14) A suction cup unit, comprising: a base; a suction cup extending from the base in a first direction; a neck extending from the base in a second direction opposite the first direction; and a head extending from the neck away from the base, the head having a conic shape tapering to a point distal from the neck.
(Claim 18) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head adjacent the neck is greater than a diameter of the neck, creating an undercut region at the neck for retaining the head in an opening after insertion.
(Claim 22) A head for a suction cup unit, the suction cup unit including a suction cup extending from a base in a first direction and a neck extending from the base in a second direction opposite the first direction, the head comprising: a conic body extending from the neck away from the base, tapering to a point distal from the neck;a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface of the conic body from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point;.
(Claim 24) The head of claim 22, wherein the maximum diameter of the bottom portion is greater than a diameter of the neck, wherein the maximum diameter of the bottom portion is greater than a diameter of the neck,
(Claim 26) A suction cup assembly, comprising: a planar member having an opening defined by surrounding material; and a suction cup unit including: a base; a suction cup extending from the base in a first direction; a neck extending from the base in a second direction opposite the first direction; and a head extending from the neck through the opening in the planar member, the head having a conic shape tapering to a point distal from the neck.
[AltContent: textbox (Planar member )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Conical head
Neck
Base
Suction cup )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Conical head
Neck
Base
Suction cup)][AltContent: arrow]
Ruan discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for:
wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface of the head from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic shape of the head; wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels when the head is inserted through an opening having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion; and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein; wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein; wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material; a planar member (6) having an opening (30) defined by surrounding material
Whitted teaches it is known to have
(Claim 17) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein the fins (22, 23, 25, 28, 29) are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels (24, 26) when the head (11) is inserted through an opening (30) having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head.
(Claim 20) The suction cup unit of claim 14, wherein the channels are configured to align with and accommodate protrusions extending from material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted through the opening, without substantially deflecting the protrusions.
(Claim 22) and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion
(Claim 24) wherein the maximum diameter of the bottom portion is greater than a diameter of the neck, and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein.
(Claim 26) a planar member (6) having an opening (30) defined by surrounding material, wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein.
(Claim 28) The suction cup assembly of claim 26, wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fins (23, 22, 28, 29) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Channels (26, 24))][AltContent: textbox (Opening (30)
Planar member (6)
Fins
channels)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Ruan to have wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface of the head from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward from the conic shape of the head; wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally into adjacent channels when the head is inserted through an opening having dimensions smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion of the head; wherein the channels are equally spaced around a circumference of the head, and the fins are configured to extend over material surrounding an opening when the head is inserted therethrough; the fins extending radially outward from the conic body, wherein the fins are resilient and configured to deflect laterally during insertion of the head through an opening smaller than a maximum diameter of the bottom portion; and the fins create an interference with material surrounding the opening after insertion to retain the head therein; wherein the head includes a plurality of lengthwise channels formed along an exterior surface from a bottom portion adjacent the neck toward the point, and a plurality of fins defined between adjacent channels, the fins extending radially outward over the surrounding material of the opening to retain the head therein; wherein the fins are configured to deflect during insertion through the opening and resiliently return to extend over the surrounding material as taught by Whitted for the purpose of providing these particular fillets and grooves configuration that proved very successful in giving the head considerable holding power when forced into an aperture smaller than the inscribing figure about the fillets therefore the fillets do not shear in use, but bend as shown because of their particular shape for locking the head in the aperture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 21, 25, and 29 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional suction cup units.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631