DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 21 and 26-27 are amended and claims 1-20 and 22-25 are canceled. Claim 28 is new. Claims 21 and 26-28 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 04/16/2024, is a Continuation of Application No. 16/942,422, filed 07/29/2020, which claims benefit to Provisional Application Nos. 62/879,812, filed 07/29/2019, and 62/905,040, filed 09/24/2019. Examiner has requested a correction to the Bib Data sheet, in the meantime, an annotated copy has been provided.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The specification was objected to for failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have resolved the issues and the objection is withdrawn.
Claim 6 (corrected claim 26) was objected to for informalities. Applicant’s amendment to claim 26 has overcome the objection and the objection is withdrawn.
Claim 6 (corrected claim 26) was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 6-7 (corrected claims 21 and 26-27) were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirofumi. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 6-7 (corrected claims 21 and 26-27) were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 11 and 14-17 of copending Application No. 16/942,422 in view of Hirofumi. Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have overcome the rejection and the rejection is withdrawn.
The following rejections are new as necessitated by amendment:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26-28 recite "the composition according to claim 1". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 21 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann, R., et al. (US 20180206492 A1, 07/26/2018, PTO-892), hereinafter Mann, in view of Levy, R., (US 6337078 B1, 01/08/2002, PTO-892), hereinafter Levy.
Mann discloses methods for controlling aquatic weeds using florpyrauxifen with one or more of diquat dibromide, copper salts, endothal, or fluridone. The herbicidal compositions described allow for effective control and/or selectivity when treating a body of water, to control target aquatic weed populations (abstract).
Regarding claim 21: The composition for controlling aquatic weeds in a body of water comprises a herbicidally effective amount of (a) and (b), wherein (a) is florpyrauxifen and (b) is copper sulfate (claims 1, 4 and 6). Such a composition reads on the instantly claimed pesticide composition comprising a blend of florpyrauxifen, which reads on (i), and cupric sulfate (i.e., copper sulfate), which reads on (ii).
Regarding claim 26: The mixtures can be designed for application directly to weeds or their locus or can be concentrates or formulations that are normally diluted with additional carriers and adjuvants before application. They can be solids or liquids ([0039]).
Regarding claim 27: The mixtures can be in solid form such as granules ([0039]). The composition of (a) and (b) can be provided in (e.g., applied to) a body of water to be treated by the use of conventional granule applicators ([0049]).
Regarding claim 28: The composition can further comprise at least one or more agriculturally acceptable carrier ([0039]). Suitable solid carriers include talc, pyrophyllite clay, silica, and various other particulate carriers ([0042]). The mixture of (a) and (b) would necessarily be “carried” on such a carrier when included, as is the definition and meaning of a “carrier”.
The teachings of Mann differ from that of the instant invention in that Mann does not explicitly teach wherein the blend of (i) and (ii) is coated, as recited in claim 21.
Levy discloses controlled release compositions comprising complexes for treating a population of one or more aquatic organisms in a column of water. The complexes comprise a system comprising at least one bioactive agent, at least one carrier component, and at least one coating component (abstract). The coatings are selected so as to act as materials that will regulate the controlled release rate and release profile of bioactive agents over a period of time in an aqueous medium (col. 10, lines 52-56). Such a coating reads on the coating of instant claim 1.
Any bioactive agent, and combinations thereof, such as the two, three or four component combinations, designed for promoting, enhancing, or terminating (e.g., pesticides, or herbicides) the life of aquatic organisms can be utilized in the composition, depending on the desired end result (col. 10, lines 36-45). Various aquatic herbicides may be employed as the bioactive agent (col. 9-10, lines 60-7). Regarding the control of floating and submersed aquatic weeds, relevant bioactive agents include copper sulfate and other water soluble copper salts (col. 10, lines 8-15). The carrier of Levy can be particulates such as powders, granules, pellets, or briquets (col. 6, lines 64-67). The especially preferred materials comprise silica and silicate particles (col. 8, lines 4-37).
Regarding the coating of claim 21, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a coating into the composition of Mann since coatings are known and routine in the art as taught by Levy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the mixture of florpyrauxifen and copper sulfate, taught by Mann, with the coating of Levy since such a coating regulates the controlled release rate and release profile of the bioactive agent in water. This property would be desirable in a composition for controlling aquatic weeds in a body of water, such as that of Mann. Both Mann and Levy teach compositions for treating aquatic organisms in water. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the above modification since both Mann and Levy teach pesticide compositions for treating aquatic pests, both of which may be in the form of a solid granules with a particulate carrier, as instantly claimed.
As such, the prior art teaches all the components of the composition as claimed. Therefore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Note: MPEP 2141 KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
Double Patenting
1. Claims 21 and 26-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 14-17 of copending Application No. 16/942,422 in view of Mann. The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Mann.
Copending claim 11 recites a process of making a herbicidal solid composition soluble in deionized water containing a commercial herbicide and a metal having at least a +2 oxidation state. The process of copending claims ‘422, would necessarily result in a herbicidal solid composition comprising a commercial herbicide and a metal having at least a +2 oxidation state, which reads partially on instant claim 1. Copending claim 16 further defines the metal as being selected from the group consisting of magnesium, iron, calcium, aluminum, copper, zinc, manganese, molybdenum, cobalt, strontium, barium and lanthanum. Copending claim 17 further defines the herbicide as being selected from several of the herbicides recited in instant claim 1, including florpyrauxifen. The copending claims differ from the instant claims in that the copending claims do not explicitly recite that the metal having at least a +2 oxidation state is a metal chloride, hydroxide, stearate, or sulfate as recited in instant claim 1. Mann discloses methods for controlling aquatic weeds using florpyrauxifen with one or more of diquat dibromide, copper salts, endothal, or fluridone. The herbicidal compositions described allow for effective control and/or selectivity when treating a body of water, to control target aquatic weed populations (abstract). The composition for controlling aquatic weeds in a body of water comprises a herbicidally effective amount of (a) and (b), wherein (a) is florpyrauxifen and (b) is copper sulfate (claims 1, 4 and 6). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select copper sulfate (i.e. cupric sulfate) as the source of the 2+ metal since the combination of copper sulfate and herbicides such as florpyrauxifen, are known and routine in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have made such a modification by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1 and 6-7 (corrected claims 21 and 26-27), have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments against the obviousness-type double patenting, the rejections are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection, meaning the reference claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616