Applicant’s filed IDS of 04/16/2024 has been entered and considered. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Independent claims 1, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent claim 15 (being the representative claim) recites: claim 15 (A method; and an image forming apparatus; and an operation inputter). Claim 15 (being the representative claim) further recites similar limitations to those discussed with regards to respective independent claim 1, and 14; therefore, discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 15 (being the representative claim) further recites an execution method of executing in an image forming apparatus, a service communicable with an application executed on a terminal apparatus,
the method comprising: reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger; and executing a service corresponding to the acquired trigger.
That is other than reciting (in claim 15), (a method; an image forming apparatus; and an operation inputter), the claimed invention amounts to mere mental steps that can be performed (Emphasis Added) solely by software per se.
The claim further recites the step of “executing in an image forming apparatus, a service communicable with an application executed on a terminal apparatus, the method comprising: reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger; and executing a service corresponding to the acquired trigger”.
In this claim, the at least reading two-dimensional code displayed on said operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or either on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a target/requested service indicative of the trigger encoded in the displayed two-dimensional code and for consequently executing the requested service corresponding to the acquired trigger structure further involves mental operations. Therefore, the claim recites said mental processes or operations for executing the requested print/reading services according to reading of a displayed two-dimensional code on an operation screen corresponding to the acquired trigger which clearly are mental steps that can be performed (Emphasis Added) solely by software per se.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 15 recites the additional elements of “reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger”. These additional elements are not exclusively defined by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic image forming executing method of executing in an image forming apparatus, a service communicable with an application executed on a terminal apparatus) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger” to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Claims 2-3 are further rejected and their additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Those claims as well are directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claims 4-13 includes additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application as it appears to impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Said claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Concepts performed in the human mind have been identified in the 2019 PEG as an exemplar in the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. For the reasons above, the claims do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept and therefore, the claims are not patent-eligible.
Furthermore, these additional generic hardware elements perform no more than their basic computer function. Generic computer‐implementation of a method is not a meaningful limitation that alone can amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Moreover, when viewed as a whole with such additional element considered as an ordered combination, claims modified by adding generic hardware elements are nothing more than a purely conventional computerized implementation of an idea in the general field of computer processing and do not provide significantly more than an abstract idea.
Consequently, the identified additional generic hardware elements taken into consideration individually and in combination fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ogino et al. (US 2021/0182004, A1), in view of Hou et al. (US 2021/0234973, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ogino teaches an image forming apparatus 30 of Fig. 1 comprising:
an acquirer capable of acquiring a trigger from a terminal apparatus (inputter 320 of at least Figs. 8-11 and para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188 comprises an acquirer further comprising an image reader adapted for acquiring further in para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188 transmitting/receiving embedded print execution phrase message triggers and in a case of at least para. 0149 another trigger to cause the apparatus 30 to enable an NFC function shown further in Fig. 17 and the image reader to obtain/read by the apparatus 30 at least an encoded two-dimensional code displayed on the operation screen of the terminal 10);
at least one controller that executes a service communicable with an application executed on the terminal apparatus (controller 300 of Fig. 5 executes the trigger of at least reading the two-dimensional reading code request of para. 0149-0150 or the print service execution message of further Figs. 9-11 and para. 0185-0188 communicable with a message transmitting/receiving application or that of an installed NFC application executed on the terminal apparatus 10 of further para. 0149-0150);
a display 350; and
an operation inputter 360,
wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter, the controller displays on the display, a confirmation screen executing the service (a message trigger of further para. 0149-0150 further supported by at least para. 0185-0188 further illustrates a case of a start print trigger and/or an NFC embedded reading code request/service acquired from the operation inputter, the controller 300 may then display on the display 350 as noted in at least Figs. 8-10 and para 0185-0188 a confirmation screen when executing the service, the displayed confirmed screen S170 of at least Fig. 8 and para 0185-0188 of the printer in a case (emphasis added) is indicative in the art of a confirmation screen with which insinuates or at least implies that the message application installed in the terminal apparatus is supported or confirmed in the printer since the printer is capable of executing the service of confirming in a case the vicinity of the user prior in a case to the print execution if enabled); and
in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service without displaying the confirmation screen on the display (a case further exists in at least Fig. 10, S202 and para. 0149-0151 where the user is in the vicinity of the apparatus where a trigger S112 to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service S114 without displaying the confirmation screen on the display).
Ogino is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as citing specifically said controller displays on the display a display confirmation screen with which whether the application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, when executing the service.
Hou teaches at least in Para. 0102-0110 and 0159-0166 the starting and activating of an NFC application of the terminal and/or of the image forming apparatus and further executing a QR code output reading request displayed on an operation screen of a terminal and/or the operation screen of the image forming apparatus of further para. 0102-0110 and 0159-0166 as a received operation trigger service, the controller as configured in at least para. 0077 further supported by at least Figs. 4-10, 15, and 17 adapted to illustrate a displayed confirmation index screen 110 when invoking a function of the image forming apparatus further displaying on the display at least para. 0077 and/or Figs. 4-10, 15, and 17 a display confirmation 110 which in a case displays a possible NFC communication with the terminal apparatus due to at least a communication start trigger which whether further illustrates confirmation of at least an NFC activation application installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, when executing the print service. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Ogino in view of Hou to include wherein said controller displays on the display a display confirmation screen with which whether the application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, when executing the service, as discussed above, as Ogino in view of Hou are in the same field of endeavor where an image forming system including user terminal devices connecting to wirelessly to one or more image forming apparatuses for transmitting print information messages at least in the form of acquired two-dimensional QR code supplied from a screen of an operation screen displayed on the terminal device and/or the image forming apparatus, Hou’s displayed confirmation screen subsequent to receiving acquired NFC start trigger to start the service from the operation inputter of the image forming apparatus complements the transmitting print message function and the read two-dimensional QR code request of Ogino in the sense that the displayed communication confirmation screen when combined with the request services or triggers of Ogino enables the system to confirm supported settings, whereby the requested and activated NFC function further ensures that a user is within the vicinity of the printer and that of the print output contents which further optimized output print confidentiality and security according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Ogino further teaches wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer while a display screen before starting the service is being displayed on the display, the controller executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger (upon receiving a user is near or here confirmation of the printer of at least Fig. 14 further indicative of a further trigger to start the service acquired from the acquirer while a display screen before starting the service is being displayed on the display, the controller executes the service corresponding to acquired print trigger).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 2), Ogino further teaches wherein the controller displays on the display, a portal screen on which a user selects the service, as the display screen before starting the service, and in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer while the portal screen is being displayed, the controller executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger (the system further display portal selection screen of at least Figs. 15-17 on which a user may select the service, as the display screen before starting the service, and in a case where a trigger to start a print service and/or an NFC service is acquired from the acquirer while the portal screen is being displayed, the controller may executes the print service corresponding to the acquired trigger).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 3), Ogino is silent regarding wherein in a case where an operation of acquiring a trigger from the terminal apparatus is performed while the portal screen is being displayed, the controller displays on the display, a first guide screen indicating that the trigger is to be acquired from the acquirer.
Hou further teaches in at least Figs. 8-10 the displayed guide screens in a case where an operation of acquiring a trigger from the terminal apparatus is performed while the portal screen is being displayed, as at least one or more first guide screen indicating that the trigger is to be acquired from the acquirer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Ogino in view of Hou to include wherein in a case where an operation of acquiring a trigger from the terminal apparatus is performed while the portal screen is being displayed, the controller displays on the display, a first guide screen indicating that the trigger is to be acquired from the acquirer, as discussed above, as Ogino in view of Hou are in the same field of endeavor where an image forming system including user terminal devices connecting to wirelessly to one or more image forming apparatuses for transmitting print information messages at least in the form of acquired two-dimensional QR code supplied from a screen of an operation screen displayed on the terminal device and/or the image forming apparatus, Hou’s acquired trigger from the terminal apparatus while the portal screen is being displayed complements the transmitting print message function and the read two-dimensional QR code request of Ogino in the sense that the said acquired trigger from the terminal apparatus while the portal screen is being displayed when combined with the print and/or reading request services of Ogino enables the system to realize seamless execution of said service request via at least displayed portal guide screens which ultimately speed processing and increase throughput according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 3), Ogino is silent regarding wherein the first guide screen includes a content with which whether the application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed.
Hou further teaches in at least Figs. 8-10 the displayed guide screens wherein a first guide screen 160 includes a content 170 in a case as noted in at least para. 0077 with which whether the application of at least Fig. 7 installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed or possible. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Ogino in view of Hou to include wherein said first guide screen includes a content with which whether the application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, as discussed above, as Ogino in view of Hou are in the same field of endeavor where an image forming system including user terminal devices connecting to wirelessly to one or more image forming apparatuses for transmitting print information messages at least in the form of acquired two-dimensional QR code supplied from a screen of an operation screen displayed on the terminal device and/or the image forming apparatus, Hou’s confirmed content and the guide screen complements the transmitting print message function and the read two-dimensional QR code request of Ogino in the sense that the said confirmed content and the guide screen when combined with the print and/or reading request services of Ogino enables the system to realize seamless execution of said service request via at least displayed portal guide screens which ultimately speed processing and increase throughput according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 3), Ogino further teaches wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller does not display the second guide screen (in a case the user of at least para. 0188 is confirmed to near or here using at least the NFC communication method of further Fig. 17, the here confirmation of further para. 0188 illustrates a trigger to start the service acquired from the acquirer, said controller as understood does not display any second guide screen).
However, Ogino is silent regarding wherein the controller displays a second guide screen prompting a user to activate the application on the terminal apparatus, when executing the service.
Hou further teaches displays second guide screen of Figs. 9-11 prompting a user to activate at least an application on the terminal apparatus, when executing the service, and in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller does not display the second guide screen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Ogino in view of Hou to include wherein said controller displays a second guide screen prompting a user to activate the application on the terminal apparatus, when executing the service, as discussed above, as Ogino in view of Hou are in the same field of endeavor where an image forming system including user terminal devices connecting to wirelessly to one or more image forming apparatuses for transmitting print information messages at least in the form of acquired two-dimensional QR code supplied from a screen of an operation screen displayed on the terminal device and/or the image forming apparatus, Hou’s controller complements the transmitting print message function and the read two-dimensional QR code request of Ogino in the sense that the said confirmed controller when combined with the print and/or reading request services of Ogino enables the system to realize seamless execution of said service request via at least displayed portal guide screens which ultimately speed processing and increase throughput according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 1), Ogino further teaches wherein the acquirer includes a code reader (reading of at least the two-dimensional code of further para. 0149 is further read by the image inputter 320 of further para. 0090 comprising said code reader);
and the controller acquires a trigger by reading a two-dimensional code displayed on the terminal apparatus using the code reader (the implied read code request of further para. 0149).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Ogino further teaches wherein after the service has been executed and a predetermined operation has been performed in the service, the controller displays the confirmation screen on the display (para. 0149-0152 and S168-S170 of Fig. 8 further teaches at least after a read code service has been executed and a predetermined print operation has been performed in the service, the controller displays the confirmation screen on the display).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Ogino further teaches wherein before the service is executed, the controller displays the confirmation screen on the display (based on at least output condition of at least Figs. 10, and para. 0150-0152 before a print execution service is executed, the controller displays a vicinity confirmation screen on the display verifying that that they are near).
Regarding claim 13 (according to claim 1), Ogino further teaches in Fig. 5 wherein further comprising an image former 340, wherein the controller 300 receives image data from the application, and forms an image using the image former, based on the image data received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being unpatentable over Ogino et al.
Regarding claim 14, Ogino teaches an image forming apparatus 30 of Fig. 1 comprising:
an acquirer capable of acquiring a trigger from a terminal apparatus (inputter 320 of at least Figs. 8-17 and para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188 comprises an acquirer further comprising an image reader adapted for acquiring further in para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188 transmitting/receiving embedded print execution phrase message triggers and in a case of at least para. 0149 another trigger to cause the apparatus 30 to enable an NFC function shown further in Fig. 17 and the image reader to obtain/read by the apparatus 30 at least an encoded two-dimensional code displayed on the operation screen of the terminal 10);
a controller that executes a service communicable with an application executed on the terminal apparatus (controller 300 of Fig. 5 executes the trigger of at least reading the two-dimensional reading code request of para. 0149-0150 or the print service execution services of further Figs. 9-11 and para. 0185-0188 communicable with at least one or more print execution application executed on the terminal apparatus 10 of further para. 0149-0150);
a display 350; and
an operation inputter 360,
wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter or a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger (print and reading service requests of further para. 0149-0152 and 0185-0188 further indicative of the triggers when received in a case causing a service to start the service when in a case acquired from the operation inputter 360 or a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer 320, said controller in a case executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger when the condition are appropriate).
Regarding claim 15, Ogino teaches an image forming apparatus 30 of Figs. 1 and 8-17 an execution method of executing in an image forming apparatus 30, a service communicable with an application executed on a terminal apparatus (the print system of at least Figs. 8-17 and para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188 further comprises said execution method of executing, in the image forming apparatus 30, transmitting/receiving embedded print execution services communicable with at least one or more print execution application executed on a terminal apparatus);
the method comprising:
reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger (para. 0149 further teaches causing the image reader of the apparatus 30 to read a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the terminal apparatus, to acquire a print execution message/trigger); and
executing a service corresponding to the acquired trigger (executing the printing and/or code reading of further Figs. 8-17 and para. 0148-0152, and 0185-0188).
Claims 1, and 14-15 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being unpatentable over Hou et al.
Regarding claim 1, Hou teaches an image forming apparatus 12 of Figs. 1-4 comprising:
an acquirer capable of acquiring a trigger from a terminal apparatus (a method is further cited in at least Figs. 4-11 and para. 0103-0104 of acquiring a trigger from a terminal apparatus 14 via at least the image reader or NFC reader comprising said acquirer, the triggers comprising at least a start reading/communication function of Figs. 7-9, 17-20, activation execution function of Figs. 9-10, an image forming function of at least Fig. 4 and the like);
at least one controller that executes a service communicable with an application executed on the terminal apparatus (at least or more control program cited in at least para. 0058 comprising said at least one controller that executes at least an NFC service and one or more print services communicable with one or more print/read application executed on the terminal apparatus 14);
a display 32; and
an operation inputter 30,
wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter, the controller displays on the display, a confirmation screen with which whether the application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, when executing the service (a start NFC communication trigger in at least Fig. 9 is received via the operation inputter wherein in a case where a trigger command to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter, the controller displays on the display, a communication possible confirmation index or screen 210 further illustrated in at least para. 0077 with which indicates whether the at least NFC application is installed in the terminal apparatus is confirmed, when it is possible for executing the service as said NFC function cited further in para. 0156 “may not be provided”); and
in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service without displaying the confirmation screen on the display (a case exists at least in para. 0104 and 0159-0161 when a start trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service without understoodly displaying the confirmation screen on the display).
Regarding claim 14, Ogino teaches an image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 12 of at least para. 0159-0161), comprising:
an acquirer capable of acquiring a trigger from a terminal apparatus (image reader 36 of at least para. 0159-0161);
a controller that executes a service communicable with an application executed on the terminal apparatus (at least or more control program cited in at least para. 0058 comprising said at least one controller that executes a service communicable with one or more print/read application executed on the terminal apparatus 14);
a display 32; and
an operation inputter 30,
wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter or a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger (in a case of para. 0159-0161 or para 0097-0099 where a QR code or an NFC trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter of Fig. 7, 17 or a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer of Figs. 7-10 the controller as further noted in para. 0159-0161 or para 0097-0099 executes the service corresponding to the acquired trigger).
Regarding claim 15, Hou teaches an image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 12 of at least para. 0159-0161), comprising:
an execution method of executing in an image forming apparatus, a service communicable with an application executed on a terminal apparatus ((at least or more control program cited in at least para. 0058 comprising said at least one or more execution method for executing at least an NFC service and one or more print services communicable with one or more print/read application executed on the terminal apparatus 14);
the method comprising:
reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or on the terminal apparatus, to acquire a trigger (the apparatus is set up at least further in para. 0097-0099 for reading a two-dimensional code displayed on an operation inputter of the image forming apparatus or in para. 0159-0161 the printer to read the code on the terminal apparatus, to acquire said trigger); and
executing a service corresponding to the acquired trigger (the system as further configure in at least para 0159-0161 further configured for executing at least a read, scan, and/or print execution service corresponding to the acquired trigger).
Claims Objections
Claims 7, and 11-12 are not rejected over the prior arts of record, and are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if all outstanding rejections are overcome. The prior arts do not specifically teach: [Claim 7] The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the operation inputter, the controller displays a second guide screen including a first display content and a second display content, the first display content prompting a user to activate the application on the terminal apparatus, and the second display content describing an operation on the application, and in a case where a trigger to start the service is acquired from the acquirer, the controller displays a third guide screen only including the second display content.
[Claim 11] The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where an operation indicating that the application is not installed in the terminal apparatus is input on the confirmation screen, the controller displays a guide to a website where the application is able to be installed.
[Claim 12] The image forming apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the controller displays a two-dimensional code including information on the website, on the display.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 01/30/2026