DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a Final office action rejection prepared in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on
01/27/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are amended.
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is a new claim.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Nonfunctional language:
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-21, the claimed limitations below are non-functional material that do not move to distinguish over prior art.
“…associated with a profile of a custodial token platform.”, “…associated with the self- custody address…”, “…associated with the self-custody address at the client application”, and “…wherein at least one service of the one or more services stores an association between the profile of the custodial token platform and the self-custody address” in claims 1, 11 and 16.
“…associated with the client application, wherein the first input is received and the self-custody address is connected to the profile of the custodial token platform based at least in part on displaying the first option.” in claims 2, 12 and 17.
“…associated with the self-custody address” and “wherein the first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform associated with the client application is displayed based at least in part on receiving the third input.” in claim 3, 13 and 18.
“…associated with the second self-custody address” and “associated with the profile of the custodial token platform…” in claims 4, 14 and 19.
“…associated with the self- custody address…” and “…associated with the self-custody address” in claims 5, 15 and 20.
“…associated with the self-custody address” in claim 6.
“…wherein the one or more activities comprise sending one or more third tokens from the profile to the self-custody address, sending the one or more third tokens from the self-custody address to the profile, purchasing the one or more third tokens via the custodial token platform, or any combination thereof.” in claim 7.
“wherein the self-custody address is associated with one or more keys, the one or more keys associated with a capability of the self-custody address to send, receive, store, or any combination thereof cryptographic tokens via the blockchain network.” in claim 8.
“…wherein the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform are stored by the custodial token platform on behalf of a user associated with the profile.” in claim 9.
“wherein authorizing the custodial token platform to access the one or more parameters of the self-custody address is based at least in part on one or more messages signed using a private key associated with the self-custody address.” in claim 21.
Intended use/result language:
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 11-14 and 16-16, the claimed limitations below consist of language disclosing an intended result/use, so they are considered but given no patentable weight. (see MPEP 2111.05, MPEP 2114 and authorities cited therein). The references are provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
“that…” in “a first input that triggers connection of a self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform”, “that…” in “a second input that triggers authorization for the custodial token platform to access information…” in claims 1, 11 and 16.
“to connect…” in “a first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform…” in claims 2, 12 and 17.
“to download…” in “a second option to download an application …” and “to download…” in “a third input to download the application associated with the self-custody address…” in claims 3, 13 and 18.
“that …” in “a third input that connects a second self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform” in claims 4, 14 and 19.
“to further authorize…” in “receiving the second input to further authorize the custodial token platform to perform one or more activities via the blockchain network”, “to perform…” in “authorizing, based at least in part on receiving the second input, the custodial token platform to perform the one or more activities…” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-9 and 21 are directed to a method (i.e., process). Claims 11-15 are directed to a system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Claims 16-20 are directed to non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention, and thus must be further analyzed at Step 2A to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.03, subsection II).
Step 2A Prong One: Claim 1, recites (i.e., sets forth or describes) an abstract idea. More specifically, the following bolded claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
A method for data management, comprising:
displaying, at a user interface of a client application on a user device, a first indication of one or more first tokens associated with a profile of a custodial token platform;
receiving, via the client application on the user device, a first input that triggers connection of a self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform;
receiving, via the client application and after receiving the first input, a second input that triggers authorization for the custodial token platform to access one or more parameters associated with the self-custody address via a blockchain network and display, at the client application, one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address via the blockchain network;
authorizing, based at least in part on the second input, the custodial token platform to access the one or more parameters associated with the self-custody address and display, at the client application, the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address;
obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via one or more services of the custodial token platform, the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address, wherein at least one service of the one or more services stores an association between the profile of the custodial token platform and the self-custody address; and
updating the user interface of the client application after obtaining the second indication of the one or more second tokens, where in updating the user interface of the client application comprises displaying the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address concurrently with the first indication of the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform.
Claim 1, recites (i.e., sets forth or describes) a method for connecting and managing different types of accounts and displaying their information concurrently. The claim achieves this by receiving a first input at a first account to initiate a connection with a second account, receiving a second input to authorize access to account information from the second account, authorizing the access to the account information based on the received second input, retrieving the account information, and concurrently displaying the account information of both the first and second accounts. Claim 11 and 16 are significantly similar to claim 1. As such claim 11 and 16 also recite an abstract idea. Specifically, but for the additional elements, the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (i.e., commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)).
Step 2A Prong Two: Because the claim recites abstract ideas, the analysis proceeds to
determine whether the claim recites additional elements that recite a practical application of the
abstract ideas. Here, the additional elements of one or more memories, one or more processors, a blockchain network, a user interface, a client application, a user device, a custodial token platform, one or more services of the custodial token platform and a self- custody address merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Therefore, the claim as a whole fail to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas.
Step 2B: Determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the exception itself. Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Here, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A, the additional elements merely serve as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims: Claims 2-9, 12-15 and 17-21 have also been analyzed for subject matter
eligibility. However, claims 2-9, 12-15 and 17-21 also fail to recite patent eligible subject matter for the
following reasons:
Claims 2, 12 and 17 recite the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
displaying, at the user interface of the client application, a first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform associated with the client application, wherein the first input is received and the self-custody address is connected to the profile of the custodial token platform.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a user interface, a client application, a self-custody address and custodial token platform fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claims 3, 13 and 18 recite the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
displaying, at the user interface of the client application, a second option to download an application associated with the self-custody address;
receiving, at the user device, a third input to download the application associated with the self-custody address, wherein the first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform associated with the client application is displayed based at least in part on receiving the third input; and downloading, based at least in part on receiving the third input, the application associated with the self-custody.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a user interface, a client application, a self-custody address, user device and custodial token platform fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claims 4, 14 and 19 recite the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
receiving, via the client application on the user device, a third input that connects a second self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform;
obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via the one or more services of the custodial token platform and after receiving the third input, a third indication of one or more third tokens associated with the second self-custody address; and
updating the user interface of the client application after obtaining the third indication of the one or more third tokens, wherein updating the user interface of the client application comprises displaying the third indication of the one or more third tokens associated with the second self-custody address concurrently with the first indication of the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform and the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a user interface, a client application, a self-custody address, a second self-custody address, user device and custodial token platform fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claims 5, 15 and 20 recite the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via the one or more services at the custodial token platform, an indication of message activity associated with the self- custody address; and
displaying, at the user interface of the client application and after obtaining the second indication of the one or more second tokens, the indication of the message activity associated with the self-custody address.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a user interface, a client application, a self-custody address, and custodial token platform fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 6 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
obtaining an amount of tokens associated with the self-custody address,
obtaining content of one or more non-fungible tokens (NFTs) associated with the self-custody address, or both.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional element of a self-custody address fails to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional element “NFT” generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, that being of non-fungible tokens (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 7 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
receiving the second input to further authorize the custodial token platform to perform one or more activities via the blockchain network, authorizing, based at least in part on receiving the second input, the custodial token platform to perform the one or more activities via the blockchain network; and
performing, based at least in part on the authorization, the one or more activities via the blockchain network, wherein the one or more activities comprise sending one or more third tokens from the profile to the self-custody address, sending the one or more third tokens from the self-custody address to the profile, purchasing the one or more third tokens via the custodial token platform, or any combination thereof.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional element of a self-custody address, custodial token platform, a client application, and a blockchain network fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 8 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the self-custody address is associated with one or more keys, the one or more keys associated with a capability of the self-custody address to send, receive, store, or any combination thereof cryptographic tokens via the blockchain network.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a self-custody address, cryptographic tokens and a blockchain network fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 9 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform are stored by the custodial token platform on behalf of a user associated with the profile.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional element of a custodial token platform fails to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 21 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the
non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
authorizing the custodial token platform to access the one or more parameters of the self-custody address is based at least in part on one or more messages signed using a private key associated with the self-custody address.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional element of a self-custody address and a blockchain network fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Every Bit Helps (Coinbase Wallet Tutorial for Beginner: How to Set-up & use Coinbase Wallet App & Extension, Youtube video, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiWMDx2Pq6A, March 4, 2023) in view of Onodera (US 20260065255 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 16, Every Bit Helps discloses:
receiving, via the client application on the user device, a first input that triggers connection of a self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform; (Every Bit Helps 4:26-4:45 min, displays an option to connect to the Coinbase wallet with a coinbase.com account and receives an input to connect the Coinbase wallet with a coinbase.com account)
receiving, via the client application and after receiving the first input, a second input that triggers authorization for the custodial token platform to access one or more parameters associated with the self-custody address via a blockchain network and display, at the client application, a second indication of one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address via the blockchain network; (Every Bit Helps 4:45-4:59 min, displays an option to authorize the Coinbase wallet to access information associated to coinbase.com account)
authorizing, based at least in part on the second input, the custodial token platform to access the one or more parameters associated with the self-custody address and display, at the client application, the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address. (Every Bit Helps 4:45-5:03 min, displays a list of permissions the user will authorize upon selecting the second input (i.e. Authorize icon) including accessing user information from the other account, buy/send crypto and other permissions)
While Every Bit Helps discloses linking a custodial platform to a wallet application, it would have been obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art to apply the same concept and steps in order to add the same functionality to a custodial token platform so the user can connect wallets to the platform.
Every Bit Helps does not disclose, however Onodera teaches:
displaying, at a user interface of a client application on a user device a first indication of one or more first tokens associated with a profile of a custodial token platform; (¶0139, In the example illustrated in FIG. 4, at a part indicated by an arrow Q31 on the screen related to the wallet application, information regarding an account in the user's personal account mode (private account), in other words, information regarding the custodial wallet is displayed. ¶0140, In particular, in this example, the total amount of fiat currency and crypto assets managed in the private account (custodial wallet) is displayed. The private account becomes available after identity verification (KYC).)
obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via one or more services of the custodial token platform, the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address, wherein at least one service of the one or more services stores an association between the profile of the custodial token platform and the self-custody address; and (¶0191, As described above, the user terminal 21 can display a list of all the wallets of the user, more specifically, a list of NFTs held in the accounts corresponding to all the wallets of the user. ¶0192, In displaying such a list of NFTs, it is necessary for the custodial server 23 to collect NFT information of ON-chain NFTs and OFF-chain NFTs. For example, possible examples of the collection method include four methods illustrated in FIG. 15. ¶0193, In FIG. 15, methods of pattern A and pattern B are illustrated as the methods of collecting NFT information of ON-chain NFTs, and methods of pattern C and pattern D are illustrated as the methods of collecting NFT information of OFF-chain NFTs. ¶0194, In pattern A, the custodial server 23 collects the NFT information of ON-chain NFTs from the blockchain. ¶0212, In the recording unit 93 of the custodial server 23, the account information of the user in the custodial server 23 (crypto asset transaction service) and the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user are recorded in correlation with (in association with) each other. ¶0213, That is, in the custodial server 23 (wallet application), the account information related to the user account in the custodial server 23, in other words, the custodial wallet of the user, and the non-custodial wallet of the same user are correlated in advance. As a result, the custodial wallet and the non-custodial wallet of different accounts of the same user are linked. ¶0215, In such a case, in pattern A, for example, NFT information collection processing illustrated in FIG. 16 is performed by the custodial server 23 to thereby collect the NFT information of ON-chain NFTs from the blockchain. ¶0217, The NFT information collection processing may be performed at any timing such as a periodic timing or a timing when an instruction is given from the user terminal 21. ¶0218, In Step S11, the control unit 91 collects (crawls) the NFT information correlated with the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user. ¶0219, For example, the control unit 91 reads, from the recording unit 93, the address information of all the non-custodial wallets recorded in correlation with the account information (custodial wallet) of the user in the custodial server 23. ¶0220, Then, the control unit 91 controls the communication unit 92 to read a transaction (data) including the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user as the owner information and the NFT information from the blockchain. That is, the communication unit 92 receives the transaction transmitted from the blockchain to supply the transaction to the control unit 91. In this case, transactions are read for each non-custodial wallet of the user. ¶0221, As a result, the transactions related to one or all the ON-chain NFTs held in the non-custodial wallet of the user, that is, the NFT information is read (acquired).)
updating the user interface of the client application after obtaining the second indication of the one or more second tokens, wherein updating the user interface of the client application comprises displaying the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address concurrently with the first indication of the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform. (¶0061, In addition, the wallets are linked together, so that NFTs managed in a plurality of wallets such as a non-custodial wallet and a custodial wallet can be collectively displayed at the same time, or a crypto asset can be easily moved from any wallet to another wallet. ¶0116, Further, all the accounts including the metaverse mode and the personal account mode, that is, NFTs and electronic tickets held in all of the non-custodial wallets and the custodial wallet of the user are displayed at a part indicated by an arrow Q14. ¶0145, As described above, in the example of FIG. 4, a wallet list in which the private account (custodial wallet) owned by the user and a plurality of public wallets (non-custodial wallets) are displayed as a list (tile display) is displayed as the screen related to the wallet application. ¶0335, As a result, the display unit 31 displays a list of all the ON-chain NFTs and OFF-chain NFTs held by the user on the display screen in the personal account mode. That is, all the NFTs held in the non-custodial wallet or the like are listed in the custodial wallet. Specifically, for example, the screen illustrated on the right side of FIG. 2 is displayed on the display unit 31. ¶0336, Note that, as described above, among all the NFTs held in each of the plurality of accounts of the user, NFTs in at least one of the OFF chain and the ON chain may be displayed as a list. In this case, the user may select whether to display a list of only OFF chain NFTs, a list of only ON chain NFTs, or a list of both OFF chain NFTs and ON chain NFTs. ¶0337, As described above, the user terminal 21 receives the NFT information from the custodial server 23 to display a list of the NFTs held in all the modes. As a result, even in the personal account mode, the user can confirm the NFTs held by the user in another mode (metaverse mode), which improves convenience.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Every Bit Helps’ teaching with Onodera. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated in order to retrieved information from the blockchain and provide a consolidated view of all of the user’s linked wallets in one display, therefore avoiding the need to log in multiple apps or platforms.
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 17, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
displaying, at the user interface of the client application, a first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform associated with the client application, wherein the first input is received and the self-custody address is connected to the profile of the custodial token platform based at least in part on displaying the first option. (Every Bit Helps 4:26-4:45 min, displays an option to connect to the Coinbase wallet with a coinbase.com account and receives an input to connect the Coinbase wallet with a coinbase.com account)
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 18, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
displaying, at the user interface of the client application, a second option to download an application associated with the self-custody address; (Every Bit Helps 1:08-1:14 min, display on the client application an option to download a Coinbase wallet for the mobile app or as a browser extension)
receiving, at the user device, a third input to download the application associated with the self-custody address, wherein the first option to connect the self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform associated with the client application is based at least in part on receiving the third input; and downloading, based at least in part on receiving the third input, the application associated with the self-custody address. (Every Bit Helps 1:45-1:54, shows downloading the wallet app by selecting the “get” option on the app store which will then download the Coinbase wallet app)
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 19, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
receiving, via the client application on the user device, a third input that connects a second self-custody address to the profile of the custodial token platform; (Fig. 4 shows an option to connect/add a new wallet to the app)
obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via the one or more services of the custodial token platform and after receiving the third input, a third indication of one or more third tokens associated with the second self-custody address; and (¶0191, As described above, the user terminal 21 can display a list of all the wallets of the user, more specifically, a list of NFTs held in the accounts corresponding to all the wallets of the user. ¶0192, In displaying such a list of NFTs, it is necessary for the custodial server 23 to collect NFT information of ON-chain NFTs and OFF-chain NFTs. For example, possible examples of the collection method include four methods illustrated in FIG. 15. ¶0193, In FIG. 15, methods of pattern A and pattern B are illustrated as the methods of collecting NFT information of ON-chain NFTs, and methods of pattern C and pattern D are illustrated as the methods of collecting NFT information of OFF-chain NFTs. ¶0194, In pattern A, the custodial server 23 collects the NFT information of ON-chain NFTs from the blockchain. ¶0212, In the recording unit 93 of the custodial server 23, the account information of the user in the custodial server 23 (crypto asset transaction service) and the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user are recorded in correlation with (in association with) each other. ¶0213, That is, in the custodial server 23 (wallet application), the account information related to the user account in the custodial server 23, in other words, the custodial wallet of the user, and the non-custodial wallet of the same user are correlated in advance. As a result, the custodial wallet and the non-custodial wallet of different accounts of the same user are linked. ¶0215, In such a case, in pattern A, for example, NFT information collection processing illustrated in FIG. 16 is performed by the custodial server 23 to thereby collect the NFT information of ON-chain NFTs from the blockchain. ¶0217, The NFT information collection processing may be performed at any timing such as a periodic timing or a timing when an instruction is given from the user terminal 21. ¶0218, In Step S11, the control unit 91 collects (crawls) the NFT information correlated with the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user. ¶0219, For example, the control unit 91 reads, from the recording unit 93, the address information of all the non-custodial wallets recorded in correlation with the account information (custodial wallet) of the user in the custodial server 23. ¶0220, Then, the control unit 91 controls the communication unit 92 to read a transaction (data) including the address information of the non-custodial wallet of the user as the owner information and the NFT information from the blockchain. That is, the communication unit 92 receives the transaction transmitted from the blockchain to supply the transaction to the control unit 91. In this case, transactions are read for each non-custodial wallet of the user. ¶0221, As a result, the transactions related to one or all the ON-chain NFTs held in the non-custodial wallet of the user, that is, the NFT information is read (acquired).)
updating the user interface of the client application after obtaining the third indication of the one or more third tokens, wherein updating the user interface of the client application comprises displaying the third indication of the one or more third tokens associated with the second self-custody address concurrently the first indication of the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform and the second indication of the one or more second tokens associated with the self-custody address. (¶0061, In addition, the wallets are linked together, so that NFTs managed in a plurality of wallets such as a non-custodial wallet and a custodial wallet can be collectively displayed at the same time, or a crypto asset can be easily moved from any wallet to another wallet. ¶0116, Further, all the accounts including the metaverse mode and the personal account mode, that is, NFTs and electronic tickets held in all of the non-custodial wallets and the custodial wallet of the user are displayed at a part indicated by an arrow Q14. ¶0145, As described above, in the example of FIG. 4, a wallet list in which the private account (custodial wallet) owned by the user and a plurality of public wallets (non-custodial wallets) are displayed as a list (tile display) is displayed as the screen related to the wallet application. ¶0335, As a result, the display unit 31 displays a list of all the ON-chain NFTs and OFF-chain NFTs held by the user on the display screen in the personal account mode. That is, all the NFTs held in the non-custodial wallet or the like are listed in the custodial wallet. Specifically, for example, the screen illustrated on the right side of FIG. 2 is displayed on the display unit 31. ¶0336, Note that, as described above, among all the NFTs held in each of the plurality of accounts of the user, NFTs in at least one of the OFF chain and the ON chain may be displayed as a list. In this case, the user may select whether to display a list of only OFF chain NFTs, a list of only ON chain NFTs, or a list of both OFF chain NFTs and ON chain NFTs. ¶0337, As described above, the user terminal 21 receives the NFT information from the custodial server 23 to display a list of the NFTs held in all the modes. As a result, even in the personal account mode, the user can confirm the NFTs held by the user in another mode (metaverse mode), which improves convenience.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera with Onodera’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated in order to allow the user to connect, view and manage more than one wallet within the app/platform.
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 20, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
Obtaining, by querying the blockchain network via the one or more services at the custodial token platform, an indication of message activity associated with the self-custody address; and (Every Bit Helps 9:59-10:16 min, a request to move crypto tokens is submitted at the bridge service)
displaying, at the user interface of the client application and after obtaining the second indication of the one or more second tokens, the indication of the message activity associated with the self-custody address (Every Bit Helps 10:16-10:21, displays the information related to the message activity)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
obtaining an amount of tokens associated with the self-custody address, obtaining content of one or more non-fungible tokens (NFTs) associated with the self-custody address, or both. (Every Bit Helps 0:45-1:14, crypto, NFTs and keys are all obtained and displayed in one place)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera further discloses:
receiving the second input to further authorize the custodial token platform to perform one or more activities via the blockchain network, (Every Bit Helps 4:45-4:59 min, displays an option to authorize the Coinbase wallet to access information associated to coinbase.com account)
authorizing, based at least in part on receiving the second input, the custodial token platform to perform the one or more activities via the blockchain network; and (Every Bit Helps 4:45-5:03 min, displays a list of permissions the user will authorize upon selecting the second input (i.e. Authorize icon) including accessing user information from the other account, buy/send crypto and other permissions)
performing, based at least in part on the authorization, the one or more activities via the blockchain network, wherein the one or more activities comprise sending one or more third tokens from the profile to the self-custody address, sending the one or more third tokens from the self-custody address to the profile, purchasing the one or more third tokens via the custodial token platform, or any combination thereof. (Every Bit Helps 5:00-7:33, shows that activities that can be perform after the authorization is received include transferring crypto from the custodial platform to the wallet and buying new crypto)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Every Bit Helps and Onodera as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowden (What is a Self-Custody Wallet & Why Do You Need One, 09/25/2023, retrieved on 10/20/2025 from https://www.xverse.app/blog/self-custody-wallet).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera do not disclose, however Bowden teaches:
the self-custody address is associated with one or more keys, the one or more keys associated with a capability of the self-custody address to send, receive, store, or any combination thereof cryptographic tokens via the blockchain network. (Bowden P.3 ¶1, Self-custody wallets are digital wallets that give you complete control over the private keys to your crypto assets… Bowden P.3 ¶2, The private key is an essential part of self-custody wallets and comes in the form of a password or a secret phrase that enables you to sign and verify transactions. As long as you possess your private keys, you have 100% control over your digital assets. Bowden P.3 ¶4, When you create a self-custody wallet, it randomly generates a unique set of private keys that are stored on your device. Private keys represent ownership in a person’s digital assets, which live on the blockchain. Bowden P.4 ¶1, So, a cryptocurrency wallet doesn’t hold cryptocurrencies but the private keys to these assets.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera with Bowden’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to add such description because key pair functionality is an inherited feature of self custodied wallets that was well known before the effective filling date of the instant application.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera do not disclose, however Bowden teaches:
the one or more first tokens associated with the profile of the custodial token platform are stored by the custodial token platform on behalf of a user associated with the profile. (Bowden P.5 ¶1, A custodial wallet is a Bitcoin wallet that passes the responsibility of storing private keys to another party, like a wallet provider or a Bitcoin exchange.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera with Bowden’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to add such description because this functionality is an inherited feature of custodial platforms that was well known before the effective filling date of the instant application.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Every Bit Helps and Onodera as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 2017/0317997 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera do not disclose, however Smith teaches:
authorizing the custodial token platform to access the one or more parameters of the self-custody address is based at least in part on one or more messages signed using a private key associated with the self-custody address. (Smith ¶0020, receiving at the processor associated with the verifier the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key; verifying user identity with the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key. Smith ¶0062, In some embodiments, receiving the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key includes receiving from the digital wallet of the user the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key. Smith ¶0077, receive at the processor associated with the merchant the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key; and verify user identity with the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the user's private key and the user's public key. Smith 10090, receive at the processor associated with the user the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the digital entity's private key; and verify the digital entity's identity with the cryptographic challenge nonce signed by the digital entity's key.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the combination of Every Bit Helps and Onodera with Smith’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to in order to enhance security and ensure that the request for authorization is legit and was sent from the owner of the self-custody address.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101
The applicant presents several assertions in regards to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101. The basis of these assertions are based on the applicant’s argument on pages 13-18.
First, in regards to the assertions that “the claims do not recite a judicial exception”, “the claims do not recite a method for organizing human activity for at least the reason that the claims do not recite features related to the type of commercial or legal interactions which the courts classify as a concept related to methods of organizing human activity“ and “the office action has not provided any support for the assertion that the claims recite a legal or commercial interaction”. The examiner finds these assertions not persuasive and respectfully disagrees. The claims recite a judicial exception because they recite certain method of organizing human activity (i.e. commercial or legal interactions). The claim as a whole is directed to the management and display of tokens among different type of accounts. These activities are analogous to commercial practices such as aggregating account information, linking multiple financial accounts and presenting combined information about multiple accounts to a user, which are concepts that fall under certain methods of organizing human activities, including commercial interactions involving account management. The use of technology such as a blockchain, wallets and addresses merely applies the abstract idea in a particular technological environment and do not remove the claims from the judicial exception.
Second, in regards to the applicant’s assertion that “the claims recite features that integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application”, “the claims include features that support synchronization and display of self-custody address token and profile tokens to improve system performance of a custodial token platform and improvements to the user interface, as well as improvements to user device functionality” and “the claimed features improve interfacing capabilities between a custodial token platform and a self-custody wallet, solving the technical problem of being unable to manage both a custodial wallet and a self-custody wallet in a single application.” The examiner finds these assertions not persuasive and respectfully disagrees. The additional claim elements of one or more memories, one or more processors, a blockchain network, a user interface, a client application, a user device, a custodial token platform, one or more services of the custodial token platform and a self- custody address do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim does not improve any of the mention additional elements and rather uses them to collect information, authorize a connection, retrieve token data from the blockchain and update the display, therefore merely applying the judicial exception in a technological environment. Further, the asserted improvement to “synchronization and display of self-custody address token and profile tokens to improve system performance of a custodial token platform and improvements to the user interface” are not supported by the claim language as the claim does not recite any specific technical mechanism to achieve such results. Finally, the alleged problem of being unable to manage both a custodial wallet and a self-custody wallet in a single application is a user or business accessibility problem and not a technological problem. The provided method of linking accounts, retrieving token information and updating a display amounts to gathering, organizing and presenting financial asset data.
As such the claims remain within an abstract idea and rejection is maintained based on the
newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0037112 A1 to Maddukuri et al. discloses: Disclosed are various embodiments for complete webforms based on decentralized identifiers. A decentralized identifier communication (DIDComm) protocol connection is established with a wallet application. Then, a request is sent to the wallet application for a verifiable credential (VC) that contains at least one value for at least one field in a web application. The VC is then received from the wallet application and verified or validated. Next, at least one field in a form is completed with the at least one value specified by the verifiable credential. The web application is then updated to reflect that the at least one field has been filled with the at least one value.
US 12260397 B2 to Eu et al. discloses: A method, computer system, and computer program product for consolidating financial transactions of an employee in a payment technology gateway. The payment technology gateway comprises an electronic wallet linked to a payment technology application and a paycard linked to the payment technology application. The payment technology gateway is configured to be a single gateway through which the employee conducts financial transactions on a number of accounts using the electronic wallet and the paycard. Each financial transaction is validated by the payment technology gateway.
US 20240281901 A1 to Kamino et al. discloses: The present technology relates to an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, and a program capable of presenting a highly reliable profile in an SNS by using a token having uniqueness. Information of one or more tokens having uniqueness and owned by a user having an account of a social network service is acquired from a blockchain, and setting data to be used for page setting of a page of the user of the social network service is generated, the setting data being setting data for setting the token to be presented on the page of the user of the social network service, among the tokens owned by the user.
US 20250080350 A1 to Maddukuri et al. discloses: Disclosed are various embodiments for providing verifiable credentials representing a driver's license or other form of identification issued by a government or a third-party. A wallet application can request a third-party issued identification of a user from a third-party application installed on the computing device. The wallet application can then receive the third-party issued identification from the third-party application. Subsequently, the wallet application can verify the third-party issued identification and then establish a secure communications channel with an issuer service. The wallet application can then request a verifiable credential that represents the third-party issued identification.
WO 2023023137 A1 to Mohammed discloses: A self-custody wallet combination payment card includes an electronic component with storage, a processor, and a near field communications interface. Two programs are stored at the electronic component and, once provisioned, the electronic component stores one or more blockchain addresses and security keys. The two programs can include a payment application which can interface with point of sale terminals (e.g., following EMV specifications) and a crypto application which has the capability to securely store keys and return a signature for blockchain transaction.
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/STEVEN S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698