DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2024 and 11/18/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informality: in line 2, ‘positive electrode tab at the winding start’ should read “positive electrode tab is at the winding start end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20160101347 A). The English translation of this reference was relied upon for purposes of examination.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electrode assembly (200 in Fig. 3, paragraph 50) comprising a positive electrode plate (260 in Fig. 3, paragraph 50) which comprises a current collector plate (211, in Fig. 3, paragraph 51), a positive electrode mixture layer (212 in Fig. 3, paragraph 51) and at least one uncoated portion (221, 222 and 223 in Fig. 3, paragraph 51) and at least one positive electrode tab (231, 232 and 233 in Fig. 3, paragraph 51) attached to the uncoated region and protruding upwards. It further teaches that the electrode assembly, 200, comprises a negative electrode (260 in Fig. 3, paragraph 52) which comprises a current collector plate (261 in Fig. 3, paragraph 52), a negative electrode mixture layer (262 in Fig.3, paragraph 52) and at least one uncoated portion (271, 272, 273 in Fig.3, paragraph 52) and at least one negative electrode tab (281,282 and 283 in Fig. 3, paragraph 52) attached to an uncoated region and protruding downwards. Lee also teaches a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (separation membrane in abstract)
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches that the uncoated portions, 221 and 222, are at the winding start end and the winding finish end of the positive electrode respectively. (Fig 3, paragraph 47). Lee also teaches that the uncoated portions, 271 and 272, are at the winding start end and the winding finish end of the negative electrode respectively. (paragraph 48, Fig 3)
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tab, 231, is at the winding start end (Fig 2) and the negative electrode tab, 281, is at the winding start end (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tab, 232, is at the winding finish end and the negative electrode tab, 282 is at the winding finish end (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tab, 231, is at the winding start end and the negative electrode tab, 282, is at the winding finish end (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tabs, 231 and 232, are at the winding start end and the winding finish end respectively and the negative electrode tabs, 281 and 282, are at the winding start end and winding finish end respectively (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tab, 233 and the uncoated portion, 223, are at the center of the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode tab, 283, and the uncoated portion, 273, are at the center of the negative electrode plate (paragraph 52, Fig 3)
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the positive electrode tabs, 231,232 and 233, are attached to uncoated portions, 221, 222 and 223, at the winding start end, the winding finish end and the center of the plate respectively (paragraph 51, Fig 3). Lee also teaches that negative electrode tabs, 281, 282 and 283, attached to uncoated portions, 271, 272, 273, at the winding start end, the winding finish end and the center of the plate respectively (paragraph 52, Fig 3)
Claim 1 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2009/0317713 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electrode assembly (100 in Fig. 9, paragraph 50) comprising a positive electrode plate (110, paragraph 44) which comprises a current collector plate (111, paragraph 44), a positive electrode mixture layer (112, paragraph 44) and at least one uncoated portion (113, paragraph 44) and at least one positive electrode tab (140 in Fig. 9, paragraph 45) attached to the uncoated region and protruding upwards (Fig 9). It further teaches that the electrode assembly, 100, comprises a negative electrode (120, paragraph 47) which comprises a current collector plate (121, paragraph 47), a negative electrode mixture layer (122, paragraph 46) and at least one uncoated portion (123, paragraph 47) and at least one negative electrode tab (150 in Fig. 9, paragraph 52) attached to an uncoated region and protruding downwards (Fig 9). Lee also teaches a separator between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (130, paragraph 36)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8 of this application are patentably indistinct from claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 of Application No. 18/639884 respectively. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1,3,4 and 6-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/639884 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the reference discloses a “plurality” of electrode tabs whereas claim 1 of the instant application mentions “at least one” electrode tab. The term “at least one” encompasses the “plurality” claimed in the reference so the claim does not represent a patentably distinct invention. Claim 3 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1 as it inherits the term “at least one” from claim 1 but is otherwise identical to claim 2 of the reference. Claim 4, 6,7 and 8 are similarly rejected over claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 of the reference respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KAZIAH OWUSU-ANSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748