DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 04/16/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2005/0207606).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a speaker module (1), comprising: a speaker housing (10); a first sounding unit (21); and a second sounding unit (23); wherein an accommodating cavity (within 10) is defined in the speaker housing, the accommodating cavity comprises a first space and a second space (Fig. 2C/D); the first sounding unit is fixed in the accommodating cavity, the first sounding unit divides the first space into a first rear sound cavity (back cavity of 21) and a first front sound cavity (front cavity of 21), a first speaker hole (32) is defined on a first surface of the speaker housing, the first front sound cavity is communicated with an exterior of the speaker housing through the first speaker hole (Figs. 2C/D); and the second sounding unit is fixed in the accommodating cavity, the second sounding unit divides the second space into a second rear sound cavity (back cavity of 23) and a second front sound cavity (front cavity of 23), a second speaker hole (32) is defined on the first surface of the speaker housing, and the second front sound cavity is communicated with the exterior of the speaker housing through the second speaker hole (Figs. 2C/D) as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Yang further discloses the speaker module, wherein both the first speaker hole and the second speaker hole extend in a first direction, a projection of the first speaker hole (319a) in a second direction falls within the second speaker (315b/c) hole , the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 6-7, Yang further discloses the speaker module, wherein the first sounding unit (21) is configured to receive a first frequency band signal, the second sounding unit (22, 23) is configured to receive a second frequency band signal, and a frequency of the first frequency band signal is different a frequency of the second frequency band signal (Figs 2C/D); and the frequency of the first frequency band signal is greater than the frequency of the second frequency band signal as claimed inherently.
Regarding claim 8, Yang further discloses the speaker module, wherein the first rear sound cavity and the second rear sound cavity are combined into an integrated rear sound cavity (Figs. 3-7A).
Regarding claim 9, Yang further discloses the speaker module, wherein the speaker housing (311) comprises a first sub-housing (317) and a second sub-housing (331), the first sub-housing is covered with the second sub-housing (Fig. 5A), the first sounding unit (315a) is disposed in the first sub-housing, and the second sounding unit (315c) is disposed in the second sub-housing.
Regarding claim 10, Yang further discloses the speaker module, wherein a smart headset, comprising: the speaker module (Fig. 2A) as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2005/0207606).
Regarding claim 3, Yang may not specially teach that the first speaker hole and the second speaker hole are rectangular structures or slotted structures as claimed. Since providing suitable speaker grille with desirable openings for a speaker device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Yang does suggest for modification ([0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable speaker grille with desirable openings, such as rectangular or circular openings, for the speaker module taught by Yang, in order to provide desirable protection and transmit acoustic output for the speaker module.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yang (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2005/0207606) in view of Mei et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2011/0158440) and YOU et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2004/0109576).
Regarding claims 4-5, Yang may not specially teach that at least one balance hole is defined on the speaker housing as claimed. But Mei et al. disclose a similar structured speaker module (Fig. 13), comprising at least one balance hole (1006c) defined on a speaker housing (1006); and YOU et al. also disclose a similar structured speaker module (Fig. 4), comprising balance holes on a speaker housing ([0034]). Furthermore, Yang does suggest for modification ([0079]), and it therefore, would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable venting or balance hole(s) on the housing of the speaker module taught by Yang, in order to provide desirable protection for the speaker module.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691