DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 24 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 5 recites a ratio of silica to alumina but does not recite what the ratio is based upon. For purposes of examination, claim 1 is interpreted such that the ratio is a weight ratio as supported by the instant specification Par. 0039.
Claim 11 recites the term “similar” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is thus unclear how “similar” a color the layers need to have to be considered a similar color. For purposes of examination, claim 11 is interpreted such that the first and second layers are the same color.
Claim 13 recites a difference in color quantity of the first and second layers. However, it is unclear how exactly the color difference is calculated. For purposes of examination, the difference in color quantity in claim 13 is interpreted as being calculated based on the formula of claim 14.
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 12, and 14-18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since these claims depend from the claims rejected above and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiki et al. (JP-2004299933-A; herein English machine translation used for all citations).
Regarding claim 1, Ichiki teaches a toilet comprising a toilet bow and a rim defining an opening of the toilet bowl, wherein the toilet bowl includes a body, a first layer (first glaze layer) that is an opacified (see colored) glaze over the body, and a second layer (second glaze layer) that is transparent over the first layer (Ichiki, Pages 2 and 9). Ichiki teaches the second layer includes 99% of an amorphous glaze that comprises silica in an amount of 52-80 wt.% and alumina in an amount of 5-14 wt.% (Ichiki, Pages 10-11), which results in a weight ratio of silica to alumina of 3.7-16, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 9 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 2-3, 12, and 14, no values for the color quantities or difference in color quantities are claimed. Therefore, it can be said that a color value for the first and second layers can include their lightness, a first chromacity value and a second chromacity value, and the difference in color quantities can be given by the claimed formula.
Regarding claim 5, Ichiki teaches a sanitary apparatus comprising a water vessel and a drain configured to empty water or other material from the water vessel, wherein the water vessel includes a clay body, a first layer (first glaze layer) that is an opacified (see colored) glaze over the body, and a second layer (second glaze layer) that is transparent over the first layer (Ichiki, Pages 2, 9, and 14-15). Ichiki teaches the second layer includes 99% of an amorphous glaze that comprises silica in an amount of 52-80 wt.% and alumina in an amount of 5-14 wt.% (Ichiki, Pages 10-11), which results in a weight ratio of silica to alumina of 3.7-16, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 9 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 6, Ichiki teaches the second layer includes ZnO in an amount of 3-11 wt.% (Ichiki, Page 10), which overlaps the claimed range of less than 5.4 wt.% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 8, Ichiki teaches the second layer includes 99% of an amorphous glaze that comprises silica in an amount of 52-80 wt.% and alumina in an amount of 5-14 wt.% (Ichiki, Pages 10-11), which results in a weight ratio of silica to alumina of 3.7-16, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 13 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 10, Ichiki teaches a thickness of the second layer is 0.05-0.4 mm (Ichiki, Page 9), which overlaps the claimed range of less than 0.07 mm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Ichiki teaches the first and second layer have the same color and thus have a color difference of less than 1 (Ichiki, Page 9).
Regarding claim 15, Ichiki teaches a toilet bowl having the water vessel (Ichiki, Page 10).
Claims 4, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiki et al. as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, further in view of Tomioka et al. (US 6383646 B1).
Regarding claims 4 and 16-17, Ichiki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Ichiki further teaches a thickness of the second layer is 0.05-0.4 mm (Ichiki, Page 9).
Ichiki is silent regarding the first layer having a thickness greater than the second layer as required by claims 4 and 16, and is silent regarding the first layer being 5-20 times thicker than the second layer.
Tomioka teaches a toilet bowl comprising a body, a first colored layer, and a second transparent layer, wherein the first colored layer has a thickness of 0.1-1 mm (Tomioka, Abstract, Col. 1 Lines 10-14, Col 2 Lines 45-50, and Col. 4 Lines 28-35).
Ichiki and Tomioka are analogous art as they both teach toilet bowls comprising a body, a first colored layer, and a second transparent layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first layer of Ichiki to have the thickness taught by Tomioka. This would ensure that production defects, such as hairline fissures and glaze scaling will not easily arise (Tomioka, Col. 4 Lines 28-35). This would further result in embodiments wherein the first layer has a greater thickness than the second layer. This would further result in embodiments wherein the first layer has a thickness that is 0.25-20 times that of the second layer, which overlaps the claimed range of 5-20 times and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Ichiki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 5. Ichiki is silent regarding a mean particle size for the second layer being less than or equal to 3 µm and is silent regarding the silica particles having a mean particle size less than or equal to 6 µm.
Tomioka teaches a toilet bowl comprising a body, a first colored layer, and a second transparent layer, wherein the second transparent layer comprises silica and has an average particle diameter of less than 6 µm (Tomioka, Abstract, Col. 1 Lines 10-14, Col 2 Lines 45-50, Col. 5 Lines 38-43, and Col. 6 Lines 7-19), which overlaps the claimed range of less than or equal to 3 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I. This further lies within the claimed range of less than or equal to 6 µm and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Ichiki and Tomioka are analogous art as they both teach toilet bowls comprising a body, a first colored layer, and a second transparent layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a mean particle size of the second layer and the silica within the claimed range. This would allow for transparent layer with a flat and smooth surface (Tomioka, Col. 6 Lines 7-34).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiki et al. as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Stammel et al. (US 20160219884 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ichiki teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 5. Ichiki is silent regarding the second layer including a weight percentage of less than 2% tin oxide (SnO2).
Stammel teaches a coating for ceramic materials such as toilet bowls comprising silica and alumina, and further comprising 0.1-20 wt.% tin oxide (Stammel, Abstract, Par. 0010, 0019-0021, and 0026).
Ichiki and Stammel are analogous art as they both teach coating layers for toilet bowls comprising silica and alumina. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included tin oxide in the claimed amount in the second layer of Ichiki. This would allow for stale antibacterial properties (Stammel, Par. 0026).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782