DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nowak et al. (US Publication No. 2015/018221 A1).
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 1, Nowak discloses a tissue retractor (11, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a handle (15) [0024] (fig. 5);
a retractor blade adjustment mechanism (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the handle (15) having:
a first adjustment mechanism (19+21+27) [0030]; and a second adjustment mechanism (41+63+65) [0034];
a retractor blade carrier (61) coupled to the retractor blade adjustment mechanism configured to rotate or pivot in response to the first and second adjustment mechanisms [0033] (Fig. 6-8); and
a retractor blade (13) (Fig. 3) coupled to the retractor blade carrier (31) [0035]; wherein rotation of the first adjustment mechanism is configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for gross adjustment of the retractor blade angle (see below), and
rotation of the second adjustment mechanism is configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for fine adjustment of the retractor blade angle (fine-tuning angular adjustment is described in relation to use of second control screw 41 and 19 is referred to as a “gross adjustment “ clamp in [0031]).
(first interpretation) Regarding Claims 2, the first adjustment mechanism includes an adjustment handle ([0030] describes “manual rotation of clamp 19 relative to pivot pin 21” therefore the location of the manual interaction to rotate the clamp would be the “adjustment handle”) and the second adjustment mechanism includes a pinion gear set (41+65) (fig. 4) [0034].
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 8, further comprising a driver (40) (Fig. 6) configured to rotate the pinion gear set to change the angle of the retractor blade [0034].
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 4, Nowak discloses a tissue retractor (11, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a retractor blade (13) coupled to a retractor blade carrier (61) (fig. 3) [0035];
a retractor blade adjustment mechanism (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the retractor blade carrier (61) configured to change a retractor blade angle, the retractor blade adjustment mechanism includes: a first adjustment mechanism(19+21+27) [0030] configured to pivot the retractor blade carrier a first angle for gross adjustment;
and a second adjustment mechanism (41+63+65) [0034] configured to pivot the retractor blade carrier a second angle for fine adjustment (fine-tuning angular adjustment is described in relation to use of second control screw 41 and 19 is referred to as a “gross adjustment “ clamp in [0031]).
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 6, the first adjustment mechanism includes an adjustment handle ([0030] describes “manual rotation of clamp 19 relative to pivot pin 21” therefore the location of the manual interaction to rotate the clamp would be the “adjustment handle”) and the second adjustment mechanism includes a pinion gear set (41+65) (fig. 4) [0034].
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 9, Nowak discloses a tissue retractor (11, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a retractor blade (13) coupled to a retractor blade carrier (61) (fig. 3) [0035];
a retractor blade adjustment mechanism (shown in Fig. 1) coupled to the retractor blade carrier (61) configured to change a retractor blade angle, the retractor blade adjustment mechanism includes: a first adjustment mechanism(19+21+27) [0030] having an adjustment handle configured to pivot the retractor blade carrier a large degree for gross adjustment ([0030] describes “manual rotation of clamp 19 relative to pivot pin 21” therefore the location of the manual interaction to rotate the clamp would be the “adjustment handle”); and a second adjustment mechanism (41+63+65) [0034] having a pinion gear set (41+65) (fig. 4) [0034] configured to pivot the retractor blade carrier a small degree for fine adjustment (fine-tuning angular adjustment is described in relation to use of second control screw 41 and 19 is referred to as a “gross adjustment “ clamp in [0031]). (see figures of explanation above in rejection of claim 1)
(first interpretation) Regarding Claim 11, further comprising a driver (40) (Fig. 6) configured to rotate the pinion gear set to change the angle of the retractor blade [0034].
(second interpretation) Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Nowak discloses a tissue retractor (2nd embodiment shown in Fig. 9 and described in [0039-0037]) comprising:
a handle (15) [0024] (fig. 9);
a retractor blade adjustment mechanism (shown in Fig. 9) coupled to the handle (15) having:
a first adjustment mechanism (gross adjustment clamp 105) [0036]; and a second adjustment mechanism (threads of 111+113) [0036-0037];
a retractor blade carrier (107) coupled to the retractor blade adjustment mechanism configured to pivot in response to the first and second adjustment mechanisms [0036-0037] (Fig. 9); and
a retractor blade (13) (Fig. 3) coupled to the retractor blade carrier (107) [0036]; wherein rotation of the first adjustment mechanism is configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for gross adjustment and rotation of the second adjustment mechanism is configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for fine adjustment (fine-tuning angular adjustment is described in relation to use of second adjustment mechanism (threads of 111+113) [0036-0037] and a first adjustment mechanism (105) is referred to as a “gross adjustment “ clamp in [0036]). (see figures below)
(second interpretation) Regarding Claim 2 and 6, the first adjustment mechanism includes an adjustment handle ([0030] describes “manual rotation of clamp 19 relative to pivot pin 21” and [0036] describes clamp 105 as corresponding to gross adjustment clamp 19 of Fig. 1, therefore the location of the manual interaction to rotate the clamp would be the “adjustment handle”) and the second adjustment mechanism includes a pinion gear set (threads driving movement of 111 relative to 113) (fig. 9) [0037].
(second interpretation) Regarding Claim 9, the retractor blade adjustment mechanism further includes a translating shuttle (body of 111) using the pinion gear set to change the angle of the retractor blade [0037].
(second interpretation) Regarding Claim 7, the adjustment handle and pinion gear set are coupled to a translating shuttle ( all elements of the adjustment mechanism are coupled with /connected to the body of 111 as shown in Fig. 9) that is designed to pivot the retractor blade carrier to change the angle the of a retractor blade [0036-0037].
(second interpretation) Regarding Claim 9, Nowak discloses a tissue retractor (2nd embodiment shown in Fig. 9 and described in [0039-0037]) comprising:
a retractor blade (13) coupled to a retractor blade carrier (107) [0036];
a retractor blade adjustment mechanism (shown in Fig. 9) coupled to the retractor blade carrier (107) configured to change a retractor blade angle, the retractor blade adjustment mechanism includes: a first adjustment mechanism (gross adjustment clamp 105) [0036] having an adjustment handle configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for gross adjustment of the blade angle ([0030] describes “manual rotation of clamp 19 relative to pivot pin 21” and [0036] describes clamp 105 as corresponding to gross adjustment clamp 19 of Fig. 1, therefore the location of the manual interaction to rotate the clamp would be the “adjustment handle”); and a second adjustment mechanism (threads of 111+113) [0036-0037] having a pinion gear set (threads driving movement of 111 relative to 113) (fig. 9) [0037] configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for fine adjustment of the blade angle (fine-tuning angular adjustment is described in relation to use of second adjustment mechanism (threads of 111+113) [0036-0037] and a first adjustment mechanism (105) is referred to as a “gross adjustment “ clamp in [0036]). (see figures below)
(second interpretation) Regarding Claim 10, the adjustment handle and pinion gear set are coupled to a translating shuttle ( all elements of the adjustment mechanism are coupled with /connected to the body of 111 as shown in Fig. 9) that is designed to pivot the retractor blade carrier to change the angle the of a retractor blade [0036-0037].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nowak fails to disclose a first adjustment mechanism configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for gross adjustment of a first angle of the retractor blade and a second adjustment mechanism configured to rotate or pivot the retractor blade carrier for fine adjustment of a second angle of the retractor blade. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the rejection above (first interpretation), rotation of first adjustment mechanism component 19 will directly rotate carrier 61 for gross movement:
and rotation of second adjustment mechanism component 41 will turn threads which move 65 causing pivoting of carrier 61 for fine movement:
This is expressly disclosed in [0030] and [0033] of Nowak.
Also, (second interpretation), rotation of first adjustment mechanism component 105 will directly rotate carrier 107 for gross movement:
and rotation of second adjustment mechanism component 113 will turn threads which move 111 causing pivoting of carrier 107 for fine movement:
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773