Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over OH (US 20230132947 A1) in view of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1).
Regarding claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses a display system, comprising:
a stylus (e.g., Fig. 2, stylus 201; Fig. 6, stylus 605);
a touchscreen display (e.g., Fig. 6, touch display 600; Fig. 10, touch display 1000), comprising a touchscreen (touch display 600 or touch display 1000 comprising a touch screen), a process apparatus (e.g., Fig. 1, processor 120; Fig. 5, 512), a frame and a sensor (Fig. 2; [0058]-[0059], [0114], [0177], and [0201]; housing and sensor), wherein the sensor is configured to detect whether the stylus is near the frame (Fig. 20, S2011; [0114], [0177], and [0201]); and
a terminal device, comprising a screen (Fig. 6, electronic device 620; Fig. 11, electronic device 1100), wherein the terminal device is communicatively connected to the touchscreen display (Fig. 6, touch display 600; Fig. 10, touch display 1000),
wherein the touchscreen display is configured to provide an on-screen display (OSD) menu displayed on the touchscreen (Figs. 10-11; on-screen display (OSD) icons), and the OSD menu at least comprises an external connection mode (Figs. 10-11; pen share mode), and
wherein in response to the external connection mode being selected (Figs. 10-11; pen share mode; [0134]-[0137]), a first application in the touchscreen display being executed (Figs. 10-11; writing or drawing application; [0134]-[0137]), and the stylus being moved away from the frame to perform a handwriting on the touchscreen (Figs. 6, 8-11, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182], [0077]; stylus detachment and stylus input), the touchscreen display (Fig. 6, touch display 600; Fig. 10, touch display 1000) is configured to transmit an operation signal to the terminal device (Fig. 6, electronic device 620; Fig. 11, electronic device 1100).
OH discloses the terminal device configured to transmit a signal to the touchscreen display ([0105] and [0055]), but does not disclose the terminal device configured to transmit a video signal to the touchscreen display, wherein the touchscreen display is configured to display an image on the touchscreen according to the video signal, and the terminal device is configured to display the same image and the same handwriting on the screen. However, VEERAMANI (e.g., Fig. 1 and 6-8) discloses a display system, comprising: a stylus ([0018], [0060], and [0073]; stylus); a touchscreen display (touch display device 106), and a terminal device (display device 102), comprising a screen, wherein the terminal device is communicatively connected to the touchscreen display (Figs. 1 and 6, communication between the display device 102 and the display device 106), and configured to transmit a video signal to the touchscreen display, wherein the touchscreen display is configured to display an image on the touchscreen according to the video signal (Figs. 1 and 7; display device 102 transmits signals including video signal to display device 106; [0017] and [0070]), a first application in the touchscreen display being executed (writing or drawing application; [0018]), and the stylus performs a handwriting on the touchscreen (Fig. 8 and [0018]-[0019], [0073]; writing or drawing on display device 106), the touchscreen display is configured to transmit an operation signal to the terminal device (Figs. 6-8) and the terminal device is configured to display the same image and the same handwriting on the screen (e.g., Figs. 7 and 8, display device 102 display the image as well as the input characteristics (e.g., writing or drawing) transmitted from display device 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from VEERAMANI to the display devices of OH. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display system that allow image transmission, modification, and editing between different display devices.
Regarding claim 3, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the process apparatus (processor 120 in Fig. 1) is electrically coupled to the touchscreen (touch screen 160 in Fig. 1, corresponding to touch screen as shown in Figs. 6 and 10), and the touchscreen (touch screen as shown in Figs. 1, 6, and 10) is configured to receive a user operation (e.g., stylus operation or input operation), and the process apparatus is configured to generate a transmitted signal according to the user operation to convert the transmitted signal into the operation signal (e.g., Figs. 1, 6, 8-10, 17, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]). In addition, VEERAMANI (e.g., Fig. 1 and 6-8) discloses the same features as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 3, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses the terminal device (external electronic device 620 or 1100) is configured to execute the first application (Figs. 6, 9-11, 17, and 20), the terminal device (electronic device 600) is configured to generate the handwriting on a content displayed on the screen by the first application according to the user operation of the touchscreen display (pen operation including handwriting and drawing). In addition, VEERAMANI (e.g., Fig. 1 and 6-8) discloses a touch display device including a stylus similar to that disclosed by OH, wherein the terminal device (display device 102) is configured to execute the first application (e.g., Figs. 1 and 7-8), the terminal device (display device 102) is configured to generate the handwriting on a content displayed on the screen by the first application according to the user operation of the touchscreen display (Fig. 8 and [0018]-[0019], [0073]; writing or drawing on touch display device 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from VEERAMANI to the touch display device of OH for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 5, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein in response to the stylus (stylus 201 or 605) being moved near the frame (touch display 600 or 1000), the touchscreen display (touch display 600 or 1000) is configured to transmit a disable signal to the terminal device (external electronic device 620 or 1100) and the terminal device is configured to stop an executed application according to the disable signal (Fig. 20 and [0183] and [0187]; external electronic device 620 or 1100 is disabled).
Regarding claim 6, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the touchscreen (touch display 600 or 1000) is configured to receive a user command and transmit the user command to the process apparatus for setting up the touchscreen display (e.g., Figs. 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20; [0114]-[0118], [0134]-[0135], and [0153]-[0155]).
Regarding claim 9, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein in response to the stylus (stylus 201 or 605) being moved near the frame (touch display 600 or 1000), the touchscreen display (touch display 600 or 1000) is configured to generate a disable signal, the touchscreen display is configured to stop an executed application according to the disable signal (Fig. 20 and [0183] and [0187]; disable an executed application).
Regarding claim 10, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the sensor comprises one of a magnetic sensor, an infrared sensor and a proximity sensor (Fig.5; [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 11, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the operation signal is transmitted from the touchscreen display to the terminal device based on one of the following protocols: High Definition Multimedia Interface, Open Pluggable Specification, Universal Serial Bus, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth ([0046]-[0047] and [0052]).
Regarding claim 13, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the touchscreen display comprises a touchscreen and the terminal device comprises a screen, the touchscreen is configured to display an image and the screen is configured to display the same image (Figs. 6 and 10-11; display devices 600 or 1100 and display device 610 or 1100 display same user interfaces). In addition, VEERAMANI (Figs. 1 and 6-8) discloses a display system, wherein the touchscreen display comprises a touchscreen and the terminal device comprises a screen, the touchscreen is configured to display an image and the screen is configured to display the same image (Figs. 1 and 7-8; display devices 102 and 106 display same image). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from VEERAMANI to the touch display device of OH for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 16, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses a display method adapted to a display system, wherein the display system comprises a stylus (e.g., Fig. 2, stylus 201; Fig. 6, stylus 605), a touchscreen display (e.g., Fig. 6, touch display 600; Fig. 10, touch display 1000), and a terminal device (Fig. 6, electronic device 620; Fig. 11, electronic device 1100), and the touchscreen display comprises a touchscreen (touch display 600 or touch display 1000 comprising a touch screen), a process apparatus (processor 120 or 512), a frame, and a sensor (Fig. 2; [0058]-[0059], [0114], [0177], and [0201]; housing and sensor), and the terminal device comprises a screen (Fig. 6, electronic device 620; Fig. 11, electronic device 1100), and the display method comprises:
providing an on-screen display (OSD) menu to display on the touchscreen (Figs. 10-11; on-screen display (OSD) icons), wherein the OSD menu at least comprises an external connection mode (Figs. 10-11; pen share mode);
selecting the external connection mode (Figs. 10-11; pen share mode; [0134]-[0137]);
detecting whether the stylus is near the frame of the touchscreen display (Fig. 20, S2011; [0114], [0177], and [0201]); communicatively connecting the touchscreen display with the terminal device (e.g., Figs. 6, 9, 10-11, 17, and 20 and [0114]-[0118], [0177]-[0182], and [0201]; communication between touch display 600 or 1000 and external electronic device 620 or 1100); and
in response to the external connection mode being selected (Figs. 10-11; pen share mode; [0134]-[0137]), a first application in the touchscreen display being executed (Figs. 10-11; writing or drawing application; [0134]-[0137]), and the stylus being moved away from the frame (Figs. 6, 8-10, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]) to perform a handwriting on the touchscreen, transmitting an operation signal to a terminal device (Fig. 6, electronic device 620; Fig. 11, electronic device 1100) by the touchscreen display (Fig. 6, touch display 600; Fig. 10, touch display 1000).
OH discloses the terminal device configured to transmit a signal to the touchscreen display ([0105] and [0055]), but does not disclose the terminal device configured to transmit a video signal to the touchscreen display, wherein the touchscreen display is configured to display an image on the touchscreen according to the video signal, and the terminal device is configured to display the same image and the same handwriting on the screen. However, VEERAMANI (e.g., Fig. 1 and 6-8) discloses a display method adapted to a display system, wherein the display system comprises: a stylus ([0018], [0060], and [0073]; stylus); a touchscreen display (touch display device 106), and a terminal device comprises a screen (display device 102), wherein the terminal device is communicatively connected to the touchscreen display (Figs. 1 and 6, communication between the display device 102 and the display device 106), transmitting a video signal from the terminal device to the touchscreen display, wherein the touchscreen display is configured to display an image on the touchscreen according to the video signal (Figs. 1 and 7; display device 102 transmits signals including video signal to display device 106; [0017] and [0070]), a first application in the touchscreen display being executed (writing or drawing application; [0018]), and the stylus performing a handwriting on the touchscreen (Fig. 8 and [0018]-[0019], [0073]; writing or drawing on display device 106), transmitting an operation signal to a terminal device by the touchscreen display (Figs. 6-8) and displaying the same image and the same handwriting on the screen by the terminal device (e.g., Figs. 7 and 8, display device 102 display the image as well as the input characteristics (e.g., writing or drawing) transmitted from display device 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from VEERAMANI to the display devices of OH. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display system that allow image transmission, modification, and editing between different display devices.
Regarding claim 17, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display method according to claim 16, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the process apparatus (processor 120 in Fig. 1 or processor 512 in Fig. 5) is electrically coupled to the touchscreen (touch screen 160 in Fig. 1, corresponding to touch screen as shown in Figs. 6 and 10), and the display method further comprises: receiving a user operation (e.g., stylus operation or input operation) by the touchscreen (touch screen as shown in Figs. 1, 5-6, and 10); transmitting the user operation (e.g., stylus operation or input operation) to the process apparatus (processor 120 or 512) from the touchscreen (touch screen as shown in Figs. 1, 5-6, and 10); generating a transmitted signal according to the user operation by the process apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1, 6, 8-10, 17, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]); and converting the transmitted signal into the operation signal by the process apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1, 6, 8-10, 17, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]).
Regarding claim 18, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display method according to claim 16, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the method further comprises: executing the first application (Figs. 6, 9-11, 17, and 20) by the terminal device (external electronic device 620 or 1100); and generating the handwriting on a content displayed on the screen of the terminal device by the first application according to the user operation of the touchscreen display (pen operation, e.g., handwriting and drawing). In addition, VEERAMANI (e.g., Fig. 1 and 6-8) discloses a touch display device including a stylus similar to that disclosed by OH, wherein the terminal device comprises a screen (display device 102), and the method further comprises: executing the first application (e.g., Figs. 1 and 7-8) by the terminal device (display device 102); and generating the handwriting on a content displayed on the screen of the terminal device by the first application according to the user operation of the touchscreen display (Fig. 8 and [0018]-[0019], [0073]; writing or drawing on touch display device 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from VEERAMANI to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI for the same reason above.
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over OH (US 20230132947 A1) in view of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1) and further in view of Feldman (US 20150200985 A1) or Hamilton (US 20190239045 A1).
Regarding claim 2, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, wherein the touchscreen display comprises a first operation system and the terminal device comprises a second operation system, the first operation system and the second operation system are different ([0055]). The examiner further cites Feldman or Willis as a reference. Feldman (e.g., Figs. 7 and 33-36) discloses a display system, wherein the touchscreen display comprises a first operation system (e.g., Fig. 7B; touch display 100g comprises an operation system OS) and the terminal device comprises a second operation system (e.g., Fig. 7B; electronic device 102 comprises an operation system OS), the first operation system and the second operation system are different ([0010]-[0011] and claims 9-10), wherein the operation signal is a signal of shortcut key of the second operation system (e.g., Figs. 7 and 33-36). In addition, Hamilton (e.g., Fig. 3 and claims 27 and 35) discloses the same features as claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Feldman or Hamilton to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display system that allow signal transmission between different device running different operation systems.
6. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over OH (US 20230132947 A1) in view of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1) and further in view of Roh (US 20160109968 A1).
Regarding claim 7, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 6, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein in response to the stylus being moved away from the frame (Figs. 6, 8-10, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]), the touchscreen display is configured to determine whether a program is being executed by the process apparatus (Figs. 6, 8-10, 17, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]), but does not disclose wherein in response to the program being executed by the touchscreen display, the touchscreen display is configured to perform overlapping handwriting on a content displayed on the touchscreen by a second application according to a user operation, wherein the user operation is received by the touchscreen. Similar to OH, Roh discloses a display system, wherein in response to the stylus being moved away from the frame (e.g., Figs. 5 and 7), the touchscreen display is configured to determine whether a program is being executed by the process apparatus (e.g., Figs. 3-5 and 6-8; [0064]-[0069] and [0074]-[0078]), wherein in response to the program being executed by the touchscreen display, the touchscreen display is configured to perform overlapping handwriting on a content displayed on the touchscreen by a second application according to a user operation, wherein the user operation is received by the touchscreen (e.g., Figs. 3-5 and 6-8; [0064]-[0069] and [0074]-[0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Roh to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display system for executing a function by using an electronic pen.
Regarding claim 8, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 6, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein in response to the stylus being moved away from the frame (Figs. 6, 8-10, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]), the touchscreen display is configured to determine whether a program is being executed by the process apparatus (Figs. 6, 8-10, 17, and 20; [0114]-[0118] and [0177]-[0182]), but does not disclose wherein in response to the program not being executed by the touchscreen display, the touchscreen display is configured to execute a default application. However, Roh (Figs. 1-9) discloses wherein in response to the stylus being moved away from the frame (e.g., Figs. 5 and 7), the touchscreen display is configured to determine whether a program is being executed by the process apparatus (e.g., Figs. 3-4 and 6), wherein in response to the program not being executed by the touchscreen display, the touchscreen display is configured to execute a default application (e.g., Figs. 3-4 and 5-7; [0066]-[0067] and [0077]; default application or preset application). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Roh to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display system for executing a function by using an electronic pen.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over OH (US 20230132947 A1) in view of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1) and further in view of Shin (US 20240307766 A1).
Regarding claim 12, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the touchscreen display (touch display 600 or 1000) is configured to transmit a request message (e.g., Figs. 9 and 17) to the terminal device (electronic device 620 or 1100) periodically, wherein the terminal device (electronic device 620 or 1100) is configured to establish a communicative connection between the terminal device (electronic device 620 or 1100) and the touchscreen display (touch display 600 or 1000), but does not disclose wherein the terminal device is configured to display the request message by the screen. However, Shin (Figs. 1-2 and 8-15) discloses a display system, wherein the terminal device comprises a screen (display device 200), the touchscreen display (display device 100) is configured to transmit a request message (Figs. 8, 10, 12, and 14; request) to the terminal device (display device 200) periodically, wherein the terminal device (display device 200) is configured to display the request message by the screen (e.g., Figs. 8, 10, 12, and 14; and [0211], [0269], [0272]-[0277], [0290]-[0291], [0314]), wherein the terminal device is configured to establish a communicative connection between the terminal device and the touchscreen display according to a user command from the terminal device (Figs. 8, 10, 12, and 14; communication established between display devices 100 and 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Shin to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI to establish a communication between different electronic devices and execute a common application.
8. Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over OH (US 20230132947 A1) in view of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1) and further in view of Lim (US 20220137746 A1).
Regarding claim 14, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the frame configures with a container (Fig. 2; stylus receptacle 212), the container is configured to accommodate the stylus (Fig. 2; stylus 201), and the sensor locates to the container ([0201]; sensor). The examiner further cites Lim as a reference. Lim (Figs. 3-4, 6, and 8) discloses a touch display device including a stylus similar to that disclosed by OH, wherein the frame configures with a container (Figs. 3-4), the container is configured to accommodate the stylus (Figs. 3-4), and the sensor locates to the container (Figs. 3-4 and 6; [0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Lim to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI. The combination would be to provide a touch display device including a stylus that can be detached and attached to the touch display device.
Regarding claim 15, OH in view of VEERAMANI discloses the display system according to claim 1, OH (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 6, 8-10, 15-17, and 20) discloses wherein the frame configures with an area (Fig. 2; stylus receptacle 212), the stylus is configured to attach on the area (Fig. 2; stylus 201 and stylus receptacle 212), and the sensor locates in the area of the frame ([0201]; sensor). The examiner further cites Lim as a reference. Lim (Figs. 3-4, 6, and 8) discloses a touch display device including a stylus similar to that disclosed by OH, wherein the frame configures with an area (Figs. 3-4), the stylus is configured to attach on the area (Figs. 3-4), and the sensor locates in the area of the frame (Figs. 3-4 and 6; [0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Lim to the touch display device of OH in view of VEERAMANI. The combination would be to provide a touch display device including a stylus that can be detached and attached to the touch display device.
Response to Arguments
9. Regarding claims 1 and 16, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of VEERAMANI (US 20170332149 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623