Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Page 5, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gagne (US 5243790 A) and in further view of Fogelberg (US 20160207170 A1).
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that as a consequence of the claimed features, a grinding tool structure is obtained which debris detached from the internal wall of a pipe conduit is first received at the through portions, the debris is caused to pass, as a consequence of the rotation of the disk, from the trough portions to the remaining front side of the disc-like body at the areas between the individual teeth, and that by virtue of the at least one tooth having a radially inner end forming a leading edge in the direction of rotation, the debris is further directed outwardly toward the periphery of the disc as the disc is rotated, the side wall of the tooth acting as a guiding surface. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim cites the limitation “are elevated from the remaining front side of the disc-like body.” Which is unclear, as it’s unclear what is meant by the “remaining front side” as this lacks antecedent basis in the claims. It seems most likely that this is meant to be referring to the same “a front side” of previously cited in claim 1 and as such the limitation will be interpreted as “the first trough portions are elevated from the front side of the disc-like body.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 8, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne (US 5243790 A) and in view of Smith (US 1116145 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Gagne discloses:
A rotatable grinding tool for clearing a pipe conduit internally, comprising:
A disc-like body (50) defining:
An intended direction of rotation (arrow 64 in Fig. 2), in which the grinding tool is rotatable about a central axis (Axis extends through 14) of the disc-like body, and
A front side (surface seen in Fig. 2) intended to face a surface to be grinded, and a back side opposite to the front side (at 86, see Fig. 3),
Wherein the grinding tool further comprises, on the front side of the disc-like body, a plurality of teeth (abrasive segments 54, 56 and 58 are raised portions) each tooth extending radially along said front side (See Fig. 3 showing teeth extending in the radial direction), wherein said plurality of teeth are arranged spaced apart from each other (See Channels 62 between raised portions in Fig. 2),
Wherein the plurality of teeth are formed integral with the disc-like body (See Col 6 Line 7-9 “The abrasive segments 54,56,58 are integrally formed with the base 52 and comprise abrasive particles embedded in a matrix material.”).
wherein at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth is arranged such that, in the intended rotation direction, a radially inner end of said tooth is in an angularly leading position with respect to a radially outer end of said tooth (See Figure 2 of Gagne, where the teeth are formed in a spiral formation, and the inner end of each arm of the spiral is angularly leading the outer end of each arm in the direction of rotation (arrow 64)); and
wherein the at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth comprises ridge portions and first trough portions arranged radially in an alternating manner, such that the ridge portions are elevated with respect to the first trough portions (Ridge portions defined by raised portions 54, 56 and 58, the trough portions defines by the channels 62, (See Fig. 2) and the ridge portions are elevated with respect to the trough portions, See Fig. 3).
But it does not explicitly disclose, and the first trough portions are elevated from the remaining front side of the disc-like body.
Smith discloses a grinding disc plate wherein the plurality of teeth are comprised of runner bars (1) which are attached to the face of the disk (See Page 1 Line 13-31 for a description of how the runner bars are related to the grinding disk) such that a radially inner end of at least one tooth is arranged such that, in the intended rotation direction, a radially inner end of said tooth is in an angularly leading position with respect to a radially outer end of said tooth (See Page 1 Line 58-64 discussing the arrangement of the runner bars)
Wherein the at least one tooth of the plurality of teeth comprises ridge portions and first trough portions arranged radially in an alternating manner (See Fig. 2 showing a runner bar, with ridge portions being at 3, and the trough portions at 4), such that the ridge portions are elevated with respect to the first trough portions (See Fig. 2), and the first trough portions (4) are elevated from the remaining front side of the disk-like body (See Smith Fig. 1 and 2, and Page 1 line 13-31 discussing the arrangement of the runner bars on the surface of the disk).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teeth of Gagne in view of the runner bars of Smith such that the first trough portions are elevated from the remaining front side of the disc-like body, as Smith discloses that such a construction minimizes the breakage of workpieces during operation (See Page 1 Lines 39-44).
Regarding Claim 2, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein at least the plurality of teeth exhibit an increased surface hardness with respect to a base material from which the body is formed (See Col 6 Line 7-21 “The abrasive segments 54,56,58 are integrally formed with the base 52 and comprise abrasive particles embedded in a matrix material. Examples of suitable abrasive materials which can be used in accordance with the invention are diamond fragments, silicon carbide, boron carbide and aluminum oxide. As matrix material, use can be made of a rigid thermoset resin such as an epoxy resin having a Shore D hardness of about 80 to about 90, preferably about 85. If a rigid base 52 is desired, it can be formed of the same thermoset resin used as matrix material. In the embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3, however, the base 52 is formed of a resilient thermoset resin imparting flexibility to the base; for example, use can be made of a polyurethane resin having a Shore A hardness of about 70 to about 80, preferably about 75.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein said tooth is arranged as a spiral curve (See Figure 2, showing the teeth arranged in a spiral).
Regarding Claim 10, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses, wherein said ridge portions comprise respective planar surfaces (See Figs. 2 of Gagne and 3 showing the top of the tops and sides of the ridges forming planar surfaces and Fig. 2 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 11, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition discloses wherein at least the first trough portions comprise respective planar surfaces (See Fig. 2 showing channels 62 forming planes between teeth and Fig. 2 of Smith).
Regarding Claim 12, Gagne discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses wherein:
the planar surfaces of first trough portions (62) have a width defined in the radial direction (See Annotated Figure A Below);
bases of the ridge portions, radially delimited by planar surfaces of adjacent first trough portions, have a width defined in the radial direction (See Annotated Figure A), and
the width of the planar surfaces of the first trough portions are equal to or exceed the width of the bases of the ridge portions (Both widths extend from the hole 60 to the outer edge of the disc, See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 13, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition disclose wherein said tooth further comprises, on each ridge portion, a respective second trough portion angularly arranged between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the associated ridge portion (See Annotated Fig. A Below, Gange as modified by smith discloses wherein each 2 radial section of teeth form a tooth section (analogous to the runner bars of smith), and the interior section trough of each section forms a second trough).
Regarding Claim 14, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein at least two teeth of the plurality of teeth are configured as opposing pairs with respect to the central axis of the disc-like body (See Fig. 2 of Gagne, there are plurality of rows of teeth arranged in a spiral pattern across the entirety of the disk, resulting in each row having an opposing pair with respect to the central axis of the disc-like body).
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagne (US 5243790 A) in view of Smith (US 1116145 A) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Spycher (US 20150328746 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein at least one opening (60) extending axially through the disc-like body, between the front side and the back side (See Fig. 3).
But does not explicitly disclose the opening is provided extending angularly between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth.
However, Spycher discloses a similar wheel for a polishing operation including openings extending axially through the disk-like body (Coolant openings 25.1-25.8 and exhaust openings 21.1-21.7) extending angularly between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth (12.1-21.7).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the grinding wheel of Gagne to include openings extending angularly between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth as doing so would allow for airflow during a grinding operation, allowing for thermal dissipation while the grinding disk remains rigid, as advantageously described by Spycher in Para [0010] “The size and geometry of the cooling opening are selected in such a way that a secure fastening of the segment to the connection region of the support body is ensured and the shear forces necessary for approving the processing disk are maintained.”
Regarding Claim 4, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one opening occupies at least 50%, of an intermediate area delimited between respective adjacent teeth.
However, Spycher does discuss the sizing of the openings See Para [0010] “The size and geometry of the cooling opening are selected in such a way that a secure fastening of the segment to the connection region of the support body is ensured and the shear forces necessary for approving the processing disk are maintained.”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the openings such that the opening occupies at least 50%, of an intermediate area delimited between respective adjacent teeth as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the size of the openings would depend on the size of the teeth that the openings are between and would adjust the size of the openings accordingly, further it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Additionally, Examiner notes that Applicants disclosure show criticality of this limitation, stating only “Preferably, but not necessarily, the at least one opening 9 occupies at least 30%, preferably at least 40%, and more preferably at least 50%, of an intermediate area delimited between respective adjacent teeth 5.”
Regarding Claim 5, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one opening comprises a length extending in the tangential direction and a width extending in the radial direction, such that the length of the at least one opening is greater than the width thereof.
However, Spycher does discuss the sizing of the openings See Para [0010] “The size and geometry of the cooling opening are selected in such a way that a secure fastening of the segment to the connection region of the support body is ensured and the shear forces necessary for approving the processing disk are maintained.”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the openings such that wherein the at least one opening comprises a length extending in the tangential direction and a width extending in the radial direction, such that the length of the at least one opening is greater than the width thereof as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the size of the openings would depend on the size of the teeth that the openings are between and would adjust the size of the openings accordingly, further it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Additionally, Examiner notes that Applicants disclosure show criticality of this limitation, stating only “Preferably, but not necessarily, the at least one opening 9 comprises a length extending in the tangential direction and a width extending in the radial direction, such that the length of the at least one opening 9 is greater than the width thereof.”
Regarding Claim 6, Gagne as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 disclose wherein the at least one opening comprises a length extending in the tangential direction (See openings 21.1-21.7 in Fig. 2 of Spycher), but does not explicitly wherein the length is at least 80%, of a distance between respective adjacent teeth at the radial position of the at least one opening.
However, Spycher does discuss the sizing of the openings See Para [0010] “The size and geometry of the cooling opening are selected in such a way that a secure fastening of the segment to the connection region of the support body is ensured and the shear forces necessary for approving the processing disk are maintained.”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the openings such that the length is at least 80%, of a distance between respective adjacent teeth at the radial position of the at least one opening as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the size of the openings would depend on the size of the teeth that the openings are between and would adjust the size of the openings accordingly, further as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Additionally, Examiner notes that Applicants disclosure show criticality of this limitation, stating only “Preferably, but not necessarily, the at least one opening 9 comprises a length extending in the tangential direction, such that the length is at least 60% of a distance between respective adjacent teeth 5 at the radial position of the at least one opening 9. This has been considered to provide a suitable area of the opening 9 for efficient removal or cuttings and debris, while still ensuring sufficient rigidness of the disc-like body 2.
More preferably, the at least one opening 9 comprises a length extending in the tangential direction, such that the length is at least 70% of a distance between respective adjacent teeth 5 at the radial position of the at least one opening 9. Most preferably, the at least one opening 9 comprises a length extending in the tangential direction, such that the length is at least 80% of a distance between respective adjacent teeth 5 at the radial position of the at least one opening 9.”
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723