DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/20/26. These drawings are unacceptable and not entered. The examiner cannot tell what is going on in Fig. 7 as it appears that it is supposed to show paragraph [0041] and an upper surface of the limiting member is lower than that of the end cover, but this cannot be made out from Fig. 7. Also, the examiner cannot tell what Fig. 5 is supposed to be showing? Also, is this a cross-section as the examiner cannot ascertain what this even is.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an upper surface of the limiting member is lower than that of the end cover” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ferrero US 4,936,545.
Regarding claim 1, Ferrero discloses a ball valve (Figs. 1-9), comprising a valve body 10, an end cover 24 and 36 together and a valve rod 20, wherein the end cover is installed on the valve body, and one end of the valve rod is rotatably installed in the valve body, the other end of the valve rod extends out of the valve body through the end cover (Fig. 2);
wherein a limiting member 24 and 30 is arranged on an inner peripheral wall of the end cover, the valve rod is capable of being limited by the limiting member to allow a maximum rotating angle of the valve rod in the end cover to be 90 degrees (col. 3, lines 8-10), an upper surface of the limiting member (end cover is 36 and 24 and the limiting member is 24 and 30) is lower than that of the end cover (24 and 30 is lower than the end cover).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the valve rod is capable of being limited by the limiting member in a surface-to-surface contact manner (see Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the limiting member is provided with a first abutting surface and a second abutting surface, the first abutting surface is perpendicular to the second abutting surface, the limiting member is capable of limiting the valve rod through the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface respectively (see Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the number of the limiting member is two, and the two limiting members are symmetrical with respect to an axis of the valve rod (see Figs. 2-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asia Union Co., LTD. KR 200319367 in view of Ferrero US 4,936,545.
Regarding claim 1, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses a ball valve (Figs. 1-7), comprising a valve body 100, an end cover 140 and a valve rod 400, wherein the end cover is installed on the valve body, and one end of the valve rod is rotatably installed in the valve body, the other end of the valve rod extends out of the valve body through the end cover;
wherein a limiting member 142, 14a is arranged on an inner peripheral wall of the end cover, the valve rod is capable of being limited by the limiting member to allow a maximum rotating angle of the valve rod in the end cover to be 90 degrees (see Figs. 1-7).
Asia Union Co., LTD lacks an upper surface of the limiting member is lower than that of the end cover. Ferrero discloses an upper surface of the limiting member (end cover is 36 and 24 and the limiting member is 24 and 30) is lower than that of the end cover (24 and 30 is lower than the end cover). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asia Union Co., LTD to have the upper surface of the limiting member lower than that of the end cover as disclosed by Ferrero as a matter of simple substitution of locations of the limiting member and/or “obvious to try” making the limiting member lower than that of the end cover to protect the limiting member from being damaged as it would be away from harm and damage.
Regarding claim 2, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the valve rod is capable of being limited by the limiting member in a surface-to-surface contact manner (see Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the limiting member is provided with a first abutting surface and a second abutting surface, the first abutting surface is perpendicular to the second abutting surface, the limiting member is capable of limiting the valve rod through the first abutting surface and the second abutting surface respectively (see Figs. 1, 3-4 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Asia Union Co., LTD lacks measurements of the device such that a rotating radius of the valve rod is defined as R, a half of a thickness of an end of the valve rod extending out of the valve body is defined as L, and a width of an end surface of the limiting member for abutting against the valve rod is defined as I, wherein, the radius R of rotation of the valve rod, the half L of the thickness of the end of the valve rod extending out of the valve body and the width I of the end surface of the limiting member for abutting against the valve rod to satisfy the formula in the claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the measurements as such as “obvious to try” with a reasonable expectation of success and/or a matter of simple substitution of measurements to ensure that the limiting member stops the valve rod properly and/or allows the maximum rotating angle of the valve rod in the end cover to be 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 5, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the number of the limiting member is two, and the two limiting members are symmetrical with respect to an axis of the valve rod (see Figs. 1, 3-4 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the limiting member and the end cover are an integrated structure (see Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the valve rod is provided with a first step surface and an end surface of the limiting member towards the valve body abuts against the first step surface (see Figs. 2-3, the first step of the valve rod abuts the bottom of the limiting member as seen in Fig. 2 and also shown in Fig. 3 by the inner circular dotted lines which are outside the hole of the end cover).
Regarding claim 9, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the valve rod is provided with a second step surface and the second step surface abuts against an end surface of the valve body (see Fig. 2, at 116), but lacks the second step surface abutting an end surface of the end cover). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cover to be inside the valve body and that end surface to abut the second step surface of the valve rod as a matter of simple substitution of the end cover being inside the valve body instead of the outside of the valve body as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body and/or “obvious to try” with a reasonable expectation of success as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body.
Regarding claim 10, Asia Union Co., LTD lacks a valve seat that is fixed on the valve body by welding and the end cover is connected to the valve seat by a threaded way. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a valve seat that is welded to the valve body and the end cover is connected to this valve seat by threads as a matter of simple substitution adding a welded valve seat as this is just making the one piece valve body into two pieces and the end cover threadably connected on the inside of the valve seat as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body and/or “obvious to try” this with a reasonable expectation of success as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body. Also, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). Welding in this case may be seen as product by process as Asia Union Co., LTD is formed in one piece same as if welding two pieces as they are both fixed.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asia Union Co., LTD. KR 200319367 in view of Ferrero US 4,936,545 in view of Zhuo CN 101285529 A.
Regarding claim 9, Asia Union Co., LTD discloses the valve rod is provided with a second step surface and the second step surface abuts against an end surface of the valve body (see Fig. 2, at 116), but lacks the second step surface abutting an end surface of the end cover.
Zhou discloses a valve rod 3 and an end cover 8 such that the second step surface of the valve rod abuts against the end surface of the end cover (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cover of Asia Union Co., LTD to be inside the valve body and that end surface to abut the second step surface of the valve rod as disclosed by Zhou as a matter of simple substitution of the end cover being inside the valve body instead of the outside of the valve body as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body and/or “obvious to try” with a reasonable expectation of success as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body.
Regarding claim 10, Asia Union Co., LTD lacks a valve seat that is fixed on the valve body by welding and the end cover is connected to the valve seat by a threaded way.
Zhou discloses an end cover 8 is connected to the valve seat (top of valve body 1) by a threaded way (see Figs. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a valve seat that is welded to the valve body and the end cover is connected to this valve seat by threads as a matter of simple substitution adding a welded valve seat as this is just making the one piece valve body into two pieces and the end cover threadably connected on the inside of the valve seat as disclosed by Zhou as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body and/or “obvious to try” this with a reasonable expectation of success as it would be easier to fit the valve rod inside the valve body. Welding in this case may be seen as product by process as Asia Union Co., LTD is formed in one piece same as if welding two pieces as they are both fixed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/26 are not persuasive as the applicant has amended the independent claim such that a new reference was needed to reject the claims so applicant’s arguments no longer apply. The examiner notes that the applicant’s main argument to Asian Union Co. was that the stopper/limiting member was flush with the stem cover to which the examiner agrees, but the amended claims now require that that the upper surface of the limiting member is lower than the end cover. The examiner has now used the Ferrero reference to show that the limiting member is lower than the end cover. The examiner would like to note that this is a well known feature to put the limiting member out of harm’s way which is shown in every limit stop in rotatable valves in which the limiting member is inside the valve body, thus this is not seen as a patentable feature.
Conclusion
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921