DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating elements” in claim 1, 13 and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 16-17 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, each of claims 7-8, 16-17 and 28-29 recites the narrow recitation a temperature from 350 degrees Celsius to 700 degrees Celsius, and the claims also recites “and above” which is the broader statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Applicant can consider deleting inexact language “and above” to overcome these rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 22-24 and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 2008/0202983) taken in combination with Stanley et al (US 10,696,904).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a pyrolysis chamber arrangement (title, abstract) comprising: a pyrolysis chamber 122 defining a toroidal passage 150 formed between concentric inner hollow cylinder 124 and outer hollow cylinder 126 and extending between chamber inlet and outlet ends along a chamber axis and formed by the auger screw 146/148; and a plurality of heating elements arranged adjacent to the toroidal passage and operable to provide thermal input thereinto by heating said hollow cylinders 124/126 (fig. 1-5 and 9, [0060-0075]); Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9); Smith teaches the hollow inner passage within inner cylinder 124/1006, i.e. concentric with the toroidal passage, can be used for direct gas firing and therefore implicity comprises a gas feed system operable to supply a controllable flow of gas to the inner passage ([0046-0048, 0067]; fig. 10) and further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]). Lastly Smith teaches said pyrolysis chamber is connected to a solid feed extruder system 112 comprising an auger with motor 114, shaft 116 and flights 118 (Fig 1, [0056-0058]).
However Smith shows the solid feed extruder system 112 is parallel with the main pyrolysis chamber 122 (Fig 1), therefore Smith fails to teach wherein the biomass feed extruder is generally orthogonally connected with the pyrolysis chamber.
Stanley teaches system and method for pyrolysis (title, abstract), Stanley teaches pyrolysis system 100 comprises main pyrolysis chamber 110 with screw conveyor 114 feed stock inlet 120 has screw conveyor 122 that forms a biomass feed plug 124 to seal chamber 110 and allow components to expand and fragment as it enters chamber 110 from inlet 120, the angle can be from 0-90 degrees (C9:L7), and as shown in Fig 1 is 90 degrees (Fig 1, C4:L39-48, C6:L30-41, C7:L44-C9:L10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Smith in view of Stanley to provide for orthogonally input from feed extruder to main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley to ensure a plug and allow the biomass components to expand and fragment as they enter the main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley.
Regarding claim 2, in modified Smith as set forth above, the orthogonal angle is 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 3, in modified Smith as set forth above, Stanley has taught expand and fragment of the biomass plug, which implies a shearing force is created.
Regarding claim 5, in modified Smith as set forth above Smith teaches the hollow inner passage within inner cylinder 124/1006, i.e. concentric with the toroidal passage, can be used for direct gas firing and therefore implicity comprises a gas feed system operable to supply a controllable flow of gas to the inner passage ([0046-0048, 0067]; fig. 10)
Regarding claim 6, in modified Smith as set forth above Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9)
Regarding claim 7-8, in modified Smith as set forth above, in Smith the heaters are configured to heat to about 524-538 C in the reactor, and can operate up to 760 C ([0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches said heaters can be electrical heaters ([0066, 0071, 0094]).
Regarding claim 10, Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be controlled along the chamber axis to provide different temperature, hence the heating element form different active regions ([0112-0114]).
Regarding claim 11, Smith teaches further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, in Smith the outer passage is generally toroidal 150 (see Fig 2-3, 9).
Regarding claim 22, Smith teaches a method of operation of pyrolysis chamber arrangement for biomass pyrolysis (title, abstract) comprising: a pyrolysis chamber 122 defining a toroidal passage 150 formed between concentric inner hollow cylinder 124 and outer hollow cylinder 126 and extending between chamber inlet and outlet ends along a chamber axis and formed by the auger screw 146/148; and a plurality of heating elements arranged adjacent to the toroidal passage and operable to provide thermal input thereinto by heating said hollow cylinders 124/126 (fig. 1-5 and 9, [0060-0075]); Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9); Smith teaches the hollow inner passage within inner cylinder 124/1006, i.e. concentric with the toroidal passage, can be used for direct gas firing and therefore implicity comprises a gas feed system operable to supply a controllable flow of gas to the inner passage ([0046-0048, 0067]; fig. 10) and further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]). Lastly Smith teaches said pyrolysis chamber is connected to a solid feed extruder system 112 comprising an auger with motor 114, shaft 116 and flights 118 configured to receive biomass (Fig 1, [0056-0058]).
However Smith shows the solid feed extruder system 112 is parallel with the main pyrolysis chamber 122 (Fig 1), therefore Smith fails to teach wherein the biomass feed extruder is generally orthogonally connected with the pyrolysis chamber.
Stanley teaches system and method for pyrolysis (title, abstract), Stanley teaches pyrolysis system 100 comprises main pyrolysis chamber 110 with screw conveyor 114 feed stock inlet 120 has screw conveyor 122 that forms a biomass feed plug 124 to seal chamber 110 and allow components to expand and fragment as it enters chamber 110 from inlet 120, the angle can be from 0-90 degrees (C9:L7), and as shown in Fig 1 is 90 degrees (Fig 1, C4:L39-48, C6:L30-41, C7:L44-C9:L10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Smith in view of Stanley to provide for orthogonally input from feed extruder to main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley to ensure a plug and allow the biomass components to expand and fragment as they enter the main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley.
Regarding claim 23, in modified Smith as set forth above, the orthogonal angle is 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 24, in modified Smith as set forth above, Stanley has taught expand and fragment of the biomass plug, which implies a shearing force is created.
Regarding claim 26, in modified Smith as set forth above Smith teaches the hollow inner passage within inner cylinder 124/1006, i.e. concentric with the toroidal passage, can be used for direct gas firing and therefore implicity comprises a gas feed system operable to supply a controllable flow of gas to the inner passage ([0046-0048, 0067]; fig. 10)
Regarding claim 27, in modified Smith as set forth above Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9)
Regarding claim 28-29, in modified Smith as set forth above, in Smith the heaters are configured to heat to about 524-538 C in the reactor, and can operate up to 760 C ([0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 30, Smith teaches said heaters can be electrical heaters ([0066, 0071, 0094]).
Regarding claim 31, Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be controlled along the chamber axis to provide different temperature, hence the heating element form different active regions ([0112-0114]).
Regarding claim 32, Smith teaches further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]).
Regarding claim 33, in Smith the outer passage is generally toroidal 150 (see Fig 2-3, 9).
Claim(s) 4 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Smith (US 2008/0202983) taken in combination with Stanley et al (US 10,696,904), as applied above, and further in combination with Evans et al (US 3,776,150) and Badger et al (US 2008/0006520).
Regarding claims 4 and 25, modified Smith teaches all limitations as set forth above, however, none teaches the ram drive auger of the feeder as claimed.
Evans teaches a pyrolysis reactor system having a solid waste feeder (title, abstract), Evans teaches solid waste feeder includes screw conveyor 15 that extrudes the solid feed against ram 18 having a ram face 20, a rod 22, and piston 24; ram 18 is mounted for reciprocating and rotational movement in cylinder 25, rotational movement can be provided by any suitable means such as by use of gears and a motor; this creates a void free plug of feed to pyrolysis unit (fig 1, and C2:L16-68).
Badger teaches a pyrolysis system (title, abstract), Badger teaches the system comprises main auger 134 in toroidal passageway of pyrolysis reactor chamber 116, and smaller augers 128-130 for creating air-tight feeding zone of biomass 112 to pyrolysis chamber 116, therefore having smaller radial dimension of teeth compared with toroidal passage (Fig 2, [0032-0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system Smith in view of Evans to provide void free plug to the pyrolysis chamber as taught by Evans, by including a ram feeder arrangement in combination with screw feeders and to ensure; and to size the feeder screws smaller than the main pyrolysis compartment as taught by Badger in order to ensure the air free feed plug is substantially free of air as feeding the reactor as suggested by Badger.
Claim(s) 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Smith (US 2008/0202983) taken in combination with Stanley et al (US 10,696,904), Evans et al (US 3,776,150) and Badger et al (US 2008/0006520).
Regarding claim 13, Smith teaches a pyrolysis chamber arrangement (title, abstract) comprising: a pyrolysis chamber 122 defining a toroidal passage 150 formed between concentric inner hollow cylinder 124 and outer hollow cylinder 126 and extending between chamber inlet and outlet ends along a chamber axis and formed by the auger screw 146/148; and a plurality of heating elements arranged adjacent to the toroidal passage and operable to provide thermal input thereinto by heating said hollow cylinders 124/126 (fig. 1-5 and 9, [0060-0075]); Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9); Smith teaches the hollow inner passage within inner cylinder 124/1006, i.e. concentric with the toroidal passage, can be used for direct gas firing and therefore implicity comprises a gas feed system operable to supply a controllable flow of gas to the inner passage ([0046-0048, 0067]; fig. 10) and further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]). Lastly Smith teaches said pyrolysis chamber is connected to a solid feed extruder system 112 comprising an auger with motor 114, shaft 116 and flights 118 (Fig 1, [0056-0058]).
However Smith shows the solid feed extruder system 112 is parallel with the main pyrolysis chamber 122 (Fig 1), therefore Smith fails to teach wherein the biomass feed extruder is generally orthogonally connected with the pyrolysis chamber.
Stanley teaches system and method for pyrolysis (title, abstract), Stanley teaches pyrolysis system 100 comprises main pyrolysis chamber 110 with screw conveyor 114 feed stock inlet 120 has screw conveyor 122 that forms a biomass feed plug 124 to seal chamber 110 and allow components to expand and fragment as it enters chamber 110 from inlet 120, the angle can be from 0-90 degrees (C9:L7), and as shown in Fig 1 is 90 degrees (Fig 1, C4:L39-48, C6:L30-41, C7:L44-C9:L10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Smith in view of Stanley to provide for orthogonally input from feed extruder to main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley to ensure a plug and allow the biomass components to expand and fragment as they enter the main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley.
However, Smith does not teach the ram drive auger of the feeder as claimed.
Evans teaches a pyrolysis reactor system having a solid waste feeder (title, abstract), Evans teaches solid waste feeder includes screw conveyor 15 that extrudes the solid feed against ram 18 having a ram face 20, a rod 22, and piston 24; ram 18 is mounted for reciprocating and rotational movement in cylinder 25, rotational movement can be provided by any suitable means such as by use of gears and a motor; this creates a void free plug of feed to pyrolysis unit (fig 1, and C2:L16-68).
Badger teaches a pyrolysis system (title, abstract), Badger teaches the system comprises main auger 134 in toroidal passageway of pyrolysis reactor chamber 116, and smaller augers 128-130 for creating air-tight feeding zone of biomass 112 to pyrolysis chamber 116, therefore having smaller radial dimension of teeth compared with toroidal passage (Fig 2, [0032-0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Smith in view of Evans to provide void free plug to the pyrolysis chamber as taught by Evans, by including a ram feeder arrangement in combination with screw feeders and to ensure; and to size the feeder screws smaller than the main pyrolysis compartment as taught by Badger in order to ensure the air free feed plug is substantially free of air as feeding the reactor as suggested by Badger.
Regarding claim 14, in modified Smith as set forth above, the orthogonal angle is 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 15, in modified Smith as set forth above Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be arranged around inner 124 and outer chamber walls 126 of the pyrolysis chamber and located radially inward and outward of the toroidal passage, respectively, e.g. electric heating coils 952/954 arranged in heating element passages formed within the inner and outer chamber walls ([0071-0075, 0093-0096, 0120]; fig. 2, 9)
Regarding claim 16-17, in modified Smith as set forth above, in Smith the heaters are configured to heat to about 524-538 C in the reactor, and can operate up to 760 C ([0071-0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Smith teaches said heaters can be electrical heaters ([0066, 0071, 0094]).
Regarding claim 19, Smith teaches the plurality of heating elements can be controlled along the chamber axis to provide different temperature, hence the heating element form different active regions ([0112-0114]).
Regarding claim 20, Smith teaches further teaches rotation of inner cylinder 124 that implies including of auger in inner passageway (Fig 1-5 [0065]).
Regarding claim 21, in Smith the outer passage is generally toroidal 150 (see Fig 2-3, 9).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/591,038 (reference application) in combination with Stanley et al (US 10,696,904). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially overlapping, however the instant claims combine features of dependent claims which is held to be obvious to claim in independent claims. However, the instant claims require the feature the orthogonally connected biomass feed extruder with auger as claimed.
Stanley teaches system and method for pyrolysis (title, abstract), Stanley teaches pyrolysis system 100 comprises main pyrolysis chamber 110 with screw conveyor 114 feed stock inlet 120 has screw conveyor 122 that forms a biomass feed plug 124 to seal chamber 110 and allow components to expand and fragment as it enters chamber 110 from inlet 120, the angle can be from 0-90 degrees (C9:L7), and as shown in Fig 1 is 90 degrees (Fig 1, C4:L39-48, C6:L30-41, C7:L44-C9:L10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to claim the orthogonal feed extruder in view of Stanley to provide for orthogonally input from feed extruder to main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley to ensure a plug and allow the biomass components to expand and fragment as they enter the main pyrolysis chamber as taught by Stanley.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Neville (US 11,542,435) teaches a pyrolysis system.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772