DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending, and claims 1-3 and 6-7 are currently under review.
Claims 4-5 and 8-15 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I and the species of Ge in the reply filed on 6/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because a search burden exists as explained in the previous restriction requirement. Specifically, the inventions are classified in separate CPC classifications and the species are mutually exclusive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-5 and 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3 and 7 recite the term “low temperature phase”, which is indefinite because “low” is a relative term of degree that is not further explained in the specification or claims. It is unclear whether “low” requires some particular temperature value, or whether the claimed term merely refers to some general, arbitrary category of magnetic phases, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the instant claim to be met by any phase that forms at temperatures recognized to be “low” or any phase formed by the processing method of the instant application as recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tavoosi et al. (2022, Investigating the effect of B, Sb, and Ge elements on the structural and magnetic properties of rare earth elements-free permanent MnBi magnets).
Regarding claim 1, Tavoosi et al. discloses a permanent magnet material having a composition of Mn45Bi50Ge5 [abstract, fig.3]. The examiner considers the aforementioned magnet material of Tavoosi et al. to be MnBi-based (ie. majority of Mn and Bi). Tavoosi et al. further depicts XRD patterns corresponding to the aforementioned composition, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to mean that the crystal grain includes the aforementioned composition.
Regarding claim 3, Tavoosi et al. discloses the magnet of claim 1 (see previous). Tavoosi et al. does not expressly teach a low temperature phase as claimed. However, Tavoosi et al. discloses an anticipatory composition as explained above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0183547) in view of Ma et al. (CN111575532, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a Mn-Bi-Sb-based magnetic substance wherein Bi is substituted with Sb in the crystal structure (ie. phase) and Sb can be included in an amount of up to 3 atomic percent [abstract, 0061].
Lee et al. does not expressly teach that M includes Ge as claimed. Ma et al. discloses that it is known to substitute Ge for Sb in MnBi-based magnets to achieve good magnetic properties [0005]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the composition of Lee et al. by replacing Sb for Ge for the aforementioned benefit. Alternatively, the prior art expressly teaches that Ge and Sb are art-recognized equivalent inclusion elements for the same purpose of the scope of MnBi-based magnets, such that substitution of one known, art-recognized equivalent element for another in the prior art is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) & MPEP 2144.06. The examiner notes that the suggested disclosure of the aforementioned prior art combination would result in Ge replacing the Sb of Lee et al., which meets the claimed M element and overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the magnet of claim 1 (see previous). Lee et al. further teaches that Mn is included in an amount of 48 to 56 atomic percent with Bi as a remaining amount out of 100, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0061]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the magnet of claim 1 (see previous). Lee et al. further teaches about 50% or more of a low temperature phase [0024].
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the magnet of claim 1 (see previous). As stated above, the suggested disclosure of the prior art combination suggests up to 3 atomic percent Ge, which further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned prior art discloses the magnet of claim 1 (see previous). Lee et al. further teaches a saturation magnetization of 38 emu/g or greater [0094]. Alternatively, the aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a saturation magnetization at the conditions as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping magnetic properties would have naturally flowed from the suggested prior art combination. One of ordinary skill would readily recognize that magnetic properties are directly affected by controlling magnet composition and processing. The aforementioned prior art already teaches an overlapping composition as explained above. Lee et al. further teaches manufacturing the magnet through melting and casting, homogenization at 270 to 330 degrees C for 12 to 48 hours, and powder forming [0013, 0064]. This is substantially similar to the processing of the instant application of melting and casting, homogenization at 280 to 320 degrees C for 48 hours, and powder forming [0085 instant spec.]. Since the prior art discloses an overlapping composition and substantially similar method of manufacture as explained above, substantially similar overlapping magnetic properties relative to those as claimed would have naturally flowed. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734