DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4, 17-21, and 26 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 17-21, and 26 are examined on the merits.
Any rejection not reiterated below are hereby withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on Oct. 9, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Oct. 9, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/25, 9/30/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 17-21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US 20060222682 A1) in view of Van Dyke et al. (US 20110217356 A1). This is a new rejection.
Andrews teaches moringa seed cake are used as a ground fertilizer [0013]. The nutraceutical composition of claim 24, wherein a percentage by weight of the fruit of the Moringa plant is approximately 1% to 20% of the total weight of the Moringa plant components (Claim 39).
However, Andrews does not teach about 1-2% keratin protein from feather or hair, keratoses, kerateines, soluble proteins, cleaves disulfide bonds, feather meals.
Van Dyke et al. teaches keratin composition comprises, consists of or consists essentially of a keratose, a kerateine, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the keratin composition comprises, consists of or consists essentially of acidic keratose, basic keratose, acidic kerateine, basic kerateine, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the keratin composition comprises, consists of or consists essentially of .alpha.-keratose, .gamma.-keratose, basic .alpha.-keratose, acidic .alpha.-keratose, basic .gamma.-keratose, acidic .gamma.-keratose, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, the keratin composition comprises, consists of or consists essentially of .alpha.-kerateine, .gamma.-kerateine, basic .alpha.-kerateine, acidic .alpha.-kerateine, basic .gamma.-kerateine, acidic .gamma.-kerateine, or combinations thereof [0007]. The kerateine compositions are useful to provide a method of modulating the release of a compound of interest over time. Kerateine compositions may be designed or selected based on varying hydrolysis profiles over time to provide an appropriate release profile for the compound of interest [0009]. The keratin composition includes from 0.5, 1, 5, or 10 to 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 99 or 100% by weight of keratose, kerateine, or combinations thereof [0008]. Keratins are a family of proteins found in the hair, skin, and other tissues of vertebrates. Hair is a unique source of human keratins because it is one of the few human tissues that is readily available and inexpensive. Although other sources of keratins are acceptable feedstocks for the present invention, (e.g., wool, fur, horns, hooves, beaks, feathers, scales, and the like), human hair is preferred for use with human subjects because of its biocompatibility [0048]. The crosslinked structure of keratins is broken down by either oxidation or reduction. In these reactions, the disulfide bonds in cystine amino acid residues are cleaved, rendering the keratins soluble [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use feather and hair with moringa because Van Dyke et al. teaches kerateine compositions are useful to provide a method of modulating the release of a compound of interest over time. Kerateine compositions may be designed or selected based on varying hydrolysis profiles over time to provide an appropriate release profile for the compound of interest [0009]. Andrews teaches moringa seed cake are used as a ground fertilizer [0013]. One would have been motivated to make fertilizer from morgina for the expected benefit of slow release of nutrients to the plants as taught by Van Dyke et al. Absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed invention from the combined teachings of the cited references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use feather meal because Van Dyke et al. teaches the crosslinked structure of keratins is broken down by either oxidation or reduction. In these reactions, the disulfide bonds in cystine amino acid residues are cleaved, rendering the keratins soluble [0054]. One would have been motivated to make feather meals with increased surface area for the expected benefit of solubilizing the feather meal to extract soluble keratin as taught by Van Dyke et al. Absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making the claimed invention from the combined teachings of the cited references.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
Catheryne Chen Examiner Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655