DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the request for continued examination filed 3/23/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-14, 16 and 19-25 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 12-14 and 16 are currently amended, and Claims 21-25 are new.
All prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0264234 (“Vaughn”), in view of Cheng, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0283127 (“Cheng”), in view of Coco, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0307776 (“Coco”), and in view of Beckman, et al., U.S. Patent No. 9,908,619 (“Beckman”).
With regard to Claim 1, Vaughn teaches a system for controlling weight distribution of a remotely piloted aircraft, the system comprising:
determine a payload weight and a payload center of mass based on payload sensor data ([0032] describes a weight distribution apparatus which adjusts the center of mass of a drone, where the center of mass can be adjusted. [0041] describes that attached weights provide specific balancing forces that provide rotational balancing forces to counterbalance the changed center of gravity);
determine a target position for each of at least one counterweight based at least on the payload weight and the payload center of mass, the target position determined to control a center of gravity of the aircraft by controlling the weight distribution of the aircraft ([0042] describes that weight-balance fixation positions for the attachable counterweights can be calculated based on the weight and imbalance of the payload to provide the appropriate counterbalancing force to stabilize the aircraft. ; and
provide a counterweight position signal to a counterweight gantry system ([0085] describes that a weight-distribution input can be received by a processor both initially and in response to changes to the weight distribution profile of the aircraft. [0086] describes that the profile can be calculated, and the weight-balance fixation positions determined for the weights, where Figs. 4-6B show the weights attached to the aircraft body and held up via a bridge-like structure); and
the counterweight gantry system attached to the aircraft and comprising the at least one counterweight, the at least one counterweight mounted on a corresponding guide rail, the counterweight gantry system configured to move each of the at least one counterweight to a corresponding target position in response to receiving the counterweight position signal (Fig. 4-6B show examples of the bridge-like structures attached to the aircraft and supporting the counterweights. [0086] describes that an actuator can be used to reposition the weights to positions that are determined in order to properly balance the aircraft), the counterweight gantry system further comprising:
a second guide rail generally parallel to a lateral axis of the aircraft, the lateral axis intersecting the longitudinal axis at the center of gravity of the aircraft, the second guide rail defining a corresponding movement path offset from the lateral axis of the aircraft by a second offset distance ([0075] and Fig. 10 show an aircraft with the apparatus affixed at each end of the aircraft, parallel to and offset by a distance from an axis running laterally through the center of the aircraft).
Vaughn does not teach a payload weighing platform configured to be positioned within the aircraft and receive the payload, the payload weighing platform comprising a plurality of weight sensors configured to generate payload sensor data indicating measured weight values; a control unit configured to: receive the payload sensor data from the payload weighing platform; and determine a payload weight and a payload center of mass based on the payload sensor data and a positional configuration of the plurality of weight sensors.
Cheng teaches at Fig. 1 and [0064] a payload bay within an aircraft, upon which a payload sits. [0082] describes that a sensor of the aircraft provides the combined payload weight data, and [0083] describes that changes to the center of gravity can be determined based on the combined payload weight data. Coco teaches at [0027]-[0028] that a platform can include a plurality of load sensors used to detect the distribution of a load atop the platform. Figs. 5-7 show various configurations of the load sensors 230, indicating that the determining of the load and distribution accounts for the configuration of the load sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by incorporating additional sensors in a payload bay to ensure accurate measurements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Coco and Cheng with Vaughn, to enable additional load carrying configurations for an aircraft that employs automatic stabilization, thereby making Vaughn’s system more marketable by enabling its integration into additional types of UAV configurations.
Vaughn also does not teach a first guide rail generally parallel to a longitudinal axis of the aircraft, the longitudinal axis defining a centerline of the aircraft, the first guide rail defining a corresponding movement path offset from the longitudinal axis of the aircraft by a first offset distance. Beckman teaches at Fig. 1 and Col. 5, lines 18-40 that an unmanned aerial vehicle can include a plurality of structures, such as rails or guides, to which a movable ballast is coupled. The ballast moves along the structure to modify a distribution of weight about the frame of the vehicle to allow more stable operation, control, and maneuvering of the vehicle. As shown in Fig. 1, the ballast M is movable along guides or rails which are parallel to a longitudinal axis and offset therefrom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify Vaughn, Cheng and Coco by adding the longitudinally offset rails and counterweights/ballast as described in Beckman. Additional rails and weights along a second dimension allow for increased control over the center of gravity and balance of the drone, which is reflected throughout the Vaughn reference as many of the other embodiments therein disclose weights positionable along multiple dimensions. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification, to improve system functioning by allowing for the adjustment of the center of mass along two dimensions, increasing control over weight distribution and balance.
Claim 12 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 1, and the claim is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Vaughn teaches that each of the at least one counterweight is mounted on a corresponding guide rail, and the counterweight gantry system further comprises an actuator system configured to move each of the at least one counterweight to the corresponding target position by: moving the counterweight along its corresponding movement path of the corresponding guide rail; or moving the corresponding guide rail along with the mounted counterweight. Fig. 1A shows that counterweights can be placed on a plurality of rails, and [0086] describes actuators to move one or more of the weights to necessary positions to maintain aircraft balance.
Claim 13 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 2, and the claim is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Coco teaches that the payload weighing platform comprises four weight sensors arranged in a rectangular configuration around four corners of the payload weighing platform. Fig. 5B shows that four of the load sensors 230 can be placed as four corners of a square, located around where the platform corners are.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Coco with Vaughn and Cheng. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system function by integrating multiple sensors to generate more detailed data regarding load weight distribution, potentially increasing the accuracy of the determinations.
With regard to Claim 4, Coco teaches that weighing platform comprises three weight sensors arranged in a triangular configuration around a center of the payload weighing platform. Fig. 7B shows that load sensors 230 can be placed in a configuration comprising triangles that are located around the center of the plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Coco with Vaughn and Cheng. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system function by integrating multiple sensors to generate more detailed data regarding load weight distribution, potentially increasing the accuracy of the determinations.
With regard to Claim 5, Vaughn teaches that the counterweight gantry system comprises at least two counterweights and further comprises: the second guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft, wherein a second counterweight of the at least two counterweights is movably mounted on the second guide rail, wherein the actuator system is configured to: move the second counterweight to a second target position by moving the second counterweight along the second guide rail.
Vaughn shows at Fig. 10 and [0075] that an aircraft can have balance tracks on either end of the craft, where the tracks are generally parallel to a lateral axis running though the center of the aircraft. The balance tracks include repositionable weights that can be positioned along each of the balance tracks.
Beckman teaches the first guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft, wherein a first counterweight of the at least two counterweights is movably mounted on the first guide rail; the actuator system configured to move the first counterweight to a first target position by moving the first counterweight along the first guide rail. Fig. 1 and Col. 5, lines 18-40 that an unmanned aerial vehicle can include a plurality of structures, such as rails or guides, to which a movable ballast is coupled. The ballast moves along the structure to modify a distribution of weight about the frame of the vehicle to allow more stable operation, control, and maneuvering of the vehicle. As shown in Fig. 1, the ballast M is movable along guides or rails which are parallel to a longitudinal axis and offset therefrom.
Claim 14 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 5, and the claim is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 11, Vaughn teaches that the counterweight gantry system is attached to an exterior of the aircraft. Fig. 1A shows the arms which make up the counterweight gantry attached as part of the outside of the aircraft. Figs. 11 and 12 show additional configurations where the counterweights are a separate set of rails attached to the aircraft exterior.
Claim 20 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 11, and the claim is similarly rejected.
Claims 7, 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn, in view of Cheng, in view of Coco, in view of Beckman, and in view of Jae, et al., KR 10-2021-0129768 (“Jae”).
With regard to Claim 7, Jae teaches that the counterweight gantry system further comprises: a first guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft and the second guide rail movably attached to the first guide rail, wherein the second guide rail is configured to move along the first guide rail, wherein the at least one counterweight is movably mounted on the second guide rail and the actuator system is configured to move the at least one counterweight to the corresponding target position by moving the at least one counterweight along the second guide rail and by moving the second guide rail along the first guide rail.
Jae teaches at [0122]-[0123] that an aircraft can be equipped with a two axis movement device, where a second rail can move along a first rail and a weight can move along the second rail, allowing for the weighted body part to move the center of gravity of the aircraft along both rail directions. The weight is affixed to the aircraft, meaning that as the weight is moved along various configurations of the arms, configurations will include a longitudinal movement path along one rail that is parallel and separate from a central reference axis, as well as the other arm movably attached to the first arm and parallel to the central lateral axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Jae with Vaughn, Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to enable a configuration requiring only one weight movable in all directions for providing counterbalance, thereby providing a counterweight system with fewer parts and fewer moving parts which may be cheaper and/or lighter than a multiple weight system.
Claim 16 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 7, and the claim is similarly rejected.
With regard to Claim 21, Jae teaches that the counterweight gantry system further comprises: the second guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft; and the first guide rail movably attached to the second guide rail, wherein the first guide rail is configured to move along the second guide rail; wherein the at least one counterweight is movably mounted on the first guide rail and the actuator system is configured to move the at least one counterweight to the corresponding target position by moving the at least one counterweight along the first guide rail and by moving the first guide rail along the second guide rail.
Jae teaches at [0122]-[0123] that an aircraft can be equipped with a two axis movement device, where a second rail can move along a first rail and a weight can move along the second rail, allowing for the weighted body part to move the center of gravity of the aircraft along both rail directions. The weight is affixed to the aircraft, meaning that as the weight is moved along various configurations of the arms, configurations will include a lateral movement path along one rail that is parallel and separate from a central reference axis, as well as the other arm movably attached to the first arm and parallel to the longitudinal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Jae with Vaughn, Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to enable a configuration requiring only one weight movable in all directions for providing counterbalance, thereby providing a counterweight system with fewer parts and fewer moving parts which may be cheaper and/or lighter than a multiple weight system.
Claim 22 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 21, and the claim is similarly rejected.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn, in view of Cheng, in view of Coco, in view of Beckman, and in view of Verkade, U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0354625 (“Verkade”).
With regard to Claim 10, Verkade teaches that the counterweight gantry system further comprises: a vertical guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft and generally parallel to a normal axis of the aircraft; and a vertical counterweight movably mounted on the vertical guide rail, wherein the actuator system is configured to move the vertical counterweight to the corresponding target position by moving the vertical counterweight along the vertical guide rail.
Verkade teaches at [0056] that a center of gravity of an aircraft can shift along the vertical z axis when a payload is added to the aircraft. In response, upper and lower frame assemblies can be moved up and down the supports in the vertical direction, in order restore the center of gravity to the proper location equidistant between the upper and lower rotor assemblies.
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Verkade with Vaughn, Beckman, Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to provide for a stabilization mechanism that is applicable to additional configurations for an aircraft, thereby allowing for the automatic stabilization to be practiced in additional configurations of aircraft, improving its applicability and marketability.
Claim 19 recites a method which is carried out by the system of Claim 10, and the claim is similarly rejected.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughn, in view of Cheng, in view of Coco, in view of Qi, et al., CN 113599739 (“Qi”), and in view of Tang, et al., CN 114560064 (“Tang”).
With regard to Claim 23, Vaughn teaches a system for controlling weight distribution of a remotely piloted aircraft, the system comprising:
determine a payload weight and a payload center of mass based on payload sensor data ([0032] describes a weight distribution apparatus which adjusts the center of mass of a drone, where the center of mass can be adjusted. [0041] describes that attached weights provide specific balancing forces that provide rotational balancing forces to counterbalance the changed center of gravity);
determine a target position for each of at least one counterweight based at least on the payload weight and the payload center of mass, the target position determined to control a center of gravity of the aircraft by controlling the weight distribution of the aircraft ([0042] describes that weight-balance fixation positions for the attachable counterweights can be calculated based on the weight and imbalance of the payload to provide the appropriate counterbalancing force to stabilize the aircraft. ; and
provide a counterweight position signal to a counterweight gantry system, the counterweight position signal including the target position ([0085] describes that a weight-distribution input can be received by a processor both initially and in response to changes to the weight distribution profile of the aircraft. [0086] describes that the profile can be calculated, and the weight-balance fixation positions determined for the weights, where Figs. 4-6B show the weights attached to the aircraft body and held up via a bridge-like structure); and
the counterweight gantry system attached to the aircraft and comprising the at least one counterweight (Fig. 4-6B show examples of the bridge-like structures attached to the aircraft and supporting the counterweights. [0086] describes that an actuator can be used to reposition the weights to positions that are determined in order to properly balance the aircraft)
Vaughn does not teach a payload weighing platform configured to be positioned within the aircraft and receive the payload, the payload weighing platform comprising a plurality of weight sensors configured to generate payload sensor data indicating measured weight values; a control unit configured to: receive the payload sensor data from the payload weighing platform; and determine a payload weight and a payload center of mass based on the payload sensor data and a positional configuration of the plurality of weight sensors.
Cheng teaches at Fig. 1 and [0064] a payload bay within an aircraft, upon which a payload sits. [0082] describes that a sensor of the aircraft provides the combined payload weight data, and [0083] describes that changes to the center of gravity can be determined based on the combined payload weight data. Coco teaches at [0027]-[0028] that a platform can include a plurality of load sensors used to detect the distribution of a load atop the platform. Figs. 5-7 show various configurations of the load sensors 230, indicating that the determining of the load and distribution accounts for the configuration of the load sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve system functioning by incorporating additional sensors in a payload bay to ensure accurate measurements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Coco and Cheng with Vaughn, to enable additional load carrying configurations for an aircraft that employs automatic stabilization, thereby making Vaughn’s system more marketable by enabling its integration into additional types of UAV configurations.
Qi, in view of Tang teaches that the counterweight gantry system further comprises: a circular guide rail fixedly attached to the aircraft; and a radial guide rail movably attached to the circular guide rail to enable the radial guide rail to move circumferentially around the circular guide rail, wherein the at least one counterweight is movably mounted on the radial guide rail and the actuator system is configured to move the at least one counterweight to the corresponding target position by moving the at least one counterweight along the radial guide rail and by moving the radial guide rail circumferentially around the circular guide rail.
Qi teaches at Fig. 1 and [0021] that a center of gravity adjustment device for an aircraft includes a circular rail including ball bearings therein which act as stabilizing weights. A v-shaped frame of radial rails is likewise fixed within the circular rail, which rotates therein. Tang teaches at Fig. 5 and on pg. 16 of the included document (English translation) under the heading “Embodiment 1” that a robot includes a center of gravity control system to help balance the robot, made up of a circular guide rail with a linear guide rail set therein. The linear guiderail spans radii of the circular guide rail and is connected to the circular guide rail, and rotates therein. The linear guide rail also counterweight block attached thereto, which can be positioned along the linear guide rail to maintain balance of the robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to modify the circular rail gravity control system of Qi by adding the radial guide rail and weight as described in Tang. One of skill in the art would have sought the modification, to improve system functioning by allowing for greater control over balance and the center of gravity afforded by the additional positioning of the weight made possible by the balance system described in Tang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to then combine Qi and Tang with Vaughn, Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to provide for a stabilization mechanism that is applicable to an additional configuration for an aircraft, thereby allowing for the automatic stabilization to be practiced in additional configurations of aircraft, improving its applicability and marketability.
With regard to Claim 24, Qi teaches that the circular guide rail circumscribes a majority portion of the aircraft. Fig. 1 shows the balance system rail set in the bottom of the center portion of the aircraft, where it circumscribes most of the central portion of the aircraft. As explained in the descriptions of Figs. 1 and 2, this portion houses the majority of the on-board equipment, including cameras, fire extinguishing materials, as well as the machine body of the aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to then combine Qi with Tang, Vaughn, Cheng and Coco. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to provide for a stabilization mechanism that is applicable to an additional configuration for an aircraft, thereby allowing for the automatic stabilization to be practiced in additional configurations of aircraft, improving its applicability and marketability.
With regard to Claim 25, Qi teaches that the counterweight gantry system is attached to an exterior of the aircraft. Fig. 1 shows the circular rail 6 and the radial rails attached externally to the bottom exterior of the aircraft.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot, as the newly sited references cure the alleged deficiencies with regard to the previously cited references teaching or suggesting the elements of the amended and newly added claims.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
5/1/2026