Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werker et al. (US 20170018367 A1, and Werker hereinafter) in view of Bertolotti (DE 202010018233 U1, and Bertolotti hereinafter. English translation document provided in previous Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, Werker discloses a printed circuit board assembly, comprising
a housing (5, fig. 2),
a printed circuit board (3, fig. 2), and
at least one electronic component (2, fig. 2) fastened to the printed circuit board (fig. 2), the printed circuit board being arranged in the housing (fig. 2), and the housing having at least one bearing surface (including vertical sidewall of 5 that 6 abuts against, and 19, fig. 3) on which a gap filler is arranged (6, fig. 2), against which the electronic component rests so that the printed circuit board is mounted in the housing via the electronic component and the gap filler (fig. 2),
wherein the gap filler is thermally conductive (“thermally conductive adhesive 6”, [0037]) and in that the electronic component is connected to the housing in a thermally conductive manner as the electronic component is directly coupled to the housing via the gap filler, as a result of which a heat conduction to the housing via the gap filler is established from which heat is released to the surroundings (fig. 2 and “Heat 8 can thereby be transferred from capacitors 2 through adhesive 6 and the walls of the bore 9 to housing 5”, [0037]).
Werker does not explicitly disclose a potting compound being provided, which covers the printed circuit board and contacts the gap filler that serves as a rest for the potting compound.
Bertolotti discloses a potting compound being provided (31, fig. 6), which covers a printed circuit board (2, fig. 5) and contacts a gap filler (24, figs. 5-6) that serves as a rest for the potting compound (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker to incorporate the teachings of Bertolotti so that a potting compound is provided, which covers the printed circuit board and contacts the gap filler that serves as a rest for the potting compound, in order to hold the different elements together as part of a monolithic structure and protect them against environmental factors (“After curing of the potting compound 31 form the housing 25, the potting compound 31 and the arrangement 20 a coherent, in particular monolithic structure”, [0097]).
Regarding Claim 2, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component is fastened to the bearing surface by means of the gap filler (fig. 2 of Werker in view of “thermally conductive adhesive 6”, [0037] of Werker).
Regarding Claim 3, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the gap filler is adhesive so that the printed circuit board is bonded onto the bearing surface via the electronic component by means of the gap filler (fig. 2 of Werker in view of “thermally conductive adhesive 6”, [0037] of Werker).
Regarding Claim 5, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board, wherein the gap filler is elastic so that the gap filler acts as a mechanical damper (“adhesively bonded thereto by means of plastic resin 6 as an adhesive 6”, [0036] of Werker in view of “A further notable advantage is an improvement in the mechanical attachment to the heat sink …This results in improved vibration resistance”, [0018 of Werker]).
Regarding Claim 6, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the gap filler is made of an elastomer (“adhesively bonded thereto by means of plastic resin 6 as an adhesive 6”, [0036] of Werker in view of “A further notable advantage is an improvement in the mechanical attachment to the heat sink …This results in improved vibration resistance”, [0018] of Werker).
Regarding Claim 7, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the gap filler is made of a thermoset material (“When the electrolytic capacitor is then inserted into the corresponding bore, it will pull the as yet uncured adhesive along with it”, [0026] of Werker).
Regarding Claim 9, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the gap filler is provided with a thermally conductive additive (“thermally conductive adhesive 6”, [0037] of Werker).
Regarding Claim 11, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the potting compound completely covers an upper side of the printed circuit board, which is opposite to a lower side of the printed circuit board to which the electronic component is fastened (Werker as modified would have the potting compound (Betolotti: 31, fig. 6) covering upper side of printed circuit board (Werker: 3, fig. 2) as claimed. See also rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the potting compound seals the electronic component to the outside (Werker as modified would have the potting compound sealing the electronic component to the outside as claimed. See Werker, fig. 2 and also rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the housing is formed in a pot shape and has a housing bottom and sidewalls.
Bertolotti further discloses the housing is formed in a pot shape and has a housing bottom and sidewalls (fig. 5, overall external shape of 25 includes two vertical sidewalls and bottom surface).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker and Bertolotti to incorporate the additional teachings of Bertolotti so that the housing is formed in a pot shape and has a housing bottom and sidewalls, in order to provide a geometry that is prone to stable equilibrium (due at least in part to flat horizontal base). Said modification would be considered a mere change in shape. Absent disclosure of functional criticality, the courts have ruled that changes in shape do not carry patentable weight (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B).
Regarding Claim 14, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 13, wherein the bearing surface is parallel to the housing bottom (horizontal portion of 19, fig. 3 of Werker).
Regarding Claim 15, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 13, wherein the housing has a shoulder portion (19, fig. 3 of Werker) which is provided in a transition area from the housing bottom to at least one of the sidewalls (fig. 3 of Werker, 19 is located in transition portion from bottom of 5 to sidewall of 18), the bearing surface being formed, at least partially, on the shoulder portion (fig. 3 of Werker. See also rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is mounted in the housing spaced apart from the sidewalls (fig. 2 of Werker).
Claim 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werker in view of Bertolotti, further in view of Tobita et al. (US 6730731 B2, and Tobita hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 7 but does not explicitly disclose the gap filler is made of a polyurethane or an epoxide.
Tobita discloses a gap filler (13, fig. 1D) is made of a polyurethane or an epoxide (“The thermosetting resin includes epoxy resin, … silicone resin, polyurethane”, Col. 6, ln. 19-25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker and Bertolotti to incorporate the teachings of Tobita so that the gap filler is made of a polyurethane or an epoxide, in order to provide a filler that is able to effectively diffuse large amounts of heat generated by the electronic component (“An object of the present invention is to provide a thermally conductive polymer composition and a thermally conductive molded article that have high thermal conductivity and that effectively diffuse large amounts of heat that generate from electric or electronic parts”, Col. 2, ln. 33-37 of Tobita).
Regarding Claim 10, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 9 but does not explicitly disclose the thermally conductive additive is a ceramic powder or a mineral material.
Tobita discloses a gap filler (13, fig. 1D), wherein a thermally conductive additive is a ceramic powder or a mineral material (“the filler including powder- or fiber-shaped metal and ceramic such as silver, copper, gold, aluminum oxide”, Col. 5, ln. 36-40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker and Bertolotti to incorporate the teachings of Tobita so that the thermally conductive additive is a ceramic powder or a mineral material, in order to provide a filler that has a high thermal conductivity (“a filler that has high thermal conductivity used for conventional thermally conductive polymer compositions” Col. 5, ln. 36-37 of Tobita)
Regarding Claim 17, Werker discloses a printed circuit board assembly, comprising
a housing (5, fig. 2),
a printed circuit board (3, fig. 2), and
at least one electronic component (2, fig. 2) fastened to the printed circuit board (fig. 2), the printed circuit board being arranged in the housing (fig. 2), and the housing having at least one bearing surface (including vertical sidewall of 5 that 6 abuts against, and 19, fig. 3) on which a gap filler is arranged (6, fig. 2), against which the electronic component rests so that the printed circuit board is mounted in the housing via the electronic component and the gap filler (fig. 2), and
wherein the gap filler is electrically non-conductive (“plastic resin 6”, [0036]), and
wherein the electronic component is partially limited by the gap filler (fig. 2).
Werker does not explicitly disclose a potting compound is provided, and wherein the electronic component is partially limited by the potting compound such that the potting compound contacts the electronic component.
Bertolotti discloses a potting compound being provided (31, fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker to incorporate the teachings of Bertolotti so that a potting compound is provided, in order to hold the different elements together as part of a monolithic structure and protect them against environmental factors (“After curing of the potting compound 31 form the housing 25, the potting compound 31 and the arrangement 20 a coherent, in particular monolithic structure”, [0097]). This modification would be implemented by adding the potting compound surrounding the printed circuit board (3, fig. 2 of Werker), by doing so, the electronic component would necessarily be partially limited by the potting compound such that the potting compound contacts the electronic component and the gap filler.
Regarding Claim 18, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 17, wherein a potting compound is provided, which covers the printed circuit board and contacts the gap filler (see rejection of Claim 17 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Werker discloses a printed circuit board assembly, comprising
a housing (5, fig. 2),
a printed circuit board (3, fig. 2), and
at least one electronic component (2, fig. 2) fastened to the printed circuit board (fig. 2), the printed circuit board being arranged in the housing (fig. 2),
wherein the housing has a housing bottom and sidewalls (fig. 2), and the housing having at least one bearing surface (including vertical sidewall of 5 that 6 abuts against, and 19, fig. 3) on which a gap filler is arranged (6, fig. 2), against which the electronic component rests so that the printed circuit board is mounted in the housing via the electronic component and the gap filler (fig. 2),
wherein the housing has a shoulder portion (19, fig. 3) which is provided in a transition area from the housing bottom to at least one of the sidewalls, the bearing surface being formed on the shoulder portion (fig. 3: 19 is located in transition portion from bottom of 5 to sidewall of 18), the bearing surface being formed, at least partially, on the shoulder portion (fig. 3) such that the bearing surface is parallel to the housing bottom (horizontal portion of 19, fig. 3).
Werker does not explicitly disclose the housing is formed in a pot shape, a potting compound is provided that partially rests on the bearing surface formed on the shoulder portion.
Bertolotti discloses the housing is formed in a pot shape (fig. 5, overall external shape of 25 includes two vertical sidewalls and bottom surface), a potting compound is provided (31, fig. 6) that partially rests on the bearing surface formed on the shoulder portion (fig. 5-6, 31, rests on 24 partially directly and partially via the portion of 2 located above 24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Werker to incorporate the teachings of Bertolotti so that the housing is formed in a pot shape and a potting compound is provided that partially rests on the bearing surface formed on the shoulder portion, in order to provide enhance protection of the device by using of encapsulation process and a geometry that favors stable equilibrium (due at least in part to flat horizontal base). Modification of the housing in a pot shape would be considered a mere change in shape. Absent disclosure of functional criticality, the courts have ruled that changes in shape do not carry patentable weight (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B). (“After curing of the potting compound 31 form the housing 25, the potting compound 31 and the arrangement 20 a coherent, in particular monolithic structure”, [0097]). Also, adding a potting compound surrounding the printed circuit board as suggested by Bertolotti would protect the device from environmental factors (such as water, dust, etc.); by doing so a potting compound would necessarily be provided that partially rests on the bearing surface formed on the shoulder portion.
Regarding Claim 20, Werker/Bertolotti discloses the printed circuit board assembly according to claim 19, wherein a potting compound is provided, which covers the printed circuit board (see rejection of claim 19 above) and contacts the gap filler (Werker as modified implements potting compound of Bertolotti so that it surrounds the printed circuit board (3, fig. 2 of Werker), by doing so, the potting compound underneath the circuit board would necessarily contact the gap filler.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841