DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The current Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on March 17, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 7, filed March 17, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn. Applicant has corrected the minor informalities.
Applicant's arguments filed March 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, and 11, Applicant argues that the “Examiner conflates Zarepsheh’s loss function with the Applicant’s cost function” which are not synonymous with each other and treating them other wise would be technically flawed. Applicant further argues that Zarepisheh does not mention “cost function”. However, “cost function” and “loss function” are synonymous with each other. In [0061], Zarepisheh discloses using mean absolute error loss function which is a cost function.
Applicant further argues Zarepisheh fails to disclose form at least one optimization cost function using predicted 3D radiation dose distribution because Zarepisheh, in [0061] discloses using loss functions for Machine learning parameter training which is different from optimizing radiation treatment plan. However, Zarepisheh discloses obtaining loss functions (Mean absolute error or mean square error)using voxel by voxel dose distribution in [0061]. Zarepisheh discloses using the Mean absolute error or mean square error to optimize the treatment plan in [0064] and [0090].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zarepisheh (WO 2023/196533).
Regarding claim 1:
Zarepisheh discloses a method to facilitate optimizing a radiation treatment plan, comprising: by a control circuit:
accessing predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information ([0040] and [0064], dose prediction models);
optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function ([0058], [0063], and [0090], plan optimization), at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by, at least in part, forming at least one optimization cost function using at least part of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as a goal value for at least some three-dimensional-voxels ([0061], and [0064], loss functions are created using dose distribution for each voxel) to thereby prompt optimization towards the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information ([0058], [0063], and [0090], optimization of treatment plans).
Regarding claim 2:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 1 wherein optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information comprises, at least in part by using the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as an optimization constraint ([0058], using the 3D predicted dose as constraint for optimization).
Regarding claim 3:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
by the control circuit:
accessing clinical goals ([0063], critical clinical constraints); and
wherein optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information further comprises optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information and information pertaining to the clinical goals ([0063]-[0064], optimization using clinical constraints).
Regarding claim 4:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 3 wherein the clinical goals include, at least in part, at least one of a one-dimensional and a two-dimensional constraint ([0064], 2D input).
Regarding claim 6:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 5 wherein forming at least one optimization cost function using at least part of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as a goal value for at least some three-dimensional voxels further comprises using other information to determine at least one weight and/or at least one functional form of individual voxel costs ([0066]-[0070], functions with voxels).
Regarding claim 7:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 6 wherein the other information includes at least one of:
information corresponding to non-three-dimensional clinical goals related to at least one patient target volume and/or at least one patient organ structure ([0061]-[0064], OAR used to infer corresponding voxel dose distribution) and ;
patient images;
patient geometry information;
spatial definitions of a patient target volume, a non-targeted patient organ, and/or patient body structures;
field geometry information; and/or
radiation treatment platform information.
Regarding claim 10:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 1 wherein optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information further comprises forming at least one optimization cost function having weights that are determined as a function, at least in part, of complying with at least one clinical goal ([0110], updating weights).
Regarding claim 11:
Zarepisheh discloses an apparatus to facilitate optimizing a radiation treatment plan, comprising:
a control circuit (Fig. 11, 1105) configured to:
access predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information ([0040] and [0064], dose prediction models);
optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by, at least in part, forming at least one optimization cost function using at least part of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as a goal value for at least some three-dimensional-voxels ([0061], and [0064], loss functions are created using dose distribution for each voxel) to thereby prompt optimization towards the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information ([0058], [0063], and [0090], optimization of treatment plans).
Regarding claim 12:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 11 wherein the control circuit is configured to optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information, at least in part, by using the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as an optimization constraint ([0058], using the 3D predicted dose as constraint for optimization).
Regarding claim 13:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 11 wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
access clinical goals ([0063], critical clinical constraints); and
wherein the control circuit is configured to optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information and information pertaining to the clinical goals ([0063]-[0064], optimization using clinical constraints).
Regarding claim 14:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 13 wherein the clinical goals include, at least in part, at least one of a one-dimensional and a two-dimensional constraint ([0064], 2D input).
Regarding claim 16:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 11 wherein the control circuit is configured to form at least one optimization cost function using at least part of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information as a goal value for at least some three-dimensional voxels by using other information to determine at least one weight and/or at least one functional form of individual voxel costs ([0066]-[0070], functions with voxels).
Regarding claim 17:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 16 wherein the other information includes at least one of:
information corresponding to non-three-dimensional clinical goals related to at least one patient target volume and/or at least one patient organ structure ([0061]-[0064], OAR used to infer corresponding voxel dose distribution);
patient images;
patient geometry information;
spatial definitions of a patient target volume, a non-targeted patient organ, and/or patient body structures;
field geometry information; and/or
radiation treatment platform information.
Regarding claim 20:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 11 wherein the control circuit is configured to optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by forming at least one optimization cost function having weights that are determined as a function, at least in part, of complying with at least one clinical goal ([0110], updating weights).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zarepisheh (WO 2023/196533) in view of Yuan (U.S. 2020/0155868).
Regarding claim 8:
Zarepisheh discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Zarepisheh fails to disclose wherein optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information further comprises using an optimization cost function having at least one normalization factor.
Yuan teaches wherein optimizing the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information further comprises using an optimization cost function having at least one normalization factor ([0056], normalization).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the optimization method of Zarepisheh with the normalization taught by Yuan in order to improve efficiency and quality of treatment planning to help more cancer patients and improve their quality of life (Yuan; [0021]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 9:
The combination of Zarepisheh and Yuan discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the at least one normalization factor corresponds to accuracy of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information (Yuan; [0056], normalization to reduce shift).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the optimization method of Zarepisheh with the normalization taught by Yuan in order to improve efficiency and quality of treatment planning to help more cancer patients and improve their quality of life (Yuan; [0021]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 18:
Zarepisheh discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
However, Zarepisheh fails to disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by using an optimization cost function having at least one normalization factor.
Yuan teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to optimize the radiation treatment plan as a function, at least in part, of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information by using an optimization cost function having at least one normalization factor ([0056], normalization).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the optimization system of Zarepisheh with the normalization taught by Yuan in order to improve efficiency and quality of treatment planning to help more cancer patients and improve their quality of life (Yuan; [0021]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 19:
The combination of Zarepisheh and Yuan discloses the apparatus of claim 18 wherein the at least one normalization factor corresponds to accuracy of the predicted three-dimensional radiation dose distribution information (Yuan; [0056], normalization to reduce shift).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the optimization system of Zarepisheh with the normalization taught by Yuan in order to improve efficiency and quality of treatment planning to help more cancer patients and improve their quality of life (Yuan; [0021]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884