DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under § 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a handling component” in claims 1, 7, 9, and 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under § 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If the Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under § 112(f), the Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under § 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 8, and 9 are rejected under § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 4 is on a control system and recites, in part, “wherein at least one of (i) the at least one item of identifying information and (ii) the first and second sensor components and the handling component are configured such that the at least one item of identifying information is captured by the first and second sensor components and the handling component.” (Emphasis added.) Although it is well established within the field of invention how sensors such as the first and second sensor components are configured to capture identifying information such as barcodes, ID tags, RFID tags, and other markers, it is unclear how the handling component (a transfer device) is configured to do the same. Thus, claim 4 is indefinite. Correction is required.
For the aforementioned reasons, claims 5, 6, 8, and 9 are also indefinite.
For purposes of examination, claims 4-6, 8, and 9 are interpreted as though “the first and second sensor components” are the only system components configured to capture the at least one item of identifying information.
Furthermore, independent claim 9 is further indefinite for reciting “transporting an item of first identifying information of the at least one item of identifying information from a first to a second sensor component and on to a handling component.” (Emphasis added.) The at least one item of identifying information lacks an antecedent basis. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2023/0405831 to Hsieh et al. (Hsieh). For claim 1, Hsieh discloses a control system for handling a processing product (600) transported on a transport device (100) from a first to a second sensor (200) component and on to a handling component (300), comprising:
a control device (400) including:
at least one application module for connecting the first sensor component and the second sensor component (see ¶ [0026] for providing that the operating and processing module includes means for exchanging data and information with one or more sensors of the imaging device); and
a control module configured to execute a control program for controlling the handling component (see ¶ [0024] for controlling, via the operating and processing module, robot machine arms); and
an edge computing device (400) which is configured to determine at least one item of time information, times for transporting a product transported on the transport device from the first to the second sensor component and on to the handling component being determinable or determined from the at least one item of time information (see ¶ [0024] for providing that the operating and processing module is configured to calculate the target position and target time point of objects to be picked based on first position information, second position information, first time point, and second time point captured by the imaging device sensors);
wherein the first and second sensor components are configured to capture first and second sensor data relating to the processing product, the handling component being configured to at least one of handle, process and manipulate the processing product (see ¶ [0024] for providing that the imaging device sensors are configured to capture position information of objects on the transmission device and time stamps corresponding to the moment when the position information is captured); and
wherein the control module is further configured to execute the control program to provide real-time control of the handling component for handling the processing product taking into account the first and second sensor data as well as at least one of the time information and the determined transport times (see ¶ [0024] for controlling the machine arms to pick objects at the target positions at the target time points).
In regards to claim 2, Hsieh further discloses that the at least one application module is configured to determine first product information utilizing the first sensor data and second product information utilizing the second sensor data; and wherein the control module is further configured to execute a control program for the real-time control of the handling component for handling the processing product taking into account the first and second product information relating to the processing product as well as at least one of the time information and the determined transport times. See ¶ [0024] (controlling the machine arms to pick objects at the target positions at the target time points based on first position information, second position information, first time point, and second time point captured by the imaging device sensors);
In regards to claim 3, Hsieh further discloses that the at least one application module comprises at least one of a first machine learning (ML) model for determining the first product information and a second ML model for determining the second product information. See ¶ [0029] (obtaining a plurality of images of at least one object on the transmission device through the imaging device at a plurality of time points, and identifying the at least one object in the plurality of images to obtain a plurality of position information of the at least one object on the transmission device 100 through a first AI model).
Claim 7 is rejected under § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh, supra. For claim 7, Hsieh discloses a handling system for a processing product, comprising:
a control system as claimed in claim 1 (supra);
a first sensor component (200) as claimed in claim 1 for connection to the at least one application module of the control device for capturing first sensor data relating to the processing product (see ¶ [0022] for providing an imaging device with 2 or more sensors);
a second sensor component (200) as claimed in claim 1 for connection to the at least one application module of the control device for capturing second sensor data relating to the processing product (see ¶ [0022] for providing an imaging device with 2 or more sensors);
a handling component (300) as claimed in any one of claim 1 for at least one of handling, processing and/or manipulating the processing product (see ¶ [0023] for providing at least one pick-and-place robot); and
a transport device (100) as claimed in claim 1 for transporting the processing product from the first to the second sensor component and on to the handling component (see ¶ [0021] for providing a transmission device configured to transport objects in a predetermined direction).
Claim 9 is rejected under § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh, supra. For claim 9, Hsieh discloses a method for setting up a control system for a handling system, the method comprising:
transporting an item of first identifying information of the at least one item of identifying information from a first to a second sensor component and on to a handling component (see ¶ [0021] for transporting objects via a transmission device);
capturing the item of first identifying information via the first sensor component as first sensor data and capturing a first capture time of the first sensor data transmitting the first capture time to an edge computing device (see ¶ [0022] for capturing identifying information of objects being transported using one or more sensors of the imaging device);
capturing the item of first identifying information via the second sensor component as second sensor data and capturing a second capture time of the second sensor data, and transmitting the second capture time to the edge computing device (see ¶ [0022]);
determining the at least one item of time information (see ¶ [0022] & [0024] for capturing time stamps in addition to position information of objects to be picked in order to determine target positions and target time points for the pick-and-place robots);
wherein times for transporting a product transported on a transport device from the first to the second sensor component and on to the handling component are determinable or are determined from the at least one item of time information (see ¶ [0024] for providing that the operating and processing module is configured to calculate the target position and target time point of objects to be picked based on first position information, second position information, first time point, and second time point captured by the imaging device sensors).
Claim 10 is rejected under § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh, supra. For claim 10, Hsieh discloses a method for handling a processing product (600) utilizing a handling system (10) including a control system
storing at least one of the at least one item of time information and the times for transporting a product transported on the transport device from the first to the second sensor component and on to the handling component in the control system (see ¶¶ [0028-0029] & [0039] for obtaining, via the operating and processing module and memory, a first time point and a second time point corresponding to the position information of objects captured by the imaging device sensors located above the transmission device/conveyor);
capturing the processing product utilizing the first sensor component at a first capture time, determining first product information from the captured first sensor data and assigning the first capture time to the first product information (see ¶ [0024]);
capturing the processing product utilizing the second sensor component at a second capture time, determining second product information from the captured second sensor data and assigning the second capture time to the second product information (see ¶ [0024]);
assigning the first and second product information to one another by comparing a time difference between the first and second capture times and the determined time for transporting a product transported on the transport device from the first to the second sensor component (see ¶¶ [0024] & [0068-0071]); and
handling the processing product via the handling component at or from a third time which results from the second capture time and the determined time for transporting a product transported on the transport device from the second sensor component to the handling component (see ¶ [0024] for controlling the pick-and-place robots to pick objects at target positions and target time points based, in part, on the first and second time points captured by the imaging device sensors).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh, supra, as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 7 respectively, in view of US Pub. No. 2010/0025198 to Wallace et al. (Wallace). For claim 4, Hsieh discloses all limitations of the claimed invention but for at least one item of identifying information on the transport device.
Although Hsieh does not explicitly disclose that limitation, such a feature is found in in the prior art. In fact, Wallace teaches a sensor system for a conveyor belt wherein the transport device comprises at least one item of identifying information; and wherein at least one of (i) the at least one item of identifying information and (ii) the first and second sensor components and the handling component are configured such that the at least one item of identifying information is captured by the first and second sensor components and the handling component. See ¶ [0051] (describing identification tags disposed on the conveyor belt which are scanned by sensors).
Thus, it would have been obvious at the time filing to modify the transmission device of Hsieh with the ID tag equipped conveyor belt of Wallace in order to monitor the movement and condition of the conveyor belt as well as the objects thereon.
In regards to claim 5, Wallace further discloses that the transport device comprises at least one item of identifying information; and wherein at least one of (i) the at least one item of identifying information and (ii) the first and second sensor components and the handling component are configured such that the at least one item of identifying information is captured by the first and second sensor components and the handling component. See ¶ [0051] (describing identification tags disposed on the conveyor belt which are scanned by sensors).
In regards to claim 6, Wallace further discloses that the transport device comprises at least one item of identifying information; and wherein at least one of (i) the at least one item of identifying information and (ii) the first and second sensor components and the handling component are configured such that the at least one item of identifying information is captured by the first and second sensor components and the handling component. See ¶ [0051] (describing identification tags disposed on the conveyor belt which are scanned by sensors).
In regards to claim 8, Wallace further discloses that the transport device comprises at least one item of identifying information; and wherein at least one of (i) the at least one item of identifying information and (ii) the first and second sensor components and the handling component are configured such that the at least one item of identifying information is captured by the first and second sensor components and the handling component. See ¶ [0051] (describing identification tags disposed on the conveyor belt which are scanned by sensors).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2019/0217342 to Parr et al. discloses methods and systems for autonomous data collection and system control of a material recovery or recycling facility. In some embodiments, a central control system receives inputs in the form of at least one data stream from each of one or more environmental sensors that reflect the status of a material recovery facility (MRF). The inputs are used to determine the operating status of one or more components of the MRF, and/or composition of a waste stream being processed by the MRF. At least one material handling unit is controlled in response to the inputs to optimize the recovery and/or purity of recyclable or recoverable materials from the waste stream. A service unit or mechanism may also be controlled in response to the inputs indicating that a component of the MRF requires servicing.
US Pub. No. 2025/0122023 to Myck et al. discloses a system for facilitating movement of material in at least one stockpile, for example to minimize variability and/or ensure a target level of one or more constituents of a product comprising material obtained from at least one stockpile. At least one computing device may receive pickup signal(s) indicating a plurality of pickup events associated with respective portions of the material. In response, the computing device may identify respective locations of the pickup events. At least one property of the material associated with the pickup events may be estimated. In response, the computing device may associate estimations of the at least one property with respective regions of the material associated with the pickup events. In response, the computing device may transmit respective locations of future pickup events. The computing device, in response, may receive future pickup signal(s) indicating the future pickup events.
Conclusion
/KYLE O LOGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655