DETAILED ACTION
Non-final communication in response to communication filed 12/11/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Holler Jr [5559458].
With respect to claim 1, figure 1 of Holler Jr. discloses a circuit comprising:
a pulse generator [200,400] having an input [/PUR] and an output [EN]; and
an oscillator [100] having an input [/PUR] and an output [CK], the input of the oscillator coupled to the input of the pulse generator; and
an output circuit [300] having a first input [CLOCKIN], a second input [CK], a third input [SELECT CLOCK or /PUR] and an output [CLOCK], the first input of the output circuit coupled to an external clock input, the second input coupled to the outputs of the pulse generator and the oscillator, and the output of the output circuit coupled to a clock output [CLOCK].
With respect to claim 21, figure 1 of Holler Jr. discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein the output circuit includes a multiplexer [300, MUX].
Claims 18-20, 23,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laur et al. [8570014].
With respect to claim 18, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose a system comprising: a sync pin [EXT. CLOCK];
a clock generator [240,244,280,210] having an output [outputs of any of the elements];
an output circuit [220] having a first input, a second input, and an output, the first input coupled to the sync pin, and the second input coupled to the output of the clock generator; and
a power stage [66,61] having an input coupled to the output of the output circuit.
With respect to claim 19, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose the system of claim 18, wherein the output circuit includes a multiplexer [logic gates Fig. 9 form a multiplexer].
With respect to claim 20, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose the system of claim 18, wherein the power stage comprises: a controller [66] having an input; and
a power converter [61] having an input coupled to the output of the output circuit [coupled through 66] and having an output [Vo] coupled to the input of the controller [coupled through 68].
With respect to claim 23, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose the system of claim 18, wherein the clock generator includes a pulse generator [270] and an oscillator [210].
With respect to claim 25, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose the system of claim 18, wherein the power stage is a first power stage [POWER MODULE 1] and the system further comprises a second power stage [POWER MODULE 2-N] having an input coupled to the sync pin [EXT. CLOCK].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laur et al.
With respect to claim 24, figures 1-10 of Laur et al. disclose the system of claim 18, but does not disclose wherein the sync pin is a sync-out pin or a sync-in pin of a universal serial bus (USB) power delivery controller.
However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claim 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842
1/27/26