DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first nozzle group configured to eject the first liquid including an inorganic pigment” and “the first nozzle group configured to eject the first liquid which does not include the inorganic pigment” and “the inorganic pigment” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim seems to state that the same first liquid can both have an inorganic pigment and be devoid of an inorganic pigment. The same liquid must have the same characteristics. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Yamada et al. (2023/0347675) in view of Caleshu (5,476,518) and Inoue (8,622,514).
Regarding claim 1 and 14, Yamada teaches a liquid ejection device comprising:
a liquid ejection unit (fig. 2, item 43) having a first nozzle group (fig. 2, item 42b) and configured to eject a first liquid to a cloth conveyed (fig. 1, item 95), and a second nozzle group (fig. 2, item 42a) configured to eject a second liquid and to the cloth (see fig. 2);
wherein
the first liquid is aqueous ink ([0037]) and the second liquid and is a liquid including a softening agent ([0130], note that the treatment liquid has a softener), and
the second nozzle group is configured to execute a softening treatment of ejecting the second liquid to the cloth (fig. 2, Note that treatment liquid nozzles eject treatment liquid with softener).
Yamada does not teach a specific fabric softener.
Caleshu teaches wherein a dimethyl silicone can be used as a softener (Caleshu, col. 4, line 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dimethyl silicone disclosed by Caleshu as the softener of Yamada because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Yamada in view Caleshu does not teach a wiping unit configured to wipe a nozzle surface on which the first nozzle group is disposed, wherein the second nozzle group is configured to execute a water repellent treatment of making the second cloth, liquid adhere to the nozzle surface.
Inoue teaches a wet wiping technique whereby liquid from a corresponding print head is seeped out from an ejection nozzle so as to cover the nozzle surface an facilitate smoother wiping with a wiper (Inoue, col. 25, lines 35-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the wet wiping method disclosed by Inoue to the device disclosed by Yamada in view of Caleshu because doing so would allow for more thorough wiping of the nozzle surface.
Upon combination, the treatment head of Yamada would seep liquid containing dimethyl silicone oil out onto its nozzle surface, thereby forming a water repellent film.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada in view of Caleshu and Inoue teaches the liquid ejection device according to claim 1, wherein the wiping unit wipes the nozzle surface after the water repellent treatment, and before the first nozzle group ejects the first liquid to the cloth (Inoue, col. 25, lines 35-50).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada in view of Caleshu and Inoue teaches the liquid ejection device according to claim 1, wherein defining the nozzle surface as a first nozzle surface, the liquid ejection unit has a second nozzle surface on which the second nozzle group is disposed (Yamada, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada in view of Caleshu and Inoue teaches the liquid ejection device according to claim 1, wherein the liquid ejection unit has a plurality of the first nozzle groups, and the second nozzle group arranged at a position the second nozzle group is closer to the first nozzle group configured to eject the first liquid including an inorganic pigment than to the first nozzle group configured to eject the first liquid which does not include the inorganic pigment (Yamada, see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada in view of Caleshu and Inoue teaches the liquid ejection device according to claim 1, further comprising: a drying unit configured to dry the second liquid which adheres to the nozzle surface (Yamada, fig. 1, item 27, Note that heater necessarily causes drying of all liquids including the second liquid on the nozzle surface).
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853