DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by King et al (2010/0188473).
Consider claims 1, 12 and 20, King et al teach a meeting control method, electronic device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, containing executable instructions stored thereon that, when being executed, cause at least one processor to implement/performed by a terminal, the comprising: displaying, in response to a control connection instruction for a target meeting in a meeting display terminal, a control interface corresponding to the target meeting, and displaying an operation control for controlling the target meeting in the control interface (par. 0054; i.e., user selects participant for initiating a audio/video conference; “In the embodiment shown, each contact may have an indication of the type of conferencing available to that contact, e.g., an "A" icon (shown next to Jane Doe, Jack Smith, Kathy Arnold, and Kevin Jones) may indicate that those contacts are capable of audioconferences, but not videoconferences, whereas a "V" icon (shown next to John Doe, James Smith, Katie Adams, and Kim Jones) may indicate that those contacts are capable of videoconferences and, in some embodiments, may also indicate that those contacts are capable of audioconferences. As also shown, there may be checkboxes next to the contacts, allowing the user of the mobile communication device 200 to easily select a plurality of contacts for initiating a conference, e.g., for provision to the conferencing system, as described above. In this particular example, the user has selected Jack Smith, Katie Adams, and Kevin Jones for the conference. In this case, an audioconference may be performed since only Katie Adams is capable of performing a videoconference. In some embodiments, the selection screen may include one or more additional buttons or user interface elements for initiating the conference once the contacts are selected”); performing, in response to a meeting control instruction triggered based on the operation control, a meeting control operation indicated by the meeting control instruction on the target meeting (par. 0054; “In this particular example, the user has selected Jack Smith, Katie Adams, and Kevin Jones for the conference. In this case, an audioconference may be performed since only Katie Adams is capable of performing a videoconference. In some embodiments, the selection screen may include one or more additional buttons or user interface elements for initiating the conference once the contacts are selected”); par. 0066; “For example, the mobile communication device 200 may provide the contact information of the current telephone call and provide a command to the videoconferencing system to initiate a videoconference using this contact information”; par. 0057; “As shown, the user may select "add user" to add a user to the videoconference, "hold" to place the videoconference on hold, "remove user" to remove a user from the videoconference, "contacts" to browse through available contacts, "screen" to manipulate the videoconference screen, "switch inputs" to modify which inputs are provided to the other videoconference users, "mute" for muting audio and/or video inputs to the videoconference, "volume" for controlling and/or selecting audio and/or video outputs from the videoconference, "keypad" for invoking a telephone keypad to provide numeric input to the videoconference from the mobile communication device 200, "keyboard" for providing alphanumeric input to the videoconference from the mobile communication device 200, "record" for recording a portion or all of the videoconference, and "other functions" for selecting other possible functions or commands of the videoconferencing system. The user may be able to end the videoconference by selecting the "end conference" button”); and transmitting a meeting control operation result corresponding to the meeting control operation to the meeting display terminal (par. 0049; “More specifically, the conferencing system may attempt to initiate a conference with at least a subset or all of the received contacts or contact information from the mobile communication device 200. Thus, the conferencing system may receive the contact information from the mobile communication device 200 and then initiate the conference using the received contact information”; par. 0056-0058; it is noted that once the control selection is initiated the operation associated with the selected control is transmitted to perform such operation).
Consider claims 2 and 13, King et al teach further comprising: receiving the control connection instruction for the target meeting in the meeting display terminal prior to displaying the control interface, the control connection instruction being triggered by a connection control entry displayed in the meeting display terminal, and the connection control entry being used for connecting to the terminal for controlling the target meeting (par. 0050; Fig. 8; “once the conference is initiated, the mobile communication device 200 may be used as a component in the system. For example, the mobile communication device 200 may be used as a remote control for the conferencing system, e.g., using a conferencing program installed on the mobile communication device 200”; thus implies that the mobile device is first connected to the conference prior to providing the control interface).
Consider claims 7 and 18, King et al teach further comprising: displaying, when the terminal is provided with a meeting control service for controlling the target meeting, a meeting query interface for querying a meeting; displaying, in response to a meeting identifier for the target meeting inputted based on the meeting query interface, at least one attendee corresponding to the target meeting; and triggering the control connection instruction for the target meeting in response to a selection operation for a target attendee corresponding to the meeting display terminal in the at least one of attendees (Fig. 6; par. 0054; “contacts are shown for selection in the conference program (although it could be selected from a contacts application of the mobile communication device 200, as desired). In the embodiment shown, each contact may have an indication of the type of conferencing available to that contact, e.g., an "A" icon (shown next to Jane Doe, Jack Smith, Kathy Arnold, and Kevin Jones) may indicate that those contacts are capable of audioconferences, but not videoconferences, whereas a "V" icon (shown next to John Doe, James Smith, Katie Adams, and Kim Jones) may indicate that those contacts are capable of videoconferences and, in some embodiments, may also indicate that those contacts are capable of audioconferences. As also shown, there may be checkboxes next to the contacts, allowing the user of the mobile communication device 200 to easily select a plurality of contacts for initiating a conference, e.g., for provision to the conferencing system, as described above”).
Consider claim 9, King et al teach further comprising: establishing a meeting control channel to a meeting connector, the meeting connector being connected to a meeting application corresponding to the target meeting via a target communication protocol; and establishing a communication connection with the meeting display terminal based on the target communication protocol and the meeting control channel (par. 0032; 0045; “For example, the input may be received or transmitted in a wireless manner, e.g., using an 802.11x protocol, a Bluetooth protocol, and/or other wireless protocols. Thus, a user may be able to simply use his phone, e.g., as a remote interface to the conferencing system, to provide the desired contact information to the conferencing system”).
Consider claim 10, King et al teach wherein transmitting the meeting control operation result corresponding to the meeting control operation to the meeting display terminal comprises: transmitting the meeting control operation to the meeting connector through the meeting control channel, the meeting control operation being used for the meeting connector to determine, based on the meeting control operation, the meeting control operation result corresponding to the meeting control operation, and transmit the meeting control operation result to the meeting display terminal via the target communication protocol (i.e., performing or executing the control functions; par. 0051; “Thus, in 406, one or more commands may be received for controlling the conferencing system from the mobile communication device 200 (e.g., during the conference, although it may control the conferencing system at other times as well). The commands may be selectable via a user interface of the mobile communication device 200. For example, a user may interact with the mobile communication device 200 to provide the commands to the videoconferencing system. The one or more commands may correspond to one or more functions provided by the videoconferencing system. Accordingly, in 408, one or more functions corresponding to the one or more commands of 406 may be performed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 8, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al (2010/0188473) in view of Kuscher et al (2015/0109399).
Consider claims 5 and 16, King et al did not explicitly suggest further comprising: receiving the control connection instruction for the target meeting transmitted by the meeting display terminal prior to displaying the control interface, the control connection instruction being triggered by the meeting display terminal in response to a selection operation for the searched terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Kuscher et al teach a system and method for using a mobile device as an interface for controlling the conference features. The mobile establishing connection to the conference via proximity detector (e.g., search). Once established, mobile device is provided with interface for controlling conference setting and functions (abstract; par. 0015; 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching of Kuscher et al into view of King et al in order for establish a secured connection between the mobile and the conference system prior to enabling control functions to the conference.
Consider claims 6 and 17, Kuscher et al teach further comprising: establishing a near field wireless communication connection between the terminal and the meeting display terminal in response to the control connection instruction; and transmitting the meeting control operation result corresponding to the meeting control operation to the meeting display terminal comprises: transmitting the meeting control operation result to the meeting display terminal via the near field wireless communication connection (par. 0016; “a video conference system may include one or more near field communication (NFC) tags or devices at the video conference site. A participant's mobile device may be tapped against the NFC tag to obtain the required credentials (e.g., a Bluetooth mac address) and automatically enter the participant as present on the video conference. The mobile device may use the obtained credentials to obtain a uniform resource locator (URL) that identifies a video conference control application hosted by a webserver associated with the video conference system, thereby allowing the mobile device to control the video conference system”).
Consider claims 8 and 19, King et al did not explicitly suggest further comprising: displaying, when the terminal is provided with the meeting control service for controlling the target meeting, an information editing interface in response to an open operation for the meeting control service, and displaying, in the information editing interface, a pairing code corresponding to the meeting display terminal; and triggering the control connection instruction for the target meeting in response to an editing determining operation for the pairing code. In the same field of endeavor, Kuscher et al teach a system and method for using a mobile device as an interface for controlling the conference features. The mobile establishing connection to the conference via proximity detector utilizing pairing credentials (i.e., pairing code) from the proximity detector to the mobile device (par. 0005; 0024; it should be noted that pairing code must be enter (i.e., editing interface)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching of Kuscher et al into view of King et al in order for establish a secured connection between the mobile and the conference system prior to enabling control functions to the conference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 11 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
January 8, 2026