Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/02/2026, 3/04/2026, 5/26/2026, 5/27/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 11/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Drawing, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 11/17/2025 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 2/12/2026.
4. The interpretation of claim limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 11/17/2025 has been maintained because no amendment is made on 2/12/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 10-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18637703 (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number US 20240356340 A1) in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7, of the remarks, filed on 2/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 10-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18637703 (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number US 20240356340 A1) in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1, that “Claims 1 and 10-11 stand rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting over co-pending application Serial No. 18/637,703 in view of Bergmann et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 2016/0329615). Since the subject application and co-pending application Serial No. 18/637,703 are owned by the same entities in the same percentages, this rejection is rendered moot in view of the Terminal Disclaimer filed herewith. In view of the above, withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7, of the remarks, filed on 2/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 10-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18637703 (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number US 20240356340 A1) in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/17/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has filed Terminal Disclaimer on 2/12/2026 and Terminal Disclaimer was approved on 3/12/2026. Therefore, the rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 10-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18637703 (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number US 20240356340 A1) in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/17/2025 has been withdrawn as set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-9, filed 2/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1 and Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-9, of the remarks, filed on 2/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1 and Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1, that “Tang, Bergmann, and AS, taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest every element recited in the subject (Remarks-Page 7) claims………………….. Tang does not teach or suggest applying a current to the battery to measure a magnetic field generated from the wound product, nor does it teach recognizing any structural feature (such as the position or number) of the electrode tabs inside the battery.
The Office Action next introduces Bergmann. Bergmann describes a cylindrical battery with a wound element, but does not teach or suggest identifying the battery type based on the magnetic field distribution of the electrode tabs.
AS is entirely silent to at least the above-recited elements of independent claim 1 of the subject application, as amended.
…………………
The technical idea of the subject application, as claimed, is diametrically opposed to that of Mima (utilizing vs. canceling). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would (Remarks-Page 8) not have been motivated to combine Mima with Tang to arrive at the subject application, which identifies a battery based on the structural features of its internal electrode tabs.
In view of at least the foregoing, Tang, Bergmann, and AS (and Mima), taken alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest every element recited in independent claim 1, at least as currently amended. Independent claims 10 and 11 are similarly amended and are therefore allowable at least for reasons similar to those discussed above regarding independent claim 1. In view of the above, withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
…………….
Claims 2-9 depend upon independent claim 1 which, as discussed above, is patentably nonobvious over Tang, Bergmann, AS, and Mima. Claims 2-9 are therefore allowable at least by virtue of dependency. In view of the above, withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 9)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-9, of the remarks, filed on 2/12/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1 and Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/17/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; and acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.” and similar amendment for independent claims 10 and 11, which overcomes the present rejection of claims 1, 10 and 11. Because claim now recites structural feature of electrode tabs which was not recited in the claim. Reference Tang and Bergmann do not disclose to recognize a structural feature of electrode tabs. Therefore present amendment overcomes the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1 and Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 11/17/2025, as set forth below. Schroeck et al. (US 20080079391 A1) is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1, 10 and 11. Therefore, Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and Schroeck et al. (Hereinafter, “Schroeck”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20080079391 A1 and dependent Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1, Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and Schroeck ‘391 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is therefore moot as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rotating mechanism” in claim 3 and “a fixing mechanism” in claim 6.
In this application in claim 3 the recited “a rotating mechanism” coupled with the functional language “to rotate the battery with an axis passing through both end surfaces of the tubular battery as a rotation axis”.
In this application in claim 6 the recited “a fixing mechanism” coupled with the functional language “to fix a posture of the tubular battery”.
All these limitations in claims 3 and 6 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20240353371 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 49, “[0049] The battery identification device 400 may have a measuring configuration other than the measuring configuration illustrated in FIG. 5 as long as it can cover the whole surface of the target battery cell 10 and measure magnetic field characteristics. For example, the magnetic field characteristics measurer 430 may include a driving mechanism for moving the target battery cell 10 in the longitudinal direction to scan the target battery cell 10 in the longitudinal direction or may include a driving mechanism for rotating the probe P2 in the circumferential direction with the center axis of the target battery cell 10 as a rotation axis.”
In Paragraph 48, “[0048] In this example, the magnetic field characteristics measurer 430 of the battery identification device 400 may include a fixing mechanism FX for rotatably fixing the target battery cell 10 to predetermined position and posture and a driving mechanism MT for the probe P2 in parallel to the rotation axis of the target battery cell 10.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG et al. (Hereinafter, “Tang”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20150123669 A1 in view of Bergmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Bergmann”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160329615 A1 and further in view of Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and Schroeck et al. (Hereinafter, “Schroeck”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20080079391 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a battery identification device for identifying a battery (a battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 2-4; A battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device, to identify batteries with different capacities used by the electronic device; Paragraph [0009] Line 2-4), the battery identification device comprising:
a storage device storing a program (The function modules or steps can be implemented through program codes which can be executed by the calculating device; thus, they can be stored in a storage device to be executed by the calculating device; Paragraph [0071] Line 7-10); and
a hardware processor (The output terminal of the Hall sensor is connected to the processor; Paragraph [0062] Line 1-2; As shown in FIG. 4, the output terminal of the Hall sensor can be connected to an interrupt pin or a universal I/O interface of the processor; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-4),
wherein the hardware processor (Figure 4) executes the program stored in the storage device to perform:
applying a current to the battery (The Hall sensor is a magnetic field sensor made according to Hall effect, and it is an integrated sensor composed of a Hall element and an accessory circuit of the Hall element. With the Hall effect, a control current I is connected at two ends of a semiconductor slice, and a uniform magnetic field with a magnetic induction intensity B is imposed in a vertical direction of the slice, and a Hall voltage with an electric potential difference of UH will be generated in the direction vertical to the current and the magnetic field; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-9; Tang discloses a Hall senor is used to detect the magnetic field. Current is applied to the Hall sensor to create the magnetic field; Therefore, current is applied to the battery although Figure does not show the apply a current);
measuring a magnetic field generated with application of the current (Hall effect sensors provide a convenient method for measuring or detecting magnetic fields electronically by providing an output voltage proportional to magnetic flux density. As implied by its name, this device relies on the Hall effect. The Hall effect is the development of a voltage across a sheet of conductor when current is flowing and the conductor is placed in a magnetic field; https://www.lakeshore.com/products/categories/magnetic-products/hall-(magnetic)-sensors?srsltid=AfmBOopRvyEAPF7xuS0Ycll1Qb_y8HQ-6xGKMBrbKqWiKa34IYpV5I23; As shown in FIG. 1, a Hall sensor 12 is placed on a mainboard 2 of the terminal device. As shown in FIG. 3, a magnet 312 is placed in an upward position corresponding to the Hall sensor 12 on a battery cover 31 of the thick battery. It must be guaranteed that a magnetic pole of the magnet 312 is vertical to a sensing surface of the Hall device, which ensures that the Hall sensor 12 can sense the magnetic field change after closing the battery cover 31 and cut the magnetic field line; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-9); and
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the measurement result with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (If the magnet is set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, the magnet approaches to the Hall sensor, the Hall sensor senses the magnetic field change and cuts the magnetic field line, and an output signal of the Hall sensor changes from the high level to the low level. If the magnet is not set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, since the Hall sensor does not sense the magnetic field change, the output pin of the Hall sensor keeps at the high level. The processor can identify the corresponding type of battery according to the high level and low-level output by the Hall sensor; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-11; Claim 14; Battery type is determined based on the High-level and Low-level output and high and low level is determined based on the magnetic field correlating with the magnet as if the magnet is there and there will be magnetic field and if no magnet then there will be no magnetic field. By corelating the presence or absence of the magnet high-level and low-level output is determined based on magnetic field and also the type of the battery).
Tang fails to teach that the battery is tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound; recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature.
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery is tubular battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2 has tubular shape) including a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) in which electrodes are wound ([0024] The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang by including the battery disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang and Bergmann fails to teach that recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12);
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (Claim 1. A device for charging batteries of medical instruments comprising: at least one electric contact device for connecting a battery, the at least one contact device being connectable through a charging circuit to an electric power source, and whereby batteries having different charge requirements can be connected to the at least one contact device; and an identification device for recognizing the different batteries and coupled to the charging circuit for charging the batteries according to their respective charging requirements, wherein the identification device comprises at least one magnetic sensor for detection of at least one magnetic parameter of a magnetic element connected to the connectable batteries, the at least one magnetic sensor being coupled to the charging circuit for relaying an identification signal, and wherein the charging circuit is operable to recognize a connected battery based on the identification signal and to select a charging requirement assigned to the connected battery from among the charging requirements). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches a battery identification method of identifying a battery (a battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 2-4), the battery identification method being performed by a battery identification device (A battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device, to identify batteries with different capacities used by the electronic device; Paragraph [0009] Line 2-4), the battery identification method comprising:
applying a current to the battery (The Hall sensor is a magnetic field sensor made according to Hall effect, and it is an integrated sensor composed of a Hall element and an accessory circuit of the Hall element. With the Hall effect, a control current I is connected at two ends of a semiconductor slice, and a uniform magnetic field with a magnetic induction intensity B is imposed in a vertical direction of the slice, and a Hall voltage with an electric potential difference of UH will be generated in the direction vertical to the current and the magnetic field; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-9; Tang discloses a Hall senor is used to detect the magnetic field. Current is applied to the Hall sensor to create the magnetic field; Therefore, current is applied to the battery although Figure does not show the apply a current);
measuring a magnetic field generated with application of the current (Hall effect sensors provide a convenient method for measuring or detecting magnetic fields electronically by providing an output voltage proportional to magnetic flux density. As implied by its name, this device relies on the Hall effect. The Hall effect is the development of a voltage across a sheet of conductor when current is flowing and the conductor is placed in a magnetic field; https://www.lakeshore.com/products/categories/magnetic-products/hall-(magnetic)-sensors?srsltid=AfmBOopRvyEAPF7xuS0Ycll1Qb_y8HQ-6xGKMBrbKqWiKa34IYpV5I23; As shown in FIG. 1, a Hall sensor 12 is placed on a mainboard 2 of the terminal device. As shown in FIG. 3, a magnet 312 is placed in an upward position corresponding to the Hall sensor 12 on a battery cover 31 of the thick battery. It must be guaranteed that a magnetic pole of the magnet 312 is vertical to a sensing surface of the Hall device, which ensures that the Hall sensor 12 can sense the magnetic field change after closing the battery cover 31 and cut the magnetic field line; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-9); and
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the measurement result with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (If the magnet is set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, the magnet approaches to the Hall sensor, the Hall sensor senses the magnetic field change and cuts the magnetic field line, and an output signal of the Hall sensor changes from the high level to the low level. If the magnet is not set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, since the Hall sensor does not sense the magnetic field change, the output pin of the Hall sensor keeps at the high level. The processor can identify the corresponding type of battery according to the high level and low-level output by the Hall sensor; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-11; Claim 14; Battery type is determined based on the High-level and Low-level output and high and low level is determined based on the magnetic field correlating with the magnet as if the magnet is there and there will be magnetic field and if no magnet then there will be no magnetic field. By corelating the presence or absence of the magnet high-level and low-level output is determined based on magnetic field and also the type of the battery).
Tang fails to teach that the battery is tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound; recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery is tubular battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2 has tubular shape) including a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) in which electrodes are wound (The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang by including the battery disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang and Bergmann fails to teach that recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12);
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (Claim 1. A device for charging batteries of medical instruments comprising: at least one electric contact device for connecting a battery, the at least one contact device being connectable through a charging circuit to an electric power source, and whereby batteries having different charge requirements can be connected to the at least one contact device; and an identification device for recognizing the different batteries and coupled to the charging circuit for charging the batteries according to their respective charging requirements, wherein the identification device comprises at least one magnetic sensor for detection of at least one magnetic parameter of a magnetic element connected to the connectable batteries, the at least one magnetic sensor being coupled to the charging circuit for relaying an identification signal, and wherein the charging circuit is operable to recognize a connected battery based on the identification signal and to select a charging requirement assigned to the connected battery from among the charging requirements). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program (The function modules or steps can be implemented through program codes which can be executed by the calculating device; thus, they can be stored in a storage device to be executed by the calculating device; Paragraph [0071] Line 7-10), the program causing a battery identification device for identifying a battery (a battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device; Paragraph [0001] Line 2-4; A battery identification system and method for an electronic device, and an electronic device, to identify batteries with different capacities used by the electronic device; Paragraph [0009] Line 2-4), to perform
applying a current to the battery (The Hall sensor is a magnetic field sensor made according to Hall effect, and it is an integrated sensor composed of a Hall element and an accessory circuit of the Hall element. With the Hall effect, a control current I is connected at two ends of a semiconductor slice, and a uniform magnetic field with a magnetic induction intensity B is imposed in a vertical direction of the slice, and a Hall voltage with an electric potential difference of UH will be generated in the direction vertical to the current and the magnetic field; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-9; Tang discloses a Hall senor is used to detect the magnetic field. Current is applied to the Hall sensor to create the magnetic field; Therefore, current is applied to the battery although Figure does not show the apply a current);
measuring a magnetic field generated with application of the current (Hall effect sensors provide a convenient method for measuring or detecting magnetic fields electronically by providing an output voltage proportional to magnetic flux density. As implied by its name, this device relies on the Hall effect. The Hall effect is the development of a voltage across a sheet of conductor when current is flowing and the conductor is placed in a magnetic field; https://www.lakeshore.com/products/categories/magnetic-products/hall-(magnetic)-sensors?srsltid=AfmBOopRvyEAPF7xuS0Ycll1Qb_y8HQ-6xGKMBrbKqWiKa34IYpV5I23; As shown in FIG. 1, a Hall sensor 12 is placed on a mainboard 2 of the terminal device. As shown in FIG. 3, a magnet 312 is placed in an upward position corresponding to the Hall sensor 12 on a battery cover 31 of the thick battery. It must be guaranteed that a magnetic pole of the magnet 312 is vertical to a sensing surface of the Hall device, which ensures that the Hall sensor 12 can sense the magnetic field change after closing the battery cover 31 and cut the magnetic field line; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-9); and
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the measurement result with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (If the magnet is set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, the magnet approaches to the Hall sensor, the Hall sensor senses the magnetic field change and cuts the magnetic field line, and an output signal of the Hall sensor changes from the high level to the low level. If the magnet is not set on the battery cover, when the battery cover is closed, since the Hall sensor does not sense the magnetic field change, the output pin of the Hall sensor keeps at the high level. The processor can identify the corresponding type of battery according to the high level and low-level output by the Hall sensor; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-11; Claim 14; Battery type is determined based on the High-level and Low-level output and high and low level is determined based on the magnetic field correlating with the magnet as if the magnet is there and there will be magnetic field and if no magnet then there will be no magnetic field. By corelating the presence or absence of the magnet high-level and low-level output is determined based on magnetic field and also the type of the battery).
Tang fails to teach that the battery is tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound; recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery is tubular battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2 has tubular shape) including a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) in which electrodes are wound ([0024] The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang by including the battery disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a tubular battery including a wound product in which electrodes are wound facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang and Bergmann fails to teach that recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12);
acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery (Claim 1. A device for charging batteries of medical instruments comprising: at least one electric contact device for connecting a battery, the at least one contact device being connectable through a charging circuit to an electric power source, and whereby batteries having different charge requirements can be connected to the at least one contact device; and an identification device for recognizing the different batteries and coupled to the charging circuit for charging the batteries according to their respective charging requirements, wherein the identification device comprises at least one magnetic sensor for detection of at least one magnetic parameter of a magnetic element connected to the connectable batteries, the at least one magnetic sensor being coupled to the charging circuit for relaying an identification signal, and wherein the charging circuit is operable to recognize a connected battery based on the identification signal and to select a charging requirement assigned to the connected battery from among the charging requirements). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang ‘669 A1 in view of Bergmann ‘615 A1, Advancing Science-Hall (magnetic) Sensors and Schroeck ‘391 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MIMA et al. (Hereinafter, “Mima”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021024859 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches a battery identification device,
further comprising a sensor [12] in Figure 1 (As shown in FIG. 1, a Hall sensor 12 is placed on a mainboard 2 of the terminal device; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-2) configured to measure a magnetic field in the vicinity of a surface of the battery (the Hall sensor 12 can sense the magnetic field change after closing the battery cover 31 and cut the magnetic field line; Paragraph [0059] Line 7-9).
However, the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck fails to teach the sensor is configured to measure a magnetic field in the vicinity of a surface of the battery while moving relative to a side surface of the battery.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3), wherein
the sensor [12] in Figure 3 (The measuring unit 21 includes a magnetic sensor 12 as a probe) is configured to measure a magnetic field in the vicinity of a surface of the battery while moving relative to a side surface of the battery [31] (The measuring unit 21 includes a magnetic sensor 12 as a probe, and a cancel coil 13 in the vicinity of the magnetic sensor 12. Then, the measuring unit 21 measures the magnetic field via the magnetic sensor 12. Further, the measuring unit 21 has a slidable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like. As a result, the measuring unit 21 can scan the vicinity of the storage battery 31 using the magnetic sensor 12; Page 10 Line 8-11; For example, the magnetic sensor 12 is located inside the cancel coil 13, and the cancel coil 13 moves as the magnetic sensor 12 moves; Page 10 Line 16-17; Figure 3 shows that the magnetic sensor measures the magnetic field in the vicinity of a surface of the battery 31 while moving relative to a side surface of the battery [31]). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to appropriately acquire a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensor disclosed by the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to have a sensor to measure a magnetic field in the vicinity of a surface of the battery while moving relative to a side surface of the battery appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), appropriately acquires a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 4).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck fails to teach a battery identification device, further comprising a rotating mechanism configured to rotate the battery with an axis passing through both end surfaces of the tubular battery as a rotation axis, wherein the sensor measures the magnetic field while moving in a circumferential direction relative to the side surface of the battery using the rotating mechanism.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3), further comprising
a rotating mechanism [an actuator] in Figure 3 (turntable 22 has a rotatable mechanism composed of an actuator) configured to rotate the battery [31] (The turntable 22 is a stand on which the storage battery 31 to be inspected is placed, and has a rotatable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like; Page 10 Line 11-13), with an axis passing through both end surfaces of the tubular battery [33] as a rotation axis (Further, the measuring unit 21 includes a turntable 22. The turntable 22 is a stand on which the storage battery 31, which is an object to be inspected, is placed, and has a rotatable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like. As a result, the measuring unit 21 can scan the vicinity of the storage battery 31 at various rotation angles by using the magnetic sensor 12; Page 10 Line 12-15; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Mima below shows a rotating mechanism rotate the battery with an axis passing through both end surfaces of the tubular battery as a rotation axis),
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Mima
wherein the sensor [12] measures the magnetic field while moving in a circumferential direction relative to the side surface of the battery using the rotating mechanism (As a result, the measuring unit 21 can scan the vicinity of the storage battery 31 at various rotation angles by using the magnetic sensor 12; Page 10 Line 14-15). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to scan the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include a rotating mechanism to rotate the battery with an axis passing through both end surfaces of the tubular battery appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), scans the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles (Page 10).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck fails to teach a battery identification device, wherein the rotation axis passes through the center of one end surface of the battery and the center of the other end surface of the battery.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3),
wherein the rotation axis passes through the center of one end surface of the battery and the center of the other end surface of the battery (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Mima above shows the rotation axis passes through the center of one end surface of the battery and the center of the other end surface of the battery). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to scan the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include the rotation axis to pass through the center of one end surface of the battery and the center of the other end surface of the battery appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), scans the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles (Page 10).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck fails to teach a battery identification device, wherein the sensor measures the magnetic field while moving parallel to the rotation axis.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3),
wherein the sensor [12] measures the magnetic field while moving parallel to the rotation axis (the magnetic sensor 12 senses a magnetic field component at each of a plurality of positions on the scanning target surface 41 above the storage battery 31 mounted on the turntable 22. The scanning target surface 41 is also called a measuring surface. The magnetic sensor 12 may sequentially move to a plurality of positions on the scanning target surface 41 and sense a magnetic field component; Page 11 Line 23-26; Further, for example, the magnetic sensor 12 may sense a magnetic field component at each of a plurality of positions on each of the plurality of scanning target surfaces 41. Specifically, the magnetic sensor 12 senses a magnetic field component at each of a plurality of positions on one scan target surface 41, and then the magnetic sensor 12 at each of a plurality of positions on another scan target surface 41; Page 11 Line 28-31; Figure 5 shows that the sensor [12] measures the magnetic field while moving parallel to the rotation axis). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information on the magnetic field of each scanning target surface.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to measure the magnetic field while moving parallel to the rotation axis obtains information on the magnetic field of each scanning target surface (Page 11).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck fails to teach a battery identification device, further comprising: a fixing mechanism configured to fix a posture of the tubular battery; and a sensor configured to measure a magnetic field along an outer circumference of the battery while moving in a center axis direction of the battery when the posture of the battery is fixed by the fixing mechanism.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3), further comprising:
a fixing mechanism [22] (turntable 22 in Figure 3 as the fixing mechanism) configured to fix a posture of the tubular battery [31] (the measuring unit 21 includes a turntable 22. The turntable 22 is a stand on which the storage battery 31, which is an object to be inspected, is placed, and has a rotatable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like; Page 10 Line 12-14); and
a sensor [12] (The measuring unit 21 includes a magnetic sensor 12 as a probe; Page 10 Line 8) configured to measure a magnetic field along an outer circumference of the battery [31] (Then, the measuring unit 21 measures the magnetic field via the magnetic sensor 12. Further, the measuring unit 21 has a slidable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like. As a result, the measuring unit 21 can scan the vicinity of the storage battery 31 using the magnetic sensor 12; Page 10 Line 9-11) while moving in a center axis direction of the battery when the posture of the battery is fixed by the fixing mechanism [22] (The turntable 22 is a stand on which the storage battery 31, which is an object to be inspected, is placed, and has a rotatable mechanism composed of an actuator or the like. As a result, the measuring unit 21 can scan the vicinity of the storage battery 31 at various rotation angles by using the magnetic sensor 12; Page 10 Line 12-15). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to scan the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang, Bergmann and Schroeck in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include a fixing mechanism to fix a posture of the tubular battery appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), scans the vicinity of the storage battery at various rotation angles (Page 10).
Regarding claim 7, Tang fails to teach a battery identification device, wherein the recognized structural feature is positions of the electrode tabs, and wherein the hardware processor recognizes positions of the electrode tabs based on a distribution in a circumferential direction of the battery of a magnetic-field component in the circumferential direction or a distribution in a longitudinal direction of the magnetic-field component in the circumferential direction.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3),
wherein the battery includes electrode tabs [32, 33] in Figure 5 (electrode terminals as the electrode tabs) electrically connected to the electrodes [34, 35] (electrode plates 34, 35 as the electrodes) (The storage battery 31 shown in FIG. 5 includes a pair of electrode terminals 32 and 33, a pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 11 Line 20-21), and
wherein the hardware processor recognizes positions of the electrode tabs based on a distribution in a circumferential direction of the battery of a magnetic-field component in the circumferential direction or a distribution in a longitudinal direction of the magnetic-field component in the circumferential direction (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram showing the current flowing during the inspection of the storage battery 31 shown in FIG. The storage battery 31 corresponds to a cell of a one-layer lithium-ion battery and has a pair of flat electrode plates 34 and 35. The electrode plate 34 is connected to the electrode terminal 32, and the electrode plate 35 is connected to the electrode terminal 33. The storage battery inspection device 10 senses a magnetic field component via the magnetic sensor 12 on the scanning target surface 41 above the storage battery 31 in a state where an alternating current is flowing through the storage battery 31. Further, h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35, jx indicates the current in the x direction, and jz indicates the current in the z direction. In this case, the following equation (1) holds.
Here, Δ indicates an operator called a Laplace operator or a Laplacian. Further, Hx indicates a magnetic field component in the x direction, and Hy indicates a magnetic field component in the y direction. Further, ∂x indicates the partial differential with respect to x, and ∂y indicates the partial differential with respect to y. Further, σ (x, y) indicates the conductivity distribution on the two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35. Further, σ0 indicates the conductivity of the electrode plate 34 and is constant regardless of the x-coordinate and the y-coordinate. Further, δ indicates a delta function, and δ' indicates the derivative of the delta function. Further, z0 indicates the z coordinate of the center of the electrode plate 34. Also shows the potential distribution on a two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 18 Line 11-29; h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35. By calculating the distance of the electrode plate position of the electrode plate in the longitudinal or circumferential direction is determined). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to appropriately acquire a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include electrode tabs and to recognize positions of the electrode tabs based on a distribution in a circumferential direction of the battery appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), appropriately acquires a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 4).
The combination of Tang and Mima fails to teaches that the battery identification device includes wound product; wherein the recognized structural feature is positions of the electrode tabs.
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2) include a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) (The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang and Mima by including the wound element as disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a wound product facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang, Mima and Bergmann fails to teach that wherein the recognized structural feature is positions of the electrode tabs.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
wherein the recognized structural feature is positions of the electrode tabs (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12; Because of the different requirements, e.g., with respect to the power, design type or size of such cordless handheld devices, there is also a constantly proliferating number of batteries or types of batteries having different storage capacities, power supply, design, charging requirements, etc.; Paragraph [0005] Line 5-10). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann and Mima by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognizing a structural feature is position of electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Tang fails to teach a battery identification device, wherein the recognized structural feature is number of the electrode tabs and wherein the hardware processor recognizes the number of electrode tabs based on an intensity of a magnetic-field component in a longitudinal direction of the battery or an intensity of the magnetic-field component in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3),
wherein the battery includes electrode tabs [32, 33] in Figure 5 (electrode terminals as the electrode tabs) electrically connected to the electrodes [34, 35] (electrode plates 34, 35 as the electrodes) (The storage battery 31 shown in FIG. 5 includes a pair of electrode terminals 32 and 33, a pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 11 Line 20-21), and
wherein the hardware processor recognizes the number of electrode tabs based on an intensity of a magnetic-field component (The imaging circuit 16 may derive the conductivity distribution by a method different from the above. Further, the imaging circuit 16 may generate an image showing the intensity distribution of the magnetic field component indicated by the detection signal without deriving the conductivity distribution; Page 17 Line 38-40) in a longitudinal direction of the battery or an intensity of the magnetic-field component in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram showing the current flowing during the inspection of the storage battery 31 shown in FIG. The storage battery 31 corresponds to a cell of a one-layer lithium-ion battery and has a pair of flat electrode plates 34 and 35. The electrode plate 34 is connected to the electrode terminal 32, and the electrode plate 35 is connected to the electrode terminal 33. The storage battery inspection device 10 senses a magnetic field component via the magnetic sensor 12 on the scanning target surface 41 above the storage battery 31 in a state where an alternating current is flowing through the storage battery 31. Further, h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35, jx indicates the current in the x direction, and jz indicates the current in the z direction. In this case, the following equation (1) holds.
Here, Δ indicates an operator called a Laplace operator or a Laplacian. Further, Hx indicates a magnetic field component in the x direction, and Hy indicates a magnetic field component in the y direction. Further, ∂x indicates the partial differential with respect to x, and ∂y indicates the partial differential with respect to y. Further, σ (x, y) indicates the conductivity distribution on the two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35. Further, σ0 indicates the conductivity of the electrode plate 34 and is constant regardless of the x-coordinate and the y-coordinate. Further, δ indicates a delta function, and δ' indicates the derivative of the delta function. Further, z0 indicates the z coordinate of the center of the electrode plate 34. Also shows the potential distribution on a two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 18 Line 11-29; Further, h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35…; The intensity of the magnetic field is used to calculate the position of the electrode pairs and the distance between two electrode pair. Therefore, by measuring the distance two electrode pairs are determined. Therefore, number of electrodes here is 2 is determined by measuring the distance). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to appropriately acquire a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include electrode tabs and to recognize the number of electrode tabs based on an intensity of a magnetic-field component appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), appropriately acquires a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 4).
The combination of Tang and Mima fails to teaches that the battery identification device includes wound product; wherein the recognized structural feature is number of the electrode tabs
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2) include a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) (The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang and Mima by including the wound element as disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a wound product facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang, Mima and Bergmann fails to teach that wherein the recognized structural feature is number of the electrode tabs.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
wherein the recognized structural feature is number of the electrode tabs (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12; Because of the different requirements, e.g., with respect to the power, design type or size of such cordless handheld devices, there is also a constantly proliferating number of batteries or types of batteries having different storage capacities, power supply, design, charging requirements, etc.; Paragraph [0005] Line 5-10). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann and Mima by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognizing a structural feature is number of electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Tang fails to teach a battery identification device, wherein the recognized structural feature is a length or width of the electrode tabs and wherein the hardware processor recognizes the length or the width of the electrode tabs based on a position at which a distribution of measured values at the time of charging and a distribution of measured values at the time of discharging of a magnetic- field component in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the battery cross each other.
Mima teaches a storage battery inspection device and the like for inspecting a storage battery (Page 2 Line 2-3),
wherein the battery includes electrode tabs [32, 33] in Figure 5 (electrode terminals as the electrode tabs) electrically connected to the electrodes [34, 35] (electrode plates 34, 35 as the electrodes) (The storage battery 31 shown in FIG. 5 includes a pair of electrode terminals 32 and 33, a pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 11 Line 20-21), and
wherein the hardware processor recognizes a length or a width of the electrode tabs based on a position at which a distribution of measured values at the time of charging and a distribution of measured values at the time of discharging of a magnetic- field component (As a result, the storage battery inspection device can pass an alternating current through the storage battery while suspending (suppressing) charging / discharging in the charging / discharging process of the storage battery. The alternating current flowing in the storage battery also generates a magnetic field component outside the storage battery; Page 7 Line 13-16) in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the battery cross each other (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram showing the current flowing during the inspection of the storage battery 31 shown in FIG. The storage battery 31 corresponds to a cell of a one-layer lithium-ion battery and has a pair of flat electrode plates 34 and 35. The electrode plate 34 is connected to the electrode terminal 32, and the electrode plate 35 is connected to the electrode terminal 33. The storage battery inspection device 10 senses a magnetic field component via the magnetic sensor 12 on the scanning target surface 41 above the storage battery 31 in a state where an alternating current is flowing through the storage battery 31. Further, h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35, jx indicates the current in the x direction, and jz indicates the current in the z direction. In this case, the following equation (1) holds.
Here, Δ indicates an operator called a Laplace operator or a Laplacian. Further, Hx indicates a magnetic field component in the x direction, and Hy indicates a magnetic field component in the y direction. Further, ∂x indicates the partial differential with respect to x, and ∂y indicates the partial differential with respect to y. Further, σ (x, y) indicates the conductivity distribution on the two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35. Further, σ0 indicates the conductivity of the electrode plate 34 and is constant regardless of the x-coordinate and the y-coordinate. Further, δ indicates a delta function, and δ' indicates the derivative of the delta function. Further, z0 indicates the z coordinate of the center of the electrode plate 34. Also shows the potential distribution on a two-dimensional plane between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35; Page 18 Line 11-29; Further, h indicates the thickness of the electrode plate 34, hT indicates the distance between the pair of electrode plates 34 and 35…; During the charging/discharging time magnetic field is created and which is used to determine the length or width of the electrode tabs). The purpose of doing so is to appropriately inspect the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material, to appropriately sense the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery, to appropriately acquire a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tang in view of Mima, because Mima teaches to include electrode tabs and to recognize a length or a width of the electrode tabs based on a position appropriately inspects the storage battery by using the magnetic sensor even when the storage battery has a magnetic material (Page 2), appropriately senses the magnetic field component generated by the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 3), appropriately acquires a low frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current flowing through the storage battery (Page 4).
The combination of Tang and Mima fails to teaches that the battery identification device includes wound product; wherein the recognized structural feature is a length or a width of the electrode tabs
Bergmann teaches a battery pack having a plurality of electrochemical battery cells, comprising a device for measuring a difference between two cell currents of two different battery cells (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4),
the battery [2] (Figure 1 shows battery 2) include a wound product [4] (would element 4 as the wound product) (The battery pack 1 comprises a first battery cell 2, which has a first wound element 4 consisting of a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer. The first battery cell 2 is an electrochemical battery cell. During discharge, the first electrode layer constitutes a cathode of the first battery cell 2 and the second electrode layer a first anode of the first battery cell 2 in this embodiment. Such a first wound element 4 additionally comprises typically one or a plurality separator layer that are wound together with the electrode layers and prevent a short circuit between anode and cathode; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to facilitate a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells, to keep measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Tang and Mima by including the wound element as disclosed by Bergmann, because Bergmann teaches to include a wound product facilitates a uniform loading of all the cells, or respectively to prevent overloading individual cells (Paragraph [0006]), keeps measuring errors to a minimum and to eliminate the cost and effort for contacting the components particularly in the case of high cell currents and/or voltages, a costly and elaborate insulation of the device for measuring the difference between the cell currents is not necessary (Paragraph [0007]).
The combination of Tang, Mima and Bergmann fails to teach that wherein the recognized structural feature is a length or a width of the electrode tabs.
Schroeck teaches Chargers which can be connected to batteries with different charging requirements and which have an identification device for identification of the different batteries are disclosed. With these chargers, the different types of batteries are recognized by a magnetic identification device (Abstract),
wherein the recognized structural feature is a length or a width of the electrode tabs (If a charger can adapt the charging current or the charging method to the connected battery, then before the start of the charging operation, it is necessary to determine the type of battery by means of an identification device and to select the respective charging method and/or the proper charging current parameters. Various approaches are known in this regard from the state of the art, e.g., mechanical switches, contacts of different lengths on the batteries, e.g., as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,187,422, or resistance measurements, with each type of battery being provided with a recognition resistor. By determining the resistance value, it is possible to recognize the different types of batteries; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery identification device of Tang in combination with Bergmann and Mima by including the battery identification device disclosed by Schroeck, because Schroeck teaches to recognize structural feature a length or a width of the electrode tabs eliminate the need for direct contact between the battery to be charged and the identification device and thus the risk of invalid identification due to impaired contacting, to have the property of extremely resistant to soiling, to have a good resistance to high temperatures, such as the temperatures needed for sterilization of the battery, for example, and are characterized by a simple circuit; to generate only a low radiant emission with respect to limit values that must be maintained with regard to electromagnetic compatibility (EMC requirements) (Paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
GROSS (US 20150241515 A1) discloses, “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DETERMINING A STATE OF HEALTH OF A POWER SOURCE OF A PORTABLE DEVICE- [0008] The present invention provides a system and method for determining the state of health of a power source of a portable device. [0029] Referring to FIG. 1, a flowchart of a method for determining the state of health of a portable power source, such as a battery, according to one embodiment of the present invention is presented. [0030] According to embodiments of the present invention, when a State of Health (Soil) test is initiated (block 1010), a timer may be started (block 1015) in order to indicate the duration of the SoH test. It should be appreciated, however, that this stage may not be required in all embodiments of the present invention, and that the test duration may be obtained from an internal clock of the device or from a network such as the internet. [0031] After the timer is started, different parameters may be extracted from the portable power source (e.g., a battery) of the examined portable device (block 1020). For example, a start voltage of the portable device battery may be extracted and recorded in a memory of the portable device. According to some embodiments, the start voltage may be recorded in a memory together with a time stamp indicating the time of extracting of the start voltage. [0032] According to some embodiments, one or more additional parameters may be extracted and recorded on a memory (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium such as a memory card of the portable device), such as ambient temperature at the beginning of the test; SoC of power source at the beginning of the test; design capacity of the power source; portable device type (e.g., smart phone, tablet computer, smart watch, etc.); number of cores of Central Processing Unit (CPU) in the portable device; consumption of current of portable device; portable device's model and manufacturer parameters. It should be appreciated by those skilled in the art that other or additional parameters may be obtained from the portable device. It should be further realized that the extracted parameters may be monitored and recorded by the Operation System (OS) of the device as part of its regular operation. However, according to some embodiments, some of the extracted parameters may not be routinely extracted and recorded by the OS and may be extracted only for the purpose of the SoH test-However Gross does not disclose measuring a magnetic field generated with application of the current; recognizing a structural feature of electrode tabs included in the wound product based on the measured magnetic field; and acquiring a type of the battery which is determined by comparing the recognized structural feature with magnetic field information correlated with a type of battery.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858