DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group II claims 20-33 directed to a building panel is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-19 are withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, the term "similar" in claim 30 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "similar" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Examiner suggests removing the term "similar" from the claim as to overcome this rejection. Claims 31-32 are likewise rejected, since they depend from and include all of the limitations of claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pervan, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0343739.
Regarding claims 20, 23 and 33, Pervan discloses a building panel having a multilayered substrate including a core (5); a surface layer (4) and a balancing layer (6) [see Figure 1 b]. Examiner is corresponding the surface layer (4) as applicant’s claimed front side layer. Examiner is corresponding the balancing layer (6) as Applicant’s claimed backside layer.
Paragraph 0147 discloses that the surface layer (4) [front side layer] and the balancing layer (6) [backside layer] comprise wood particles and thermosetting resin(s). Paragraph 0071 discloses that the core [intermediate layer]includes wood particles and thermoplastic particles [binder]. It is disclosed in paragraph 0083 that the wood particles in the core [second mixture] is 1.0 mm or less. Paragraph 0125 discloses that the wood particles have a length ranging from 0.1-1.0 mm thereby proving for an aspect ratio of the second mixture [core] within Applicant’s claimed range.
Regarding claim 21, Figure 1b show lignocellulosic particles from the second mixture 20 and lignocellulosic particles 20 from the third mixture are mixed, at least in a border area between the intermediate layer and the front side.
Regarding claim 22, Figure 1b show lignocellulosic particles 20 from the second mixture and the lignocellulosic particles 20 from the first mixture are mixed, at least in a border area between the intermediate layer and the backside layer (6).
Regarding claim 24, paragraph 0081 discloses that the surface layer is applied as two layers arranged above each other.
Regarding claim 25, paragraph 0071 discloses that the surface layer includes a powder mix comprising wood particles and thermosetting resin. Paragraph 0081 discloses that the surface layer is applied as two layers arranged above each other.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-21 and 23-33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-21 of copending Application No. 18/637,743 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in both co-pending applications recite
A building panel comprising a multi-layered substrate-(14) comprising a back side layer(15) comprising lignocellulosic particles and a binder, an intermediate layer(17) comprising lignocellulosic particles and a binder, arranged on the back side layer(15), and a front side layer(19) comprising lignocellulosic particles and a binder, arranged on the intermediate layer(17), wherein the back side layer(15) was formed from a first mixture, the intermediate layer (17) was formed from a second mixture and the front side layer(19) was formed from a third mixture as recited in present claim 20 and co-pending claim 14.
The claims in the co-pending application are silent to the aspect ratio of the lignocellulosic particles in the second mixture being between 1:1 and 30:1. However, this is an optimizable feature. The aspect ratio of the lignocellulosic particle affects the strength of the mixture. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optimize the aspect ratio of the lignocellulosic particles in the second mixture to 1:1 and 30:1 for the benefit of obtaining enhanced strength in the mixture.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite a backside element to which the back side layer is attached to and a front side element to which the front side layer is attached to as recited in present claims 24 and 27 and co-pending claim 18.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the back side element and the front side element is a wood veneer as recited in present claims 26 and 29 and co-pending claim 19.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the back side element and the front side element is a paper sheet, an unimpregnated paper sheet or an impregnated sheet as recited in present claims 25 and 28 and co-pending claim 20.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the lignocellulosic particles from the second mixture and the lignocellulosic particles from the third mixture, at least in a border area between the intermediate layer and the front side layer as recited in present claim 21 and copending claim 21.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite a mechanical locking device arranged along at least one edge of the building panel, wherein the mechanical locking device is configured for horizontal and/or vertical locking of essentially identical building panels in an assembled position, the mechanical locking device comprising an upper surface, which is arranged in a front side area of the at least one edge which extends in an essentially parallel direction to a top surface, along at least one edge, of the building panel, and which is displaced from said top surface , wherein the upper surface is further arranged in the front side layer of the building panel as recited in present claim 30 and copending claim 14.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the mechanical locking device further comprises: a locking strip with a locking element, which is arranged in a back side area of the at least one edge portion and which extends in an essentially parallel direction to a back surface, along at least one edge portion, of the building panel, wherein the locking strip and the locking element are arranged at least partly in the back side layer of the building panel as recited in present claim 31 and copending claim 15.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite wherein the locking strip and the locking element are arranged in the back side layer, such that at least 60% of the locking strip and the locking element are arranged in the back side layer as recited in present claim 32 and copending claim 16.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Please note that U.S. Patent Application 18/637,743 corresponds to U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2024/0342949.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786