DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 09 June 2026, in which claims 1, 8, 10, and 13 were amended, claims 6 and 19 were canceled, and claims 20-22 were added.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received 09 June 2026 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caliskan et al. (US 10688854 B2).
In regards to claims 1-5 and 7-12, Caliskan et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing system, comprising:
(claim 1) a traction battery pack (including battery tray #42, traction battery #58, and floor pan #30 forming battery enclosure #68 of integrated assembly #40; figure 2; column 3);
an enclosure cover (floor pan #30) of the traction battery pack (figure 4; column 4);
a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross members #46, seat brackets #94, and fasteners #96) that extends into the traction battery pack (figure 4; column 4);
the enclosure cover having an aperture (apertures in floor pan #30 that receive fasteners #96) that receives a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (figure 4; column 4);
(claim 2) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with a portion of the traction battery pack (cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42, and flanges #52 of cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42 and traction battery #58; figures 2, 4);
(claim 3) wherein the traction battery pack vertically overlaps with a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42, and flanges #52 of cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42 and traction battery #58; figures 2, 4);
(claim 4) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with at least one cell stack of the traction battery pack (flanges #52 of cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery arrays #60 of traction battery #58; figures 2, 4);
(claim 5) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is disposed between a first cell stack and a second cell stack of the traction battery pack (cross members #46, seat brackets #94, and fasteners #96 disposed between battery arrays #60 of traction battery #58; figures 2, 4);
(claim 7) a seat (including seats #90 and rails #92) directly connected to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (#46, 94, 96; figure 4; column 4);
(claim 8) wherein the traction battery pack (including battery tray #42, traction battery #58, and floor pan #30 forming battery enclosure #68 of integrated assembly #40) is vertically beneath a passenger compartment of a vehicle (#20; figure 1; column 2);
(claim 9) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (#46, 94, 96) is attached (via fasteners #66) directly to an enclosure tray (battery tray #42) of the traction battery pack (figures 2, 4; column 3);
(claim 10) wherein a portion (cross members #46) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is disposed horizontally between a passenger side rocker and a driver side rocker (spaced left and right rockers #24, 25) of a vehicle (#20; figures 1, 2; columns 2-3);
(claim 11) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross members #46) extends longitudinally in a cross-vehicle direction (figure 2; column 3);
(claim 12) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (#46, 94, 96) extends vertically into an interior of an enclosure (battery enclosure #68) of the traction battery pack (figure 4; column 4).
In regards to claims 13-18, Caliskan et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing method, comprising:
(claim 13) positioning at least a portion of a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross members #46, seat brackets #94, and fasteners #96) within a traction battery pack (including battery tray #42, traction battery #58, and floor pan #30 forming battery enclosure #68 of integrated assembly #40; figures 2, 4; columns 3-4);
wherein the portion (at least including fasteners #96) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is received within an aperture of an enclosure cover (floor pan #30) of the traction battery pack (apertures in floor pan #30 receive fasteners #96; figures 2, 4; columns 3-4);
securing a vehicle seat (including seats #90 and rails #92) to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (#46, 94, 96; figure 4; column 4);
(claim 14) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least including cross members #46) extends longitudinally in a cross-vehicle direction (figure 2; column 3);
(claim 15) securing (via fasteners #66) the seat mounting cross-member assembly (#46, 94, 96) to an enclosure tray (battery tray #42) of the battery pack (figures 2, 4; column 3);
(claim 16) securing the vehicle seat (#90, 92) to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross members #46, seat brackets #94) using at least one threaded fastener (threaded fasteners #96; figure 4; column 4);
(claim 17) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with a portion of the traction battery pack (cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42, and flanges #52 of cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery tray #42 and traction battery #58; figures 2, 4);
(claim 18) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with at least one cell stack of the traction battery pack (flanges #52 of cross members #46 vertically overlap with battery arrays #60 of traction battery #58; figures 2, 4).
In regards to claim 21, Caliskan et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing system, comprising:
a traction battery pack (including battery tray #42, traction battery #58, and floor pan #30 forming battery enclosure #68 of integrated assembly #40) including an enclosure cover (floor pan #30) that defines an aperture (apertures in floor pan #30 that receive fasteners #96; figures 2, 4; columns 3-4);
a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross members #46, seat brackets #94, and fasteners #96) having a first portion (including head of fasteners #96) disposed outside the traction battery pack vertically above the enclosure cover (#30), and a second portion (including threaded extension of fasteners #96) that extends through the aperture (apertures in floor pan #30 that receive fasteners #96) into an interior of the traction battery pack (figure 4; column 4).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rawlinson et al. (US RE44994 E).
In regards to claims 1-5, 7-12 and 20, Rawlinson et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing system, comprising:
(claim 1) a traction battery pack (#101; figures 1-3; columns 3-4);
an enclosure cover (top enclosure panel #501) of the traction battery pack (#101; figure 5; column 4);
a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) that extends into the traction battery pack (#101; figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
the enclosure cover (#501) having an aperture (including aperture in top enclosure panel #501 that receives sleeve #1205 and bolt #1209) that receives a portion (at least including sleeve #1205, bolt #1209) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
(claim 2) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with a portion of the traction battery pack (cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, and nut #1211 vertically overlap with traction battery pack #101; figures 11-13);
(claim 3) wherein the traction battery pack vertically overlaps with a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (traction battery pack #101 vertically overlaps with cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, and nut #1211; figures 11-13);
(claim 4) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) vertically overlaps with at least one cell stack (such as, cell modules #701 with individual cells #901) of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 7-14; columns 4-7);
(claim 5) wherein a portion (at least including sleeve #1205 and bolt #1209, which are connected to mounting flange #801 and battery pack cross-members #601A-601H) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is disposed between a first cell stack and a second cell stack of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 8-14; columns 5-7);
(claim 7) a seat (including front seats with front seat rails #1105, rear bench seat with structural members #1107) directly connected to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least cross-members 1101-1103; figures 11-13; columns 6-7);
(claim 8) wherein the traction battery pack (#101) is vertically beneath a passenger compartment of a vehicle (#100; figures 1, 10);
(claim 9) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) is attached directly to an enclosure tray (such as, battery pack bottom panel #603, top panel member #501, or other component of battery pack #101) of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 11-14);
(claim 10) wherein a portion (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is disposed horizontally between a passenger side rocker and a driver side rocker (spaced left and right rockers #401) of a vehicle (#100; figure 11; column 6);
(claim 11) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least including cross-members 1101-1103) extends longitudinally in a cross-vehicle direction (figure 11);
(claim 12) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least including sleeve #1205, bolt #1209) extends vertically into an interior of an enclosure (enclosure of battery pack #101 including top enclosure panel #501 and bottom panel #603) of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 12, 13);
(claim 20) wherein a first portion (at least including cross-members 1101-1103) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) is disposed outside the traction battery pack (#101) vertically above the enclosure cover (#501), and a vehicle seat (including front seats with front seat rails #1105, rear bench seat with structural members #1107) is secured to the first portion by at least one threaded fastener (including bolt #1301; figures 11-13; columns 6-7).
In regards to claims 13-18, Rawlinson et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing method, comprising:
(claim 13) positioning at least a portion (at least including sleeve #1205, bolt #1209) of a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) within a traction battery pack (#101; figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
wherein the portion (at least including sleeve #1205, bolt #1209) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly is received within an aperture (including aperture in top enclosure panel #501 that receives sleeve #1205 and bolt #1209) of an enclosure cover (#501) of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
securing a vehicle seat (including front seats with front seat rails #1105, rear bench seat with structural members #1107) to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211; figures 11-13; columns 6-7);
(claim 14) wherein the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least including cross-members 1101-1103) extends longitudinally in a cross-vehicle direction (figure 11);
(claim 15) securing the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) to an enclosure tray (such as, battery pack bottom panel #603, top panel member #501, or other component of battery pack #101) of the battery pack (#101; figures 11-14; columns 6-7);
(claim 16) securing the vehicle seat (including front seats with front seat rails #1105, rear bench seat with structural members #1107) to the seat mounting cross-member assembly (at least including cross-members 1101-1103) using at least one threaded fastener (including bolt #1301; figures 11-13; columns 6-7);
(claim 17) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly vertically overlaps with a portion of the traction battery pack (cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, and nut #1211 vertically overlap with traction battery pack #101; figures 11-13);
(claim 18) wherein a portion of the seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) vertically overlaps with at least one cell stack (such as, cell modules #701 with individual cells #901) of the traction battery pack (#101; figures 7-14; columns 4-7).
In regards to claims 21 and 22, Rawlinson et al. discloses a vehicle seat securing system, comprising:
(claim 21) a traction battery pack (#101) including an enclosure cover (top enclosure panel #501) that defines an aperture (including aperture in top enclosure panel #501 that receives sleeve #1205 and bolt #1209; figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
a seat mounting cross-member assembly (including cross-members 1101-1103, sleeve #1205, spacer #1207, bolt #1209, nut #1211) having a first portion (at least including cross-members 1101-1103, spacer #1207, nut #1211) disposed outside the traction battery pack (#101) vertically above the enclosure cover (#501), and a second portion (at least including sleeve #1205, bolt #1209) that extends through the aperture (including aperture in top enclosure panel #501 that receives sleeve #1205 and bolt #1209) into an interior of the traction battery pack (figures 12, 13; columns 6-7);
(claim 22) wherein a vehicle seat (including front seats with front seat rails #1105, rear bench seat with structural members #1107) is secured to the first portion (at least including cross-members 1101-1103) of the seat mounting cross-member assembly by at least one threaded fastener (including bolt #1301; figures 11-13; columns 6-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to pages 7-8 and Caliskan et al. (US 10688854 B2), Applicant argues that the seat mounting cross member assembly (including cross members #46, seat brackets #94, and fasteners #96) cannot include the threaded fasteners (fasteners #96) because the threaded fasteners used to secure a seat are separate hardware and not part of the assembly itself. Examiner respectfully disagrees, in that the term “assembly” is sufficiently broad to include any and all components associated with the seat mount and cross member. In addition, while Caliskan et al. (US 10688854 B2) does not disclose the limitations of newly added claims 20 and 22, in combination with the claims from which they depend, Rawlinson et al. (US RE44994 E) discloses the features of claims 1-5, 7-18, and 20-22, as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Newly cited prior art Kubota et al. (US 2026/0084758 A1; US 20260084757 A1) discloses vehicle seat securing devices and traction battery packs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614