Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the plurality feature maps as rectangular patches of a video frame; and encode the video frame to produce the feature bitstream” is unclear. 2D feature patches are not “video” as “video” is understood in the art. Encoding of a “video” frame does not produce a “feature bitstream” as “feature bitstream” is understood in the art. Also, Applicant discloses both of an encoded video stream and an encoded feature stream (Fig. 3), therefore language such as generating a “video frame” from “feature maps” to produce a “feature bitstream” convolutes the claim scope.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Limitation “the frames” is unclear because the claimed embodiment—Fig. 3—includes both video frames encoded by the Second Encoder and features encoded by the First encoder. Therefore, “the frame” does not make clear which frame is being encoded using prediction, transform, quantization, and entropy coding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15, 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) in view of Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses a system (Fig. 2) for optimizing a loss function (
, p. 637-638, Section III.C) for video coding for machines (client, server, Fig. 1), the system comprising a computing device (client, Fig. 1) including circuitry and configured to:
receive an input video (input video on the left, Fig. 2);
… extract a plurality (jth feature of the ith frame—indicates multiple features per frame, Section II, p. 634 right column) of feature maps (v is the feature descriptor vector, Section II, p. 634 right column; block-partition guided feature selection, Fig. 2) as a function of the input video (video sequence of consecutive frames I and ith frame, Section II, p. 634 right column; form the input video, Fig. 2) and at least a feature extraction parameter (J, p. 637-638, Section III.C);
arrange (rearrange, p. 637 right column) the plurality of feature maps (the descriptor elements, p. 637 right column) as rectangular patches (2D and rectangles in Fig. 8, p. 637 right column) in a video frame (see Fig. 8, consecutive arrangement of blocks);
encode (transform, quantize, entropy coding, Fig. 2) the video frame (feature selection, Fig. 2) with a [] compliant encoding protocol (using CABAC as adopted into HEVC, p. 637 right column) as an encoded feature bitstream (the output of feature coding is the feature bitstream, see stream of 1s and 0s out of the Feature Coding, Fig. 2);
calculate a loss function (rate-accuracy optimization based on Lagrangian multiplier and degradation D, p. 638 left column, p. 637 last sentence) as a function of the feature layer (feature descriptors, p. 637-638, Section III.C);
and optimize (best tradeoff between rate and distortion, p. 637-638, Section III.C) the at least a feature extraction parameter (J, p. 637-638, Section III.C) as a function of the loss function (
, p. 637-638, Section III.C).
Zhang does not disclose, but Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020) teaches using a plurality of convolutional (convolutional layers, Section IV.A, p. 2235 left column; Fig. 5) and pooling layers (pooling layers, Section IV.A, p. 2235 left column; Fig. 5) of a convolutional neural network (CNN, Section IV.A, p. 2235 left column; VGG-16, p. 2236 right column, p. 2235 right column; Fig. 5), extract a plurality of feature maps (the outputs of each layer of the deep model can be considered as features, Section IV.A, p. 2235 left column) as a function of the input [] (extract the deep features of the aforementioned deep learning models on a subset of the validation set of the ImageNet 2012 dataset, Section V.A, p. 2236 right column);
encode the video frame (video coding, p. 2232 left column) with a VVC compliant encoding protocol (VVC, p. 2232 left column).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the SIFT feature extractor of Zhang with the VGG-16 feature extractor of Chen because Chen teaches that VGG-16 is appealing because of its neat architecture and is the most preferred choice to extract features in the computer vision community (p. 2236 right column). Also, one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the HEVC coder of Zhang with the VVC coder of Chen because Chen teaches VVC is expected to have coding performance superior to HEVC (p. 2232 left column).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the loss function comprises a rate-distortion optimization function (rate-accuracy optimization based on Lagrangian multiplier and degradation D, p. 638 left column, p. 637 last sentence).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the rate-distortion optimization function (
, p. 637-638, Section III.C) aggregates a distortion metric (degradation D, p. 637-638, Section III.C) and a compression metric (number of bits R, p. 637-638, Section III.C).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the system of claim 1, wherein extracting the feature map includes a feature extraction machine learning process (probability statistic based feature selection approach in reference [34], p. 635 right column; see reference [34] for evidence).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses a method of optimizing a loss function for video coding for machines, the method comprising: using a computing device (client, server, Fig. 1(c)). The remainder of Claim 11 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses a machine video encoder (Fig. 2 joint compression framework) for encoding a bitstream (video + feature stream, Fig. 2) for a machine video application (inherent—all videos are for a video application). The remainder of Claim 21 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the machine video encoder of claim 6 wherein the video encoder encodes the frames using NxN coding blocks, where N is one of 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, or 128 (the CU size ranges from 64x64 to 8x8, Section III.A, p. 635 right column).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the machine video encoder of claim 21 wherein video encoder used to encode the frames comprises a video encoder which produces a [] compliant bitstream stream using a subset of [] tools (HEVC coder—inherent the HEVC coder uses HEVC tools).
Zhang does not disclose, but Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020) teaches VVC (VVC, p. 2232 left column).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the HEVC coder of Zhang with the VVC coder of Chen because Chen teaches VVC is expected to have coding performance superior to HEVC (p. 2232 left column).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the machine video encoder of claim 21 wherein video encoder used to encode the frames comprises an encoder using one or more of temporal prediction, transform, quantization, and entropy coding (descriptor elements are predicted, transformed, quantized, and entropy coded, Section 3B, p. 637 right column).
Regarding Claim 25, Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020) teaches a machine video decoder for receiving and decoding (deep feature decoding, Fig. 4) a feature bit stream (encoded bitstream, Fig. 4) for a machine video application (task, Fig. 4),
…
an inner decoder for receiving the encoded feature bitstream (deep feature decoding, Fig. 4) and outputting the frame with the plurality of feature maps (e.g., conv5 features, the output feature maps of the fifth convolutional block; spatial and semantic information from its conv4 layer; visual tracking tasks, pool4 and pool5 features of VGGNet; the f c2 features and pool5 feature of VGGNet, Section III last paragraph, p. 2234);
and a feature decoder (feature decoder, Fig. 4) reconstructing the feature maps (reconstructed deep feature maps, p. 2239 right column), the reconstructed feature maps being input to a machine task (object detection, retrieval, captioning, quality assurance, tracking, Fig. 5) which includes a deep neural network (e.g., LSTM, Fig. 5, other tasks incorporate deep NNs too).
The remainder of Claim 25 is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the machine video decoder of claim 25.
Zhang does not disclose, but Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020) teaches wherein the inner decoder is a VVC decoder (VVC, p. 2232 left column) for receiving the bitstream and reconstructing the feature maps (existing video codecs can be applied to compress deep features, Section VI.A, p. 2239 right column).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to replace the HEVC coder of Zhang with the VVC coder of Chen because Chen teaches VVC is expected to have coding performance superior to HEVC (p. 2232 left column).
Regarding Claim 27, Zhang (NPL “A joint compression scheme of video feature descriptors and visual content,” IEEE 2017) discloses the machine video decoder of claim 25 wherein the inner decoder is an entropy decoder for receiving the bitstream and reconstructing the feature maps (feature coding, the extracted feature descriptors from interest objects are compressed with the procedures of prediction, transform, scalar quantization and entropy coding, Section II).
Regarding Claim 28, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot because they do not pertain to the combination of references relied upon in this office action. Chen (NPL: “Toward Intelligent Sensing: Intermediate Deep Feature Compression,” IEEE 2020) is relied upon to teach deep learning of features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Francini, “Selection of local features for visual search,” Signal Processing: Image Communication 2012.
US PG Publication 2024/0414342
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485