DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gavrun reference does not disclose separating the sealing ring from the longitudinal profile only by removing material. Gavrun relies on plastic deformation and material flow to form the seal geometry.
Examiner notes that Gavrun discloses separating the sealing ring from the longitudinal profile only by removing material, as separating sealing ring 12 from blank 14 includes removing material of 14 by punch-out or cut 14 to form inner and outer peripheral surfaces 46 and 48 of the sealing ring 12. This separates the sealing ring from the longitudinal profile only by removing material.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 6 for Kircanski reference have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on this reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavrun (U.S. Patent # 3670383) in view of Kalsi et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20010045704).
Regarding Claim 1, Gavrun discloses a method (figs 1, 2) for producing a sealing ring (12, fig 2) from a longitudinal profile (14), comprising the following steps:
providing the longitudinal profile in the form of a tube or a rod (Col 2 Lines 22 – 26 : flan, planchet or blank 14 of sheet material, which is a flat disk with its given thickness is considered a rod form of 14, fig 1);
three-dimensionally defining the sealing ring to be separated from the longitudinal profile in the material of the longitudinal profile (sealing ring 12 separated from 14) with a transverse axis of the sealing ring that extends at an angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile with 7°≤α≤ 90° (transverse axis of 12 at an angle of 26, 28, 30, fig 1; angle of surface 30 is 90°); and separating the sealing ring from the longitudinal profile only by removing material (separating 12 from 14 by removing material of 14 by punch-out or cut 14 to form inner and outer peripheral surfaces 46 and 48 of the seal ring 12, fig 1).
Gavrun does not disclose
the longitudinal profile having at least two concentrically disposed layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics;
wherein a multicomponent longitudinal profile of the sealing ring has layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics as provided by the longitudinal profile.
However, Kalsi teaches
the longitudinal profile having at least two concentrically disposed layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics (two layers 32, 34 with different material characteristics, fig 2A);
wherein a multicomponent longitudinal profile which has layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics is provided as the longitudinal profile (two layers 32, 34 with different material characteristics, fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the longitudinal profile of Gavrun with the layers of Kalsi with a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the potential of pressure extrusion thereof into the extrusion gap between the shaft and the housing (Kalsi Para 0011).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Gavrun and Kalsi discloses the method.
Gavrun does not disclose wherein the angle α is chosen between 10° und 45°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide lift off for the sealing ring thereby permitting leakage oil in the chamber to flow past the scraper edge and away from the gas seals. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Gavrun and Kalsi discloses the method.
Gavrun does not disclose wherein the angle α is chosen between 13° und 30°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide lift off for the sealing ring thereby permitting leakage oil in the chamber to flow past the scraper edge and away from the gas seals. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Gavrun and Kalsi discloses the method, wherein the layers are arranged extending coaxially to the mid-axis of the multicomponent longitudinal profile (layers of Kalsi coaxial to the mid-axis of Gavrun 14).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Gavrun and Kalsi discloses the sealing ring (12, fig 2) for a pneumatic or a hydraulic system (pistons, abstract), having a sealing edge (50, fig 4 same as fig 2) configured for dynamically contacting a sealing surface of a machine part (sealing surface 64, fig 4), which sealing edge is closed in a ring shape relative to a central axis of the sealing ring (annular 50), wherein the sealing ring in its unloaded state has, in a section comprising the central axis, a transverse axis which forms with the central axis the angle α (transverse axis of 12 at an angle of 62, fig 4), wherein the sealing ring is produced (fig 1).
Gavrun does not disclose a transverse axis of the sealing ring that extends at an angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile with 7°≤α≤ 90°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide lift off for the sealing ring thereby permitting leakage oil in the chamber to flow past the scraper edge and away from the gas seals. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 6, Gavrun discloses a method (figs 1, 2) for producing a sealing ring (12, fig 2) from a longitudinal profile (14), comprising the following steps:
three-dimensionally defining the sealing ring to be separated from the longitudinal profile in the material of the longitudinal profile ( sealing ring 12 separated from 14) with a transverse axis of the sealing ring that extends at an angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile ( transverse axis of 12 at an angle of 62, fig 4); and
separating the sealing ring from the longitudinal profile only by removing material ( separating 12 from 14 by removing material of 14, fig 1).
Gavrun does not disclose a transverse axis of the sealing ring that extends at an angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile with 7°≤α≤ 90°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide lift off for the sealing ring thereby permitting leakage oil in the chamber to flow past the scraper edge and away from the gas seals. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Gavrun does not disclose
wherein a multicomponent longitudinal profile which has layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics is provided as the longitudinal profile;
wherein a dividing line between the material layers of the sealing ring is arranged to extend parallel to the central axis of the sealing ring;
wherein the sealing ring in the multicomponent longitudinal profile has a radial inner side which extends at the angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile; and
wherein the dividing line intersects the inner side and divides the inner side into two portions with different material properties.
However, Kalsi teaches
wherein a multicomponent longitudinal profile which has layers that differ from one another in their material characteristics is provided as the longitudinal profile (two layers 32, 34 with different material characteristics, fig 2A);
wherein a dividing line ( 36, fig 2A) between the material layers of the sealing ring is arranged to extend parallel to the central axis of the sealing ring (36 parallel to the central axis of 12, fig 2A);
wherein the sealing ring in the multicomponent longitudinal profile has a radial inner side (radial inner side of 50A, fig 2A) which extends at the angle α to the mid-axis of the longitudinal profile (50A at an angle to mis-axis of 12); and
wherein the dividing line intersects the inner side and divides the inner side into two portions with different material properties (36 intersects the radial inner side of 50A and divides the radial inner side of 50A into two portions 50A and 52A with different material properties, fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the longitudinal profile of Gavrun with the layers of Kalsi with a reasonable expectation of success to minimize the potential of pressure extrusion thereof into the extrusion gap between the shaft and the housing (Kalsi Para 0011).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675