DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants amendment filed 06/19/2026 which has been entered. No Claims have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-19 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 10 and 19 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VARANASI et al (2020/0045533 A1) in view of Kyou et al (2018/0183919 A1).
As per Claim 1, Varanasi teaches a method at a peripheral device, comprising: transmitting, to a connector device, a first message over a short-range communications protocol connection, the first message comprising an indication that a payload size is greater than a threshold (Page 2, Paragraph [0028]; Page 3, Paragraph [0029]; Page 7, Paragraphs [0063] and [0065]; Page 9, Paragraph [0076]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0028] and [0029], Varanasi describes a system and method to identify and communicate data communication errors in a network. Varanasi also describes a plurality of devices within the network including electronic medical devices [EMD] [e.g. implantable medical devices, interrogator medical devices, mobile health devices, etc.]. Varanasi indicates an electronic medical device may measure and collect user biometric data)
(Note: In paragraph [0076], Varanasi describes the use of Bluetooth as a communication protocol used to communication data between wireless devices. In paragraph [0029], Varanasi indicates a data communication loss is identified based on a mismatch of a confirmation acknowledgement attribute between two or more of an EMD, wireless gateway or a server. A notification is provided to the EMD or wireless gateway indicating the identified data communication error)
(Note: In paragraph [0063], Varanasi describes identifying a mismatch in maximum segment size [MSS] between a source node and a destination node. The MSS specified the largest amount of data which can be provided in a payload of a single packet. The mismatch in the MSS may be identified by any of the nodes in the network)
Varanasi does not teach receiving, from the connector device, a read command for the payload; and transmitting the payload to the connector device. However, Kyou teaches receiving, from the connector device, a read command for the payload; and transmitting the payload to the connector device (Page 2, Paragraph [0037] and [0038]; Page 4, Paragraphs [0054] and [0056] – [0064]; Page 5, Paragraphs [0074] and [0084]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0037] and [0038], Kyou describes wireless devices [e.g. health care appliances] performing short-distance wireless communication using Bluetooth Low Energy [BLE]. In paragraphs [0056] – [0060], Kyou describes the Attribute [ATT] protocol which defines rules that allow one device to access data of another device in a server-client architecture. The ATT protocol defines 6 types of messages [Request, Response, Command, Notification, Indication and Confirmation])
(In paragraph [0060], Kyou describes the GATT profile which is responsible for providing devices with attributes using the concepts of services and characteristics. The GATT defines two roles [i.e. a server responsible for providing an attribute and a client to which the attribute is provided]. In paragraph [0064], Kyou describes a Generic Access Profile [GAP] which is sued to select communication roles among BLE devices and control procedures of multi-profile operations)
(Note: In paragraph [0074], Kyou describes a general packet structure [preamble, access address, PDU header, PDU payload and CRC field] defined by the BLE protocol. In paragraph [0084], Kyou describes a client transmitting a Read Request message to the server. The Read request is sued to request the server to read the value of an attribute and return its value)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Varanasi with the method taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 2 and 11, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the first message is addressed to a network element as described in Claim 1. (Note: In paragraph [0029], Varanasi describes a notification being provided to an electronic medical device, a wireless gateway or a server – each of these are network elements)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 3 and 11, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches receiving a second message from the connector device, the second message originating from the network element and having been repackaged at the connector device as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 4 and 13, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the short-range communications protocol connection is a Bluetooth Low Energy connection (Kyou: Page 3, Paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 5 and 14, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the connector device is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Generic Attribute Profile (GATT) Client and the peripheral device is a BLE GATT server as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 6 and 15, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the second message comprises a configuration characteristic as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 8 and 17, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the payload is provided in a generic attribute profile format as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claims 9 and 18, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches wherein the peripheral device is a medical peripheral device as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claim 10, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Varanasi also teaches a communications subsystem (Figure 3 – Reference 350; Page 5, Paragraph [0051]); and a processor (Figure 3 – Reference 330; Page 5, Paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi with the method and device taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
As per Claim 19, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Varanasi also teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (Figure 9 – References 910 and 915; Page 9, Paragraph [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Varanasi with the method and non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Kyou to enable negotiation of larger maximum transmission units and extended advertising to handle payloads larger than the default limit in an effort to improve efficiency and boost performance.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VARANASI et al (2020/0045533 A1) in view of Kyou et al (2018/0183919 A1) as applied to Claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Petkov et al (10,331,612 B1).
As per Claims 7 and 16, the combination of Varanasi and Kyou teaches the method and device as described in Claims 5 and 14; but does not teach wherein the second message comprises a cloud data download characteristic. However, Petkov teaches wherein the second message comprises a cloud data download characteristic.
(Note: Applicant’s specification indicates that the configuration characteristic is a read/write characteristic which is described in Petkov [Column 9, Lines 58-62]. The cloud data download characteristic is a write characteristic where data packets are written to the peripheral device over a protocol [e.g. BLE] which is also described in Petkov [Column 9, Lines 58-62]. In paragraphs [0037] and [0045], Varanasi describes a cloud computing environment [cloud-based server] where a client-server structure may be implemented)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and device taught by Varanasi and Kyou with the method and device taught by Petkov to utilize communications between end user devices and intermediate communication devices that are energy efficient and thus extend the useful operational life of an energy source in the end user device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DEES et al (2021/0160213 A1), WU (2021/0377796 A1), KWON et al (2017/0048656 A1), Albrecht et al (2017/0295454 A1), Gattu (2018/0132183 A1) and Sato (2018/0310355 A1). Each of these describes packet-based communication utilizing short range communication protocols within wireless local area networks (WLANs).
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693