DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 4/17/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GERMANY 102023109888.8, filed on 04/19/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, recites “Housing assembly for a plug connector…”. It should be amended to “A housing assembly for a plug connector…”. The preamble fails to properly introduce the claimed subject matter with “A” before the recitation of the claimed structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 1, line 11, recites “which securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It should be amended to “which the securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It appears to be a typographical error.
Claims 2, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 3, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 4, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 5, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 4…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 4…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 6, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 4…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 4…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 7, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 8, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 9, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 1…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 1…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 10, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 9…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 9…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 11, line 1, recites “Housing assembly according to claim 9…”. It should be amended to “The housing assembly according to claim 9…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 1 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Housing assembly”.
Claim 12, line 1, recites “Plug connector comprising…”. It should be amended to “A plug connector comprising…”. The preamble fails to properly introduce the claimed subject matter with “A” before the recitation of the claimed structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 12, line 8, recites “which securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It should be amended to “which the securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It appears to be a typographical error.
Claim 13, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 14, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 15, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 16, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 17, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 18, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 19, line 1, recites “Plug connector according to claim 12…”. It should be amended to “The plug connector according to claim 12…”. The preamble fails to properly reference the subject matter previously introduced in claim 12 with “The” before the recitation of the previously introduced structure “Plug connector”.
Claim 20, line 1, recites “Connection device comprising…”. It should be amended to “A connection device comprising…”. The preamble fails to properly introduce the claimed subject matter with “A” before the recitation of the claimed structure “Connection device”.
Claim 20, line 9, recites “which securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It should be amended to “which the securing receptacle is configured to receive…”. It appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 10, 12, 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rimke (US 20060148331, cited in the IDS on 9/30/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) a housing assembly (1) for a plug connector (12) comprising:
a securing element (15) including at least one chock section (18) and at least one lock section (20); and
a contact housing (2), wherein the contact housing (2) comprises:
at least one contact chamber (K1, K2) for receiving a contact unit (12) of the plug connector (12),
at least one latching element (6) movable between a latching position and a release position (i.e. ¶0025), which in the latching position (i.e. figure 4; ¶0025) protrudes at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), and
a securing receptacle (3) leading at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), which securing receptacle (3) is configured to receive the securing element (15) at least partly (i.e. disclosed receptacle 3 is capable of receiving the securing element 15 at least partly),
wherein, when the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3), a movement of the at least one latching element (6) from the latching position in a direction away from the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2) is blocked by the at least one chock section (18) and the at least one lock section (20) protrudes at least partly from the securing receptacle (3) into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2).
Regarding claim 3, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one chock section (18) and the at least one lock section (20) extend at least partly parallel to each other (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the latching element (6) moved out of the latching position (¶0025) forms a stop (10; see figures 3 and 4) for the at least one chock section (18) of the securing element (15).
Regarding claim 5, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 4, wherein the stop (10; see figures 3 and 4) is located in a region of the securing receptacle (3) in which the at least one chock section (18) is located when the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3).
Regarding claim 6, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 4, wherein the region of the securing receptacle (3) is swept over by the stop (10; see figures 3 and 4) during the movement of the at least one latching element (6) from the latching position into the release position (¶0025).
Regarding claim 7, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one latching element (6) comprises a cantilevered latching arm (see figure 2; 6 and 10 is a cantilevered latching arm).
Regarding claim 8, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the securing receptacle (3) extends at least sectionally transversely (see 3 and 19 in figure 3) to the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2).
Regarding claim 9, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the contact housing (2) comprises two contact chambers (see multiple chambers K1, K2) extending at least sectionally parallel to each other (see figure 1), and wherein the securing receptacle (3) extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers (see figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 10, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 9, wherein the at least one latching element (6) extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers (see multiple chambers K1, K2; see figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) a plug connector comprising:
a housing assembly (1) including a securing element (15) and a contact housing (2), the securing element (15) including at least one chock section (18) and at least one lock section (20), the contact housing (2) including at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), the contact housing (2) including at least one latching element (6) movable between a latching position and a release position (¶0025), which in the latching position (¶0025) protrudes at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), and the contact housing (2) including a securing receptacle (3) leading at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), which securing receptacle (3) is configured to receive the securing element (15) at least partly (i.e. disclosed receptacle 3 is capable of receiving the securing element 15 at least partly), wherein, when the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3), a movement of the at least one latching element (6) from the latching position in a direction away from the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2) is blocked by the at least one chock section (18) and the at least one lock section (20) protrudes at least partly from the securing receptacle (3) into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2); and
at least one contact unit (12) for contacting mating contacts of a mating plug (¶0002), wherein a respective contact unit (12) is received in a respective contact chamber (K1, K2) of the contact housing (2) and is in a latching connection with the at least one latching element (6), and wherein the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3), secures the latching connection with the at least one chock section (18) and is in form-fit connection with the at least one contact unit (12) via the at least one lock section (20).
Regarding claim 16, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12, wherein the latching element (6) moved out of the latching position (¶0025) forms a stop (see figures 3 and 4) for the at least one chock section (18) of the securing element (15).
Regarding claim 17, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12, wherein the at least one latching element (6) comprises a cantilevered latching arm (see figure 2; 6 and 10 is a cantilevered latching arm).
Regarding claim 18, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12, wherein the securing receptacle (3) extends at least sectionally transversely (see 3 and 19 in figure 3) to the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2).
Regarding claim 19, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12, wherein the contact housing (2) comprises two contact chambers (see multiple chambers K1, K2) extending at least sectionally parallel to each other (see figure 1), and wherein the securing receptacle (3) extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers (see figures 2 and 3), the at least one contact unit (12) includes two contact units (there are multiple contact units 12 that are inserted into their respective contact chambers K1, K2) received in the corresponding two contact chambers (K1, K2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 13 – 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rimke (US 20060148331, cited in the IDS on 9/30/2025) in view of Ittah (DE 19543497, cited in the IDS on 4/17/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 1.
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one chock section and the at least one lock section are located opposite of each other with respect to the at least one contact chamber when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the at least one chock section (61) and the at least one lock section (62) are located opposite of each other (see figure 4) with respect to the at least one contact chamber (chambers where 9 is located on in figure 1) when the securing element (see figure 4) is completely received in the securing receptacle (see figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide wherein the at least one chock section and the at least one lock section are located opposite of each other with respect to the at least one contact chamber when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle, to improve the retention of the contact within the chamber and enhancing resistance to unintended disconnection.
Regarding claim 11, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the housing assembly according to claim 9.
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one chock section or the at least one lock section extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the at least one chock section (61) or the at least one lock section (62) extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers (chambers where 9 is located on in figure 1) when the securing element (see figure 4) is completely received in the securing receptacle (see figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide wherein the at least one chock section or the at least one lock section extends at least sectionally between the two contact chambers when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle, to improve the retention of the contact within the chamber and enhancing resistance to unintended disconnection.
Regarding claim 13, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12.
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one lock section abuts against the contact housing on a side facing away from the form-fit connection.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the at least one lock section (62) abuts against the contact housing (1) on a side facing away from the form-fit connection (see figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide wherein the at least one lock section abuts against the contact housing on a side facing away from the form-fit connection, to improve the retention of the contact within the chamber and enhancing resistance to unintended disconnection.
Regarding claim 14, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12.
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose wherein the securing element has at least one support section which abuts against the at least one contact unit, wherein the at least one support section is spaced apart from the at least one latching element and the at least one lock section in an extension direction of the at least one contact chamber.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the securing element (see figure 4) has at least one support section (67) which abuts against the at least one contact unit (9), wherein the at least one support section (67) is spaced apart from the at least one latching element (64) and the at least one lock section (62) in an extension direction of the at least one contact chamber (chambers where 9 is located on in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide wherein the securing element has at least one support section which abuts against the at least one contact unit, wherein the at least one support section is spaced apart from the at least one latching element and the at least one lock section in an extension direction of the at least one contact chamber, to improve the retention of the contact within the chamber and enhancing resistance to unintended disconnection.
Regarding claim 15, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) the plug connector according to claim 12.
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one chock section and the at least one lock section are located opposite of each other with respect to the at least one contact chamber when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a connector wherein the at least one chock section (61) and the at least one lock section (62) are located opposite of each other (see figure 4) with respect to the at least one contact chamber (chambers where 9 is located on in figure 1) when the securing element (see figure 4) is completely received in the securing receptacle (see figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide wherein the at least one chock section and the at least one lock section are located opposite of each other with respect to the at least one contact chamber when the securing element is completely received in the securing receptacle, to improve the retention of the contact within the chamber and enhancing resistance to unintended disconnection.
Regarding claim 20, Rimke teaches (figures 1 – 4) a connection device comprising:
a plug connector (see figure 1) including a housing assembly (1) and at least one contact unit (12), the housing assembly (1) including a securing element (15) and a contact housing (2), the securing element (15) including at least one chock section (18) and at least one lock section (20), the contact housing (2) including at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), the contact housing (2) including at least one latching element (6) movable between a latching position and a release position (i.e. ¶0025), which in the latching position (i.e. ¶0025) protrudes at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), and the contact housing (2) including a securing receptacle (3) leading at least sectionally into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), which securing receptacle (3) is configured to receive the securing element (15) at least partly (i.e. disclosed receptacle 3 is capable of receiving the securing element 15 at least partly), wherein, when the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3), a movement of the at least one latching element (6) from the latching position in a direction away from the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2) is blocked by the at least one chock section (18) and the at least one lock section (20) protrudes at least partly from the securing receptacle (3) into the at least one contact chamber (K1, K2), wherein a respective contact unit (12) is received in a respective contact chamber (K1, K2) of the contact housing (2) and is in a latching connection with the at least one latching element (6), and wherein the securing element (15) is completely received in the securing receptacle (3), secures the latching connection with the at least one chock section (18) and is in form-fit connection with the at least one contact unit (12) via the at least one lock section (20).
But Rimke does not explicitly disclose a mating plug configured complementarily to the plug connector, the mating plug including mating contacts configured for mating with the at least one contact unit, wherein the plug connector and the mating plug are configured so that they can be plugged together.
Ittah teaches (figures 1 – 9) a mating plug (2) configured complementarily to the plug connector (1; see figure 8), the mating plug (2) including mating contacts (mating contacts of 2) configured for mating with the at least one contact unit (9), wherein the plug connector (1; see figure 8) and the mating plug (2) are configured so that they can be plugged together (i.e. see figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rimke with the connector as disclosed by Ittah to provide a mating plug configured complementarily to the plug connector, the mating plug including mating contacts configured for mating with the at least one contact unit, wherein the plug connector and the mating plug are configured so that they can be plugged together, because plug connectors are conventionally used with complementary mating connectors to establish the intended electrical connection. Such modification merely involves the use of a known mating component with a plug connector to obtain the predictable result of a connector assembly that is connectable with another connector assembly.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834