Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.CN202323324886.9, filed on 2023.12.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kennedy et.al (US 9,398,796 B2) herein after Kennedy.
Regarding claim 1, Kennedy discloses an electric hair curler, comprising: a handle shell 12 (Figure 1), wherein a first electric connector 44 (Figure 4) is arranged in the handle shell (Page 4, line 7); a hair curling tube 14 (Figure 1), wherein the hair curling tube is rotatably connected to the handle shell (Page 2, line 1); a heating assembly 40 (Figure 3) and a second electric connector 32 (Figure 4) are arranged in the hair curling tube (Page 4, lines 4-5); the heating assembly (40, located in the hair curling tube) and the second electric connector rotate synchronously with the hair curling tube (Page 2, lines 8-9, 12-13); the heating assembly is electrically connected to the second electric connector (Page 2, lines 14-17); and when the hair curling tube rotates relative to the handle shell (Page 2, line 1), the second electric connector rotates relative (Page 2, lines 28-30 states the disc 44 is stationary, facilitating the relative rotation), to the first electric connector (page 2, lines 28-30 states the disc 44 is stationary, facilitating the relative rotation), and the second electric connector is electrically connected to the first electric connector to turn on a circuit where the heating assembly is located (page 2, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 9, Kennedy discloses the electric hair curler according to claim 1, further comprising a hair clip (comprising of 60,61 and 64 in Figure 1), wherein the hair clip is rotatably connected to the hair curling tube; and the hair clip is configured to clamp hairs between the hair clip and the hair curling tube (Figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Kennedy discloses the electric hair curler according to claim 9, wherein the hair clip comprises a clamping plate 60, a pressing member 64, and a reset member 61; the clamping plate and the pressing member are arranged on two sides of a rotating shaft (this arrangement can be seen in Figure 1 and 2); and one end of the reset member is connected to the pressing member, and the other end of the reset member is pressed against the hair curling tube (Figures 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy in the view of Buchanan et al (US 4243061A).
Regarding claim 2, Kennedy teaches that the electric hair curler according to claim 1, wherein the first electric connector 44 is provided with a circular-ring-shaped conductive sheet (the conductive sheet consists of inner and outer concentric annular contacts 46, 48); the second electric connector 32 is provided with concentric electric annular ring contacts (34 and 36). The annular ring contacts acts similar to conductive spring needles and is pressed against the conductive sheet (page 2, lines 25-27), and when the hair curling tube rotates relative to the handle shell, the annular ring contacts slides along a surface of the conductive sheet.
However, Kennedy does not explicitly teach spring needles connected to the second electric connector. Buchanan teaches a spring needle structure (Figure 6) configured to conduct electricity and provide a spring-based electric contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date of the application, to incorporate the spring needle taught by Buchanan into the electric connector arrangement of Kennedy to provide a spring-based electric contact between the connectors, as a known conductive contact structure with predictable results (maintaining continuous electrical connection during relative rotation).
Regarding claim 3, Kennedy teaches the electric hair curler according to claim 2, wherein the conductive sheet comprises a positive conductive sheet and a negative conductive sheet; the positive conductive sheet and the negative conductive sheet are both in a circular ring shape and are concentrically arranged (inner and outer concentric annular contacts 46, 48); while Kennedy does not exactly use the terms “positive” and “negative”, this clearly discloses two distinct conductive concentric annular contacts. A heating element can’t operate without opposite electric polarities, and therefore the disclosed conductive paths inherently constitute positive and negative conductive parts as claimed.
With respect to, “the conductive spring needle comprises a positive conductive spring needle and a negative conductive spring needle; the positive conductive spring needle and the negative conductive spring needle are spaced apart; the positive conductive spring needle is arranged in a manner of corresponding to the positive conductive sheet; and the negative conductive sheet is arranged in a manner of corresponding to the negative conductive spring needle”, Kennedy teaches concentric electric annular ring contacts (34 and 36), which are separate conductive contact members that are physically spaced apart and arranged to respectively engage corresponding concentric annular conductive sheets on the rotating terminal disc, thereby forming two distinct electrical paths supplying the heating assembly.
Although Kennedy does not explicitly label the contacts as “positive” and “negative”, the two ring contacts necessarily corresponds to opposite electric polarities, since the heating assembly requires two electrically isolated conductors of opposite polarity for functioning.
As mentioned in claim 2, Kennedy does not explicitly teach spring needles connected to the second electric connector. Buchanan teaches a spring needle structure (Figure 6) configured to conduct electricity and provide a spring-based electric contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date of the application, to replace the ring contacts of Kennedy with spring needles as taught by Buchanan; accordingly, each of the respective spring needles would correspondingly contact a respective one of conductive sheets thereby forming positive and negative conductive spring needles as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Although Kennedy does not explicitly describe as annular isolation portion, Kennedy teaches an electric connector 32 with annular conductive sheets separated by a region (which is similar to claimed annular isolation portion) and maintained in sliding contact during relative rotation (as shown in annotated Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Kennedy teaches the electric hair curler according to claim 4, wherein a surface of the second electric connector 44 is provided with a region that separates the annular ring contacts 46 and 48 (shown in annotated figure 4 above, which is similar to the claimed annular grove ); With respect to “the groove is matched with the isolation portion; and the isolation portion is inserted into the groove and is able to slide in the groove”, although Kennedy does not explicitly describe an annular groove receiving an isolation portion, it discloses concentric annular conductive sheets separated by an insulating region and maintained in sliding contact during relative rotation. As shown in annotated figure 4 above, these structures permit the relative rotational movement while maintaining the sliding engagement and electrical continuity, therefore corresponding to an annular groove and isolation portion arraignment, even though these elements are not explicitly mentioned.
Regarding claim 6, Kennedy teaches a hair curler as in claim 2, however does not disclose the components of the conductive spring needle. Buchanan teaches a conductive spring needle which comprises a base 56, an accommodating shell 46, a spring 54, and a needle (connector pin 50) (Figure 6); the accommodating shell 46 is connected to the base 56; the spring 54 is inserted into the accommodating shell 46; the needle 50 is at least partially inserted into the accommodating shell 46 and is able to slide in the accommodating shell; and two ends of the spring 54 are respectively pressed against the base and the needle 50 (Figure 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date of the application, to incorporate the spring needle taught by Buchanan into the electric connector arrangement of Kennedy to provide a spring-based electric contact between the connectors, as a known conductive contact structure with predictable results (maintaining continuous electrical connection during relative rotation).
Regarding claim 7, Kennedy discloses the electric hair curler according to claim 2, wherein a driving device 22 is arranged in the handle shell 12; and an output shaft 24 connected to the rod 28, which transmits rotational motion. Rod 28 is fixed to the first terminal disc 32, which rotates with the hair curling tube 14, while second terminal disc 44 is fixed in the handle. Accordingly, the output shaft of the driving device is connected to the hair curling tube through the first electric connector 32 and second electric connector 44.
Regarding claim 8, Kennedy discloses the electric hair curler according to claim 7, further comprising a bearing assembly (bushings 74 and bushing cradle 76, Figure 3), wherein the bearing assembly is arranged in the handle shell 12; and the output shaft of the driving device (motor shaft 24 and rod 28) is arranged in a manner of passing through the bearing assembly (rod 28 being supported by and extended through bushing 74 within bushing cradle 76).
Conclusion
/SARA N SAMARASEKARA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799