DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-14 in the Remarks filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that there would not be a serious burden on the Examiner to examine the claims of both groups together. This is not found persuasive because the claimed product can be made by a another materially different process than the claimed process, such as:
preparing a first solution by mixing tetramethyl orthosilicate, ammonium hydroxide, solvent and water and allowing components to react to form silica wet gel;
preparing a second solution by mixing ammonium hydroxide, solvent,
methyltriethoxysilane, and diluent to form a solvent exchange solution;
subjecting the silica wet gel to the solvent exchange solution to form a
hydrophobic silica wet gel; and
drying the hydrophobic silica wet gel to form hydrophobic silica aerogel.
Since the claimed product can be made by such a materially different process, the scope of the claims broaden to the point of becoming a search burden on the Examiner.
Additionally, it is necessary to search for the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions because different search queries would be required. For example, a search for the invention of Group I would involve utilizing the search query "solvent exchange” and “drying" which would not result in finding prior art pertinent the invention of Group II which do not require the steps of solvent exchange or drying. Additionally, the different groups have a separate classification as indicated on the Restriction filed on 2/19/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A method of making a hydrophobic silica aerogel, comprising the steps of:
preparing a first solution by mixing tetramethyl orthosilicate and solvent;
preparing a second solution by mixing solvent, ammonium hydroxide and water;
mixing the first solution and the second solution together to form a mixed solution; allowing components in the mixed solution to react to form silica wet gel;
preparing a third solution by mixing ammonium hydroxide and solvent;
preparing a fourth solution by mixing methyltriethoxysilane and diluent;
preparing a solvent exchange solution by mixing the third solution, the fourth solution and solvent;
subjecting the silica wet gel to the solvent exchange solution to form a hydrophobic silica wet gel; and
drying the hydrophobic silica wet gel to form hydrophobic silica aerogel;
wherein the tetramethyl orthosilicate has a total weight percent of greater than or equal to 2.2% and less than or equal to 5.4% and the methyltriethoxysilane has a total weight percent of greater than or equal to 1.2% and less than or equal to 1.5%, wherein total weight percent represents a total weight percent of a component in the first, second, third and fourth solutions.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein total weight percent represents a total weight percent of a component in the first, second, third and fourth solutions”. Applicant is suggested to rephrase to “wherein total weight percent represents a total weight percent of a component in the first, second, third and fourth solutions and refers to total weight percent of a component used to form hydrophobic
silica wet gel” (emphasis added) as supported in ¶ 0030 of the instant Specification .
Claim 3 recites “tetramethyl orthosilicate at a weight percent of greater than or equal to 23.5% and less than or equal to 52%”. Applicant is suggested to rephrase to “tetramethyl orthosilicate at a weight percent of greater than or equal to 23.5% and less than or equal to 52%, wherein weight percent refers to weight percent of a component in a single solution” (emphasis added) as supported in ¶ 0030 of the instant Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the steps" in Line 1, and Claim 2 recites “the methanol”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claims 2-14 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numrich et al. (WO 2021/219444 A1; hereafter as “Numrich”).
Regarding Claim 1, Numrich teaches a process for producing a hydrophobized silica aerogel [Claim 1; Page 3; Example 1], corresponding to a method of making a hydrophobized silica aerogel of Claim 1, the method comprising:
Preparing an organosilicate, such as tetramethyl orthosilicate, in an alcohol, such as ethanol to produce a silica sol [Claim 3; Example 1; Page 3, Lines 33-35], corresponding to preparing a first solution by mixing tetramethyl orthosilicate and solvent of Claim 1;
Wherein the ethanol corresponds to the solvent of the first solution of Claim 1;
Preparing a diluted ethanolic ammonia solution comprising water [Example 1; Page 5, Lines 1-5; Page 6, Lines 23-24], corresponding to preparing a second solution by mixing solvent, ammonium hydroxide and water of Claim 1;
Wherein the ammonia and water correspond to the ammonium hydroxide and water of Claim 1; and
Wherein the ethanolic solution corresponds to the solvent of the third solution of Claim 1;
mixing the diluted ethanolic ammonia solution to the organosilicate solution, which resulted in gelation to produce organogel [Example 1; Page 14, Lines 9-10], corresponding to mixing the first solution and the second solution together to form a mixed solution; allowing components in the mixed solution to react to form silica wet gel of Claim 1;
Preparing an aqueous ammonium hydroxide solution [Example 1; Page 14, Lines 27-28], corresponding to preparing a third solution by mixing ammonium hydroxide and solvent of Claim 1;
Wherein the water of the aqueous ammonium hydroxide solution corresponds to the diluent of the third solution of Claim 1;
Solution comprising methyltriethoxysilane [Page 4, Lines 14-36], corresponding to the methyltriethyoxysilane forth solution comprising methyltriethyoxysilane of Claim 1;
Solvent exchange, and hydrolysis by aqueous ammonium hydroxide solution [Example 1; Page 3, Lines 17-32; Page 14, Lines 27-28], corresponding to subjecting the silica wet gel to the solvent exchange solution to form a hydrophobic silica wet gel of Claim 1;
Drying the hydrophobized silica gel [Page 3, Lines 4-9], corresponding to drying the hydrophobic silica wet gel to form hydrophobic silica aerogel of Claim 1.
However, Numrich does not explicitly teach the process steps in the same order as Claim 1.
Regarding the process steps in the same order as Claim 1, case law has held that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (See MPEP 2144.04.IV.C., In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to select any order for the steps for the purposes of preparing the hydrophobized silica aerogel. See MPEP section 2144.04.IV.C.
Regarding Claims 1-9, Numrich is silent to the amounts of tetramethyl orthosilicate of Claims 1-9, the amount of methyltriethyoxysilane of Claims 1-9, the amount of methanol of Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, the amount of water of Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-9, and amount of ammonium hydroxide of Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-9.
However, Numrich teaches the reaction of organosilicates, such as tetramethyl orthosilicate and methyltriethyoxysilane, with water results in their hydrolysis and hydrolysis is a dynamic reaction that is strongly influenced by catalysts such as ammonium hydroxide [Page 4, Lines 3-11; Page 6, Lines 14-24]. Numrich teaches the organosilicates can by hydrolyzed in neat form or as a solution [Page 3, Lines 33-35]. Therefore, the amount of the tetramethyl orthosilicate and methyltriethyoxysilane can be optimized to reach the desired concentration relative to the other reactants (such as water and ammonium hydroxide) via a routine optimization. The case law has held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.05. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to adjust the amount of tetramethyl orthosilicate and methyltriethyoxysilane for the intended application via a routine optimization, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum combination of values (MPEP 2144.05.II.A.). This decision is clearly analogous to other process parameters where the principle difference between the claimed process and that taught by the reference is a temperature difference, it is incumbent upon applicant to establish criticality of that difference (see Ex parte Khusid, 174 USPQ 59).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Numrich does not explicitly teach a shrinkage value, visible transmission, or haze value.
Nevertheless, the properties of the hydrophobized silica aerogel such as shrinkage value, visible transmission and haze value are functions of the composition of the hydrophobized silica aerogel and the method by which it is made. Since Numrich teaches the same hydrophobized silica aerogel formed by the same method as required by the instant claim, as set forth in the rejection above, the hydrophobized silica aerogel of Numrich would be expected to result in the same shrinkage value, visible transmission, and haze value as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is expectedly present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding Claim 14, Numrich is silent to use of a surfactant, which, for the purposes of examination, will be interpreted to read on wherein the method is devoid of using a surfactant of Claim 14.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Numrich et al. (WO 2021/219444 A1; hereafter as “Numrich”) in view of Gao et al. (CN 1913967 A; English translation incorporated herein; hereafter as “Gao”).
Numrich teaches the method of making a hydrophobic silica aerogel of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Numrich further teaches aging of the silica gel [Page 3, Lines 17-22], corresponding to the aging step of Claim 10.
However, Numrich does not explicitly teach aging the hydrophobic silica wet gel for a time period of at least 7 days (168 hours) of Claim 10, and subjecting the hydrophobic silica wet gel to solvent extraction with methanol for an extraction time period of less than 24 hours of Claim 11.
Nevertheless, Gao teaches a method of producing microporous inorganic oxides such as silica aerogels [Abstract; ¶ 0018], comprising:
gel aging for 7 days [¶ 0059], which corresponds to aging for at least 7 days of Claim 10; and
solvent extraction in methanol for 5-24 hours [¶ 0027-0028], which corresponds to solvent extraction with methanol for an extraction time period of less than 24 hours of Claim 11.
Gao offers the motivation that unlike organic sources that use inorganic oxides as raw materials, the method of Gao starts with inorganic sources, which are less expensive and easier to handle [¶ 0019]. Gao also offers the motivation that the methanol can be recovered and recycled from the extraction step, thereby reducing synthesis costs and harmful environmental impact [¶ 0027].
Numrich and Gao are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing aerogels.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the gel aging step and solvent extraction step of Gao with the process for producing a hydrophobized silica aerogel of Numrich thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwertfeger et al. (US5587107) teaches a silica aerogel [Claim 1], dissolving tetramethyl orthosilicate was dissolved in methanol [Examples 1-9], aqueous ammonia solution [Examples 1-9], aging of the silica gels for 7 days [Examples 1-9].
/DORIS LING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764