DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Norell et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2010/0083457 A1 and Norell hereinafter.)
As to claim 2, An electric work machine comprising: a motor configured to receive a power from a power supply to be driven; and a first control circuit configured to:
acquire or estimate a line current value, the line current value corresponding to a magnitude of a current flowing through the motor;
calculate a rotational speed of the motor;
increase a first counter based on the line current value acquired or estimated being greater than a current threshold;
decrease the first counter based on the rotational speed calculated being greater than a speed threshold; and
stop the motor based on the first counter exceeding a first threshold.
(As to claim 2, Norell teaches (figs.1-2, para’s [0044], [0045],[0046], [0047]) an electric work machine [vacuum cleaner 100] comprising:
a motor 200 (see fig.3A, para. [0047]-[0048], motor stator windings 580, 582, see figs.6-7) configured to receive a power from a power supply [battery/DC input] (see figs.6-7, para. [0048], [0064]-[0065]) to be driven; and a first control circuit [500] (fig.6, para.[0068], [0091]) configured to:
using a controller 512 (figs.6-7, para. [0068], [0091], [0105]) via control step 820/840 (13B, 13D) acquire by measuring a line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) the line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) corresponding to a magnitude of a current flowing through the motor 200 (see para’s [0086], 36 amps, see [0089], [0125]);
controller [512] (fig.6) calculate/determine a rotational speed of the motor 200 (see figs.12A, control steps 742, 746; fig.12B, control step 766, para. [0109]-[0110]);
increase a first counter (increase Count [control processing 826], fig.13B) based on the line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) acquired being greater than a current threshold [Exceed threshold] (control processing 822, Yes, see fig.13B, para. [0130] or see fig.13F, control steps 862, 866, para. [0136]));
decrease the first counter [decrement counter] (see control step 734, fig.12A) based on the rotational speed calculated being greater than a speed threshold [Speed > S1] (see fig.12A, control steps 724, 730, para’s [0109], [0110], [0111]); and
stop the motor based on the first counter exceeding a first threshold (see control steps 870, 872, fig.13F, Norell teaches count value X where five consecutive measurements above the threshold triggers a fault condition, where the motor phases are shut off, see para’s [0136]-[0141]; Norell teaches “motor stops and enters a fault state if the current continues to rise above the maximum threshold…”, see para. [0125]; Norell teaches “if the count value is reached, a fault occurs. The motor is thus shut off, see para. [0114]).
As to claim 18, A method for controlling a motor, the method comprising:
increasing a counter based on a line current value being greater than a current threshold, the line current value corresponding to a magnitude of a current flowing through the motor;
decreasing the counter based on a rotational speed of the motor being greater than a speed threshold; and
stopping the motor based on the counter exceeding a counter threshold.
(As to claim 18, Norell teaches (figs.1-14, para’s [0021], [0064], [0070]-[0088], [0130] thru [0141]) a method for controlling a motor 200 (fig.3A, 6-7), the method (see figs.8C, 12A-12B, 13D-13F) comprising:
increasing a first counter (increase Count [control processing 826], see fig.13B) based on the line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) acquired being greater than a current threshold [Exceed threshold] (control processing 822, Yes, see fig.13B, para. [0130] or see fig.13F, control steps 862, 866, para. [0136]));
a controller 512 (figs.6-7, para. [0068], [0091]) via control processing 820/840 (13B, 13D) acquire by measuring a line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) the line current value [current Amps] (fig.13C, 13E) corresponding to a magnitude of a current flowing through the motor 200 (see para’s [0086], [0089], [0125]);
decreasing the first counter [decrement counter] (see control step 734, fig.12A) based on the rotational speed calculated being greater than a speed threshold [Speed > S1] (see fig.12A, control steps 724, 730, para’s [0109], [0110], [0111]); and
stopping the motor 200 based on the first counter exceeding a first threshold (see control steps 870, 872, fig.13F, Norell teaches count value X where five consecutive measurements above the threshold triggers a fault condition, where the motor phases are shut off, see para’s [0136]-[0141]; Norell teaches “motor stops and enters a fault state if the current continues to rise above the maximum threshold…”, see para. [0125]; Norell teaches “if the count value is reached, a fault occurs. The motor is thus shut off, see para. [0114]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claim 1 is allowed.
Claims 3-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 1, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach add an addition value to an overload counter based on the line current value being greater than a current threshold; subtract a subtraction value from the overload counter based on the actual rotational speed being greater than a speed threshold; (i) stop the motor and (ii) increase a first count based on the overload counter being equal to or more than a counter threshold; increase the subtraction value according to an increase in the actual rotational speed based on the actual rotational speed being greater than 0; and decrease the subtraction value according to an increase in the first count based on the actual rotational speed being less than 0.
As to claim 3, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to change a decrease rate of the first counter according to the rotational speed calculated by the first control circuit. Claim 4 depend on allowable claim 3.
As to claim 5, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to: select the first correspondence data based on the battery pack including the first battery; select the second correspondence data based on the battery pack including the second battery; and decrease the first counter based on the first correspondence data selected or the second correspondence data selected. Claims 6-7 depend on allowable subject-matter of claim 5.
As to claim 8, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to decrease a decrease rate of the first counter according to an increase in count of stopping the motor based on the first counter exceeding the first threshold.
As to claim 9, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to: stop decreasing the first counter based on a first time having reached a first time threshold during rotation of the motor, the first time corresponding to a time elapsed from starting to decrease the first counter during rotation of the motor.
As to claim 10, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured (11) to stop decreasing the first counter based on a second time having reached a second time threshold during stop of the motor, the second time corresponding to a time elapsed from starting to decrease the first counter during stop of the motor.
As to claim 11, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to calculate the speed threshold based on a power supply voltage value and/or the voltage command value, the power supply voltage value corresponding to a magnitude of a power supply voltage output from the power supply. Claims 12-13 depend on allowable claim 11.
As to claim 14, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach a voltage detection circuit configured to detect a motor voltage value, the motor voltage value corresponding to a magnitude of a voltage input to the motor, wherein the first control circuit is configured to calculate the speed threshold based on the motor voltage value detected by the voltage detection circuit. Claim 15 depend on allowable claim 14.
As to claim 16, The prior art of records (Norell) fails to teach the first control circuit is configured to calculate a decrease rate of the first counter based on the first counter. Claim 17 depend on allowable claim 16.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Norell et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2010/0083462 A1) teaches (figs.1-24, abstract) system and method of controlling an SR motor for a vacuum system.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846