DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-17 and 20-22, in the reply filed on 27 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be an undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because the different groups are of different categories of invention that would require searches in different CPC areas as well as different text strings. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the phrase “90-120°C or greater” in lines 2-3 which is believed to be a typographical error as claim 4 recites a range of temperatures but then also states it can be greater than the range. Claim 4 should instead recite “90-120°C.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the term “slightly modified” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly modified” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, claims 1 and 8 are interpreted such that the word “slightly” has been deleted.
Claims 11-12 and 14 recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation 3% or less and the claim also recites 2% or less, or 1% or less which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 12 recites the broad recitation about 80°C to 100°C and the claim also recites about 85°C or less, about 90°C or less, or about 95°C or less, or about 100°C or less which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 4 1 recites the broad recitation greater than 3 mil and the claim also recites greater than 5 mil, or 3 mil to 25 mil, or 5 mil to 20 mil which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, claims 11-12 and 14 are interpreted as only reciting the first range.
Claims 2-7, 9-10, 13, 15-17, and 20-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, since these claims depend from the claims rejected above and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fearnley et al. (WO 2021211556 A1) in view of Severini (US 20140008368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fearnley teaches a thermoformable article comprising a multilayer film or sheet comprising: a layer (A1) (Fearnley’s layer B) which comprises a polyester composition comprising PET or a modified PET and a layer (B) (Fearnley’s layer A1) which comprises a copolyester composition comprising a TMCD modified PET, wherein the article is clear, hot-fillable, and recyclable in a PET recycle stream (RIC-1) (Fearnley, Abstract, Par. 0002, 0007-0011).
Fearnley is silent regarding the copolyester composition comprising at least one oxygen scavenger.
Severini teaches a multilayer film comprising a copolyester layer wherein the copolyester layer comprises an oxygen scavenger (Severini, Abstract, Par. 0041-0043).
Fearnley and Severini are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films comprising a copolyester layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the oxygen scavenger of Severini in the copolyester composition of Fernley. This would allow for high barrier properties while maintaining transparency (Severini, Par. 0041-0043).
Regarding claim 2, Fearnley teaches a thermoformable article comprising a multilayer film or sheet comprising: a layer (A1) (Fearnley’s layer B) which comprises a polyester composition comprising PET or a modified PET and a layer (B) (Fearnley’s layer A1) which comprises a copolyester composition comprising a high Tg copolyester, wherein the article is clear, hot-fillable, and recyclable in a PET recycle stream (RIC-1) (Fearnley, Abstract, Par. 0002, 0007-0011). Fearnley teaches the high Tg copolyester has a Tg of 90-120°C (Fearnley, Par. 0012-0014 and 0080-0081), which lies within the claimed range of 90-140°C and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Fearnley is silent regarding the copolyester composition comprising at least one oxygen scavenger.
Severini teaches a multilayer film comprising a copolyester layer wherein the copolyester layer comprises an oxygen scavenger (Severini, Abstract, Par. 0041-0043).
Fearnley and Severini are analogous art as they both teach multilayer films comprising a copolyester layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the oxygen scavenger of Severini in the copolyester composition of Fernley. This would allow for high barrier properties while maintaining transparency (Severini, Par. 0041-0043).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fearnley the thermoformable article is heat resistant and hot-fillable and would thus be capable of being microwaved, satisfying the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Fearnley teaches the copolyester composition of the layer (B) has a Tg of 90-120°C and the Tg of the polyester composition of the layer (A1) is from 73-83°C (Fearnley, Par. 0012-0014 and 0080-0082), which are the same as the claimed ranges and therefore satisfies the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 6, modified Fearnley teaches the copolyester composition comprises a dicarboxylic acid component comprising: 70-100 mol.% terephthalic acid and 0-30 mol.% aromatic and/or aliphatic dicarboxylic acid residues having up to 20 carbon atoms; and a diol component comprising: 0-100 mol.% EG, 0.01-50 mol.% TMCD, and 0-10 mol.% DEG (Fearnley, Par. 0018). Modified Fearnley’s dicarboxylic acid component ranges, TMCD range, and DEG range are the same or lie within the claimed ranges and therefore satisfy the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03. Modified Fearnley’s EG range overlaps the claimed range of 0-50 mol.% and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 7, modified Fearnley teaches the copolyester composition comprises 0.01-50 mol.% TMCD (Fearnley, Par. 0018), which overlaps the claimed range of about 15 to about 50 mol.% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 8, modified Fearnley teaches the polyester composition comprises a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 90-100 mol.% terephthalic acid and 0-10 mol.% of aromatic and/or aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having up to 20 carbon atoms; and a diol component comprising 90-100 mol.% EG, 0-10 mol.% CHDM, 0 mol% NPG, 0-10 mol.% TMCD, and 0-10 mol.% DEG (Fearnley, Par. 0021). These ranges are the same or lie within the claimed ranges and therefore satisfy the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claims 9-10, modified Fearnley the oxygen scavenger composition comprises a sacrificial polymer that is PTMEG and a catalyst that is a transition metal catalyst (Severini, Par. 0041-0045).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fearnley teaches the film has a haze of 3% or less (Fearnley, Par. 0027), which is the same as the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 12, modified Fearnley teaches the article is hot-fillable at temperatures of about 80-100°C (Fearnley, Par. 0028), which is the same as the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 13, modified Fearnley teaches the article has a melt temperature of 225-255°C (Fearnley, Par. 0031) , which is the same as the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 14, modified Fearnley teaches the film has a thickness of greater than 3 mil (Fearnley, Par. 0096), which is the same as the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 15, modified Fearnley teaches the film is produced by co-extrusion, lamination, or a blown film process (Fearnley, Par. 0032).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fearnley teaches the article has a (A1)/(B) structure (Fearnley, Par. 0034-0038).
Regarding claim 17, modified Fearnley teaches hot-filled applications such as packaging comprising the film (Fearnley, Par. 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 20, modified Fearnley teaches the inherent viscosity of the film is 0.5-1.20 dL/g (Fearnley, Par. 0079 and 0090), which is the same as the claimed range and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 21, modified Fearnley teaches the copolyester further comprising a branching agent and/or a chain extender (Fearnley, Par. 0074-0076).
Regarding claim 22, modified Fearnley teaches a polyester with recycle content (Fearnley, Par. 0044 and 0047).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782