DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Veen separates optical signals of different wavelengths and does not teach same wavelength signals or path based selection. The argument is moot because Crowe, not Veen, is relied upon for the amended limitations.
Applicant argues that Crowe’s multiple wavelengths embodiments use different wavelengths and select a wavelength specific PPG based on SNR. Examiner disagrees and submits that Crowe does not limit these embodiments to different wavelengths, each light source can have a different wavelength ([0107]), so same-wavelength sources at different carrier frequencies are contemplated. Further, Crowe’s best SNR selection ([0113]) selects among outputs each associated with a source to detector path does not remove path from the selection. Each output Crowe selects from is the signal from a particular light source to photodetector 306 ([0108], [0111]-[0113]), so the selection is based at least in part on the path as claimed. This is consistent with Applicant’s own selection based on “signal path and a signal to noise ratio” (specification, [0091]).
Applicant argues that Crowe’s single wavelength embodiment use one or more LEDs as a signal light source driven at a signal modulation frequency. Examiner disagrees and submits that Crowe teaches four light emitting devices 702 of a single wavelength ([0142]), with each light source optionally having its own driver and frequency. Crowe is therefore not limited to a single same-wavelength source.
Applicant argues that the combination does not use carrier frequencies to identify transmitter to receiver paths and select PPG signals based on those paths. Examiner disagrees and submits that Crowe demodulates each carrier frequency with a matching local oscillator ([0111]-[0112]) which associates each PPG signal with its source’s path, and correlates blood parameters with the relative spatial locations of the light sources ([0118]). Arguments that selection must rest on path identity alone are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, which recite “based at least in part on” the determined paths.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the first optical signal output and the second optical signal have the same wavelength” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the claim limitation is attempting to claim signal output, or just the signal. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to claim both the first and second optical signal outputs have the same length.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations “the first signal path” and “the second signal path” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110092824 A1 to Veen et al. (hereinafter, Veen) in view of US 20090306487 A1 to Crowe et al. (hereinafter, Crowe).
Regarding Claims 1, 11-13 and 16, Veen discloses an electronic wearable device ([0001] “The invention relates to the field of light attenuation measurements, and especially to a method of and a device for monitoring a vital parameter of a patient by measuring attenuation of light emitted onto tissue…”) comprising inter alia:
a modulator (modulator 6) configured to output a first and second modulated electronic signal having a first and second carrier frequency, respectively ([0047] “…in case of TDM the light sources 1, 2 are activated alternatingly, whereas for FDM the light sources 1, 2 radiate light simultaneously but with different modulation frequencies…”) ([0047] “…light modulator 6 which acts a pulse controller and modulates the light sources 1, 2.”);
a first optical transmitter (light source 1) coupled with the first modulator, configured to output a first optical signal based on the first modulated electronic signal, the first optical signal output into the user’s skin and having the first carrier frequency ([0047] “…in case of TDM the light sources 1, 2 are activated alternatingly, whereas for FDM the light sources 1, 2 radiate light simultaneously but with different modulation frequencies…”) ([0047] “…light modulator 6 which acts a pulse controller and modulates the light sources 1, 2.”);
a second optical transmitter (light source 2) coupled with the second modulator, configured to output a second optical signal based on the second modulated electronic signal, the second optical signal output into the user’s skin and having the second carrier frequency ([0047] “…in case of TDM the light sources 1, 2 are activated alternatingly, whereas for FDM the light sources 1, 2 radiate light simultaneously but with different modulation frequencies…”) ([0047] “…light modulator 6 which acts a pulse controller and modulates the light sources 1, 2.”);
an optical receiver (light detector 4) and configured to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal from the user’s skin as a broadband electronic signal including the first optical signal and the second optical signal associated with the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency, respectively ([0046] “…light which is transmitted through the finger 3 is then collected with a common light detector 4.”) ([0047] “…light detector 4 can be used to estimate the attenuation of the light from both light sources 1, 2.”), and output the broadband electronic signal (e.g., the signal prior to pre-processing) ([0048] The light detector 4 detects the light that has propagated through the medium of the finger 3 and converts it into an electrical signal.”);
an analog to digital converter (ADC 9) configured to receive the analog broadband electronic signal and output the broadband electronic signal as a stream of digital data values corresponding to the first optical signal and the second optical signal ([0048] “This signal is then pre-processed by a signal-conditioning block 8, which comprises analog amplifiers and band-pass filters, which make the signal suitable for conversion to the digital domain by an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 9.”);
a memory element configured to store the first carrier frequency as corresponding to the first optical signal and the second carrier frequency as corresponding to the second optical signal (While Veen does not expressly disclose the term “memory” it would have been notoriously obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed understand that a memory in the device would be absolutely necessary because it is disclosed in [0048] that the signals are converted to the digital domain, which would require a memory for the device to function and carrier the multiple signals. Therefore, a memory addition would have been extremely obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art); and
(Claims 1 and 11) a first receive processor circuit (one of correlators 10 including demodulator 11 corresponding to first modulation signal) configured to receive the broadband electronic signal and output a first photoplethysmogram (PPG) electronic signal ([0037] …he device is a pulse oximeter.”) corresponding to the first optical signal based on the first carrier frequency ([0048] “Correlators 10, each comprising a demodulator 11 and a demultiplexer 12, are used to simultaneously demodulate and demultiplex the detected light, and the results are presented to the processing unit 5, which determines the parameters of interest by evaluating the transmitted and demodulated signals. For that, the processing unit comprises an interference analyzer 14.”);
a second receive processor circuit (a second one of correlators 10 including demodulator 11 corresponding to first modulation signal) configured to receive the broadband electronic signal and output a second PPG electronic signal ([0037] …he device is a pulse oximeter.”) corresponding to the second optical signal based on the second carrier frequency ([0048] “Correlators 10, each comprising a demodulator 11 and a demultiplexer 12, are used to simultaneously demodulate and demultiplex the detected light, and the results are presented to the processing unit 5, which determines the parameters of interest by evaluating the transmitted and demodulated signals. For that, the processing unit comprises an interference analyzer 14.”);
(Claims 12, 16) a processor (correlators 10 comprising demodulator 11 and demultiplexer 12) coupled with the analog to digital converter and the memory element, the processor configured to: receive the digital broadband electronic signal having the first carrier frequency components and the second carrier frequency components, generate a first filtered electronic signal and a second filtered electronic signal having the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency, respectively, demodulate the first filtered electronic signal and the second filtered electronic signal by extracting the amplitude of the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency, respectively, and output a first PPG electronic signal and a second PPG electronic signal corresponding to the demodulated first filtered electronic signal and the demodulated second filtered electronic signal, respectively ([0048] “The light detector 4 detects the light that has propagated through the medium of the finger 3 and converts it into an electrical signal. This signal is then pre-processed by a signal-conditioning block 8, which comprises analog amplifiers and band-pass filters, which make the signal suitable for conversion to the digital domain by an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) 9. Correlators 10, each comprising a demodulator 11 and a demultiplexer 12, are used to simultaneously demodulate and demultiplex the detected light, and the results are presented to the processing unit 5, which determines the parameters of interest by evaluating the transmitted and demodulated signals. For that, the processing unit comprises an interference analyzer 14.”);
(Claims 2, 17) wherein the broadband electronic signal includes the first carrier frequency and the second carrier frequency as frequency components ([0046] “…light which is transmitted through the finger 3 is then collected with a common light detector 4.”) ([0047] “…light detector 4 can be used to estimate the attenuation of the light from both light sources 1, 2.”) (e.g., prior to demultiplexing the detected light signals the light signals, prior to digital conversion, include both carrier signals);
(Claim 3) wherein the first receive processor circuit is electrically coupled with the optical receiver and includes a first filter configured to receive the broadband electronic signal, perform a band pass function based on the first carrier frequency, and output a first filtered electronic signal having the first carrier frequency (via low-pass filter 13, [0049];
(Claim 4) wherein the first receive processor circuit includes a first demodulator configured to receive the first filtered electronic signal, extract the amplitude of the first carrier frequency, and output the first PPG electronic signal (demodulator 11, [0049]);
(Claim 5) wherein the second receive processor circuit is electrically coupled with the optical receiver and includes a second band pass filter configured to receive the broadband electronic signal, perform a band pass function based on the second carrier frequency, and output a second filtered electronic signal having the second carrier frequency (e.g., for each additional light source, there are additional band-pass filters, [0049] sets forth the arrangement for a single light source, which would be multiplied to be equal the number of light sources);
(Claim 6) wherein the second receive processor circuit includes a second demodulator configured to receive the second filtered electronic signal, extract the amplitude of the second carrier frequency, and output the second PPG electronic signal (e.g., for each additional light source, there are additional demodulators, [0049] sets forth the arrangement for a single light source, which would be multiplied to be equal the number of light sources);;
(Claim 9) The electronic wearable device of claim 1, wherein the first receive processor circuit includes a first analog to digital converter configured to receive the first PPG electronic signal and output the first PPG electronic signal as a stream of digital data values that represent a PPG waveform, and wherein the second receive processor circuit includes a second analog to digital converter configured to receive the second PPG electronic signal and output the second PPG electronic signal as a stream of digital data values that represent a PPG waveform.
Veen discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing (Claims 1, 11, 12, 16) where there are two modulators (e.g., rather than one modulator as set forth in Veen) configured to output first and second modulated electronic signals having first and second carrier frequencies, respectively. Veen also does not expressly disclose (Claim 1, 8, 10, 13, 14, 19, 20) a housing including a bottom wall configured to contact a user’s skin, where the first and second optical transmitters (e.g., light sources 1 and 2) and optical receiver (e.g., light detector 4) are positioned on the bottom wall. Veen also does not expressly disclose (Claims 1, 11, 16) wherein the first optical signal output and the second optical signal have the same wavelength and a signal processor configured to: determine, based on the first carrier frequency, that the first PPG electronic signal is associated with a first signal path extending between the first optical transmitter and the optical receiver: determine, based on the second carrier frequency, that the second PPG electronic signal is associated with a second signal path extending between the second optical transmitter and the optical receiver; select at least one selected PPG electronic signal from the first PPG electronic signal and the second PPG electronic signal based at least in part on the determined first signal path and the determined second signal path; and determine physiological information about the user based at least in part on the at least one selected PPG electronic signal.
However, (Claims 1, 11, 12, 16) Crowe teaches a reference in analogous art, one that is a photoplethysmograph device that uses multiple light sources, multiple modulators, and multiple light detectors for generation of plethysmogram signals indicative of blood volume as a function of time and/or blood composition for each of the demodulator outputs ([0030]-[0035]). Crowe specifically teaches that two modulators are used for driving the light sources such that the output intensity of each light source varies as a function of a modulation signal at a modulation frequency ([0032]). One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the single modulator of Veen to include the concept of multiple modulators of Crowe, as Crowe teaches that wavelengths modulated by multiple modulators would have allowed for selection of optical wavelengths for optimum SNG for detection of pulse and breathing rate but also allow for radiometric measures to be carried out to determine blood constituents ([0113]). Furthermore, such modification to add a second modulator to Veen would have been duplication of essential working parts, because Crowe explicitly teaches that additional wavelengths are implemented by adding additional drivers ([0113]) - each driver provides the same modulated drive function as the original driver.
Additionally, (Claim 1, 8, 10, 13, 14, 19, 20) Crowne teaches a housing including a bottom wall (substrate 701, FIGS. 6-7) capable of contact the user’s skin, where the bottom wall has a plurality of optical transmitters (light emitting devices 702) and an optical receiver (photodiode 704) ([0142]) each at different locations on the bottom wall. One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the transmitter and receiver of Veen to be arranged on the bottom wall, each at different locations, as suggested Crowne, as Crowne teaches at [0057] this would have allowed the elements to be disposed adjacent to one another so they can be directed substantially to the same point on the same surface of the target body. A skilled artisan would have recognized that such modification would be advantageous to provide a more compact, co-mounted structure, and would have been a practical, integrated implementation of the optical components.
Lastly, (Claims 1, 11, 16) Crown teaches wherein the first optical signal output and the second optical signal have the same wavelength ([0107] “a plurality of drivers and light sources can be used. Each light source can consist of one or more optical emitters that emit light at a single, given wavelength or range of wavelengths.”) ([0142] “four light emitting devices 702 for emitting modulated light signals of a single wavelength”), and a signal processor configured to: determine, based on the first carrier frequency, that the first PPG electronic signal is associated with a first signal path extending between the first optical transmitter and the optical receiver: determine, based on the second carrier frequency, that the second PPG electronic signal is associated with a second signal path extending between the second optical transmitter and the optical receiver (0108] “A photodetector 306 is provided to detect light after its interaction with the target object 305”) ([0111] “Multiple demodulators 309 and 310 are provided for demodulating the output of the band pass filter to recover the plethysmogram at each modulating carrier frequency”) ([0118] “The pixel array enables the production of a spatial map of blood parameters”), select at least one selected PPG electronic signal from the first PPG electronic signal and the second PPG electronic signal based at least in part on the determined first signal path and the determined second signal path ([0113] “means for automatically selecting one of the demodulated outputs S1(t), S2(t) that provides the best SNR for the data to be extracted from the plethysmogram.”) ([0144] “The lateral separation between the LEDs 702 and photodiode active area 703 increases the path length that the light must travel through the tissue which improves the signal.”); and determine physiological information about the user based at least in part on the at least one selected PPG electronic signal ([0113] “optimum SNR for the detection of pulse and breathing rate”).
One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to drive the first and second optical transmitters of Veen at the same wavelength, associate each demodulated PPG electronic signal with its transmitter-to-receiver signal path by carrier frequency, and select the PPG electronic signal for determining physiological information as taught by Crowe, because Crowe teaches that this would have allowed selecting the signal with the best signal quality ([0113]) and that the signal path between a source and the detector affects signal quality ([0144]).
Claim(s) 7, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veen in view of Crowne as applied to claims 1, 11 or 16 above, and further in view of CN 107980208 A (hereinafter, ‘208)
Veen in view of Crowne disclose wherein the first optical transmitter and the second optical transmitter are each a light-emitting diode (LED) (Veen [0006] “…light emitting diodes…”), and wherein the optical receiver is a photodiode (Veen [0048] “…light detector 4 detects the light… and converts it into an electrical signal.”) (Crowne “photodiode 704”). Veen does not expressly disclose where the first and second modulator each include a transconductance amplifier. However, ’208 teaches that a skilled artisan would have recognized that the use of a transconductance amplifier would have improved signal to noise ratio (see translated paragraphs of ‘208).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791