Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/28/2025, for application number 18/637,990 filed on 04/17/2024, in which claims 1-20 were originally presented for examination.
Claims 1, 7, 13, 17, 19, and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/28/2025 in response to the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application. Therefore, the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
Regarding claim 3, 15, and 19, Applicant alleges that “The Applicant respectfully assert that in Akachi, termination is conditioned upon determination by the display controller that the cabin of the moving object is “fully occupied”, wherein, in the present application and as recited in claim 3, the system automatically logs out upon detection that the user has exited the vehicle. Therefore, Shen in view of Zhou, Ryan and Akachi fails to teach or suggest all the claim limitations of claim 3” (Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/28/2025 at pg. 4).
Examiner disagrees. Claim 3 recites and claims 15 and 19 similarly recite “detect, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has exited the vehicle, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions.”
Initially, it is noted that the limitation does not necessarily require automatically terminate the display upon detection that the user has exited the vehicle. The detection and the termination may happen independently since the limitation does not recite relationship between the detection and the termination.
Further, Akachi states that the display controller releases the account connection when multiple conditions are met. The conditions include (1) when the target user is not present in the cabin and (2) when the cabin of the moving object has been fully occupied (see Akachi at FIG. 5 and para. [0111]-[0112]). Therefore, the release is conditioned at least upon the user exited the cabin.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections of claims 3, 15, and 19 are maintained.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Applicant alleges that “The Examiner points to Paragraph [0043] of Akachi as disclosing a plurality of individual display screens, however, the Applicant respectfully asserts that none of the cited prior art, including Akachi, teaches or discloses the limitations of claim 9 presented above (plurality of reflectors, etc. and transparent cylindrical touch screen, etc.), and the Examiner provides no reference to language in Akachi, or any of the cited prior art, that teaches or discloses these limitations” (Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 10/28/2025 at pg. 5).
Examiner disagrees. Claim 9 recites and claim 20 similarly recites “wherein the user display system comprises one of: a plurality of individual display screens … or a single display system ….” (emphasis added).
Initially, the limitation does not require both of the display screens and the single display system. The limitation requires only one of the plurality of individual display screens or the single display system. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments alleging that Examiner provides no reference to language in Akachi regarding the single display is not effective because Examiner provided analysis on the plurality of individual display screens.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections of claims 9 and 20 are maintained.
FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
The specification recites “the proximity of the personal objects 134A, 134B, 134C, 134D” in at least para. [0044], but the drawings do not include the reference signs “134A, 134B, 134C, 134D.”
The specification recites “the suitcase 134D” in at least para. [00103], but the drawings do not include the reference sign “134D.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites “the proximity of the personal objects 134A, 134B, 134C, 134D” in at least para. [0044] and “the suitcase 134D” in at least para. [00103]. However, the drawings do not include the reference signs 134A, 134B, 134C, 134D. Also, the reference sign 134D is associated with two different terms, “personal object” and “suitcase.”
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 113119877 A) in view of Zhou (CN 107599971 A) further in view of Ryan (US 2023/0186509 A1) and Akachi (US 2025/0262939 A1). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Shen and Zhou, copies of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a system for automatically logging a user out of user specific content displayed on a vehicle display, comprising:
a vehicle display server positioned within a vehicle (Shen at pg. 1, ln. 25-26: “vehicle-mounted screen control system, which includes a camera module, a display screen, and a control module”) and in communication with:
a plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 9-10: “the on-board screen control system may also include a seat sensor, which is electrically connected to the control module”) and adapted to:
track head and eye position and movement of users seated within a plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 12-14: “when the seat sensor detects a person on the rear seat of the vehicle, the camera module starts to work, that is, the camera module continuously detects the head image of the rear passenger of the vehicle and transmits the collected head image to the control module”; pg. 4, ln. 22-24: “The original coordinates below are compared, where the target feature includes the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image”; The peripheral contour includes head and eye positions);
detect locations of users within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”) and
a user display system positioned within the vehicle for viewing and interaction by users seated within the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 1, ln. 28-29: “the display screen is arranged on the back of the front seat of the vehicle and is electrically connected to the control module”; pg. 3, ln. 20: “It should be noted that this application does not limit the specific number of display screens”);
the vehicle display server adapted to:
identify, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, computer vision algorithms and stored data, an identity of the user (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 25-31: “the on-board screen control system can pre-store the facial contours of several frequent passengers in the calibration mode when they look at the display screen, and extract the feature points of the facial contours in this state The three-dimensional coordinates of is used as the original coordinates of the passenger viewing the display screen. When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”);
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, a first one of the plurality of seating positions within which the user sits (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”);
detect when the user is no longer viewing the user specific content on the user display system (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 28-31: “When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”); and
automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content when the user is no longer viewing the user specific content on the user display system (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 23-25: “if it is determined that the state of the passenger's head is viewing the display screen, the control module controls the display screen to turn on, and if it is determined that the passenger's head state is the state of not viewing the display screen, the control module controls the display screen to turn off”).
However, Shen does not explicitly state
detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle;
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle;
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user;
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle;
detect when a user enters the vehicle;
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user;
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms, the detected personal objects, with the user based on timing of arrival of the user and the detected personal objects, proximity of the personal objects to the user when the detected objects are first detected, and probabilistic calculations;
display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 9, ln. 8-12: “continuously detects the characteristics of the occupants and baggage during driving, when the passenger's seat position changes, and the baggage characteristics change. When the position of the rack is changed, the data is sent to the calculation processing module 2 to re-bind the baggage and the passenger, and the passenger and the seat are re-bound or an alarm is issued”);
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”);
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 19-21: “It is also possible to provide a vibrator in the passenger seat and to control the vibration (vibration) of the vibrator by means of the prompt module 3 to remind the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
detect when a user enters the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”);
associate, (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 1-4: “The processor 21 of the calculation processing module 2 of the present invention may also include a seat bag binding module. The module can bind the passenger's baggage information (baggage information can include the baggage's characteristic information and/or rack rack [sic] number) and the rack rack's [sic] location information to the passenger's ID, respectively”; pg. 7, ln. 7-11: “After the passenger gets on the bus, when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage, the image sensor or pressure sensor on the luggage rack senses changes in the lighting of the seat, changes in pressure, characteristics of the baggage, and thus determines which baggage has luggage and luggage. Features, and then to monitor the passenger's corresponding baggage information and rack position, and then the passenger's baggage information, rack position and passenger ID binding”; pg. 7, ln. 14-15: “The pressure sensor can detect the baggage rack position or the seat position of the baggage corresponding to a certain passenger, as well as corresponding changes”; The baggage information is bound to (i.e., “associate with”) the passenger ID (i.e., “user”) based on the timing when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage after gets on the bus (i.e., “timing of arrival”) and based on the rack position and the seat position of the passenger (i.e., “proximity of the personal objects to the user”) when the baggage is first detected by the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen by adding the detecting steps, the haptic feedback devices, and associating of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou is to provide enhanced perception of feedback and to prevent unattended luggage issues.
However, Shen in view of Zhou does not explicitly state:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms,
and probabilistic calculations;
display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryan teaches:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms (Ryan at para. [0034]: “The machine learning techniques then create a dataset of bag images and their extracted features and may also save tag number for bag image. In addition, embodiments of the invention may comprise processing using preprocessing, image processing techniques, and computer vision methods”; para. [0073]: “The image 121 is processed and analyzed by a machine learning algorithm 122 and identified by matching the image 121 to the set of images of deposited articles 111. Once identified, the associated passenger 112 and passenger identifier 113 may be determined”),
and probabilistic calculations (Ryan at para. [0208]: “When proposing a shortlist of 10 bags for the passenger to select from, the likelihood that the correct bag will be listed in that shortlist is 96% at best and approximately 70% at worst”; It is necessary to perform probabilistic calculations to calculate the likelihood).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou by adding the artificial intelligence, machine learning, and probabilistic calculations of Ryan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan is to prevent mishandling of articles.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan does not explicitly state display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Akachi teaches display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user (Akachi at para. [0073]: “the one display device 13 arranged for the target seat is also referred to as a ‘target display device 13T’, and a content designated by a content output instruction from the target user is also referred to as a ‘target content’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan by adding displaying the user specific content of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide user friendly displays.
Office Note: The limitations “logging a user out of user specific content” and “log-out from the user specific content” are interpreted as “ending connection to the user specific content” (see “Log out.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/log%20out. Accessed 23 Sep. 2025.).
Regarding claim 2, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 1.
Shen further discloses wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect when the user has looked away from the user display system and is still seated within the first one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 19-21: “the control module processes the head image collected by the camera module to determine whether the passenger's head status is the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display The status of the screen”);
when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 34-36: “when the display screen is turned on, if the passenger does not watch the display screen and the time that the passenger is not viewing the display screen is longer than the second preset time, the control module controls the display screen to turn off. Set the time to 3s”).
Akachi further teaches pause display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system (Akachi at para. [0105]: “when the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114, YES), the display controller 26 stops the output of the target content on the target display device 13T while maintaining the connection state to the account connected in step S100 (S116 in FIG. 5)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding pausing the display of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to improve security and enhance convenience.
Regarding claim 3, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 2.
Akachi further teaches wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect when the user has moved away from the one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Akachi at para. [0103]: “the display controller 26 determines whether the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114)”);
pause display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0105]: “when the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114, YES), the display controller 26 stops the output of the target content on the target display device 13T while maintaining the connection state to the account connected in step S100 (S116 in FIG. 5)”); and at least one of:
when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0106]: “the display controller 26 determines whether a predetermined standby time has elapsed since the output of the target content was stopped in step S116 (S118). When the standby time has elapsed (S118, YES), the processing is shifted to step S130 to release the account connection and terminate the processing”);
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has moved to a second one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0110]: “When the target user PT is present in the cabin 10 (S124, YES), the display controller 26 identifies, as the target display device 13T, the display device of the seat 12 in which the target user PT is currently seated, and resumes the output of the target content of which the output has been stopped in step S116 on the target display device 13T (S126)”);
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that another passenger has moved into the first one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0109]: “when seating of some occupant P is detected (S120, YES), the identification unit 25 creates or updates the identification information 24 for the seated occupant P (S122)”); and
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has exited the vehicle, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0111]: “when the target user PT is not present in the cabin 10 in step S124 (S124, NO), the display controller 26 determines, based on the information from the identification unit 25, whether the cabin 10 of the moving object 2 has been fully occupied (S128)”; para. [0112]: “when the cabin 10 of the moving object 2 has been fully occupied (S128, YES), the display controller 26 releases the account connection performed in step S104 (S130), and terminates this processing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding automatically terminate and log-out of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to improve security and enhance convenience.
Regarding claim 4, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 3.
Zhou further teaches wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has left at least one personal object associated with the user at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”; pg. 7, ln. 5-6: “The pressure sensor (piezoelectric sensor) can monitor bending and pressure, and when used as a seat monitoring function, it can monitor the motion of the user to sit up and get up”); and
provide an alert for the user to notify the user that at least one personal object associated with the user has been left within the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 5, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 4.
Zhou further teaches wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”); and
provide an alert for the user to notify the user that the user has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 6, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 5.
Zhou further teaches wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when a different passenger within the vehicle has moved from one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”); and
provide an alert for the user to notify the user that another passenger has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 7, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 6.
Zhou further teaches wherein, the alert provided by the vehicle display server includes:
an audible chime or bell (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
verbal alerts broadcast generally within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
(Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”; pg. 11, ln. 5-8: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) for reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
user specific graphics and textual messages displayed on the user display system (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
user specific haptic alerts provided by the plurality of haptic devices within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 27-28: “a reminding command is sent to the prompting module 3 to control the seat vibration”); and
disabling doors of the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 14-15: “when the calculation processing module 2 detects that the passenger has missed baggage or misses the baggage, a control signal is sent to the door opening and closing system to control the door to not close”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Akachi further teaches directional (Akachi at para. [0049]: “The speakers 14L and 14R function as left speakers and right speakers for outputting stereophonic sounds to the occupants P seated in the corresponding seats 12, respectively”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the directional sound system of Akachi, which may replace any sound system, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide directional sound to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 8, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 7.
Zhou further teaches further including a personal device of the user that is registered with and linked to the system, wherein alerts provided by the vehicle display server include alerts sent to the user’s personal device (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 16-19: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) to implement reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the personal device of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 9, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 1.
Akachi further teaches wherein the user display system comprises one of:
a plurality of individual display screens adapted to display information and receive input from a user, one individual display screen associated with each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Akachi at para. [0043]: “the display devices 13a, 13b, 13c, 13d, 13e, 13f, and 13g are collectively referred to as display devices 13”; para. [0045]: “the display device 13 is a touch panel that has both a display function and a function for inputting an operation by a user”; para. [0073]: “the one display device 13 arranged for the target seat is also referred to as a ‘target display device 13T’, and a content designated by a content output instruction from the target user is also referred to as a ‘target content’”); or
a single display system comprising:
at least one display for projecting an image;
a plurality of reflectors, each reflector associated with a one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and adapted to reflect a projected image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions, such that a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle; and
a transparent cylindrical touch screen display positioned between the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and the plurality of reflectors and adapted to display user specific content for users at each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and receive input from each of the users at each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the plurality of individual display screens of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to enhance convenience.
Regarding claim 12, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 1.
Zhou further teaches further including a cloud-based host server in communication, via a wireless communication network, with the vehicle display server within the vehicle, the cloud-based host server adapted to receive and store historical data related to past instances of identification of the user by the vehicle display server within the vehicle and by other vehicles linked to the system and association of personal objects with the user (Zhou at pg. 11, ln. 33-37: “the targeted alighting reminding method according to an embodiment of the present invention may also be distributedly deployed at a server (or cloud) and a personal terminal. For example, passenger information input, passenger and seat binding, and passenger and baggage binding are performed on the server side (or cloud), and the server side (or cloud) binds the generated passenger information, passenger and seat binding data, and passengers”; pg. 13, ln. 14-16: “the characteristics of the passenger are detected and stored by the image sensor and the infrared sensor at the time of getting on and off the vehicle, and the characteristics of the passenger and the luggage are continuously detected during driving”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the cloud-based host server of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide network system for data collection and transmission.
Ryan further teaches wherein, when identifying the user and associating personal objects with the user, the vehicle display server is adapted to utilize machine learning and artificial intelligence algorithms and probabilistic calculations based on the stored historical data (Ryan at para. [0032]: “These categories may then be recorded in a database and processed using a baggage identification program, or displayed, to assist in baggage handling system”; para. [0070]: “In a collection phase 110, images of deposited articles 111 are associated with the corresponding passenger 112 who deposited the article 111. In preferred embodiments, this is achieved by identifying a unique passenger identifier 113 for each passenger and a unique baggage identifier 114 for each article of baggage”; para. [0073]: “The image 121 is processed and analyzed by a machine learning algorithm 122 and identified by matching the image 121 to the set of images of deposited articles 111. Once identified, the associated passenger 112 and passenger identifier 113 may be determined”; para. [0107]: “Machine learning and computer vision methods and libraries may also be advantageously used. Pictures and videos obtained from cameras within the system may also be streamed to a local server or a cloud based data center”; ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the artificial intelligence and machine learning of Ryan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent mishandling of articles.
Regarding claim 13, Shen discloses a method of automatically logging a user out of user specific content displayed on a vehicle display having a vehicle display server positioned within a vehicle and in communication with:
a plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 9-10: “the on-board screen control system may also include a seat sensor, which is electrically connected to the control module”) and adapted to:
track head and eye position and movement of users seated within a plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 12-14: “when the seat sensor detects a person on the rear seat of the vehicle, the camera module starts to work, that is, the camera module continuously detects the head image of the rear passenger of the vehicle and transmits the collected head image to the control module”; pg. 4, ln. 22-24: “The original coordinates below are compared, where the target feature includes the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image”; The peripheral contour includes head and eye positions);
detect locations of users within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”) and
a user display system positioned within the vehicle for viewing and interaction by users seated within the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 1, ln. 28-29: “the display screen is arranged on the back of the front seat of the vehicle and is electrically connected to the control module”; pg. 3, ln. 20: “It should be noted that this application does not limit the specific number of display screens”);
the method including, with the vehicle display server:
identifying, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, computer vision algorithms and stored data, an identity of the user (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 25-31: “the on-board screen control system can pre-store the facial contours of several frequent passengers in the calibration mode when they look at the display screen, and extract the feature points of the facial contours in this state The three-dimensional coordinates of is used as the original coordinates of the passenger viewing the display screen. When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”);
detecting, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, a first one of the plurality of seating positions within which the user sits (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”);
detecting when the user is no longer viewing the user specific content on the user display system (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 28-31: “When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”); and
automatically terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content when the user is no longer viewing the user specific content on the user display system (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 23-25: “if it is determined that the state of the passenger's head is viewing the display screen, the control module controls the display screen to turn on, and if it is determined that the passenger's head state is the state of not viewing the display screen, the control module controls the display screen to turn off”).
However, Shen does not explicitly state
detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle;
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle;
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user;
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle;
detecting when a user enters the vehicle;
detecting, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user;
associating, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms, the detected personal objects, with the user based on timing of arrival of the user and the detected personal objects, proximity of the personal objects to the user when the detected objects are first detected, and probabilistic calculations;
displaying user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 9, ln. 8-12: “continuously detects the characteristics of the occupants and baggage during driving, when the passenger's seat position changes, and the baggage characteristics change. When the position of the rack is changed, the data is sent to the calculation processing module 2 to re-bind the baggage and the passenger, and the passenger and the seat are re-bound or an alarm is issued”);
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”);
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 19-21: “It is also possible to provide a vibrator in the passenger seat and to control the vibration (vibration) of the vibrator by means of the prompt module 3 to remind the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
detecting when a user enters the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detecting, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”).
associating, (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 1-4: “The processor 21 of the calculation processing module 2 of the present invention may also include a seat bag binding module. The module can bind the passenger's baggage information (baggage information can include the baggage's characteristic information and/or rack rack [sic] number) and the rack rack's [sic] location information to the passenger's ID, respectively”; pg. 7, ln. 7-11: “After the passenger gets on the bus, when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage, the image sensor or pressure sensor on the luggage rack senses changes in the lighting of the seat, changes in pressure, characteristics of the baggage, and thus determines which baggage has luggage and luggage. Features, and then to monitor the passenger's corresponding baggage information and rack position, and then the passenger's baggage information, rack position and passenger ID binding”; pg. 7, ln. 14-15: “The pressure sensor can detect the baggage rack position or the seat position of the baggage corresponding to a certain passenger, as well as corresponding changes”; The baggage information is bound to (i.e., “associate with”) the passenger ID (i.e., “user”) based on the timing when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage after gets on the bus (i.e., “timing of arrival”) and based on the rack position and the seat position of the passenger (i.e., “proximity of the personal objects to the user”) when the baggage is first detected by the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen by adding the detecting steps, the haptic feedback devices, and associating of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou is to provide enhanced perception of feedback and to prevent unattended luggage issues.
However, Shen in view of Zhou does not explicitly state:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms,
and probabilistic calculations;
displaying user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryan teaches:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms (Ryan at para. [0034]: “The machine learning techniques then create a dataset of bag images and their extracted features and may also save tag number for bag image. In addition, embodiments of the invention may comprise processing using preprocessing, image processing techniques, and computer vision methods”; para. [0073]: “The image 121 is processed and analyzed by a machine learning algorithm 122 and identified by matching the image 121 to the set of images of deposited articles 111. Once identified, the associated passenger 112 and passenger identifier 113 may be determined”),
and probabilistic calculations (Ryan at para. [0208]: “When proposing a shortlist of 10 bags for the passenger to select from, the likelihood that the correct bag will be listed in that shortlist is 96% at best and approximately 70% at worst”; It is necessary to perform probabilistic calculations to calculate the likelihood).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou by adding the artificial intelligence, machine learning, and probabilistic calculations of Ryan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan is to prevent mishandling of articles.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan does not explicitly state displaying user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Akachi teaches displaying user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user (Akachi at para. [0073]: “the one display device 13 arranged for the target seat is also referred to as a ‘target display device 13T’, and a content designated by a content output instruction from the target user is also referred to as a ‘target content’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan by adding displaying the user specific content of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide user friendly displays.
Office Note: The limitations “logging a user out of user specific content” and “log-out from the user specific content” are interpreted as “ending connection to the user specific content” (see “Log out.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/log%20out. Accessed 23 Sep. 2025.).
Regarding claim 14, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the method of claim 13.
Shen further discloses further including, with the vehicle display server: detecting when the user has looked away from the user display system and is still seated within the first one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 19-21: “the control module processes the head image collected by the camera module to determine whether the passenger's head status is the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display The status of the screen”);
when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content (Shen at pg. 5, ln. 34-36: “when the display screen is turned on, if the passenger does not watch the display screen and the time that the passenger is not viewing the display screen is longer than the second preset time, the control module controls the display screen to turn off. Set the time to 3s”).
Akachi further teaches pausing display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system (Akachi at para. [0105]: “when the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114, YES), the display controller 26 stops the output of the target content on the target display device 13T while maintaining the connection state to the account connected in step S100 (S116 in FIG. 5)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding pausing the display of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to improve security and enhance convenience.
Regarding claim 15, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the method of claim 14.
Akachi further teaches further including, with the vehicle display server:
detecting when the user has moved away from the one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Akachi at para. [0103]: “the display controller 26 determines whether the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114)”);
pausing display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0105]: “when the target user PT has left the target seat 12T (S114, YES), the display controller 26 stops the output of the target content on the target display device 13T while maintaining the connection state to the account connected in step S100 (S116 in FIG. 5)”); and, at least one of:
when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, automatically terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content that is being displayed on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0106]: “the display controller 26 determines whether a predetermined standby time has elapsed since the output of the target content was stopped in step S116 (S118). When the standby time has elapsed (S118, YES), the processing is shifted to step S130 to release the account connection and terminate the processing”);
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has moved to a second one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0110]: “When the target user PT is present in the cabin 10 (S124, YES), the display controller 26 identifies, as the target display device 13T, the display device of the seat 12 in which the target user PT is currently seated, and resumes the output of the target content of which the output has been stopped in step S116 on the target display device 13T (S126)”);
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, that another passenger has moved into the first one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0109]: “when seating of some occupant P is detected (S120, YES), the identification unit 25 creates or updates the identification information 24 for the seated occupant P (S122)”); and
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has exited the vehicle, and automatically terminating display of the user specific content and automatically logging-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Akachi at para. [0111]: “when the target user PT is not present in the cabin 10 in step S124 (S124, NO), the display controller 26 determines, based on the information from the identification unit 25, whether the cabin 10 of the moving object 2 has been fully occupied (S128)”; para. [0112]: “when the cabin 10 of the moving object 2 has been fully occupied (S128, YES), the display controller 26 releases the account connection performed in step S104 (S130), and terminates this processing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding automatically terminate and log-out of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to improve security and enhance convenience.
Regarding claim 16, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the method of claim 15.
Zhou further teaches further including, with the vehicle display server:
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has left at least one personal object associated with the user at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”; pg. 7, ln. 5-6: “The pressure sensor (piezoelectric sensor) can monitor bending and pressure, and when used as a seat monitoring function, it can monitor the motion of the user to sit up and get up”), and providing an alert for the user to notify the user that at least one personal object associated with the user has been left within the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”);
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”), and providing an alert for the user to notify the user that the user has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”); and
detecting, with the plurality of sensors, when a different passenger within the vehicle has moved from one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”), and providing an alert for the user to notify the user that another passenger has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 17, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the method of claim 16.
Zhou further teaches wherein, the providing an alert by the vehicle display server includes:
providing an audible chime or bell (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
providing verbal alerts broadcast generally within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
providing (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”; pg. 11, ln. 5-8: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) for reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
providing user specific graphics and textual messages displayed on the user display system (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
providing user specific haptic alerts with the plurality of haptic devices within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 27-28: “a reminding command is sent to the prompting module 3 to control the seat vibration”); and
disabling doors of the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 14-15: “when the calculation processing module 2 detects that the passenger has missed baggage or misses the baggage, a control signal is sent to the door opening and closing system to control the door to not close”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Akachi further teaches directional (Akachi at para. [0049]: “The speakers 14L and 14R function as left speakers and right speakers for outputting stereophonic sounds to the occupants P seated in the corresponding seats 12, respectively”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the directional sound system of Akachi, which may replace any sound system, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide directional sound to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 18, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the method of claim 17.
Zhou further teaches wherein the system further includes a personal device of the user that is registered with and linked to the system, wherein, the providing an alert by the vehicle display server further includes sending an alert to the user’s personal device (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 16-19: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) to implement reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the personal device of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Regarding claim 19, Shen discloses a system for automatically logging a user out of user specific content displayed on a vehicle display, comprising:
a vehicle display server positioned within a vehicle (Shen at pg. 1, ln. 25-26: “vehicle-mounted screen control system, which includes a camera module, a display screen, and a control module”) and in communication with:
a plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 9-10: “the on-board screen control system may also include a seat sensor, which is electrically connected to the control module”) and adapted to:
track head and eye position and movement of users seated within a plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 12-14: “when the seat sensor detects a person on the rear seat of the vehicle, the camera module starts to work, that is, the camera module continuously detects the head image of the rear passenger of the vehicle and transmits the collected head image to the control module”; pg. 4, ln. 22-24: “The original coordinates below are compared, where the target feature includes the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image”; The peripheral contour includes head and eye positions);
detect locations of users within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”) and
a user display system positioned within the vehicle for viewing and interaction by users seated within the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Shen at pg. 1, ln. 28-29: “the display screen is arranged on the back of the front seat of the vehicle and is electrically connected to the control module”; pg. 3, ln. 20: “It should be noted that this application does not limit the specific number of display screens”);
the vehicle display server adapted to:
identify, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, computer vision algorithms and stored data, an identity of the user (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 25-31: “the on-board screen control system can pre-store the facial contours of several frequent passengers in the calibration mode when they look at the display screen, and extract the feature points of the facial contours in this state The three-dimensional coordinates of is used as the original coordinates of the passenger viewing the display screen. When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”);
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, a first one of the plurality of seating positions within which the user sits (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 10-11: “the control module is also used to detect whether there are passengers on the rear seats of the vehicle according to the seat sensor”);
at least one of:
detect when the user is no longer viewing (Shen at pg. 4, ln. 28-31: “When the passenger is riding in the vehicle, the three-dimensional coordinates of each feature point of the peripheral contour of the face in the head image of the passenger in the current state are extracted and compared with the original coordinates to determine The passenger is in the state of watching the display screen or not watching the display screen”);
detect when the user has looked away from the user display system and is still seated within the first one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, and pause display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system, and when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content;
detect when the user has moved away from the one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, and pause display of the user specific content for the user on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions, and at least one of:
when a pre-determined amount of time has passed, automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed on the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions;
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has moved to a second one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions;
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that another passenger has moved into the first one of the plurality of seating positions, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions; and
detect, with the plurality of sensors, that the user has exited the vehicle, and automatically terminate display of the user specific content and automatically log-out from the user specific content that is being displayed by the user display system at the first one of the plurality of seating positions.
However, Shen does not explicitly state
detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle;
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle;
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user;
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle;
detect when a user enters the vehicle;
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user;
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms, the detected personal objects, with the user based on timing of arrival of the user and the detected personal objects, proximity of the personal objects to the user when the detected objects are first detected, and probabilistic calculations;
display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches detect when users change seating positions within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 9, ln. 8-12: “continuously detects the characteristics of the occupants and baggage during driving, when the passenger's seat position changes, and the baggage characteristics change. When the position of the rack is changed, the data is sent to the calculation processing module 2 to re-bind the baggage and the passenger, and the passenger and the seat are re-bound or an alarm is issued”);
detect when a user enters and exits the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detect personal objects that are brought into the vehicle by a user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”);
haptic feedback devices positioned within the vehicle and adapted to provide haptic feedback to users seated within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 19-21: “It is also possible to provide a vibrator in the passenger seat and to control the vibration (vibration) of the vibrator by means of the prompt module 3 to remind the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
detect when a user enters the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 7-8: “When the passenger gets on and off the car, each time passing through the infrared sensor or the camera, the infrared sensor and the camera will send the collected data to the calculation processing module”);
detect, using the plurality of sensors positioned within the vehicle, personal objects brought into the vehicle by the user (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 39-42: “when the passenger gets on the vehicle and the passenger carries the luggage, the processor matches the passenger ID according to the sensing data to analyze the corresponding passenger data and analyzes the passenger's luggage information and rack position information corresponding to the corresponding passenger ID through the corresponding sensor data analysis”);
associate, (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 1-4: “The processor 21 of the calculation processing module 2 of the present invention may also include a seat bag binding module. The module can bind the passenger's baggage information (baggage information can include the baggage's characteristic information and/or rack rack [sic] number) and the rack rack's [sic] location information to the passenger's ID, respectively”; pg. 7, ln. 7-11: “After the passenger gets on the bus, when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage, the image sensor or pressure sensor on the luggage rack senses changes in the lighting of the seat, changes in pressure, characteristics of the baggage, and thus determines which baggage has luggage and luggage. Features, and then to monitor the passenger's corresponding baggage information and rack position, and then the passenger's baggage information, rack position and passenger ID binding”; pg. 7, ln. 14-15: “The pressure sensor can detect the baggage rack position or the seat position of the baggage corresponding to a certain passenger, as well as corresponding changes”; The baggage information is bound to (i.e., “associate with”) the passenger ID (i.e., “user”) based on the timing when the passenger selects the rack to place the baggage after gets on the bus (i.e., “timing of arrival”) and based on the rack position and the seat position of the passenger (i.e., “proximity of the personal objects to the user”) when the baggage is first detected by the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen by adding the detecting steps, the haptic feedback devices, and associating of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou is to provide enhanced perception of feedback and to prevent unattended luggage issues.
However, Shen in view of Zhou does not explicitly state:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms,
and probabilistic calculations;
display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryan teaches:
associate, using artificial intelligence and machine learning algorithms (Ryan at para. [0034]: “The machine learning techniques then create a dataset of bag images and their extracted features and may also save tag number for bag image. In addition, embodiments of the invention may comprise processing using preprocessing, image processing techniques, and computer vision methods”; para. [0073]: “The image 121 is processed and analyzed by a machine learning algorithm 122 and identified by matching the image 121 to the set of images of deposited articles 111. Once identified, the associated passenger 112 and passenger identifier 113 may be determined”),
and probabilistic calculations (Ryan at para. [0208]: “When proposing a shortlist of 10 bags for the passenger to select from, the likelihood that the correct bag will be listed in that shortlist is 96% at best and approximately 70% at worst”; It is necessary to perform probabilistic calculations to calculate the likelihood).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou by adding the artificial intelligence, machine learning, and probabilistic calculations of Ryan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan is to prevent mishandling of articles.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan does not explicitly state display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user.
In the same field of endeavor, Akachi teaches display user specific content on the user display system for viewing by the user (Akachi at para. [0073]: “the one display device 13 arranged for the target seat is also referred to as a ‘target display device 13T’, and a content designated by a content output instruction from the target user is also referred to as a ‘target content’”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan by adding displaying the user specific content of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to provide user friendly displays.
Office Note: The limitations “logging a user out of user specific content” and “log-out from the user specific content” are interpreted as “ending connection to the user specific content” (see “Log out.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/log%20out. Accessed 23 Sep. 2025.).
Regarding claim 20, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 19.
Zhou further teaches wherein the vehicle display server is further adapted to:
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has left at least one personal object associated with the user at the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”; pg. 7, ln. 5-6: “The pressure sensor (piezoelectric sensor) can monitor bending and pressure, and when used as a seat monitoring function, it can monitor the motion of the user to sit up and get up”), and provide an alert for the user to notify the user that at least one personal object associated with the user has been left within the first one of the plurality of seating positions (Zhou at pg. 6, ln. 1-4: “when the passenger gets off and the passenger once carried the luggage while boarding or driving, the sensor group 1 detects whether the corresponding passenger carries the luggage and whether the luggage is on the luggage rack, when the processor 21 receives the detection data and analyzes the corresponding passenger's luggage. While still on the luggage rack, send the passenger's missed baggage remind instruction”);
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when the user has moved away from the first one of the plurality of seating positions and has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”), and provide an alert for the user to notify the user that the user has taken at least one personal object associated with a different passenger (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”); and
detect, with the plurality of sensors, when a different passenger within the vehicle has moved from one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 31-34: “If the weight, color, shape or size of the baggage at the time of getting out of the baggage differs from the passenger information stored in the baggage relation table, the baggage information of the corresponding passenger, and the rack rack [sic] position information, the baggage holder and the passenger who miscarried the baggage are reminded”), and provide an alert for the user to notify the user that another passenger has taken at least one personal object associated with the user (Zhou at pg. 7, ln. 34-36: “When the missing or baggage is detected, the baggage reminding instruction may be issued by mistakenly taking out the baggage determining module to control the alarm alarm [sic] or send alarm information to the baggage holder and the user terminal of the passenger who missed the baggage”);
wherein, the alert provided by the vehicle display server includes:
an audible chime or bell (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
verbal alerts broadcast generally within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
(Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”; pg. 11, ln. 5-8: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) for reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”);
user specific graphics and textual messages displayed on the user display system (Zhou at pg. 10, ln. 38-41: “when receiving the reminding instruction of the corresponding passenger, reminding him of the warning sound, warning text, warning image, warning video, warning jitter or warning light effect according to the corresponding reminding instruction. Passengers get off, get it by mistake and/or miss luggage”);
user specific haptic alerts provided by the plurality of haptic devices within the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 27-28: “a reminding command is sent to the prompting module 3 to control the seat vibration”);
disabling doors of the vehicle (Zhou at pg. 8, ln. 14-15: “when the calculation processing module 2 detects that the passenger has missed baggage or misses the baggage, a control signal is sent to the door opening and closing system to control the door to not close”); and
alerts sent to a user’s personal device that is registered and linked to the system (Zhou at pg. 5, ln. 16-19: “The prompting module 3 may receive the reminding instruction of the calculating and processing module 2 to control the lighting or pronunciation of the audible and visual alarm, and may also send reminding information to the user terminal (such as a mobile phone, a computer, an IPAD, etc.) to implement reminding the passenger to get off or take the luggage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the alert of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is to prevent the risk of losing belongings.
Akachi further teaches:
directional (Akachi at para. [0049]: “The speakers 14L and 14R function as left speakers and right speakers for outputting stereophonic sounds to the occupants P seated in the corresponding seats 12, respectively”),
further wherein, the user display system comprises one of:
a plurality of individual display screens adapted to display information and receive input from a user, one individual display screen associated with each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Akachi at para. [0043]: “the display devices 13a, 13b, 13c, 13d, 13e, 13f, and 13g are collectively referred to as display devices 13”; para. [0045]: “the display device 13 is a touch panel that has both a display function and a function for inputting an operation by a user”; para. [0073]: “the one display device 13 arranged for the target seat is also referred to as a ‘target display device 13T’, and a content designated by a content output instruction from the target user is also referred to as a ‘target content’”); or
a single display system comprising:
at least one display for projecting an image; a plurality of reflectors, each reflector associated with a one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and adapted to reflect a projected image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions, such that a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle; and
a transparent cylindrical touch screen display positioned between the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and the plurality of reflectors and adapted to display user specific content for users at each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and receive input from each of the users at each of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding directional sound system, which may replace any sound system, and the plurality of individual display screens of Akachi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi is provide directional sound to prevent the risk of losing belongings and to enhance convenience.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, and Martinez (US 2019/0235375 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi does not explicitly state wherein for the user display system comprising a single display system, the plurality of reflectors comprises a plurality of transparent beam splitters, one transparent beam splitter individually associated with each one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, each beam splitter adapted to receive an image from the at least one display and to reflect the image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions, wherein, a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Martinez teaches wherein for the user display system comprising a single display system, the plurality of reflectors comprises a plurality of transparent beam splitters, one transparent beam splitter individually associated with each one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, each beam splitter adapted to receive an image from the at least one display and to reflect the image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions, wherein, a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle (Martinez at para. [0037]: “the floating-image-forming system comprises a projector of at least one source image, suitable for ensuring the projection of the source image onto a display screen. It furthermore comprises a display screen suitable for ensuring the display of the projected image and for allowing the observation of the scene located behind the screen. Thus, it comprises transparent segments and scattering segments that are distributed over all or some of its area. Preferably, as detailed below, the scattering segments are also reflective, or even retroreflective. The system also comprises a semi-reflective structure for forming the floating image, located between the projector and the display screen, and suitable for forming a virtual, termed the floating image, of the image displayed by the screen”; para. [0042]: “The screen is a display screen 20 that is partially transparent and comprises, to this end, transparent segments 21 and scattering segments 22 that are distributed over all or some of its area (see FIG. 3A and the figures thereafter)”; para. [0076]: “The image-forming system 1 thus comprises two display faces 20a, 20b that are distinct from each other, each of which is associated with one semi-reflective face 30a, 30b and with one projecting optical system (not shown)”; FIG. 7A and 7B: The image-forming system 1 provides multiple display faces providing plurality of viewing positions (i.e., “plurality of seating positions”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the single display system of Martinez, which may replace any display including the vehicle display, with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, placing the single display in the central location of the vehicle so that the user perceives the image floating at the central location within the vehicle is mere rearrangement of parts, which would not modify the operation of the single display, and thus considered routine expedients (see MPEP 2144.04). The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, and Martinez is to enhance user experience.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, Martinez, and Reichow et al. (US 2018/0158385 A1, hereinafter “Reichow”).
Regarding claim 11, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi does not explicitly state wherein for the user display system comprising a single display system, the user display system further includes:
an image chamber including:
at least one display adapted to project an image;
a reflector individually associated with each one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and adapted to reflect the image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, such that a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle;
transparent portions adapted to allow the image reflected by the reflector to pass from the image chamber outward toward a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions; and
solid portions adapted to prevent light from entering the image chamber behind the reflector; and
the transparent cylindrical touch screen display is positioned between the reflectors of the image chamber and the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, and adapted to display information to users seated at the plurality of seating locations within the vehicle within an image plane positioned in front of the perceived image floating at the central location within the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Martinez teaches wherein for the user display system comprising a single display system, the user display system further includes:
an image chamber including:
at least one display adapted to project an image (Martinez at para. [0076]: “The image-forming system 1 thus comprises two display faces 20a, 20b that are distinct from each other, each of which is associated with one semi-reflective face 30a, 30b and with one projecting optical system (not shown)”);
a reflector individually associated with each one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle and adapted to reflect the image to the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle, such that a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle perceives the image floating at a central location within the vehicle (Martinez at para. [0037]: “the floating-image-forming system comprises a projector of at least one source image, suitable for ensuring the projection of the source image onto a display screen. It furthermore comprises a display screen suitable for ensuring the display of the projected image and for allowing the observation of the scene located behind the screen. Thus, it comprises transparent segments and scattering segments that are distributed over all or some of its area. Preferably, as detailed below, the scattering segments are also reflective, or even retroreflective. The system also comprises a semi-reflective structure for forming the floating image, located between the projector and the display screen, and suitable for forming a virtual, termed the floating image, of the image displayed by the screen”);
transparent portions adapted to allow the image reflected by the reflector to pass from the image chamber outward toward a user seated at the associated one of the plurality of seating positions (Martinez at para. [0076]: “The image-forming system 1 thus comprises two display faces 20a, 20b that are distinct from each other, each of which is associated with one semi-reflective face 30a, 30b and with one projecting optical system (not shown)”; FIG. 7A and 7B: The image-forming system 1 provides multiple display faces providing plurality of viewing positions (i.e., “plurality of seating positions”)); and
solid portions adapted to prevent light from entering the image chamber behind the reflector (Martinez at para. [0041]: “The projector 10 comprises in this example a steering structure 13 suitable for at least partially or even completely reflecting the light beams coining from the image source 11 in the direction of the display screen 20”); and
(Martinez at para. [0037]: “the floating-image-forming system comprises a projector of at least one source image, suitable for ensuring the projection of the source image onto a display screen. It furthermore comprises a display screen suitable for ensuring the display of the projected image and for allowing the observation of the scene located behind the screen. Thus, it comprises transparent segments and scattering segments that are distributed over all or some of its area. Preferably, as detailed below, the scattering segments are also reflective, or even retroreflective. The system also comprises a semi-reflective structure for forming the floating image, located between the projector and the display screen, and suitable for forming a virtual, termed the floating image, of the image displayed by the screen”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan and Akachi by adding the single display system of Martinez, which may replace any display including the vehicle display, with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, placing the single display in the central location of the vehicle so that the user perceives the image floating at the central location within the vehicle is mere rearrangement of parts, which would not modify the operation of the single display, and thus considered routine expedients (see MPEP 2144.04). The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, and Martinez is to enhance user experience.
However, Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, and Martinez does not explicitly state the transparent cylindrical touch screen display is positioned between the reflectors of the image chamber and the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Reichow teaches the transparent cylindrical touch screen display is positioned between the reflectors of the image chamber and the plurality of seating positions within the vehicle (Reichow at para. [0041]: “the display surface/screen 312 is proximate to (less than an inch to several inches from) the top surface of the table housing 308 or even provides this top surface (e.g., can be touched 307 by the viewer 304 with their hand 306 or the like). The foreground transparent display device 310 may take the form of a tOLED display device that is operated by the controller 350 to display foreground content 384”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, and Martinez by adding the transparent touch screen of Reichow, which may be implemented into the cylindrical screen display of Martinez, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Shen in view of Zhou further in view of Ryan, Akachi, Martinez, and Reichow is to enhance user experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666