Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "octopus-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the metes and bounds of the limitation are unclear because its figurative and descriptive of appearance rather than a precise structural or functional limitation. What makes something “octopus-like”? Number of appendages? Suckers on the legs? Flexibility of the device? As can best be understood by the examiner the limitation will be examined as meaning that the device may have 8 legs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2007/0072500 to Rockstad et al.
In re claim 1, Rockstad et al teaches a multifunctional octopus-like (see 112 rejection above) toy, comprising a water floating body 22, wherein the water floating body is provided with a concave cavity (Fig 3-4 #30) with an opening facing upwards 26, a plurality of tentacles 32 extending upwards are distributed on an outer wall of the water floating body (Fig. 3-4), and an overall appearance is octopus-like (See 112 above, see paragraph 5 and 14, may have any number of legs, more or less than 6 and in paragraph 5 may have 8).
In re claim 2, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, wherein the water floating body is a solid or hollow structure (inflatable Abstract) made of a water floating material.
In re claim 3, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, wherein the water floating body is an inflatable hollow structure (inflatable abstract).
In re claim 4, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, wherein the tentacles are in a smooth curved shape (Fig. 3-4).
In re claim 6, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, wherein a number of the tentacles ranges from 3 to 14 (Para 5 and 14, more or less than 6).
In re claim 7, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Fig. 3-4).
In re claim 8, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 2, wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Fig. 3-4).
In re claim 9, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 3, wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Fig. 3-4).
In re claim 10, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 4, wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Fig. 3-4).
In re claim 12, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 6, wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Fig. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockstad et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US D768245 to Matthews.
In re claim 5, Rockstad et al teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 1, and further teaches that the tentacles are symmetrically arranged (figure 1-4 line of symmetry being through the elongated floating body 22) at the bottom of the outer wall of the floating body and that the water floating body may be of a circular shape (para 15).
Rockstad et al is silent as to wherein the tentacles are symmetrically arranged at the bottom of the outer wall of the water floating body with respect to the center of a circle.
Matthews teaches a similar pool toy wherein the tentacles are symmetrically arranged at the bottom of the outer wall of the water floating body with respect to the center of a circle (see figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the water floating body and tentacles as taught by Rockstad as being symmetrically arranged with respect to the center of a circle as taught by Matthews, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for users to be evenly distributed around the toy during play to increase balance and buoyancy during use.
In re claim 11, the modified reference teaches the multifunctional octopus-like toy according to claim 5, and Rockstad et al further teaches wherein the water floating body and the tentacles are an integrally connected structure (Figure 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 7247077, 6899647, 20050085155, D950667, D969253.
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642