DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 03/31/2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claims 15-21 are cancelled.
Claims 4, 7, 9-12, and 14 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 13 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted that in the course of searching Applicant’s elected species, the Examiner found art that reads upon the impregnating liquid being ethyl oleate and the device or implement being a stent. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner has extended the species election to include said species and art is being applied herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The specifications hall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 13 (all claims currently under
consideration) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and
distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for
pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8 directly recite phrases or ranges within
parentheses render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s)
following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected for depending from indefinite claims without resolving the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desai (US 2007/0282247) (IDS Reference).
Desai teaches a medical device which can be a nanotube comprising structures on the surface that control nucleation (see entire document, for instance Abstract, [0007], and [0351]). Said nanotubes have emulsions that can be impregnated onto said nanotubes (see entire document, for instance, [0221] and [0227]). Said impregnated composition can include antibacterial agents and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see entire document, for instance, [0254]). Said structures are taught as including gold, wherein said gold can additionally comprise metals such as titanium (see entire document, for instance, [0352]-[0354]). The presence of components such as nanoparticles of antibacterial agents in any desired density (such as Ag and/or Zn – see entire document, for instance, [0254]) would reduce the evaporation of the impregnated liquid. The medical device is taught as being a stent (see entire document, for instance, [0124]).
It is noted that MPEP 2131.02 states: “when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 13 (all claims currently under consideration) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desai (US 2007/0282247) in view of Coupland et al (WO 2001/38288) (both IDS References).
Desai teaches a medical device which can be a nanotube comprising structures on the surface that control nucleation (see entire document, for instance Abstract, [0007], and [0351]). Said nanotubes have emulsions that can be impregnated onto said nanotubes (see entire document, for instance, [0221] and [0227]). Said impregnated composition can include antibacterial agents and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see entire document, for instance, [0254]). Said structures are taught as including gold, wherein said gold can additionally comprise metals such as titanium (see entire document, for instance, [0352]-[0354]). The presence of components such as nanoparticles of antibacterial agents in any desired density (such as Ag and/or Zn – see entire document, for instance, [0254]) would reduce the evaporation of the impregnated liquid. The structures are taught as having an average length of 10nm to 500 microns, and are present from about 1 per micron to about 2000 per micron (see entire document, for instance, [0030]).
Desai, while teaching the presence of pharmaceutically acceptable carriers does not directly name the species ethyl oleate or vegetable oil. Further, while teaching ranges that overlap the instantly claimed ranges, Desai does not directly teach the exact instantly claimed ranges.
Coupland teaches that ethyl oleate is a known and useful pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see entire document, for instance, claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize ethyl oleate as the carrier of Desai. One would have been motivated to do so since Desai teaches that any pharmaceutically acceptable carrier can be utilized and Coupland teaches that ethyl oleate is a useful pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Conclusion
No claims allowed. All claims rejected. No claims objected.
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611