DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to Claim(s) 20 and 21, filed 05/06/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a laser beam" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "a laser beam" will be taken as "the laser beam" (as "a laser beam" is claimed in Claim 1).
Claims 4 is rejected due to its dependency from Claim 3 and inherits the same deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2013/0301010 A2) in further in view of Sulyok et al., (Sulyok hereafter) (US 2023/0004001 A1) and Gong (CN102347585A).
With respect to Claim 1, Embodiment Four of Huang teaches a polarization-dependent Faraday isolator, comprising: a solid block (66, Figure 6) that has an input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6), an output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6), and a first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6) and includes a Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6); a polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6; see also ¶[0065]) disposed on the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6).
Embodiment Four of Huang fails to teach a phase-shifting coating to introduce a phase shift between s- polarized and p-polarized components of a beam, with respect to the first side surface, and a polarizing output-coating disposed on the output surface.
Embodiment Four of Huang teaches a projection apparatus and Sulyok teaches an optical birefringent layer which can be used on the block in the projection apparatus.
Sulyok teaches a phase-shifting coating (15, Figure 9) to introduce a phase shift (birefringent layer 15, undergoes a phase shift, ¶[0076]) between s- polarized and p-polarized components (S-polarized or P-polarized state, ¶[0076]) of a beam (11, Figure 1), with respect to the first side surface (3a, Figure 9), and a polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068]) disposed on the output surface (3b, Figure 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment Four of Huang having the Faraday isolator and the first side surface with the teachings of Sulyok having a phase-shifting coating to introduce a phase shift between s- polarized and p-polarized components of a laser beam, with respect to the first side surface, and a polarizing output-coating disposed on the output surface for the purpose of minimizing ghost images (faint second image caused by reflections within an optical component), ¶[0076].
Embodiment Four of Huang in view of Sulyok fail to teach a laser beam undergoes total internal reflection at the first side surface.
Embodiment Four of Huang in view of Sulyok teach the Faraday isolator and Gong teaches a ring laser resonator that can be used in the Faraday isolator.
Gong teaches the laser beam (semiconductor laser pumping source 10 with laser output 9, Figure 1; see also ¶[0015]) undergoes total internal reflection (4, 5, 6 total internal reflection occurs at all points, Figure 1; see also ¶[0018]) at the first side surface (surface where 9 exits, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Embodiment Four of Huang in view of Sulyok having the Faraday isolator with the teachings of Gong having the laser beam undergoes total internal reflection at the first side surface for the purpose of amplifying the optical path, ¶[0020].
With respect to Claim 5, Modified Huang further teaches wherein the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang), output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang), first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang), and Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang) are arranged such that a laser beam (semiconductor laser pumping source 10 with laser output 9, Figure 1; see also ¶[0015], of Gong) incident on the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) on the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6) with a propagation direction parallel (see Figure 6, of Huang) to the first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) (a) propagates from the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) to the first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) via the Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang), (b) undergoes total internal reflection (4, 5, 6 total internal reflection occurs at all points, Figure 1; see also ¶[0018], of Gorg) at the phase-shifting coating (15, Figure 9, of Sulyok) on the first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang), (c) propagates from the first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) to the output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang) via the Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang), and (d) leaves the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) at the output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang) and passes through the polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok).
With respect to Claim 9, Modified Huang further teaches wherein the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang), output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang), and first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) are planar and orthogonal to a common plane (see all surfaces in Figure 6, of Huang).
With respect to Claim 11, Modified Huang further teaches wherein the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) consists of the Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2013/0301010 A2) in view of Sulyok et al., (Sulyok hereafter) (US 2023/0004001 A1) and Gong (CN102347585A), (Modified Huang, hereafter) as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Takahashi (US 2011/0044070 A1).
With respect to Claim 2, Modified Huanges teach the polarization-dependent Faraday isolator of claim 1 and the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Embodiment Four of Huang).
Modified Huang fails to teach wherein a largest dimension of the solid block is no more than 20 millimeters.
Modified Huang teach the isolator and Takahashi teaches a light scattering body that can be used with the isolator.
Takahashi teaches a largest dimension of the solid block (light scattering body 30, Figure 1) is no more than 20 millimeters (1-10 mm, ¶[0130]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang having the isolator with the teachings of Takahashi having a largest dimension of the solid block no more than 20 millimeters for the purpose of decreasing light density per unit area, ¶[0068].
With respect to Claim 3, Modified Huang teaches a light beam (the light source module 66 generates a light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang); and the polarization-dependent Faraday isolator of claim 1, the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) being arranged such that (a) the light beam (light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang) enters the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) via the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) and leaves the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) via the output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang) and (b) a propagation path (solid lines, see Figure 6, of Huang) of the laser beam (light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang) after emerging from the polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok) disposed on the output surface (3b, Figure 9, of Sulyok) on the output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang) is parallel to a propagation path (solid lines, see Figure 6, of Huang) of the light beam (light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang) incident on the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) on the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang).
Modified Huang fails to teach a laser apparatus, comprising: a laser source to generate a laser beam.
Takahashi teaches a laser apparatus (100, Figure 1), comprising: a laser source (10A, Figure 1) to generate a laser beam (11A, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang having the isolator with the teachings of Takahashi having a laser apparatus, comprising: a laser source to generate a laser beam for the purpose of supplying laser light to the isolator.
With respect to Claim 6, Modified Huang teaches the polarization-dependent Faraday isolator of claim 5; wherein: the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) selectively transmits one linear polarization component (¶[0065], of Huang) of the light beam (the light source module 66 generates a light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang), the total internal reflection (4, 5, 6 total internal reflection occurs at all points, Figure 1; see also ¶[0018], of Gong) at the phase-shifting coating (15, Figure 9, of Sulyok) on the first side surface (where light exits (dotted line) 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) rotates the linear polarization component (¶[0065], of Huang) of the light beam (the light source module 66 generates a light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang) by 45 degrees in a second direction that is opposite the first direction, whereby the total internal reflection (4, 5, 6 total internal reflection occurs at all points, Figure 1; see also ¶[0018], of Gong) and Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang) impose mutually-cancelling polarization rotations (via polarizing beam splitter, ¶[0060], of Huang) on the light beam (the light source module 66 generates a light beam, ¶[0058], of Huang), and the polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok) selectively transmits (¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok) the same linear polarization component (¶[0065], of Huang) as the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang); the Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6); the Faraday crystal (63A, 63B, and 63C, Figure 6, of Huang) rotate the linear polarization component (¶[0065], of Huang) by 45 degrees in a first direction.
Modified Huang fails to teach a laser apparatus, a laser source to generate the laser beam.
Takahashi teaches a laser apparatus (100, Figure 1), comprising: a laser source (10A, Figure 1) to generate a laser beam (11A, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang having the isolator with the teachings of Takahashi having a laser apparatus, comprising: a laser source to generate a laser beam for the purpose of supplying laser light to the isolator.
Modified Huang in view of Takahashi fail to teach a magnet to generate a magnetic field and rotate the linear polarization component.
Gong teaches a magnet (H, Figure 1) to generate a magnetic field (¶[0015]) and rotate (¶[0008]) the linear polarization component (¶[0018]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang in view of Takahashi having the isolator further the teachings of Gong having a magnet to generate a magnetic field and rotate the linear polarization component for the purpose of getting a single frequency laser output, (¶[0015]).
With respect to Claim 8, Modified Huang in view of Takahashi further teach wherein the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) is shaped such that a propagation path (solid lines, see Figure 6, of Huang) of the laser beam (11A, Figure 1, of Takahashi) after emerging from the polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok) on the output surface (where light exits 66, Figure 6, of Huang) is parallel (see Figure 6) to a propagation path (solid lines, see Figure 6, of Huang) of the laser beam (11A, Figure 1, of Takahashi) incident on polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6; see also ¶[0065], of Huang) on the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2013/0301010 A2) in view of Sulyok (US 2023/0004001 A1), Gong (CN102347585A), and Takahashi (US 2011/0044070 A1), as applied to Claim 3, and in further view of Cook et al., (Cook hereafter) (US 2021/0369348 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Modified Huang in view of Takahashi teach the laser apparatus of claim 3, wherein the solid block (66, Figure 6, of Huang) is shaped such that the propagation path of the light beam (semiconductor laser pumping source 10 with laser output 9, Figure 1; see also ¶[0015], of Gong) after emerging from the polarizing output-coating (thin film, ¶[0008], [0009], and [0068], of Sulyok) on the output surface (3b, Figure 9, of Sulyok) is colinear with the propagation path of the light beam incident on the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang) on the input surface (where light enters 62A, Figure 6, of Huang).
Modified Huang in view of Takahashi fail to teach the propagation path of the laser beam after emerging from the output surface is colinear with the propagation path of the laser beam incident on the input surface.
Modified Huang in view of Takahashi teach the isolator and Cook teaches a catheter system including a multiplexer which can be used with the isolator.
Cook teaches the propagation path of the laser beam (1224B1, Figure 12) after emerging from the output surface (see where 1224B1 exits, Figure 12) is colinear (¶[0178]) with the propagation path of the laser beam incident (1224a, Figure 12) on the input surface (see where 1224a enters, Figure 12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang in view of Takahashi having the isolator with the teachings of Cook having the propagation path of the laser beam after emerging from the output surface is colinear with the propagation path of the laser beam incident on the input surface for the purpose of having a single light guide for higher intensity light, ¶[0178].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2013/0301010 A2) in view of Sulyok et al., (Sulyok hereafter) (US 2023/0004001 A1) and Gong (CN102347585A), (Modified Huang, hereafter) and Takahashi (US 2011/0044070 A1), as applied to Claim 6, and in further view of Inoue et al., (Inoue hereafter) (US 11,526,006).
With respect to Claim 7, Modified Huang in view of Takahashi teach the laser apparatus of claim 6, wherein the Faraday isolator is arranged such that the laser beam (11A, Figure 1, of Takahashi) is incident on the polarizing input-coating (polarizing coating of the first light splitting element 62A, Figure 6, of Huang).
Modified Huang in view of Takahashi fails to teach the laser beam is incident on the polarizing input-coating at Brewster's angle.
Modified Huang in view of Takahashi teaches the isolator and Inoue teaches a film for displaying a projection image that can be used with the isolator.
Inoue teaches the laser beam (incident ray, column 41, lines 38-40) is incident (column 41, lines 38-40) on the polarizing input-coating at Brewster's angle (column 41, lines 38-43).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang in view of Takahashi having the isolator further the teachings of Inoue having the laser beam is incident on the polarizing input-coating at Brewster's angle for the purpose of reflection loss for polarized light (well-known in the art).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2013/0301010 A2) in view of Sulyok et al., (Sulyok hereafter) (US 2023/0004001 A1) and Gong (CN102347585A), (Modified Huang, hereafter), as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Inoue (US 2011/0044070 A1).
With respect to Claim 10, Modified Huang teach the polarization-dependent Faraday isolator of claim 1 and the phase-shifting coating (15, Figure 9, of Sulyok).
Modified Huang fail to teach the phase-shifting coating includes titanium dioxide or hafnium oxide.
Inoue teaches the phase-shifting coating (heat seal layer, column 25, lines 64-67) includes titanium dioxide (titanium dioxide, column 26, lines 10-15) or hafnium oxide.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Modified Huang having the isolator further the teachings of Inoue having the phase-shifting coating includes titanium dioxide or hafnium oxide for the purpose of
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 12, the prior art fails to teach or disclose “wherein the input surface is oriented at a first acute angle to the first side surface, and the output surface is oriented at a second acute angle to the first side surface, each of the first and second acute angles subtending an interior of the solid block.”
With respect to claims 13-16, these claims depend on claim 12 and are allowable at least for the reasons stated supra.
With respect to Claim 17, the prior art fails to teach or disclose “wherein the solid block further has a second side surface, and wherein the Faraday isolator further comprises a phase- shifting coating disposed on the second side surface.”
With respect to claims 18-25, these claims depend on claim 17 and are allowable at least for the reasons stated supra
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872