DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 9,725,398).
The claims are drawn to a process comprising initially charging an olefin; adding a ligand of formula (I); adding a compound comprising Pd; adding an alcohol; feeding carbon monoxide and hydrogen, wherein the pressure of hydrogen is at least 0.6 MPa (6 bar); heating the reaction mixture to convert the olefin to an ester.
Dong et al. teach an alkoxycarbonylation reaction, wherein an olefin is added to a solution comprising a disphosphine ligand and a Pd compound, the ligand is preferably a compound of formula (1); adding an alcohol, feeding carbon monoxide, and then heating the reaction mixture to convert the olefin to an ester. The alcohol is preferably methanol or ethanol. Carbon monoxide is fed at a partial pressure of between 0.1 and 10 MPa (1 to 100 bar). The process is conducted with the addition of an acid, preferably a Bronsted or Lewis acid. Suitable Bronsted acids include, inter alia, p-toluenesulfonic acid, PTSA (col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 55; col. 9, line 25 to col. 11, line10).
Dong et al. further teaches that the alkoxycarbonylation reaction may be conducted in the presence of small amounts of hydrogen. As an example, the reference teaches methoxycarbonylation of ethene using ligand 1, wherein a reactor is charged with Pd(acac)2, ligand 1, PTSA, and methanol. Ethene is then transferred into the reactor, followed by the introduction of hydrogen (3 bar) and carbon monoxide (30 bar). The reaction is conducted at 80°C for 20 hours, thereby producing methyl propionate at a 99% yield (col. 23, lines 1-22).
The difference between Dong et al. and the present invention is that the reference teaches hydrogen being added to the reaction at a pressure of 3 bar, while the present invention feeds hydrogen to the reaction at a pressure of at least 6 bar.
The examiner does not find that this difference represents a patentable distinction, absent a showing of some unexpected result. Dong et al. teaches that the alkoxycarbonylation reaction may be conducted in the presence of small amounts of hydrogen. The reference teaches feeding hydrogen at 3 bar of pressure and ultimately produces an ester at a 99% yield. The examiner therefore finds that the instant claims are rendered obvious over Dong et al., as a person having ordinary skill in the art would adjust the pressures of hydrogen and carbon monoxide fed to the alkoxycarbonylation reactor through routine experimentation in an effort to obtain desirable yields of the ester product.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692