DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed July 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8-9, 11 and 13-15 have been amended. Claims 16-20 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winning et al. (US 2016/0198747 A1; July 14, 2016).
Regarding claim 1, Winning discloses a flavoring agent composition ([0001]) that can be added to pet food ([0221], [0335]), wherein the flavoring agent composition comprises a palatant that can be dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), or 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), and combinations thereof ([0087]).
Winning further teaches that the composition can include dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), which are additional components required in combination with a palatant in Table 10.
While Winning fails to teach the specific combination of palatant and compounds as in Table 10, Winning teaches that a mixture of compounds can be used to achieve a flavor impact and flavor profile, wherein the different compounds contribute different flavor attributes ([0046]-[0061]). As Winning teaches that the compounds dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), and combinations therefore, can be used in the flavor composition that is then added to a pet food, it would have been obvious to combine the compounds to achieve a desired flavor profile, therefore rendering obvious the combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07)
As stated in MPEP 2144.06 ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.)”
Winning clearly teaches that the claimed components are known to be useful as palatants for improving flavor in pet food and therefore, it would have been obvious through routine experimentation to combine the palatants as taught by Winning in order to achieved a desired flavor profile as Winning teaches that each compound contributes different flavor attributes.
With respect to the compounds being palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds, as Winning teaches the exact same components as claimed, they would necessarily and inherently act as palatability increasing and palatability decreasing compounds absent a showing otherwise. As the compounds are the same, they would be expected to behave the same, and therefore would be palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds.
With respect to the ratios as recited in Table 10, Winning teaches that the compounds are used in a sensorially effective amount to produce a flavor impression upon oral consumption and/or to modify the perception of a flavor of one or more other flavoring agents ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each compound to result in a desired ratio depending on the desired flavor profiled of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art, especially as Winning renders obvious combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, the claimed ratios are merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Winning teaches that the pet food composition further comprises protein, carbohydrate, fat and fiber ([0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claim 3, Winning teaches that the pet food composition is formulated for a cat ([0221], [0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claim 4, Winning further teaches that the pet food composition can be a wet cat food ([0334]).
Regarding claim 8, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Winning teaches that the compounds dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), and combinations therefore, can be used in the flavor composition that is then added to a pet food. It would have been obvious to combine the compounds to achieve a desired flavor profile, thus rendering obvious the combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07)
As stated in MPEP 2144.06 ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.)”
Winning clearly teaches that the claimed components are known to be useful as palatants for improving flavor in pet food and therefore, it would have been obvious through routine experimentation to combine the palatants as taught by Winning in at least two combinations as recited in Table 10 in order to achieved a desired flavor profile as Winning teaches that each compound contributes different flavor attributes.
With respect to the ratios as recited in Table 10, Winning teaches that the compounds are used in a sensorially effective amount to produce a flavor impression upon oral consumption and/or to modify the perception of a flavor of one or more other flavoring agents ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each compound to result in a desired ratio depending on the desired flavor profiled of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art, especially as Winning renders obvious combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, the claimed ratios are merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
Regarding claim 9, Winning further teaches a method of making a pet food composition comprising incorporating a palatant that can be dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), or 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), and combinations thereof ([0087]), directly into the pet food ([0221], [0332]-[0336]).
With respect to incorporating a combination of compounds in Table 10 into the pet food, Winning further teaches that the composition can include dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), which are additional components required in combination with a palatant in Table 10.
While Winning fails to teach the specific combination of palatant and compounds as in Table 10, Winning teaches that a mixture of compounds can be used to achieve a flavor impact and flavor profile, wherein the different compounds contribute different flavor attributes ([0046]-[0061]). As Winning teaches that the compounds dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), and combinations therefore, can be used in the flavor composition that is then added to a pet food, it would have been obvious to combine the compounds to achieve a desired flavor profile, therefore rendering obvious the combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10 that can be added directly to the pet food.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07)
As stated in MPEP 2144.06 ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.)”
Winning clearly teaches that the claimed components are known to be useful as palatants for improving flavor in pet food and therefore, it would have been obvious through routine experimentation to combine the palatants as taught by Winning in order to achieved a desired flavor profile as Winning teaches that each compound contributes different flavor attributes.
With respect to the compounds being palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds, as Winning teaches the exact same components as claimed, they would necessarily and inherently act as palatability increasing and palatability decreasing compounds absent a showing otherwise. As the compounds are the same, they would be expected to behave the same, and therefore would be palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds.
With respect to the ratios as recited in Table 10, Winning teaches that the compounds are used in a sensorially effective amount to produce a flavor impression upon oral consumption and/or to modify the perception of a flavor of one or more other flavoring agents ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each compound to result in a desired ratio depending on the desired flavor profiled of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art, especially as Winning renders obvious combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, the claimed ratios are merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
Winning teaches that the palatant and combination of compounds are present in an amount effective to enhance palatability of the pet food composition ([0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Winning teaches that the pet food composition further comprises protein, carbohydrate, fat and fiber ([0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claim 11, Winning teaches that the palatant and combination of compounds are formed during manufacturing of the pet food ([0221], [0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claim 12, Winning further teaches that the pet food composition can be a wet cat food ([0334]).
Regarding claim 16, Winning teaches that the palatability compounds are adding to the pet food composition, but fails to teach that they are formed from the one or more palatant precursors after being added to the pet food composition. However, the examiner notes that palatant precursors are listed as optional in claimed 9 and therefore not required.
As Winning teaches adding the compounds as ingredients and directly to the pet food composition, Winning meets the claimed limitaitons.
Regarding claim 17, Winning teaches that the palatability compounds can be added as ingredients that container one or more of the individual compounds to the pet food composition ([0221], [0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claim 18, Winning teaches that the palatability compounds can be directly added as i one or more of the individual compounds to the pet food composition ([0221], [0332]-[0336]).
Regarding claims 19-20, as stated above with respect to claims 1 and 9 regarding the weight ratios, Winning teaches that the compounds are used in a sensorially effective amount to produce a flavor impression upon oral consumption and/or to modify the perception of a flavor of one or more other flavoring agents ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each compound to result in a desired ratio depending on the desired flavor profiled of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art, especially as Winning renders obvious combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, the claimed ratios are merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winning et al. (US 2016/0198747 A1; July 14, 2016) as applied to claims 4 and 9 above, and further in view of Mao et al. (US 2018/0295862 A1; Oct. 18, 2018).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 13-15, Winning teaches that the pet food composition can be a wet cat food, but fails to teach that the wet cat food is a mousse or loaf composition, includes a gravy, or is a chunks-in-gravy composition.
Mao discloses a wet cat food ([0001]) having palatability enhancers that can include 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0142]). Mao further teaches that the wet food can be a mousse or loaf, includes a gravy, or is a chunks-in-gravy composition ([0006]-[0007], [0100], [0102], [0104]).
As Mao teaches that it is well known in the art for a wet cat food that can be a mousse or loaf, includes a gravy, or is a chunks-in-gravy composition to comprise palatability enhancers, it would have been obvious for the wet cat food of Winning to be in a form as taught by Mao. These are merely known wet cat food types and would have been obvious depending on the need/desire of each type of wet cat food.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 112(b) rejections from the previous Office Action and therefore they have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive. Applicant argues that Winning does not teach or suggest the combinations of palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds with the ratios listed in Table 10. Applicant further states that Winning does not even recognize that some of the compounds are palatability-decreasing.
This is not found persuasive as Winning discloses that each compound aids in improving the flavor of pet food ([0221], [0335]). Even though Winning fails to specifically teach the compounds as palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds as claimed, Winning teaches that the flavoring agent composition comprises dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), or 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), and combinations thereof ([0087]). Winning further teaches that the composition can include dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), which are additional components required in combination with a palatant in Table 10.
As Winning teaches the exact same components as claimed, they would necessarily and inherently act as palatability increasing and palatability decreasing compounds absent a showing otherwise. As the compounds are the same, they would be expected to behave the same, and therefore would be palatability-increasing and palatability-decreasing compounds.
Again, the examiner recognizes that Winning fails to teach the exact combination of compounds in Table 10, however, Winning teaches that a mixture of compounds can be used to achieve a flavor impact and flavor profile, wherein the different compounds contribute different flavor attributes ([0046]-[0061]). As Winning teaches that the compounds dimethyl sulphide ([0093]), furfural ([0095]), 2,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), 2-ethyl-3,5-dimethylpyrazine ([0096]), dimethyl trisulphide and 2-acetylthiophene ([0093]), and combinations therefore, can be used in the flavor composition that is then added to a pet food, it would have been obvious to combine the compounds to achieve a desired flavor profile, therefore rendering obvious the combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07)
As stated in MPEP 2144.06 ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.)”
Winning clearly teaches that the claimed components are known to be useful as palatants for improving flavor in pet food and therefore, it would have been obvious through routine experimentation to combine the palatants as taught by Winning in order to achieved a desired flavor profile as Winning teaches that each compound contributes different flavor attributes.
Applicant further states that Winning fails to recognize that the amounts of the compounds are result-effective variables, and suggests that the compounds would improve palatability and not decrease it, which is opposite to the effect recognized in the present claims.
This is not found persuasive as Winning teaches that the compounds improve flavor as a whole, and not necessarily the specific role of each component, where is it increases or decreases palatability. The instant invention is also directed towards increasing palatability of the pet food as a whole. As Winning teaches that the compounds are used in a sensorially effective amount to produce a flavor impression upon oral consumption and/or to modify the perception of a flavor of one or more other flavoring agents ([0062]), it is well within the ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to achieve such flavor impression. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each compound to result in a desired ratio depending on the desired flavor profiled of the composition.
Applicant has not demonstrated criticality for the claimed ratios, and therefore, as Winning renders obvious combinations 9, 10, 15, 28 and 30 as recited in Table 10, it is well within the ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of each component to result in a desired flavor profile. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, the claimed ratios are merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
For the reasons stated above, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791