DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 28 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21, ll. 1, “the lug” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 28, ll. 3, “a stator” was already recited.
Claim 28, ll. 3, “an electric machine” was already recited.
Claim 28, ll. 7, “hairpin winding conductors” was already recited.
Claim 30, ll. 3, “the stator” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 30, ¶ 2, ll. 2, “a connection member” was already recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 26 recites the broad recitation “angle of less than 120°, and the claim also recites “angle of less than 110°” and “angle of about 106°” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For examination purposes, the broadest limitation will be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 22-23, 25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) for a stator (2) of an electric machine (1), comprising:
an insulating body (5c, 5d);
a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and
wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked).
Regarding claim 17/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductors with the respective connection member are stamped-bent parts (¶ [0075] plate shape formed by press working) made of sheet metal (¶ [0088], [0094]; conductors are commonly made of copper).
Regarding claim 22/17, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 17. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two electrically separate neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms).
Regarding claim 23/17, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 17. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms), which are electrically connected at a bridge section (see annotation below).
Regarding claim 25/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the connection pads (79, 89, 99) are all arranged in the same axial position (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 27/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the insulating body (5c, 5d) is a plastic moulding (¶ [0089], [0100] insert molding) encasing the electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) at least partially with openings for the connection pads (79, 89, 99) and for the connection members (78, 88, 98).
Regarding claim 28, Ishikawa discloses a stator (2) for an electric machine (1), comprising:
hairpin winding conductors (50); and
a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) for a stator (2) of an electric machine (1), wherein the terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) includes:
an insulating body (5c, 5d);
a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and
wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); and
wherein the hairpin winding conductors (50) have a plurality of connection pins (63, 64), wherein the connection pins (64) are connected to the connection pads (79, 89, 99).
Regarding claim 29/28, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 28. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the hairpin winding conductors (50) form at least two parallel branches per phase (FIG. 3), each branch having a neutral connector pin (see annotation below) and a phase connector pin (see annotation below) at respective distal ends, wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two electrically separate neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms), the at least two neutral connector pins of each phase being connected to the respective separate neutral conductor arms (FIG. 3; neutral points connected to neutral conductor).
Regarding claim 30, Ishikawa discloses a method of manufacturing a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) that includes an insulating body (5c, 5d); a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7); wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d); wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); the method comprising:
forming the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) by stamping and bending sheet metal (¶ [0075] plate shape formed by press working; ¶ [0088], [0094]; conductors are commonly made of copper), wherein the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are each formed in one piece with a connection member (78, 88, 98) for connecting to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions);
arranging the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) such as to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); and
encasing the electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) at least partially in the insulating body (5c, 5d) by plastic moulding (¶ [0089], [0100] insert molding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Ikura (US 2013/0113313 A1).
Regarding claim 18/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) have phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) and the at least one neutral conductor (10) has at least one neutral conductor arm (11).
Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the phase conductor arms and the at least one neutral conductor arm are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction.
Ikura discloses wherein the phase conductor arms (31b) and the at least one neutral conductor arm (31a) are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction (FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Ikura to disclose wherein the phase conductor arms and the at least one neutral conductor arm are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction, as by having the conductors and conductor arms all at the same axial level, the axial length of the motor can be reduced.
Regarding claim 19/18, Ishikawa in view of Ikura was discussed above in claim 18. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) extend from the respective connection member (78, 88, 98) in two opposite circumferential directions (FIG. 7), two distal ends of the phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) each carrying one of the connection pads (79, 89, 99; FIG. 7).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Ikura (US 2013/0113313 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2003/0090166 A1).
Regarding claim 20/18, Ishikawa in view of Ikura was discussed above in claim 18. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the connection member has a lug, wherein the lug is angled relative to the phase conductor arms, in particular by approximately 90°.
Kobayashi discloses wherein the connection member (50u-w) has a lug (56), wherein the lug (56) is angled relative to the phase conductor arms (92), in particular by approximately 90° (FIG. 6A, 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Ikura, further in view of Kobayashi to disclose wherein the connection member has a lug, wherein the lug is angled relative to the phase conductor arms, in particular by approximately 90°, for the advantages of decreasing axial length of the motor.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2003/0090166 A1).
Regarding claim 21/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the lug extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction.
Kobayashi discloses wherein the lug (56) extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction (FIG. 6A, 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Kobayashi to disclose wherein the lug extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction, for the advantages of decreasing axial length of the motor.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Tamura (US 2016/0020658 A1).
Regarding claim 26/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120°.
Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (161U-W) extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120° (FIG. 23; ¶ [0122] discloses an angle of 90°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Tamura to disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120°, as disclosed in Tamura ¶ [0122], the angle of the bus bar module is an integral multiple of the pitch of the magnetic pole pairs, and the angle of the bus bar is a result-effect variable.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834