DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ishikawa does not disclose “the plurality of electrical conductors has a primary extension in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension in an axial direction,” because “the phase bus bars have the axial direction as the thickness direction, so their second largest extension is radial; conversely, the neutral bus bar has a radial thickness, so its second largest extension is axial.” Examiner disagrees. As seen in FIG. 7 and 8, all the bus bars has the longest extension in the circumferential direction, as in the main body portion (11, 71, 81, 91) extends in the circumferential direction, while the second longest extension is in the axial direction, as in the terminals (19, 78, 88, 98) extends in the axial direction. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ishikawa does not disclose “the at least one neutral conductor and the phase conductors are arranged to overlap in a radial direction,” because “the neutral point bus bar 110 overlaps with the terminal portion 179 only, not with one of the phase bus bars 170, 180, 190.” Examiner disagrees. The terminal portion is also part of the phase bus bars, which overlaps with the neutral point bus bar as seen in FIG. 10, and the phase bus bars overlaps with the neutral point bus bar terminal in FIG. 1. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 06/15/2026, with respect to claims 21, 26, 28 and 30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection and objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 31 and 32 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 31 recites “the primary extension in the circumferential direction corresponds to the largest geometric extension, and the secondary extension in the axial direction corresponds to the second-largest geometric extension, and the remaining direction is the smallest dimension,” which has not been disclosed in the specification. It is not clear whether FIG. 4 discloses the conductor with an axial thickness larger than the radial thickness. Thus, the claim is new matter.
Claim 32 recites “a smallest dimension of each of the electrical conductors of the plurality is a thickness in a direction orthogonal to both the circumferential direction and the axial direction,” which has not been disclosed in the specification. It is not clear whether FIG. 4 discloses the conductor with an axial thickness larger than the radial thickness. Thus, the claim is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 22-23, 25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ishikawa discloses a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) for a stator (2) of an electric machine (1), comprising:
an insulating body (5c, 5d);
a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and
wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked).
Regarding claim 17/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductors with the respective connection member are stamped-bent parts (¶ [0075] plate shape formed by press working) made of sheet metal (¶ [0088], [0094]; conductors are commonly made of copper).
Regarding claim 22/17, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 17. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two electrically separate neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms).
Regarding claim 23/17, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 17. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms), which are electrically connected at a bridge section (see annotation below).
Regarding claim 25/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the connection pads (79, 89, 99) are all arranged in the same axial position (FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 27/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the insulating body (5c, 5d) is a plastic moulding (¶ [0089], [0100] insert molding) encasing the electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) at least partially with openings for the connection pads (79, 89, 99) and for the connection members (78, 88, 98).
Regarding claim 28, Ishikawa discloses a stator (2) for an electric machine (1), comprising:
hairpin winding conductors (50); and
a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) for the stator (2) of the electric machine (1), wherein the terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) includes:
an insulating body (5c, 5d);
a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to the hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d);
wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and
wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); and
wherein the hairpin winding conductors (50) have a plurality of connection pins (63, 64), wherein the connection pins (64) are connected to the connection pads (79, 89, 99).
Regarding claim 29/28, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 28. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the hairpin winding conductors (50) form at least two parallel branches per phase (FIG. 3), each branch having a neutral connector pin (see annotation below) and a phase connector pin (see annotation below) at respective distal ends, wherein the neutral conductor (10) comprises at least two electrically separate neutral conductor arms (11; five conductor arms), the at least two neutral connector pins of each phase being connected to the respective separate neutral conductor arms (FIG. 3; neutral points connected to neutral conductor).
Regarding claim 30, Ishikawa discloses a method of manufacturing a terminal rack assembly (5A, 5B) that includes an insulating body (5c, 5d); a plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) having connection pads (79, 89, 99) arranged to be connected to hairpin winding conductors (50) of the stator (2), the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) forming at least one neutral conductor (10) and multiple phase conductors (70, 80, 90), the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) each having a connection member (78, 88, 98) arranged to be connected to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions), the connection members (78, 88, 98) being provided in one piece with the respective phase conductor (70, 80, 90; FIG. 7); wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) is carried by the insulating body (5c, 5d); wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) has a primary extension (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) in a circumferential direction and a secondary extension (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) in an axial direction; and wherein the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are arranged to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); the method comprising:
forming the plurality of electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) by stamping and bending sheet metal (¶ [0075] plate shape formed by press working; ¶ [0088], [0094]; conductors are commonly made of copper), wherein the stamping and bending is carried out such that, for both the at least one neutral conductor and the phase conductors, a primary direction of extension in the circumferential direction (FIG. 7, 8; conductor bodies 11, 71, 81, 91 extending circumferentially) and a secondary direction of extension in the axial direction (FIG. 5; connectors extending axially) are defined by the geometry of the conductors, and wherein the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) are each formed in one piece with a connection member (78, 88, 98) for connecting to a current supply of the stator (2; ¶ [0076] input terminal portions);
arranging the at least one neutral conductor (10) and the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) such as to overlap in a radial direction (FIG. 10; the bus bars 105A and 105B are the same structure as the bus bars 5A and 5B modified to be radially stacked); and
encasing the electrical conductors (10, 70, 80, 90) at least partially in the insulating body (5c, 5d) by plastic moulding (¶ [0089], [0100] insert molding).
Regarding claim 31/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein, for each of the electrical conductors of the plurality (10, 70, 80, 90), the primary extension in the circumferential direction corresponds to the largest geometric extension (FIG. 7, 8; body portion), and the secondary extension in the axial direction corresponds to the second-largest geometric extension (FIG. 5, 7, 8 discloses the axial terminals 11, 78, 88, 98 extending longer than the radial thickness), and the remaining direction is the smallest dimension.
Regarding claim 32/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein, a smallest dimension of each of the electrical conductors of the plurality (10, 70, 80, 90) is a thickness in a direction orthogonal to both the circumferential direction and the axial direction (radial direction is the smallest dimension).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Ikura (US 2013/0113313 A1).
Regarding claim 18/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductors (70, 80, 90) have phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) and the at least one neutral conductor (10) has at least one neutral conductor arm (11).
Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the phase conductor arms and the at least one neutral conductor arm are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction.
Ikura discloses wherein the phase conductor arms (31b) and the at least one neutral conductor arm (31a) are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction (FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Ikura to disclose wherein the phase conductor arms and the at least one neutral conductor arm are arranged in the same axial position and have the same extension in axial direction, as by having the conductors and conductor arms all at the same axial level, the axial length of the motor can be reduced.
Regarding claim 19/18, Ishikawa in view of Ikura was discussed above in claim 18. Ishikawa further discloses wherein the phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) extend from the respective connection member (78, 88, 98) in two opposite circumferential directions (FIG. 7), two distal ends of the phase conductor arms (71, 81, 91) each carrying one of the connection pads (79, 89, 99; FIG. 7).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Ikura (US 2013/0113313 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2003/0090166 A1).
Regarding claim 20/18, Ishikawa in view of Ikura was discussed above in claim 18. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the connection member has a lug, wherein the lug is angled relative to the phase conductor arms, in particular by approximately 90°.
Kobayashi discloses wherein the connection member (50u-w) has a lug (56), wherein the lug (56) is angled relative to the phase conductor arms (92), in particular by approximately 90° (FIG. 6A, 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Ikura, further in view of Kobayashi to disclose wherein the connection member has a lug, wherein the lug is angled relative to the phase conductor arms, in particular by approximately 90°, for the advantages of decreasing axial length of the motor.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2003/0090166 A1).
Regarding claim 21/20, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 20. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the lug extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction.
Kobayashi discloses wherein the lug (56) extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction (FIG. 6A, 6B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Kobayashi to disclose wherein the lug extends in a plane perpendicular to the axial direction, for the advantages of decreasing axial length of the motor.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (US 2022/0311301 A1) in view of Tamura (US 2016/0020658 A1).
Regarding claim 26/16, Ishikawa was discussed above in claim 16. Ishikawa does not disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120°.
Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of electrical conductors (161U-W) extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120° (FIG. 23; ¶ [0122] discloses an angle of 90°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Ishikawa in view of Tamura to disclose wherein the plurality of electrical conductors extend in the circumferential direction over an angle of less than 120°, as disclosed in Tamura ¶ [0122], the angle of the bus bar module is an integral multiple of the pitch of the magnetic pole pairs, and the angle of the bus bar is a result-effect variable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834