DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8:
The claim recites the limitation "the controller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5242386 A to Holzer.
Holzer discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
An aesthetic treatment system (figure 1), comprising:
a cannula assembly (10) defining an elongate profile (see elongate profile of 10 as shown in figure 1) and having a proximal end portion (see the proximal end portion B in figure 1 below) and a distal end portion (see the distal end portion A in figure 1 below), the cannula assembly (10) being configured to inject or collect fat (“liposuction”; column 4, lines 5-15); and
an ultrasound transducer (40) configured at the distal end portion (A in figure 1 below) (as shown in figure 1 below).
Figure 1 - figure 1 of Holzer, annotated by the examiner
Regarding claim 3:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein the ultrasound transducer (40) is configured to send and receive an ultrasound energy (column 3, lines 32-50), wherein the system is configured to analyze the ultrasound energy to assess a depth of the cannula assembly (10) within tissue (analyzed by the “pulse-processing circuit” and the “computer video screen” mentioned in column 3, lines 32-60).
Regarding claim 6:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, further comprising a controller (see the “pulse-processing circuit” and the “computer video screen” mentioned in column 3, lines 32-60) configured to process ultrasound energy information (column 3, lines 32-60).
Regarding claim 8:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, further comprising a display (“computer video screen” mentioned in column 4, lines 32-60), wherein the controller is configured to process and present ultrasound energy information (determines the position of the canula based on the ultrasound as indicated in column 4, lines 4-7) or light energy information on the display.
Regarding claim 10:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein a highly comprehensive or a full ultrasonic image is presented on a display (visual control as indicated in column 4, lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 11:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein a digital display is employed to provide depth information (video screen indicates if the tip 32 of the cannula is below the “muscle fascia” as indicated in column 4, lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 13:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, further comprising a standard cannula (10) and a sleeve (20) including depth assessment structure (see the end of sleeve 20 at location C as shown in figure 1 above which indicates the depth of the cannula) and functionality and being sized and shaped to engage and attach to the standard cannula (as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 14:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein the cannula assembly (10) is steerable (can be positioned to perform liposuction column 4, lines 1-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5242386 A to Holzer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2021150479 A1 to Podmore et al. (Podmore).
Regarding claim 2:
Holzer fails to disclose:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1 further comprising: a light emitter configured at the distal end portion.
Podmore teaches:
A aesthetic treatment system (figures 8a-8d; liposuction as indicated in ¶0005) that includes a cannula (554 om figure 6a) that includes two LED light sources (656 and 652; ¶0071). The light sources aid in determining the depth of the cannula (¶0071). Further. The lights sources can emit different colors (¶0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzer to further include multiple light emitters (a light emitter) at the distal end of the cannula as taught by Podmore to aid in determining the depth of the cannula (Podmore, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 4:
All limitations of the claim are taught by the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 2 by Holzer and Podmore:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 2, wherein the light emitter is configured to provide transillumination for tracking the cannula assembly within tissue (the light from the LED’s incorporated from Podmore into Holzer allows for the location and depth of the cannula to be determined).
Regarding claim 5:
All limitations of the claim are taught by the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 2 by Holzer and Podmore:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 2, wherein the light emitter is configured to provide depth information of the cannula assembly within tissue (the light from the LED’s incorporated from Podmore into Holzer allows for the location and depth of the cannula to be determined).
Regarding claim 7:
Holzer fails to disclose:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to process light energy information.
Podmore teaches:
A aesthetic treatment system (figure 5; liposuction as indicated in ¶0005) that includes a cannula (506 om figure 5) that includes markings. The system further includes an optical encoder (processes light) that reads the markings in determining the depth of the cannula (¶0064). Further a controller (504) process the light energy information from the encoder (¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzer to further include markings on the cannula, an optical encoder and controller as taught by Podmore in order to determine the depth of the cannula (Podmore, ¶0064). This would add a controller configured to process light energy (light energy received by the encoder and information passed to the controller).
Regarding claim 12:
All limitations of the claim are taught by the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 2 by Holzer and Podmore:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, further comprising an LED (see the LED’s incorporated from Podmore into Holzer) that flashes or changes color to represent a depth of the cannula assembly (see how the color or the overlapping color of the multiple LED’s indicates the depth of the cannula as indicated in ¶0071 of Podmore which would be incorporated into Holzer to operate in the same manner to determine depth).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5242386 A to Holzer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4936281 A to Stasz.
Regarding claim 9:
Holzer fails to disclose:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein A-scans are presented on a display.
Stasz teaches:
A cannula assembly (figure 1) that includes a cannula (10) to remove material form the body (column 1, lines 6-11). Further, the system uses A-scans to direct the position of the tip of the cannula (column 4, lines 40-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holzer to further include A-scans on the display as taught by Stasz to determine the position of the cannula distal tip (Stasz, column 4, lines 40-51).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5242386 A to Holzer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20070276352 A1 to Crocker et al. (Crocker).
Regarding claim 15:
Holzer fails to disclose:
The aesthetic treatment system of claim 1, wherein the cannula assembly is longitudinally flexible.
Crocker teaches:
An aesthetic treatment system (figure 1) that can be used for liposuction (¶0114). The system can include a cannula (105) that can be flexible (¶0114) for use with a child.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula in Holzer to a flexible cannula as taught by Crocker for use with a child to operate in more confined spaces (Crocker, ¶0114).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following is pertinent prior art:
US-20100168570-A1
Sliwa
See the ultrasound assembly 22
US-5636644-A
Hart
See the ultrasound assembly 85
US-20140336477-A1
McGee
See the ultrasound assembly 38/40
US-20070043344-A1
McAuley
See the ultrasound assembly 256
AU-2007254588-A1
ANDERSON
See the ultrasound assembly 220
WO-9817185-A1
NEGUS
See the ultrasound assembly 162
WO-0105318-A1
UTLEY
See the ultrasound assembly 74
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783