DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first member comprising temporary anchorage devices of claims 24 and 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests amending claim 9 line 8 “the portion” to “the connecting portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 24, “wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices” in lines 1-2 appears to be new matter. The specification does not appear to provide such a description, as though paragraph 0048 mentions TADS, the specification does not support the TADS being fixed to a natural tooth, and claim 24 depends from claim 1, which requires the first member being fixed to a natural tooth in line 9. The Figures do not show the first member comprising temporary anchorage devices. Finally, such was not originally claimed. Thus, “wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices” in lines 1-2 constitutes new matter. Examiner suggests cancelling claim 24.
As to claim 28, “wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices” in lines 1-2 appears to be new matter. The specification does not appear to provide such a description, as though paragraph 0048 mentions TADS, the specification does not support the TADS being fixed to a natural tooth, and claim 28 depends from claim 10, which requires the first member being fixed to a natural tooth in lines 3-4. The Figures do not show the first member comprising temporary anchorage devices. Finally, such was not originally claimed. Thus, “wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices” in lines 1-2 constitutes new matter. Examiner suggests cancelling claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-11, 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 line 9 “a first member fixed to a natural tooth of the patient’s teeth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “a first member configured to be fixed to a natural tooth of the patient’s teeth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient’s teeth.
Claim 10 line 3 “the first member is fixed to the natural teeth of the patient’s teeth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “the first member is configured to be fixed to the natural teeth of the patient’s teeth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being fixed to the natural teeth of the patient’s teeth.
Claim 21 lines 1-2 “the first member is fixed to the natural tooth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “the first member is configured to be fixed to the natural tooth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being fixed to the natural tooth.
Claim 22 lines 1-2 “the first member is directly fixed to the natural tooth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “the first member is configured to be directly fixed to the natural tooth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being directly fixed to the natural tooth.
Claim 25 lines 1-2 “the first member is fixed to the natural tooth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “the first member is configured to be fixed to the natural tooth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being fixed to the natural tooth.
Claim 26 lines 1-2 “the first member is directly fixed to the natural tooth” appears to claim the human body. Examiner suggests amending as “the first member is configured to be directly fixed to the natural tooth” to address this rejection and will interpret these limitations as meaning that the first member is capable of being directly fixed to the natural tooth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0201166 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Hung discloses a hybrid orthodontic appliance (10 in Figs. 1-3) for repositioning a patient's teeth (para. 0006), the hybrid orthodontic appliance comprising:
at least one tray (tray 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0031), wherein each of the at least one tray comprises:
a main body (111 in Fig. 1, para. 0032), comprising a tooth receiving cavity shaped to receive only a portion of the patient's teeth (para. 0032, tooth receiving cavities), an interior surface facing towards the tooth receiving cavity (para. 0032 inner surface), and an exterior surface opposite to the interior surface (OS in Fig. 1, para. 0032); and
a connecting portion (connecting portions 1 i.e. 21, in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033), located at the exterior surface of the main body (Fig. 1, para. 0033); and
a brace (1st member and 2nd member in annotated Fig. 1) detachably connected to the connecting portion (paras. 0033-0034, elastic 2nd member such as elastic thread, rubber band, or power chain are detachable from connecting portion hooks, buttons, tubes or brackets), the brace comprising:
a first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) capable of being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth (Fig. 1, paras. 0031 and 0033-0034, 1st member 22 is fixed to the teeth by the tray 12); and
a second member (2nd member in annotated Fig .1) connected to the first member (annotated Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 2, Hung discloses the invention of claim 1. Hung further discloses wherein the second member (2nd member in annotated Fig .1) extends to the connecting portion and is detachably connected to the connecting portion (paras. 0034).
In regard to claim 3, Hung discloses the invention of claim 2, wherein the first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) of the brace comprises a bracket (para. 0033), and the second member of the brace comprises an elastic (30, para. 0034).
In regard to claim 7, Hung discloses the invention of claim 1, wherein the connecting portion (connecting portions 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033) and the main body (111 in Fig. 1, para. 0032) are integrated (para. 0033, fixed on the sides).
In regard to claim 8, Hung discloses the invention of claim 1, wherein the connecting portion (connecting portions 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033) comprises an engaging member (paras. 0033).
In regard to claim 9, Hung discloses a hybrid orthodontic appliance (10 in Figs. 1-3) for repositioning a patient's teeth (para. 0006), the orthodontic appliance comprising:
a tray (tray 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0031), comprising:
a main body (111 in Fig. 1), comprising a tooth receiving cavity shaped to receive only a portion of the patient's teeth (para. 0032, tooth receiving cavities); and
a connecting portion (connecting portion 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033), located at an exterior surface of the main body (Fig. 1, para. 0033); and
a brace (1st member and 2nd member in annotated Fig. 1) for being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth which is close to the portion (Fig. 1), wherein the brace extends to the connecting portion and is detachably connected to the connecting portion (Fig. 1, paras. 0033-0034, elastic 2nd member such as elastic thread, rubber band, or power chain are detachable from connecting portion hooks, buttons, tubes or brackets).
In regard to claim 10, Hung discloses the invention of claim 9. Hung further discloses wherein the brace (1st member and 2nd member in annotated Fig. 1) comprises a first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) and a second member (2nd member in annotated Fig. 1) detachably connected to each other (para. 0034), the first member is capable of being fixed to the natural teeth of the patient's teeth (para. 0034), and the second member extends to the connecting portion and is detachably connected to the connecting portion (para. 0034).
In regard to claim 11, Hung discloses the invention of claim 10. Hung further discloses wherein the first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) of the brace comprises a bracket (para. 0033), and the second member (2nd member in annotated Fig. 1) of the brace comprises an elastic (para. 0034).
In regard to claim 13, Hung discloses the invention of claim 9. Hung further discloses wherein the connecting portion (connecting portion 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033) and the main body (111 in Fig. 1) are integrated (para. 0033).
In regard to claim 14, Hung discloses the invention of claim 9. Hung further discloses wherein the connecting portion (connecting portion 1 in annotated Fig. 1, para. 0033) comprises a hook (para. 0033, fixed to the sides).
Claims 1, 9, 21-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeckel (U.S. Patent No. 5,022,855 A).
In regard to claim 1, Jeckel discloses a hybrid orthodontic appliance (Figs. 4-8) for repositioning a patient's teeth (Abstract), the hybrid orthodontic appliance comprising:
at least one tray (6 in Fig. 4, col. 7 lines 11-18), wherein each of the at least one tray comprises:
a main body (main body in annotated Fig. 4), comprising a tooth receiving cavity (cavity in annotated Fig. 4) shaped to receive only a portion of the patient's teeth (Fig. 4, col. 7 lines 11-18), an interior surface (interior surface in annotated Fig. 4) facing towards the tooth receiving cavity (Fig. 1), and an exterior surface (exterior surface in annotated Fig. 4) opposite to the interior surface (Fig. 4); and
a connecting portion (36a in Fig. 4), located at the exterior surface of the main body (Figs. 4 and 5, col. 12 lines 55-57); and a brace (3 and 10 in Fig. 4) detachably connected to the connecting portion (col. 6 lines 28-31, separably), the brace comprising:
a first member (3 in Fig. 4) fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth (Fig. 4, col. 8 lines 48-53); and
a second member (10 in Fig. 4) connected to the first member (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 21, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 1. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55) is fixed to the natural tooth without a tray (col. 7 lines 8-11, narrow collars or bands).
In regard to claim 22, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 1. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55) is directly fixed to the natural tooth (col. 7 lines 8-11, fixed or cemented to molar by narrow collars or bands).
In regard to claim 23, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 1. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55) comprises a molar uprighting appliance (col. 5 lines 59-col. 6 line 6).
In regard to claim 9, Jeckel discloses a hybrid orthodontic appliance (Figs. 4-8) for repositioning a patient's teeth (Abstract), the orthodontic appliance comprising:
a tray (6 in Fig. 4, col. 7 lines 11-18), comprising:
a main body (main body in annotated Fig. 4), comprising a tooth receiving cavity (cavity in annotated Fig. 4) shaped to receive only a portion of the patient's teeth (Fig. 4, col. 7 lines 11-18); and
a connecting portion (36a in Fig. 4), located at an exterior surface (exterior surface in annotated Fig. 4) of the main body (Fig. 4); and
a brace (3 and 10 in Fig. 4) for being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth (Fig. 4) which is close to the portion (Fig. 4; tooth M is relatively close to the portion), wherein the brace extends to the connecting portion (Fig. 4) and is detachably connected to the connecting portion (col. 6 lines 28-31, separably).
In regard to claim 25, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 10. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55)is capable of being fixed to the natural tooth without a tray (col. 7 lines 8-11, narrow collars or bands).
In regard to claim 26, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 10. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55) is capable of being directly fixed to the natural tooth (col. 7 lines 8-11, fixed or cemented to molar by narrow collars or bands).
In regard to claim 27, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 10. Jeckel further discloses wherein the first member (3 in Fig. 4, paras. 48-55) comprises a molar uprighting appliance (col. 5 lines 59-col. 6 line 6).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilliard (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0190575 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Hilliard discloses a hybrid orthodontic appliance (Figs. 1-2 and 9-10) for repositioning a patient's teeth (Abstract, para. 0067), the orthodontic appliance comprising:
a tray (20a in Fig. 10, para. 0067), comprising:
a main body (main body 1 in annotated Fig. 10), comprising a tooth receiving cavity shaped to receive only a portion of the patient's teeth (para. 0067, each section contains cavities engaging teeth to be moved); and
a connecting portion (30a in annotated Fig. 10, para. 0067), located at an exterior surface of the main body (Fig. 10, para. 0051, direction of insertion can be so that head of connecting portion is on the exterior); and
a brace (52 in Fig. 10, para. 0067) for being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth which is close to the portion (Fig. 10, 52 is fixed to 30b retained on 20b which is fixed to a tooth), wherein the brace extends to the connecting portion and is detachably connected to the connecting portion (Fig. 10, para. 0067, rubber band 52 is detachable from the heads of 30a and 30b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Martz et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,795,460 B2, hereinafter “Martz”).
In regard to claim 6, Hung discloses the invention of claim 1. Hung does not disclose wherein the main body comprises a well sunken from the interior surface for housing an attachment which is adapted to attach to one of the portion of the patient's teeth.
Martz teaches wherein the main body (80 and 82 in Fig. 2) comprises a well (col. 7 lines 27-30, recess) sunken from the interior surface for housing an attachment which is capable of attaching to one of the portion of the patient's teeth (col. 7 lines 27-30).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic space closure devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the main body of Hung by adding a well sunken from the interior surface for housing an attachment which is capable of attaching to one of the portion of the patient's teeth as taught by Martz in order to allow for the main bodies to engage with attachments to increase the retention of the main bodies to the teeth, effectively clasp the teeth and transmit desired forces to the teeth, providing control over root movement (Martz col. 6 lines 39-47)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilliard in view of Martz.
In regard to claim 12, Hilliard discloses the invention of claim 9. Hilliard does not disclose wherein the main body comprises a well sunken from an interior surface of the main body for housing an attachment which is adapted to attach to one of the portion of the patient's teeth.
Martz teaches wherein the main body (80 in Fig. 2) comprises a well (col. 7 lines 27-30, recess) sunken from an interior surface of the main body for housing an attachment which is capable of attaching to one of the portion of the patient's teeth (col. 7 lines 27-30).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic tooth repositioning trays. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the main body of Hilliard by adding a well sunken from an interior surface of the main body for housing an attachment which is adapted to attach to one of the portion of the patient's teeth as taught by Martz in order to allow for the main bodies to engage with attachments to increase the retention of the main bodies to the teeth, effectively clasp the teeth and transmit desired forces to the teeth, providing control over root movement (Martz col. 6 lines 39-47)
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeckel in view of Cope (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0196781 A1).
In regard to claim 24, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 1. Jeckel does not disclose wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices.
Cope teaches wherein an apparatus (Fig. 9) comprising a first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) and a second member (2nd member in annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices (23 in Fig. 9).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic tooth repositioning devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first member of Jeckel by specifying the first member further comprises temporary anchorage devices as taught by Cope in order to allow for adjusting directions of the force of the device (Cope para. 0051) in order to achieve ideal directional forces for adjusting the positions of one or more teeth (Cope para. 0052).
In regard to claim 28, Jeckel discloses the invention of claim 10. Jeckel does not disclose wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices.
Cope teaches wherein an apparatus (Fig. 9) comprising a first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) and a second member (2nd member in annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first member comprises temporary anchorage devices (23 in Fig. 9).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic tooth repositioning devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first member of Jeckel by specifying the first member further comprises temporary anchorage devices as taught by Cope in order to allow for adjusting directions of the force of the device (Cope para. 0051) in order to achieve ideal directional forces for adjusting the positions of one or more teeth (Cope para. 0052).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the rejections of claims 1-3, 7-1 1, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 1 02(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung, the rejections of claim 1, 4-5, 9, and 15-18 under 35 U.S.C. 1 02(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hillard, and the rejection of claims 6, 12, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillard in view of Martz, Applicant argues that the references do not recite the limitations of amended independent claims 1 and 9. Applicant argues that Hung does not disclose a first member fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth as in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 of Hung, the connector 22 is connected to the tray 121, not the natural tooth. Applicant argues that Hillard does not disclose a first member fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth as the rubber band 52 is connected between two trays 20a and 20b. Applicant argues that Martz also does not disclose these features. Applicant argues that amended claim 9 recites similar features and distinguishes over the applied references for similar reasons. Applicant argues that the dependent claims claim further distinguishing features and distinguish over the applied references for at least the reasons set forth with respect to independent claims 1 and 9.
Examiner notes that in regard to Hung, Applicant’s argument is narrower than the claim limitation; in light of the above 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Hung discloses a first member (1st member in annotated Fig. 1) capable of being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth (Fig. 1, paras. 0031 and 0033-0034, 1st member 22 is fixed to the teeth by the tray 12). Though the first member of Hung is not “directly” connected to the tooth through a method such as cementing, the first member of Hung is fixed to the tooth through the tray 12, which reads on the limitation of claim 1 as claimed. Examiner notes that Hillard does not disclose the limitations of amended claim 1. Examiner notes that in regard to amended claim 9, Applicant’s arguments are narrower than the claim limitations, and Hillard discloses a brace (52 in Fig. 10, para. 0067) for being fixed to a natural tooth of the patient's teeth which is close to the portion (Fig. 10, 52 is fixed to 30b retained on 20b which is fixed to a tooth). Though brace 52 is not “directly” connected to the tooth through a method such as cementing, the brace 52 of Hillard is fixed to the tooth through connecting portion 30b, which is retained on tray 20b, which is fixed to a tooth. Examiner notes that in the above rejection, claims 1-3, 7-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung, claims 1, 9, 21-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeckel, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilliard, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Martz, and claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilliard in view of Martz. Applicant is directed to the rejection in view of the amendments.
Applicant argues that the new claims 21-28 depend from the amended claims 1 and 9 and submits that claims 21-28 are patentable at least over the applied references.
Examiner notes that in the above rejection, claims 1, 9, 21-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeckel and claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeckel in view of Cope. Applicant is directed to the rejection in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY N HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
4/15/2026