DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 (claim 15) in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged, therefore, claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are presented for examination on merit.
Claims 16-18 are thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fan et al. (CN104826666) (for applicant’s convenience, machine translation has been used for citations).
Fan et al. teaches a process of producing NaY type molecular sieves (i.e. a zeolite Y) comprising forming a zeolite precursor solution using a silica source material , an alumina source material, and water (a solvent), then forming a reaction mixture comprising such zeolite precursor solution, dynamically crystallizing the obtained reaction mixture via two step crystallization, wherein the first step of performing dynamic crystallization is as follows: the temperature is controlled at 50 to 90 ° C (i.e. first heating), and the crystallization time is 0.5 to 18 hours; and the conditions for the second step of dynamic crystallization are as follows: the temperature is controlled at 80 to 140 ° C (i.e. second heating) for 3 to 10 hours (claim 1, 11, description page 3 line 20-page 5 line 32). Fan et al. also teaches the aluminum-containing material is one or more of Al 2 (SO4)3, AlCl3, Al(NO3)3 and NaAlO2 (claim 5-6, examples 1-9). Fan et al further teaches the obtained zeolite NaY molecular sieves (i.e. zeolite Y) particles having SiO2/Al2O3 molar ratio of 5 to 9 (description page 5 3rd last para.).
Regarding claim 1, Fan et al does not expressly teach the second heating time for being 12 to 24 hours.
Fan et al. teaches the second crystallization time can be from 3 to 10 hours. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention filed to adopt same time range being as that of instantly claimed because using longer time for efficiently crystallizing all the reaction mixture thus obtaining as much as possible desired zeolite Y crystal product is desired and only involves routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, such crystallization time range is just a design parameter, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt same crystallization time range as that of instantly claimed via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for obtaining as much as possible final zeolite Y crystal product.
Regarding claim 2-3 and 4-5, Fan et al. also teaches the aluminum-containing material is one or more of Al 2 (SO4)3, AlCl3, Al(NO3)3 and NaAlO2 (claim 5-6, examples 1-9). As for claim 4 and 5 recited alumina source material “consists of aluminum nitrate” or “consists of aluminum sulfate”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art “obvious to try” aluminum nitrate or aluminum sulfate as aluminum source material because choosing aluminum nitrate or aluminum sulfate as aluminum source material from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of aluminum source material would have a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP §2143 KSR). Thus aluminum source material “consists of aluminum nitrate” or “consists of aluminum sulfate” is envisioned rom fan’s teachings.
Regarding claim 7, Fan et al further teaches the silica source being one or more of water glass, silica sol (i.e. colloidal silica) and organic silicon-containing compound like silyl ether etc. (claim 6).
Regarding claim 9 and 11-12, Fan et al already teaches such limitations.
Regarding claim 13-14, Fan et al also teaches using a basic compound, e.g. sodium hydroxide (claim 6 and 13, description page 5 2nd last para., examples 1-9).
Regarding claim 15, Fan et al does not require using an organic structure-directing agent, therefore, such limitation has been met.
Regarding claim 19, Fan et al. also teaches mixing a basic (e.g. sodium hydroxide) compound, the silica source material, and the alumina source material into a solvent to form a mixture (example 1-9, claims 1, 5-6), stirring at 30 °C and aging the mixture. Fan et al. does not expressly teach aging the zeolite precursor material for at least 10 hours. However, Fan et al. already teaches stirring a reaction mixture and aging such mixture for as long as 8 hours (claim 9, page 5 lines 16-17). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known stirring and aging to homogenously mixing all the reaction mixture because adopting such well-known stirring and aging techniques to a well-known process of forming of zeolite precursor for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt same stirring and aging time range as that of instantly claimed via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for homogeneous mixing all reaction mixture in the zeolite precursor thus obtaining desired zeolite Y particles.
Regarding claim 20, Fan et al. further teaches washing, drying and calcining the obtained zeolite Y particles (claim 20, page 5 lines 34-41, example 1-9, table 1). Furthermore, adopting well-known washing to obtain zeolite Y particles with undesired impurities and remaining reactants or byproducts being washed away , drying and calcining to obtain a zeolite Y product with final properties, such as surface area etc. is well within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/426,059 (reference application, currently allowed) in view of Fan et al. (CN104826666). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’059 teaches a substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor, two-stage thermally treating the reaction solution as that of instantly claimed, except aluminum source materials as that of instantly claimed as claims 2-5. But such limitations have been respectively taught by Fan et al. as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt aluminum source material as shown by Fan et al. for help obtaining a desired zeolite Y product with high Si/Al ratio as suggested by Fan et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-13 and 15-21 of copending Application No. 18/480,949 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’949 teaches a substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor solution, two-stage thermally treating the gel mixture as that of instantly claimed (claim 12) as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/500,496 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’496 teaches a substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor solution, two-stage thermally treating the gel mixture as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of copending Application No. 18/500,513 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’513 teaches a same or substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor, two-stage thermally treating (claim 7-8) the mixture as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/502,495 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’495 teaches a same or substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor, two-stage thermally treating the mixture as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11-15, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7 and 9-21 of copending Application No. 18/585,488 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because co-pending application’588 teaches a same or substantially the same method of making zeolite Y particles comprising forming a zeolite precursor, two-stage thermally treating the mixture as that of instantly claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732