Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 17 April 2024 and 19 December 2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0106248 (Xu).
Considering claim 1, Xu teaches a battery cell that uses an electrode assembly which includes a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate that have opposite polarities, a separator that separates the electrode plates, and an electrolyte, all housed within a shell [ABS, 0027, 0094]. An end cap assembly is used for closing the opening of the shell and includes an adapter, located between the end cap body and electrode assembly, that electrically connects tabs of the electrode plates to the battery cell terminal [0105, 0107]. The adapter is considered to be analogous to the current collector plate of the instant claim. Furthermore, at least one of the first and second electrode plates includes a main body portion that comprises a current collector with an active material layer provided on a surface of the current collector [0034]. The main body portion has an active material region A and a flow guiding region B, with the flow guiding region B including a guide region B2 that is not provided with a coating layer [0142, 0152, 0153, Fig 13A]. Additionally, an end portion of the wound main body includes a conductive region along with a liquid guiding region, with the conductive region including two tabs in an embodiment that may be bent inwards in the radial direction [0164, 0185]. The tabs from the conductive region are electrically connected to the terminal of the battery cell via the adapter [0164]. No tabs are provided in the liquid guiding region after the tabs of the conductive region are flattened [0117, 0164]. The conductive region and liquid guiding region taught by Xu anticipate the cover region and exposure region respectively of the instant claim.
Considering claim 2, Xu teaches the liquid guiding region 111 to be annular around the center of the electrode assembly 10 [Fig 7, Fig 9].
Considering claim 3, Xu teaches that the liquid guiding region 111 may be inside the conductive region 121 in the radial direction in an embodiment of the invention [Fig 9].
Considering claim 4, Xu teaches the conductive region 121 to be annular around the center of the electrode assembly [Fig 7, Fig 9].
Considering claim 5, Xu teaches that the conductive region 121 may be inside the liquid guiding region 111 in the radial direction in an embodiment of the invention [Fig 7].
Considering claim 6, Xu teaches that the conductive region 121 may be outside the liquid guiding region 111 in the radial direction in an embodiment of the invention [Fig 9].
Conclusion
/E.H.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784