DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga et al. (US 20070029886), hereinafter referred to as ‘Shiga’.
Regarding Claim 1, Shiga discloses a rotation angle sensing system of a swivel core comprising: a rotation sensing device installed on a stator of the swivel core (FIGS. 1A, 1B and 2 show a first embodiment of the invention. Referring first to FIG. 2, a stator 1 includes a base 2 and a stator core 3 screwed to the base. The stator core 3 is formed by axially stacking a number of magnetic steel sheets and includes a generally cylindrical yoke 4 and a plurality of radially extending teeth 5. An insulating layer 6 made of a synthetic resin is formed on a surface of the teeth 5. Phase U, V and W coils 7 are wound on the insulating layer 6. An arm-shaped holder (not shown) extending toward the outer periphery is fixed to the insulating layer 6. A position sensor 8 comprising Hall elements is fixed to the holder as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B [0023]) and sensing rotation state of a rotor of the swivel core (The present invention provides a rotor for an electric motor of an outer rotor type which includes a rotational shaft and a stator having teeth, the rotor comprising a base plate made of a magnetic material and coupled to the rotational shaft, a rotor core, i.e. swivel core, provided on the base plate and including a protrusion protruding axially relative to the base plate and the teeth of the stator [0006];The position sensor 8 is provided for detecting a rotational position of the rotor core 18 [0028]); and an identifier formed on the rotor to generate a sensing signal of the rotation sensing device (Moreover, the rotor core 18 is provided with the protrusion 20 protruding relative to both rotor frame 13 and teeth 5, and the position sensor 8 detects the rotational position at the protrusion 20. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shiga discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Shiga discloses the rotation sensing device is a contact sensor sensing contact with the identifier (the rotor core 18 is provided with the protrusion 20 protruding relative to both rotor frame 13 and teeth 5, and the position sensor 8 detects the rotational position at the protrusion 20 [0032]), and the identifier is a hill part formed to protrude from an inner surface of the rotor (On the other hand, the upper end of the rotor core 18 protrudes upward relative to the upper ends of the teeth 5 and the rotor frame 13. Reference numeral 20 designates a protruding portion of the rotor core 18 [0026]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shiga discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
Shiga discloses a contact slope of the uphill portion and the downhill portion is a gently curved surface (Fig. 3 #20).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga, and further in view of Seitz et al. (DE102015203698) hereinafter referred to as ‘Seitz’.
Regarding Claim 3, Shiga discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Shiga discloses the contact sensor comprises, a switch body (As a result, since shorter pitches can be employed in detecting the rotational position of the rotor core 18, the switching control can easily be carried out according to variations in the load of the coil 7 [0051]); the switch body to the identifier (as discussed above); and a switch circuit part installed at the switch body (as discussed above).
However, Shiga does not explicitly disclose the contact sensor comprises, a switch body; a button part installed to be able to move forward and backward in the direction from the switch body to the identifier; and a switch circuit part installed at the switch body and generating an ON signal when the button part is pressed by the identifier.
Nevertheless, Seitz discloses a button (A motion detection device 60 from Fig. 6 detects translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part 6. Two pushbuttons, 61 and 62, are provided [0109]); and … the button part (A motion detection device 60 from Fig. 6 detects translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part 6. Two pushbuttons, 61 and 62, are provided [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga with the teachings of Seitz to detect translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part while improving the detection of the identifier.
Regarding Claim 4, Shiga discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Shiga discloses the hill part comprises (On the other hand, the upper end of the rotor core 18 protrudes upward relative to the upper ends of the teeth 5 and the rotor frame 13 [0026]), an uphill portion formed from a starting point (On the other hand, the upper end of the rotor core 18 protrudes upward relative to the upper ends of the teeth 5 and the rotor frame 13 [0026]); and a downhill portion formed from the highest point to an end point (On the other hand, the upper end of the rotor core 18 protrudes upward relative to the upper ends of the teeth 5 and the rotor frame 13 [0026]).
However, Shiga does not explicitly disclose the hill part comprises an uphill portion formed from a starting point, where contact with the button part begins, to a highest point; and a downhill portion formed from the highest point to an end point, where contact with the button part ends.
Nevertheless, Seitz discloses the button part (A motion detection device 60 from Fig. 6 detects translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part 6. Two pushbuttons, 61 and 62, are provided [0109]); the button part (A motion detection device 60 from Fig. 6 detects translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part 6. Two pushbuttons, 61 and 62, are provided [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga with the teachings of Seitz to detect translational movements of the bearing 5 and thus translational movements of the rotor coupled to the bearing part while improving the detection of the identifier.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga, and further in view of Jung et al. (KR20000014113) hereinafter referred to as ‘Jung’.
Regarding Claim 6, Shiga discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Shiga discloses a fixing bracket which is fixed to one side of the stator and where the rotation sensing device is installed; protrusion to be combined with an inner groove formed at the rotor (The present invention provides a rotor for an electric motor of an outer rotor type which includes a rotational shaft and a stator having teeth, the rotor comprising a base plate made of a magnetic material and coupled to the rotational shaft, a rotor core provided on the base plate and including a protrusion protruding axially relative to the base plate and the teeth of the stator…[0006]; The stator core 3 is formed by axially stacking a number of magnetic steel sheets and includes a generally cylindrical yoke 4 and a plurality of radially extending teeth 5… An arm-shaped holder (not shown) extending toward the outer periphery is fixed to the insulating layer 6. A position sensor 8 comprising Hall elements is fixed to the holder as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B [0023]); and a control part receiving the sensing signal from the rotation sensing device (a position sensor detecting a rotational position of the rotor core and disposed radially or axially opposite the outer peripheral face or the axial end of the rotor core so as to correspond to the protrusion of the rotor core [0006]), calibrating a standard position by using the sensing signal (The position sensor 8 is provided for detecting a rotational position of the rotor core 18. Switching of the phase U, V and W coils 7 is controlled on the basis of the results of detection by the position sensor 8, whereupon a rotating magnetic field is established to rotate the rotor 10 about the rotational shaft 12 [0029]), transmitting a signal driving a swivel motor to rotate the rotor of the swivel core (The position sensor 8 is provided for detecting a rotational position of the rotor core 18. Switching of the phase U, V and W coils 7 is controlled on the basis of the results of detection by the position sensor 8, whereupon a rotating magnetic field is established to rotate the rotor 10 about the rotational shaft 12 [0029]).
However, Shiga does not explicitly discloses a solenoid locking device installed at the fixing bracket to enable accurate locking by the sensing signal of the rotation sensing device and moving forward a locking protrusion to be combined with an inner groove formed at the rotor when the rotor is locking, transmitting a motor control signal driving a swivel motor to rotate the rotor of the swivel core based on the standard position, and transmitting a locking control signal to the solenoid locking device before or after applying the motor control signal.
Nevertheless, Jung discloses a solenoid locking device installed at the fixing bracket to enable accurate locking by the sensing signal of the rotation sensing device (pg. 4) and moving forward a locking protrusion to be combined with an inner groove formed at the rotor when the rotor is locking (pg. 4; Figs. 1 to 3), transmitting a motor control signal driving a swivel motor to rotate the rotor of the swivel core based on the standard position, and transmitting a locking control signal to the solenoid locking device before or after applying the motor control signal (pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga with the teachings of Seitz to selectively engage and detach during detection while improving the accuracy of the accuracy of the locking device.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga, and further in view of Liu et al. (US20190168806) hereinafter referred to as ‘Liu’.
Regarding Claim 8, Shiga discloses a rotation angle sensing method of a swivel core comprising: a step (a) driving a swivel motor to rotate a rotor relative to a stator of a swivel core (FIGS. 1A, 1B and 2 show a first embodiment of the invention. Referring first to FIG. 2, a stator 1 includes a base 2 and a stator core 3 screwed to the base. The stator core 3 is formed by axially stacking a number of magnetic steel sheets and includes a generally cylindrical yoke 4 and a plurality of radially extending teeth 5. An insulating layer 6 made of a synthetic resin is formed on a surface of the teeth 5. Phase U, V and W coils 7 are wound on the insulating layer 6. An arm-shaped holder (not shown) extending toward the outer periphery is fixed to the insulating layer 6. A position sensor 8 comprising Hall elements is fixed to the holder as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B [0023]) generating a sensing signal with a rotation sensing device installed on the stator by sensing an identifier installed on the rotor at least once core (The position sensor 8 is provided for detecting a rotational position of the rotor core 18 [0028]); the rotor using the sensing signal (The rotor frame 13 and rotor core 18 are accommodated in a cavity of a forming die (not shown). In this state, the rotor core 18 is preliminarily fixed to the inner circumferential face of the rotor frame 13 by the magnetic force [0031]); and a step (d) driving the swivel motor to rotate the rotor. (Switching of the phase U, V and W coils 7 is controlled on the basis of the results of detection by the position sensor 8, whereupon a rotating magnetic field is established to rotate the rotor 10 about the rotational shaft 12 [0029]).
However, Shiga does not explicitly disclose a step (c) calibrating a standard position of the rotor using the sensing signal and a step (d) driving the swivel motor to rotate the rotor to a desired angle based on the calibrated standard position of the rotor.
Nevertheless, Liu discloses a step (c) calibrating a standard position of the rotor (Furthermore, the gear ratio of the gear at the output end of the synchronous motor to the slewing bearing 1 can be specifically set according to a steering accuracy. A specific setting is provided according to the present application. [0046]) and rotate the rotor to a desired angle (Furthermore, the gear ratio of the gear at the output end of the synchronous motor to the slewing bearing 1 can be specifically set according to a steering accuracy. A specific setting is provided according to the present application. The number of the external teeth of the slewing bearing 1 is set as 192, and the number of teeth of the gear at the output end of the synchronous motor 4 is set as 16. The number of the switch rotors 9 in the steering angle control device is 24, twelve switch rotors 9 are provided at the left side and twelve switch rotors 9 are provided at the right side, including a total of forty-eight signal access points. The twenty-four switch rotors 9 are arranged to form a half circle, uniformly dividing 180 degrees [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga with the teachings of Liu to detect the rotational speed based on the count value for each detection period T while improving the accuracy of the detection device.
Regarding Claim 10, Shiga and Liu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Shiga discloses the step (a), a step (e) initializing settings by driving the swivel motor to rotate the rotor and …the rotor when the rotation sensing device senses the identifier (as discussed above).
However, Shiga does not explicitly disclose the step (a), a step (e) initializing settings by driving the swivel motor to rotate the rotor forward at an angle of at least 180 degrees relative to the stator of the swivel core until the rotation sensing device senses the identifier or rotate the rotor backward at an angle of at least 180 degrees and setting an initialization position of the rotor when the rotation sensing device senses the identifier.
Nevertheless, Liu discloses to rotate the rotor forward at an angle of at least 180 degrees relative to the stator of the swivel core until the rotation sensing device (Furthermore, the gear ratio of the gear at the output end of the synchronous motor to the slewing bearing 1 can be specifically set according to a steering accuracy. A specific setting is provided according to the present application. The number of the external teeth of the slewing bearing 1 is set as 192, and the number of teeth of the gear at the output end of the synchronous motor 4 is set as 16. The number of the switch rotors 9 in the steering angle control device is 24, twelve switch rotors 9 are provided at the left side and twelve switch rotors 9 are provided at the right side, including a total of forty-eight signal access points. The twenty-four switch rotors 9 are arranged to form a half circle, uniformly dividing 180 degrees [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga and Seika with the teachings of Liu to detect the rotational speed based on the count value for each detection period T while improving the accuracy of the detection device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiga and Liu, and further in view of Nakada et al. (JP2004157066) hereinafter referred to as ‘Nakada’.
Regarding Claim 9, Shiga and Liu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Shiga discloses hall IC signals (A position sensor 8 comprising Hall elements is fixed to the holder as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B [0023]).
However, Shiga does not explicitly disclose the step (c), the standard position is calculated by counting hall IC signals of the swivel motor.
Nevertheless, Nakada discloses …calculated by counting hall IC signals (On the other hand, in the technique for calculating the motor rotation speed using a Hall IC signal, as described with reference to Figure 7, the timer count period is set to correspond to the rotation speed at low speeds, so as shown in Table 1 as an example, when there is a difference of 1 count in the count value, the calculation result of the rotation speed will be the same at low speeds, but a large difference will occur at high speeds [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shiga and Liu with the teachings of Nakada to detect the rotational speed based on the count value for each detection period T while improving the accuracy of the detection device.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 7 is allowable.
Claim 7 is allowable because the closest prior art Shiga, Seitz, Jung, Liu, and Nakada either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious the control part is installed on any of a vehicle seat being transported along a S-shaped long slide, a vehicle seat being transported along a closed curved long slide, and a vehicle seat being transported along a U-shaped long slide to rotate the rotor in a direction that compensates for the rotation angle of the vehicle seat naturally swiveling while traveling along a curved rail, in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
David Peck (US5111098) discloses four embodiments of a reluctance type rotational speed sensor are disclosed. In the first embodiment, an annular magnet circumscribes a sensing coil having a unitary rotor nested within it and is disposed between two elements which comprise the stator.
Bruno Sacco (US5245142) discloses A switch group for the remote control of a vehicle seat adjustable via actuating drives, having two switching elements, which symbolize a seat cushion and a backrest of the vehicle seat, are held in a position relative to one another which corresponds to the use position of the seat, and are arranged so as to be accessible from above on a bearing surface which the user of the seat can reach.
Jin Lee (US9912271) discloses The present invention provides a linear actuator including a motor; a linear driving unit coupled to the motor and including a magnet; a sensor unit configured to sense a change amount of magnetic flux depending on a position of the magnet and convert the sensed change amount of magnetic flux into measured voltage data.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857