DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes (U.S. Publication 20010035504) in view of Rzedzian (U.S. Patent 5243286).
Regarding claim 1, Hayes teaches a Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) system (12) (fig. 8 (120)) configured to reduce acoustic noise when imaging a patient and increase transmit efficiency, comprising (Fig. 8 Scanner 100 with body coil, gradient coil and shield configured to improve performance and reduce eddy currents (which is acoustic noise [0007-0009])):
a magnet (12a) configured to provide a main magnetic field (fig. 8 (122) [0056]), gradient coils (12b) configured to selectively provide varying gradient magnetic fields (fig. 8 (124)), and a radio frequency (RF) transmit coil (12c) configured to selectively transmit RF pulses to an imaging volume (fig. 8 (126)); and
an RF shield (14) adjacent the RF transmit coil (fig. 8 RF shield 160 adjacent RF body coil [0050-51]) and capacitors (18) bridging the strips (“non-conductive spaces 86B defining conductive squares 84B on the outside surface, which overlap to define a plurality of capacitor plates” [0052]), configured to reduce acoustic noise and to increase transmit efficiency of RF energy from the RF transmit coil to the imaging volume (Fig. 8 Scanner 100 with body coil, gradient coil and shield configured to improve performance and reduce eddy currents (which is acoustic noise [0007-0009, 12-17] coil 126 and imaging area between fig. 8)).
Hayes does not explicitly teach comprising longitudinal strips (16) of an electrically conductive material.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching longitudinal strips (16) of an electrically conductive material (“an outside conductive layer 43 which is divided by etched channels 28. The etched channels define circumferential strip-shaped areas 30 at the edges of the cylinder walls and longitudinal strip-shaped areas 32 at the central portion of the cylinder walls. These areas are oriented to generally match the current path in the birdcage resonator, as a mirrored version of this current will be induced in the shield during operation of the RF coil. The circumferential strip-shaped areas 30 are typically 1 inch wide and the longitudinal strip-shaped areas are typically 1.26 inches wide. The regions 31 where the longitudinal area and the circumferential areas meet are called "transition regions” col. 3 lines 35-49 also fig. 2 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Hayes as modified further teaches in which the strips are spaced from each other (fig. 3 “the pattern of conductive portions 64 and non-conductive 66 portions” [0037-38]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Hayes further teaches the capacitors bridge adjacent strips fig. 6, 7 (square 84A/B) where adjacent conductive areas form capacitances between them [0009, 0014-17]).
Hayes does not explicitly teach provide low impedance paths.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching provide low impedance paths (fig. 5 capacitors 58 bridging gaps 56 between adjacent conductive sections,.., the capacitors allows RF currents to pass easily col. 4 lines 36-55, allowing RF current to flow through the bridges is inherently a low impedance oath at RF frequencies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Hayes further teaches the RF shield reduces eddy currents (the etched mesh of capacitive elements prevents substantial current flow at gradient frequency timescales thereby reducing eddy currents [0035-41])
Hayes does not explicitly teach compared with an RF shield of overlapping strips of conductive material.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching compared with an RF shield of overlapping strips of conductive material (capacitor 58 bridge separated strip portions, forming a structure that substantially reduces eddy currents relative to previous overlapping/continues conductive shields col. 3 lines 49 col. 4 lines 1-14, 17-55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claims 6, 18, Hayes further teaches the RF shield increases transmission of RF energy from the RF transmit coils to the imaging volume (fig. 8 shield 160 surrounding RF coil 126 designed to improve B1 performance [0043-45]).
Hayes does not explicitly teach compared with an RF shield of overlapping strips of conductive material.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching compared with an RF shield of overlapping strips of conductive material (col. 2 lines 5-25 the prior art overlapping shield problems and that the discloses strip shield provides better RF transparency and efficiency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Hayes does not explicitly teach the strips are elongated along the main magnetic field.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching the strips are elongated along the main magnetic field (longitudinal strips running parallel to the cylinder axis fig. 2 strip areas 32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claims 8, 15, 19, 20, Hayes does not explicitly teach the RF shield is a single layer of said strips.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching the RF shield is a single layer of said strips (fig. 2 single cylindrical layer made of longitudinal strips multiple strips around imaging area 16 as in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claims 10, 14, Hayes does not explicitly teach the RF shield comprises 16 strips that are 2 mm apart and adjacent strips are bridged with 1000pF capacitors.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching the RF shield comprises 16 strips that are 2 mm apart and adjacent strips are bridged with 1000pF capacitors (“The capacitors are 3000 pF capacitors, and the gaps that they are inserted in are 0.75 inches wide. The strips are separated from each other by a distance of 32 mils” col. 4 lines 41-45)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that distance between strips and capacitance can be arranged based on the design choice (Please see MPEP 2144 .04 VI.C.)
Regarding claim 11, Hayes does not explicitly teach the strips (16) are spaced from each other to provide unobstructed gaps for passage of RF energy from said RF transmit coils.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching the strips (16) are spaced from each other to provide unobstructed gaps for passage of RF energy from said RF transmit coils (fig. 2 single cylindrical layer made of longitudinal strips separated by gaps “the strips (16) are spaced from each other to provide unobstructed gaps for passage of RF energy from said RF transmit coils” col. 1 lines 46-51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 12, as disclosed by Hayes (U.S. Publication 20010035504) in view of Rzedzian (U.S. Patent 5243286) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim Hayes does not explicitly teach wherein the strips are spaced from each other to leave gaps between adjacent strips facilitating increased transfer of RF energy from said RF transmit coils to said imaging volume compared with RF screens with overlapping strips of electrically conductive material.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching wherein the strips are spaced from each other to leave gaps between adjacent strips facilitating increased transfer of RF energy from said RF transmit coils (fig. 2 single cylindrical layer made of longitudinal strips separated by gaps “the strips (16) are spaced from each other to provide unobstructed gaps for passage of RF energy from said RF transmit coils” col. 1 lines 46-51) imaging volume compared with RF screens with overlapping strips of electrically conductive material (capacitor 58 bridge separated strip portions, forming a structure that substantially reduces eddy currents relative to previous overlapping/continues conductive shields col. 3 lines 49 col. 4 lines 1-14, 17-55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Hayes does not explicitly teach in which the RF shield comprises at least 10 strips.
However, Rzedzian in a relevant art teaching in which the RF shield comprises at least 10 strips (fig. 3 “the pattern of conductive portions 64 and non-conductive 66 portions” [0037-38]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Hayes as modified further teach in which the RF shield surrounds the RF transmit coils and the imaging volume (fig. 8 (160 around 126 and imaging area)).
Regarding claim 17, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Hayes (U.S. Publication 20010035504) in view of Rzedzian (U.S. Patent 5243286) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Hayes as modified further teach electrically conductive material that surround the imaging volume, elongated along the main magnetic field and are spaced from each in a circumferential direction around the imaging volume (fig. 8 shield 160 around body coil 126 around imaging volume which is arranged ion a circumferential direction fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate longitudinal conductive strips shield in hayes capacitive shield to gain the advantage of Improving RF performance, improving shield transparency to reduced acoustics noise and increased transmit efficiency.
Claims 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes (U.S. Publication 20010035504), Rzedzian (U.S. Patent 5243286) as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of Weyers (U.S. Publication 20060001425).
Regarding claim 2, Hayes as modified by Rzedzian does not explicitly teach strips comprise a Phosphor Bronze Mesh (PBM).
However, Weyers in a relevant art teaching an apparatus for MRI having an RF birdcage coil teaches strips comprise a Phosphor Bronze Mesh (PBM) (“The conductive sheet of RF shield 115 may be a solid sheet or a mesh sheet, and may be fabricated from copper, a copper alloy such as phosphor bronze, stainless steel, or any other lowly conductive material suitable for eddy current management” [0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate conductive strips material of Hayes as modified by Rzedzian modified with phosphor bronze mesh type conductive material of Weyers to gain the advantage of an improved coil having high Quality factor and low losses [Weyers [0038]].
Regarding claim 9, Hayes as modified by Rzedzian does not explicitly teach the strips are a Phosphor Bronze Mesh (PBM) with 380 mesh count per inch
However, Weyers in a relevant art teaching an apparatus for MRI having an RF birdcage coil teaches the strips are a Phosphor Bronze Mesh (PBM) with 380 mesh count per inch (“Exemplary mesh densities may be equal to or greater than 100 by 100 lines per inch, and equal to or less than 400 by 400 lines per inch, with a particular embodiment having a density of 270 by 270 lines per inch with a wire diameter of about 0.0014-0.0016 inches. Within the conductive sheet is formed a plurality of sets of discontinuous slots 160 disposed about the cylindrical sheet and running between the first and second ends 150, 155. A region 165 of discontinuity within a set of the slots 160 is arranged so as to align with the end ring portion 135 when RF coil 110 is assembled within RF shield 115” [0017])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate conductive strips material of Hayes as modified by Rzedzian modified with phosphor bronze mesh type conductive material of Weyers to gain the advantage of an improved coil having high Quality factor and low losses [Weyers [0038]].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morich (U.S. Patent 5406204) discloses Integrated MRI Gradient Coil And RF Screen.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858