CTNF 18/638,219 CTNF 91750 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: -- COMPACT GENERATOR TERMINAL FOR TRANSFERRING POWER TO A BUS BAR --. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 2, 4-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 14, 15, 18, and 20 line 1, the word “comprising” should read --further comprising--. Claim 6 includes all the limitations of claim 2 and is objected to for the same reasons. Claim 5 includes all the limitations of claim 4 and is objected to for the same reasons. Claim 12 includes all the limitations of claim 11 and is objected to for the same reasons. Claim 14 includes all the limitations of claim 9 and is objected to for the same reasons. Claim 19 includes all the limitations of claim 18 and is objected to for the same reasons . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 8-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Doherty et al. (6,897,584) . With regard to claim 8, Doherty teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “A device (shown in figure 2), comprising: a stud 320; an electrical conductor 306 comprising a cavity 412 and an end member 420, wherein the stud 320 is disposed in the cavity 412 of the electrical conductor 306; wherein the end member 420 is configured to be disposed inside, and to receive electrical power from, a power generator (contained in housing 202 in figure 2), wherein the electrical conductor 306 is configured to provide the electrical power to a bus bar 304 coupled to the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 9, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 8”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising a terminal block 204 coupled to an exterior of the power generator, wherein the terminal block 204 permanently couples the electrical conductor 306 to the power generator and electrically insulates a housing 202 of the power generator from the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 10, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 8”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 1 lines 32-41: “wherein the end member 420 of the electrical conductor 306 is electrically coupled to, and receives alternating current (AC) voltage from, a stator of the power generator (described in column 1 lines 32-41)”. With regard to claim 14, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 9”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising a sealant layer 312a and 312b disposed between the terminal block 204 and the housing 202 of the power generator”. With regard to claim 15, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 8”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising one or more sealing rings 312a and 312b disposed adjacent to the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 16, Doherty teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “A system, comprising: a power generator (contained in housing 202 in figure 2); and at least one terminal 137 coupled to the power generator, wherein each at least one terminal 306 comprises: a stud 320; an electrical conductor 306 comprising a cavity 412 and an end member 420, wherein the stud 320 is disposed in the cavity 412 of the electrical conductor 306; wherein the end member 420 is configured to be disposed inside, and to receive electrical power from, the power generator, wherein the electrical conductor 306 is configured to provide the electrical power to a bus bar 304 coupled to the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 17, Doherty teaches: “The system of claim 16”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the at least one terminal is a plurality of terminals 137, each of the plurality of terminals 137 disposed inside the power generator at distinct locations”. With regard to claim 18, Doherty teaches: “The system of claim 17”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising a terminal block 204 coupled to an exterior of the power generator, wherein the terminal block 204 permanently couples the electrical conductor 306 to the power generator and electrically insulates a housing 202 of the power generator from the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 19, Doherty teaches: “The system of claim 18”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the terminal block 204 comprises one or more partitions (located between terminal sections 301a-301d in figure 3) between one terminal and another terminal of the plurality of terminals, wherein the one or more partitions isolate the electrical conductor 306 of the one terminal with respect to the electrical conductor 306 of the another terminal” . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (6,897,584) . With regard to claim 1, Doherty teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “A device (shown in figure 2), comprising: a nut 314 comprising a coaxial hole; a stud 320… and an electrical conductor 306 coupled to the nut 314, wherein the electrical conductor 306 comprises a cavity 412 and an end member 420, wherein the stud 320 is at least partially disposed in the cavity 412, wherein the end member 420 is configured to be disposed inside, and to receive electrical power from, a power generator (contained in housing 202 in figure 2), wherein the electrical conductor is configured to provide the electrical power to a bus bar 304 coupled to the electrical conductor 306”. Doherty does not teach the stud “inserted into the coaxial hole of the nut”. However, Doherty teaches in figures 3-4 and taught in column 3 line 54 - column 4 line 6, the use of a stud 302 and nut 314 as a fastening structure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stud and nut structure instead of a screw in order to secure the electrical conductor to the bus bar (Doherty, column 3 line 54 - column 4 line 6). With regard to claim 2, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 1”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising a terminal block 204 coupled to an exterior of the power generator, wherein the terminal block 204 permanently couples the electrical conductor 306 to the power generator and electrically insulates a housing 202 of the power generator from the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 3, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 1”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in column 1 lines 32-41: “wherein the end member 420 of the electrical conductor 306 is electrically coupled to, and receives alternating current (AC) voltage from, a stator of the power generator (described in column 1 lines 32-41)”. With regard to claim 6, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 2”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising a sealant layer 312a and 312b disposed between the terminal block 204 and the housing 202 of the power generator”. With regard to claim 7, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 1”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “comprising one or more sealing rings 312a and 312b disposed adjacent to the electrical conductor 306”. With regard to claim 13, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 8”, as shown above. Doherty does not teach: “wherein a surface of the cavity is coated with a braze”. However, in column 4 lines 51-54, Doherty teaches the use of a braze in a cavity. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use braze in the cavity of the electrical conductor in order to allow use differently-shaped conductors for different applications (Doherty, column 4 lines 51-54) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (6,897,584) in view of Shen (CN112542923A) . With regard to claim 4, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 1”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches an end member providing power to a bus bar, as shown above. Doherty does not teach: “comprising a current transformer disposed inside the power generator, wherein the current transformer is electrically coupled to the end member and is configured to adjust the electrical power provided”. In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shen teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught on page 3 line 25 - page 4 line 7 of the translation: “comprising a current transformer 6 disposed inside the power generator 1, wherein the current transformer 6 is electrically coupled to the end member (where the transformer connects to 4 in figure 2) and is configured to adjust the electrical power provided”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combined the features of Shen with the invention of Doherty in order to control the power being supplied through the electrical conductor (Shen, translation page 3 line 25 - page 4 line 7). With regard to claim 11, Doherty teaches: “The device of claim 8”, as shown above. Doherty also teaches an end member providing power to a bus bar, as shown above. Doherty does not teach: “comprising a current transformer disposed inside the power generator, wherein the current transformer is electrically coupled to the end member and is configured to adjust the electrical power provided”. In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shen teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught on page 3 line 25 - page 4 line 7 of the translation: “comprising a current transformer 6 disposed inside the power generator 1, wherein the current transformer 6 is electrically coupled to the end member (where the transformer connects to 4 in figure 2) and is configured to adjust the electrical power provided”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Shen with the invention of Doherty in order to control the power being supplied through the electrical conductor (Shen, translation page 3 line 25 - page 4 line 7). With regard to claim 20, Doherty teaches: “The system of claim 18”, as shown above. Doherty does not teach: “comprising a terminal housing coupled to the terminal block, wherein the terminal housing encloses each of the at least one terminal”. In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shen teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught on page 3 line 25 - page 4 line 7 of the translation:” comprising a terminal housing 2 coupled to the terminal block 4, wherein the terminal housing 2 and 9 encloses each of the at least one terminal (where the transformer connects to 4 in figure 2)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide electric safety (Shen, translation page 3 lines 8-12) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (6,897,584) in view of Shen (CN112542923A) and Hine et al. (CN112217325A) . With regard to claim 5, Doherty as modified by She teaches: “The device of claim 4”, as shown above. Neither Shen nor Doherty teach: “wherein the current transformer is coated with an oil spray”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use oil spray to coat the transformer, since the use of oil to cool down the transformer (Hine, translation, page 2 lines 29 - 35). With regard to claim 12, Doherty as modified by She teaches: “The device of claim 11”, as shown above. Neither Shen nor Doherty teach: “wherein the current transformer is coated with an oil spray”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use oil spray to coat the transformer, since the use of oil to cool down the transformer (Hine, translation, page 2 lines 29 - 35). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN M KRATT whose telephone number is (571)270-0277. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abdullah A Riyami can be reached at (571)270-3119. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 2 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 3 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 4 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 5 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 6 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 7 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 8 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,219 Page 9 Art Unit: 2831