CTNF 18/638,231 CTNF 91737 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, and 11 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL (Non-Patent Literature) . As per claim 1: NPL discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery connector including a first portion connected to a second portion; at least one negative pin connected to the first portion; and at least one positive pin connected to the second portion, the battery connector configured to bend about an axis located between the first portion and the second portion (see attached figure from NPL). PNG media_image1.png 402 533 media_image1.png Greyscale ( note : NPL source “KEYSTONE 75TH ANNIVERSARY CATALOG K75 P35” or https://www.sparkfun.com/products/91) As per claims 2, 11: NPL discloses the apparatus, wherein the first portion and the second portion are configured to enable the at least one negative pin to be connected to a corresponding connector prior to the at least one positive pin being connected to the corresponding connector and wherein the first portion and the second portion are rigid (as shown in attached figure above, wherein either portion has a positive pin or negative pin to connect to a 9V battery, or the black/red wire can represent positive pin or negative pin to connect to a device or sources) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-7, and 9 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL (Non-Patent Literature) in view of Kasar (US 9496602) . As per claim 3: NPL discloses the apparatus, and the 1 st and 2 nd portion of the battery connector. However, NPL does not explicitly further disclose a hinge, wherein the 1 st portion connected the 2 nd portion of the batter connector via the hinge. Kasar discloses a hinge 20 is connected between the 2 portions 12A/12B together to further provide a one piece structure, in stable, reliable and secure structure that allow them to pivot, rotate, or swing to each other within a limited range. Further, having a hinge to connect multiple pieces, portions, devise together is well known, common knowledge and commonly used in everyday life, not just in the art of connector itself to enhance a flexible yet secure joint, enabling movement while preventing it from separating from each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the battery connector of NPL by having a hinge to connect the 1 st portion and the 2 nd portion as taught by Kasar to further provide a one piece structure, in stable, reliable and secure structure that allow them to pivot, rotate, or swing to each other within a limited range. As per claims 4-5: NPL discloses the apparatus, and the 1 st and 2 nd portion of the battery connector. However, NPL does not explicitly further disclose a flexible printed circuit, wherein the first portion is connected to the second portion via the flexible printed circuit and wherein the axis is located along the flexible printed circuit. Kasar discloses a flexible printed circuit 102, wherein the first portion is connected to the second portion (see fig. 8, wherein any desired components 106 mounted on the substrate 102, components 106 may include circuitry such as the circuitry of storage and processing circuitry 38 and the circuitry of input-output circuitry 32 ) via the flexible printed circuit 102 and wherein the axis is located along the flexible printed circuit 102 (as shown in fig. 8) to further enhance a stable and reliable connection between components to the printed circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the battery connector of NPL by having a flexible printed circuit, wherein the first portion is connected to the second portion via the flexible printed circuit and wherein the axis is located along the flexible printed circuit as taught by Kasar to further enhance a stable and reliable connection between components to the printed circuit board. As per claims 6-7: NPL discloses the apparatus, and the 1 st and 2 nd portion of the battery connector and the 1 st axis. However, NPL does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery connector is configured to additionally bend about a second axis located between the first portion and the second portion; and wherein the first axis and the second axis are located along the flexible printed circuit. Kasar discloses a flexible printed circuit 102 wherein the flexible printed circuit is having additional bend about a second axis located between the first portion and the second portion; and wherein the first axis and the second axis are located along the flexible printed circuit (see fig. 12, wherein the FPC 102 is having additional bend regarding to additional components its connected to, such as connector 162, multiple circuitry 106) to further enhance the flexibility, stability, and reliability of the FPC within the device to connect to other components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the battery connector of NPL by having the battery connector is configured to additionally bend about a second axis located between the first portion and the second portion; and wherein the first axis and the second axis are located along the flexible printed circuit as taught by Kasar to further enhance the flexibility, stability, and reliability of the FPC within the device to connect to other components. As per claim 9: NPL discloses the apparatus, and the 1 st and 2 nd portion of the battery connector, and further comprising at least one positive pin connected to the first portion of the battery connector and at least one negative pin connected to the second portion of the battery connector (as shown in attached figure above). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THANG H NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-0288. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abdullah Riyami can be reached at 571-270-3119. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,231 Page 2 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,231 Page 3 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,231 Page 4 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/638,231 Page 5 Art Unit: 2831