DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Mendenhall 2023/0145020US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Beamon 2013/0287360US.
In terms of Claim 1, Mendenhall teaches a cable assembly, comprising: at least one cable support member (Figures 1 and 3: 100); at least one base member (Figures 1 and 3: 102) comprising at least one base cable support (Figures 1 and 3: components that make 100 or mainly 108/112/122), wherein the at least one base member (102) is coupled to the at least one cable support member (Figure 1: 102/100), and the at least one base member (Figures 1 and 3: 102) includes at least a portion oriented substantially perpendicular to the at least one cable support member (Figures 1 and 3: Top and bottom walls of 102 is perpendicular to 108); and at least one clip member (Figure 3: 140) configured for coupling with the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 140 is coupled to the body of 100 at location 112: Figure 4: 140) and the at least one base member (Figure 4: see 140 at location of 142).
Mendenhall does not teach wherein the support has a strain relief structure.
Beamon does teach a tubular strain support structure (Figure 3a; [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable support to have a tubular strain support member inside of any tubular channel of 100 in order to protect the cable from longitudinal axial forces (Beamon’s Specification [0065]).
As for Claim 2, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (100) comprises an upper cantilevered end (Figure 3: at location of 110), a lower mating section (Figure 3 above: “see lower mating section”), and a medial elongated portion (Figure 3: above: see “medial elongated portion - 112”) disposed between the upper cantilevered end and the lower mating section (Figure 3 above: See 110, “medial elongated portion - 112” and “lower mating section”).
As for Claim 3, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 2, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises a lower extension integrally connected to the lower mating section (Figure 3 above: See “lower extension” and “lower mating section”).
As for Claim 4, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises a lower mating section configured to engage with the clip member (Figure 3: “lower mating section” and 140).
As for Claim 5, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises at least one recess (Figures 3 and 4: see various recess in frame 112 on the sides, opening for fiber entry or holder for 108).
As for Claim 6, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member comprises at least one aperture (Figures 3 and 4: see various opening aperture in frame 112 on the sides, opening for fiber entry or holder for 108).
As for Claim 7, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member comprises at least one surface having curvature configured to complement an outer surface of a cable (Figure 3: 102 contain tubular housing for 104 which are cylindrical thus having curve surfaces).
As for Claim 8, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one clip member comprises sidewall having a hook-like shape (Figure 3: 140 and Figure 5: 144/142).
As for Claim 9, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 8, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the hook-like shape of the at least one clip member is configured to engage with a rear portion of the at least one base cable support (Figure 4: at 142 wherein the edge hook grooves at 142 engage the 112 shown in Figure 3; [0045]).
As for Claims 10-13, Mendenhall teaches the device of claim 1.
Mendenhall does not teach the cable strain relief assembly is configured to resist longitudinal forces of up to 5 lbf on at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables having optical fibers contained therein; wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to prevent optical fiber movement within outer cable jackets of at least one of the plurality of fiber optic cables; wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to resist longitudinal forces of up to 10 lbf on at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables having optical fibers contained therein; wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to prevent optical fiber movement within outer cable jackets of at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables.
Beamon does teach wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to resist longitudinal forces of up to 5 lbf on at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables having optical fibers contained therein ([0065]); wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to prevent optical fiber movement within outer cable jackets of at least one of the plurality of fiber optic cables (Figure 3: 68 the groove channel at 72 prevents fiber / cable and jacket movement that are place within it); wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to resist longitudinal forces of up to 10 lbf on at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables having optical fibers contained therein ([0065]); wherein the cable strain relief assembly is configured to prevent optical fiber movement within outer cable jackets of at least one of a plurality of fiber optic cables (Figure 3: 68 the groove channel at 72 prevents fiber / cable and jacket movement that are place within it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable support to have a tubular strain support member inside of any tubular channel of 100 in order to protect the cable from longitudinal axial forces (Beamon’s Specification [0065]).
As for Claim 14, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one base cable support comprises a surface with curvature configured to complement the outermost shape of a cable (Figure 3: cylindrical channels within 100 such as in 122 and 112 or cylindrical structures that fit into 110 all contain curve surfaces that complements a fiber cable).
In terms of Claim 15, Mendenhall teaches a cable assembly, comprising: at least one cable support comprising an upper cantilevered end (Figure 3: cantilevered end is at 110 and support structure is 100), a lower mating section (Figure 3 above: see lower mating section), and a medial elongated portion (Figure 3 above: see medial elongated portion or 112) disposed between the upper cantilevered end and the lower mating section (Figure 3: see 110/112 and “lower mating section”); at least one base member (Figure 3: 102) comprising at least one base cable support (Figure 3: 102 houses 100), wherein the at least one base member is coupled to the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100/102), and the at least one base member includes at least a portion oriented substantially perpendicular to the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: top and bottom walls of 102 is perpendicular to 108); and at least one clip (Figure 3: 140) assembly comprising a clip member and a clip fastener configured for engagement with the clip member (Figure 6: 114/140 and 124 along with hooks at 142/144), wherein the at least one clip assembly is configured for coupling with the at least one cable support member and the at least one base member (Figure 4: 140 is coupled to 112 at location of 142/144).
Mendenhall does not teach wherein the support has a strain relief structure.
Beamon does teach a tubular strain support structure (Figure 3a; [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable support to have a tubular strain support member inside of any tubular channel of 100 in order to protect the cable from longitudinal axial forces (Beamon’s Specification [0065]).
As for Claim 16, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 15, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises a lower extension integrally connected to the lower mating section (Figure 3 above: See “lower extension” and “lower mating section”).
As for Claim 17, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 15, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises a lower mating section configured to engage with the clip member (Figure 3: “lower mating section” and 140).
As for Claim 18, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 15, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 100) comprises at least one recess (Figures 3 and 4: see various recess in frame 112 on the sides, opening for fiber entry or holder for 108).
As for Claim 19, Mendenhall / Beamon teaches the device of Claim 15, wherein Mendenhall teaches wherein the at least one cable support member comprises at least one aperture (Figures 3 and 4: see various opening aperture in frame 112 on the sides, opening for fiber entry or holder for 108).
In terms of Claim 20, Mendenhall teaches a method of assembling a cable assembly, comprising: positioning at least one clip member against at least one cable support member (Figure 3: 140 on 112 of 100); positioning at least one cable (Figure 1: 190) against the at least one clip member (Figure 1: cable 190 within 122 is against 140 since cable is lying within 112 under the clip; this is similar to applicant orientation as shown in Figure 2 of applicants drawing); moving the at least one clip member to engage with at least one base cable support (Figure 3: clip 140 clips onto 112 via vertical and horizontal displacement movement); and fastening the at least one clip member to the at least one cable support member such that at least one cable support member (Figure 4: 140 and 112), the at least one clip member, and the at least one base cable support are substantially secured together (Figure 4: 112 and 140/114).
Mendenhall does not teach wherein the support has a strain relief structure.
Beamon does teach a tubular strain support structure (Figure 3a; [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cable support to have a tubular strain support member inside of any tubular channel of 100 in order to protect the cable from longitudinal axial forces (Beamon’s Specification [0065]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Billman 2007/0172179US teaches cable support member with strain relief.
/HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874